مغامرات أليس في الفضاء السيبراني: خلق لويس كارول يتحول 150

مغامرات أليس في الفضاء السيبراني: خلق لويس كارول يتحول 150يعود فيلم Alice Madness لـ McGee الأمريكي. emalord / flickr، CC BY-NC-SA

في الماضي 150 سنوات مرت لويس كارول أليس التحولات التي لا تحصى. شعبية على الفور ، سرعان ما هربت من البيئة الروائية الأصلية لها ، والتي تظهر في رسوم الكاريكاتير الفيكتوري لكمة ، على الشرائح الفانوس السحرية و على المسرح. بعد خمس سنوات فقط من وفاة كارول ، صُنعت أليس في بلاد العجائب بالفعل فيلم صامت.

منذ ذلك الحين، واصلت نجاحها الرائد في مجال الوسائط المتعددة: أليس يهرب دوامة ديزني"بلاد العجائب" الملونة والمغلفة بالسكر (1951) ، يتنقل جوناثان ميلر يفتن أحادية اللون أليس (1966) ، وحتى يتفوق على السوري السريالي Švankmajer لوقف الحركة تجربة (1988). بروح مشروع الحلم الأصلي المذهل ، تقوم أليس دائماً بتقدمها من خلال منطقة جديدة ومجهولة ، تحتضن دوماً إمكانيات جديدة ، مغامراتها دائماً غير مريحة إلى حد ما.

ويتميز هذا الشعور أيضا مشاريع لها في مطلع القرن 21st، قهر الفضاء الإلكتروني في مجموعة من ألعاب الفيديو من قبل سيد حكاية خرافية الرقمية القوطية ، ماكغي الأمريكية. هذه الألعاب تضرب بملاحظة أكثر وضوحًا: بعد موت عائلة أليس ليدل في حريق منزل ، تعيش أليس الآن المراهقة في مأوى في لندن.

هنا ، في يد طبيب نفسي ، تأتي ، تكافح من أجل استعادة ذاكرة الحادثة. تنقل أليس نوبات ما بعد الصدمة في بلاد العجائب ، تندمج أليس في الماضي والحاضر. يشرع اللاعبون في رحلة لاستعادة شظايا ذكرياتهم المفقودة في حالم أحلام نفسي مفاجئ ، والذي يتفكك في أعمق أعمق من عقل أليس.

أليس معاد تحميل

قد تبدو قصص McGee و Carroll في البداية غير متشابهة ، لكن يمكن للمرء أن يعلمنا الكثير عن الآخر. وسواء تم تكوينها كحلم أو رؤى للجنون ، تتفاعل خيال أليس ، بطريقة خيالية ، مع الحقائق التاريخية الفعلية.

كارول أليس هي قصة كتبها دون أكسفورد لابنة العميد. في حلمها ، تكسب هذه الفتاة الفيكتورية الوكالة لاستجواب ديناميكيات السلطة في بيئتها. وتحول رؤيتها إلى أشعار الأخلاق الفيكتورية الشعبية وآداب حفلة الشاي إلى "هراء غير شائع" ، مما يشكك في صحة أخلاقهم الكامنة.

McGee latches إلى هذا الإمكانات التخريبية. الفساد الصناعي هو موضوع رئيسي في اللعبة ، على سبيل المثال. تتحول حترته وأرنبه إلى أصحاب فاجعة من مصنع الشاي ، يستعبدون ويعززون مخلوقات العجائب ميكانيكياً. تظهر الصناعة كدين جديد يغلب على الفرد ، ويتجسد بصريا في قطار تلويث عملاق على شكل كاتدرائية قوطية - وهو تاريخ في التاريخ الفيكتوري يضرب المنزل حتى بعد قرنين تقريبا من الفيكتوريين. لاعب يساعد أليس للكشف عن هذه الفظائع.

أليس في بلاد العجائب 2الجحيم الصناعي. emalord / flickr، CC BY-NC-SA

مغامرات المزيد

كثير من العلماء الحديثين قد اعترف أهمية كلاسيكية كارول كحظة فاصلة في تاريخ أدب الأطفال. إن بطلة كارول ، بخلاف تلك التي تحل بها رحلات الأحلام الأخرى ، لا تتقدم بإطاعة الأجندات الأخلاقية. وهي تشكك بفعالية في المذاهب الاستاتيكية لشخصيات الكبار المجنونة في بلاد العجائب ، وتتصرف وفقا لإرادتها.

وبذلك ، تضع أليس عدسة مكبرة للواقع ، وتوسع شظاياها إلى أبعاد مرعبة. وتصبح مترجمة تخريبية للعالم ، وهو محتال تصعد إلى منصب يقضي بإقالة المحكمة الملكية بأنها "لا شيء غير حزمة من البطاقات". هذا هو العنصر الأساسي في نداء أليس إلى الجماهير الحديثة التي ركز عليها ماكجي في ألعابه.

