Приключения Алисы в киберпространстве: создание Льюиса Кэрролла превращает 150

Приключения Алисы в киберпространстве: создание Льюиса Кэрролла превращает 150Возвращается Алиса Безумие Американской Макги. emalord / flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

В прошлом 150 лет Элис Льюиса Кэрролла претерпел бесчисленные преобразования. Мгновенно популярная, она быстро убежала от своей оригинальной романтической среды, появляясь в викторианских карикатурах Панча, на волшебные слайды фонарей и на сцене, Всего через пять лет после смерти Кэрролла Алиса в Стране чудес уже была превращена в короткую немой фильм.

С тех пор, ее новаторский успех в области мультимедиа продолжает: Алиса избегает вихре Диснейкрасочный анимированный Wonderland (1951), покрытый сахаром, перемещает монотонную зарисовку Джонатана Миллера Алиса (1966) и даже побеждает сюрреалиста Ян Шванкмайера эксперимент (1988). В духе оригинальной головокружительной мечты, Алиса всегда преследует новую и неизведанную территорию, всегда обнимая новые возможности, ее приключения всегда несколько тревожат.

Это мнение также характеризуется ее предприятия на заре 21st века, покоряя киберпространство в наборе видеоигры мастером цифровой готической сказки, американским Макги. Эти игры вызывают отчетливо более темную ноту: после смерти семьи Алисы Лидделл в домашнем огне, теперь подросток Алиса живет в викторианском лондонском убежище.

Здесь, в руках психиатра-психиатра, она пытается восстановить память об этом инциденте. Элис плавает перед своими претраммическими заклинаниями галлюцинации в стране чудес. Игроки отправляются в путешествие, чтобы восстановить фрагменты потерянных воспоминаний в расстроенном психологическом снежном пейзаже, который разрушает глубже, чем они проникают в сознание Алисы.

Элис Перезагрузка

Рассказы Макги и Кэрролла вначале кажутся непохожими, но мы можем многое рассказать о другом. Будучи настроенным как мечта или видения безумия, фантазии Алисы реагируют фантастически на реальные исторические реалии.

Алиса Кэрролла - это история, написанная оксфордским доном для дочери декана. Во сне эта викторианская девушка получает агентство, чтобы подвергнуть сомнению динамику власти ее окружения. Ее видение превращает популярные стихотворения в викторианской морали и этикет чаепития в «необычную ерунду», ставя под сомнение подлинность их основной морали.

Макги задерживается на этом подрывном потенциале. Например, промышленная коррупция является основной темой игры. Его Шляпник и Заяц превращаются в владельцев стимпанк-ужасов чайной фабрики, порабощающих и механически укрепляющих чудесные существа. Промышленность представляет собой новую религию, которая переопределяет человека, визуально воплощенного в гигантском загрязняющем поезде, подобном готическому собору - взятию викторианской истории, которая поражает дом даже почти через два столетия после викторианцев. Игрок помогает Алисе раскрыть эти зверства.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


alice в wonderland2Промышленный ад. emalord / flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

Дальнейшие приключения

Многие современные ученые признали значение классики Кэрролла как переломного момента в истории детской литературы. Героиня Кэрролла, в отличие от других путешествий в мечтах, не продвигается, подчиняясь моральным повесткам. Она активно ставит под сомнение статические доктрины пародированных взрослых фигур Чудес, действуя по своей воле.

При этом Алиса ставит в реальность увеличительное стекло, увеличивая его фрагменты до ужасающих размеров. Она становится диверсантом-переводчиком мира, завоеватель поднимается на позицию, чтобы уволить королевский двор как «ничего, кроме пачки карточек». Именно этот ключевой элемент обращения Алисы к современным аудиториям МакГи сосредоточил в своих играх.

Макги понимает Алису как человека, который победил как физическое, так и умственное пространство. Предполагаемый как трилогия с самого начала, он берет понятие Алисы как исследователя психологии в своем последнем выпуске, серию короткометражных фильмов, а не игру. В Алиса: Остальные земли (2015) Алиса перескакивает из своего сознания в другие, вглядываясь в творческий гений, который проехал 19 в. В фильмах разных стилей она исследует умы ученого Эдисона, художника Винсента ван Гога, композитора Ричарда Вагнера или писателя-фантаста Жюль Верн, и сопровождает их в их необыкновенных путешествиях художественного изобретения. Алиса снова становится нашим проводником и переводчиком, на этот раз процессом превращения реальности в видение, в искусство.

Подземная значок и Pioneer

Часто критикуя за темный тон его адаптации, Макги уверенно объяснил мне в интервью что он никогда не «решил», что Алиса должна стать «готическим» персонажем. Вместо этого он считает, что «мы все это понимали, подсознательно», отметив, что «она уже была капитаном, иконой этого чувства» «подпольной культуры». Она буквально и образно следит за тем, что Дональд Ракин призвал «Комическое ужасное видение хаотической земли под искусственной основой западной мысли и согласия».