يفهم ماغي أن آليس هو الشخص الذي غزا كلا من الفكر الجسدي والنفسي. يتصور أنه ثلاثية منذ البداية ، فهو يأخذ فكرة أليس كمستكشف في علم النفس أكثر في آخر قسط له ، سلسلة من الأفلام القصيرة بدلا من لعبة. في أليس: Otherlands (2015) تنطلق أليس من ذهنها إلى الآخرين ، وتتطلع إلى العبقرية الخلاقة التي دفعت القرن 19th. في أفلام من أساليب متنوعة تستكشف عقول العالم أديسون ، الرسام فينسنت فان غوخ ، الملحن ريتشارد فاغنر ، أو كاتبة الخيال العلمي جول فيرن، ويرافقهم في رحلاتهم الاستثنائية للاختراع الفني. تصبح أليس مرة أخرى مرشدنا ومترجمنا ، هذه المرة لعملية تحويل الواقع إلى رؤية ، إلى فن ، بحد ذاته.

أيقونة تحت الارض والرواد

غالبا ما ينتقدني ماكجيف بسبب اللهجة المظلمة لتكييفه في مقابلة أنه لم "قرر" أن تصبح أليس شخصية "قوطية". بدلا من ذلك ، يعتقد ، "كنا جميعًا ندرك ذلك ، دون وعي" ، مشيرًا إلى "أنها كانت بالفعل كابتنًا ، رمزًا لهذا الشعور" في "الثقافة السرية". انها حرفيا ورقم مجازيا يتنقل ما دونالد راكين ودعا "الرعب الهزلي رؤية الأرض الفوضوية تحت الأساس البشري من صنع الفكر الغربي والاتفاقية".

أليس دائما ما "نحن" بطريقة ما ، ولكن ليس "هم". تعمل كوسيط. McGee جنباً إلى جنب مع كارول تخلق بطلة متمكنة ، "جميلة ، قوية ، ومثيرة للاهتمام شخص" - مناشدة لنا جماليا وفكريا. كنا دائمًا جزءًا من ما كان يُنظر إليه بطبيعته كقصة تفاعلية. بعد كل شيء ، كان القارئ الذي كان عليه أن يدير الصفحة ليجعل صورة تينيل توضيحية لقلعة شيشاير تختفي.

أليس في بلاد العجائب 3القط شيشاير الأصلي ، تختفي ...

ولعل أحد الأسباب التي تجعل أليس ما زالت ناجحة للغاية هو النمط السردي القوي الذي يحمل في طياته معنى لإضفاء إحساس العالم من خلال عيون الغرباء. وفي هذا السياق ، اتبع ماكجي ، مثل الكثيرين من قبله ، خطى كارول التي منحت "القارئ" لقصته مع الوكالة.

في القرن الذي تقدم فيه وسائل الإعلام الرقمية التفاعلية طرقًا جديدة للرسم في "القارئ" ، لا نكتشف فقط مع أليس ، يمكننا أن نصبح أليس ، واكتشاف حقائق مجهولة حتى الآن تقع تحت أراضينا تجعلنا نتساءل. إذن ، إليكم في السنوات التالية لـ 150 من Alice.

نبذة عن الكاتبالمحادثة

kohlt فرانشيسكافرانشيسكا Kohlt، دكتوراه المرشح ومساعد بحث وتدريس في الآداب والعلوم في جامعة أكسفورد. أطروحتها بالتحقيق تحويل الرؤى حلم في الأدب رائعة على الطراز الفيكتوري في إطار متعدد التخصصات في علم النفس القرن التاسع عشر، مع التركيز بشكل خاص على أعمال لويس كارول، جورج ماكدونالد، تشارلز كينجسلي ويلز.

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتاب ذات الصلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = 161628384X، maxresults = 1}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Alice's Adventures In Cyberspace: Lewis Carroll's Creation Turns 150

Alice's Adventures In Cyberspace: Lewis Carroll's Creation Turns 150American McGee’s Alice Madness Returns. emalord/flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

In the past 150 years Lewis Carroll’s Alice has undergone innumerable transformations. Instantly popular, she quickly escaped her original novelistic environment, appearing in Victorian Punch caricatures, on magic lantern slides and on stage. Only five years after Carroll’s death, Alice in Wonderland had already been made into a short silent film.

Ever since, her pioneering success in multimedia has continued: Alice escapes the whirl of Disney’s colourful and sugar-coated animated Wonderland (1951), navigates Jonathan Miller’s mesmerising monochrome Alice (1966), and even conquers Jan Švankmajer’s stop-motion surrealist experiment (1988). In the spirit of the original dizzying dream-venture, Alice is always trailblazing through new and uncharted territory, always embracing new possibilities, her adventures always somewhat unsettling.

This sentiment has also characterised her ventures into the dawn of the 21st century, conquering cyberspace in a set of video games by the master of the digital Gothic fairy-tale, American McGee. These games strike a distinctly darker note: set after the death of Alice Liddell’s family in a house fire, the now teenaged Alice lives in a Victorian London asylum.

Here, in the hands of a mesmerist-come-psychiatrist, she struggles to regain memory of the incident. Navigating her post-traumatic hallucinatory spells in wonderland, Alice fuses past and present. Players embark on a journey to recover fragments of her lost memories in an upset psychological dreamscape, which disintegrates the deeper they penetrate into Alice’s mind.

Alice Reloaded

McGee’s and Carroll’s stories might at first seem unlike, but one can teach us a lot about the other. Whether configured as dream or visions of madness, Alice’s imaginations react, in fantastical manner, to actual historical realities.

Carroll’s Alice is a story written by an Oxford don for the dean’s daughter. In her dream this Victorian girl gains the agency to question the power dynamics of her environment. Her vision turns popular Victorian morality poems and the etiquette of the tea-party into “uncommon nonsense”, questioning the genuineness of their underlying morality.

McGee latches on to this subversive potential. Industrial corruption is a major theme of the game, for instance. His Hatter and Hare turn into steampunk horror owners of a tea factory, enslaving and mechanically enhancing wonderland creatures. Industry appears as a new religion overriding the individual, visually embodied in a gigantic polluting train shaped like a Gothic cathedral – a take on Victorian history that hits home even almost two centuries after the Victorians. The player helps Alice to uncover these atrocities.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


alice in wonderland2Industrial hell. emalord/flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

Further Adventures

Many modern scholars have acknowledged the significance of Carroll’s classic as a watershed moment in the history of children’s literature. Carroll’s heroine, unlike those of other dream-journeys, does not progress by obeying moral agendas. She actively questions the static doctrines of the parodied adult figures of Wonderland, acting according to her own will.

In doing so, Alice puts a magnifying glass to reality, enlarging fragments of it to terrifying dimensions. She becomes a subversive interpreter of the world, a conqueror ascending to a position to dismiss a Royal court as “nothing but a pack of cards”. It is this core element of Alice’s appeal to modern audiences that McGee has focused on in his games.

McGee understands Alice as someone who has conquered both the physical and the mindspace. Envisaged as a trilogy from the start, he takes the notion of Alice as a explorer of psychology further in his most recent instalment, a series of short films rather than a game. In Alice: Otherlands (2015) Alice hops from her mind into others, peering into the creative genius that drove the 19th century. In films of diverse styles she explores the minds of scientist Edison, of painter Vincent van Gogh, composer Richard Wagner, or of science fiction writer Jules Verne, and accompanies them on their extraordinary journeys of artistic invention. Alice, once again becomes our guide and interpreter, this time to the process of transforming reality into vision, into art, itself.

Underground Icon And Pioneer

Often criticised for the dark tone of his adaptation, McGee confidently explained to me in an interview that he never “decided” that Alice should become a “gothy” character. Instead, he believes, “we were all aware of it, subconsciously”, noting “she was already a captain, an icon of that feeling” of “underground culture”. She literally and figuratively navigates what Donald Rackin has called “the comic horror-vision of the chaotic land beneath the man-made groundwork of Western thought and convention.”

Alice is always somehow “us”, but not “them”. She acts as a mediator. McGee is on side with Carroll creating an empowered heroine, a “beautiful, powerful, and interesting person” – appealing to us aesthetically and intellectually. We were always somehow part of what was inherently conceived as an interactive story. It was, after all, the reader who had to turn the page to make Tenniel’s illustration of the Cheshire Cat disappear.

alice in wonderland3The original Cheshire Cat, disappearing …

Perhaps one of the reasons Alice remains so successful is the timelessly powerful narrative pattern of making sense of the world through the eyes of a questioning outsider. And in this vein, McGee, like many before him, follows Carroll’s footsteps endowing the “reader” of his tale with agency.

In a century in which interactive digital media offers novel ways of drawing in the “reader”, we not only discover with Alice, we can become Alice, and discover yet unknown realities underlying our own lands that make us wonder. So here’s to the next 150 years of Alice.

About The AuthorThe Conversation

kohlt franziskaFranziska Kohlt, PhD Candidate & Teaching Assistant in Literature and Science, University of Oxford. Her thesis investigates the transformation of dream visions in Victorian fantastic literature within the interdisciplinary framework of nineteenth century psychology, focusing particularly on the works of Lewis Carroll, George MacDonald, Charles Kingsley and H.G. Wells.

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Book:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=161628384X;maxresults=1}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)