Алиса всегда так или иначе «нас», но не «их». Она выступает в роли посредника. McGee находится на стороне с Кэрроллом, создающим героиню с полномочиями, «красивым, сильным и интересным человеком», - обращаясь к нам эстетически и интеллектуально. Мы всегда были частью того, что было задумано как интерактивная история. Это был, в конце концов, читатель, которому пришлось перевернуть страницу, чтобы показать иллюстрацию Тенниэля Чеширской кошки.

alice в wonderland3Оригинальный Чеширский кот, исчезающий ...

Возможно, одной из причин, по которой Алиса остается настолько успешной, является вечно мощная повествовательная модель, которая позволяет понять мир в глазах вопрошающего аутсайдера. И в этом ключе МакГи, как и многие другие до него, следует за поводами Кэрролла, наделяя «читателя» его истории агентством.

В век, в котором интерактивные цифровые медиа предлагают новые способы рисования в «читателе», мы не только обнаруживаем с Алисой, мы можем стать Алисой, но и открывать еще неизвестные реальности, лежащие в основе наших собственных земель, которые заставляют нас задуматься. Итак, вот к следующим 150 годам Алисы.

Об автореБеседа

kohlt FranziskaFranziska Kohlt, аспирант и ассистент в области литературы и науки, Оксфордский университет. Ее диссертация исследует трансформацию видения мечты в викторианском фантастической литературе в рамках междисциплинарной основы психологии девятнадцатого века, уделяя особое внимание произведениям Льюиса Кэрролла, Джордж Макдональд, Чарльз Кингсли и Уэллса.

Эта статья изначально была опубликована в Беседа, Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Связанные книги:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = 161628384X; maxresults = 1}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Alice's Adventures In Cyberspace: Lewis Carroll's Creation Turns 150

Alice's Adventures In Cyberspace: Lewis Carroll's Creation Turns 150American McGee’s Alice Madness Returns. emalord/flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

In the past 150 years Lewis Carroll’s Alice has undergone innumerable transformations. Instantly popular, she quickly escaped her original novelistic environment, appearing in Victorian Punch caricatures, on magic lantern slides and on stage. Only five years after Carroll’s death, Alice in Wonderland had already been made into a short silent film.

Ever since, her pioneering success in multimedia has continued: Alice escapes the whirl of Disney’s colourful and sugar-coated animated Wonderland (1951), navigates Jonathan Miller’s mesmerising monochrome Alice (1966), and even conquers Jan Švankmajer’s stop-motion surrealist experiment (1988). In the spirit of the original dizzying dream-venture, Alice is always trailblazing through new and uncharted territory, always embracing new possibilities, her adventures always somewhat unsettling.

This sentiment has also characterised her ventures into the dawn of the 21st century, conquering cyberspace in a set of video games by the master of the digital Gothic fairy-tale, American McGee. These games strike a distinctly darker note: set after the death of Alice Liddell’s family in a house fire, the now teenaged Alice lives in a Victorian London asylum.

Here, in the hands of a mesmerist-come-psychiatrist, she struggles to regain memory of the incident. Navigating her post-traumatic hallucinatory spells in wonderland, Alice fuses past and present. Players embark on a journey to recover fragments of her lost memories in an upset psychological dreamscape, which disintegrates the deeper they penetrate into Alice’s mind.

Alice Reloaded

McGee’s and Carroll’s stories might at first seem unlike, but one can teach us a lot about the other. Whether configured as dream or visions of madness, Alice’s imaginations react, in fantastical manner, to actual historical realities.

Carroll’s Alice is a story written by an Oxford don for the dean’s daughter. In her dream this Victorian girl gains the agency to question the power dynamics of her environment. Her vision turns popular Victorian morality poems and the etiquette of the tea-party into “uncommon nonsense”, questioning the genuineness of their underlying morality.

McGee latches on to this subversive potential. Industrial corruption is a major theme of the game, for instance. His Hatter and Hare turn into steampunk horror owners of a tea factory, enslaving and mechanically enhancing wonderland creatures. Industry appears as a new religion overriding the individual, visually embodied in a gigantic polluting train shaped like a Gothic cathedral – a take on Victorian history that hits home even almost two centuries after the Victorians. The player helps Alice to uncover these atrocities.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


alice in wonderland2Industrial hell. emalord/flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

Further Adventures

Many modern scholars have acknowledged the significance of Carroll’s classic as a watershed moment in the history of children’s literature. Carroll’s heroine, unlike those of other dream-journeys, does not progress by obeying moral agendas. She actively questions the static doctrines of the parodied adult figures of Wonderland, acting according to her own will.

In doing so, Alice puts a magnifying glass to reality, enlarging fragments of it to terrifying dimensions. She becomes a subversive interpreter of the world, a conqueror ascending to a position to dismiss a Royal court as “nothing but a pack of cards”. It is this core element of Alice’s appeal to modern audiences that McGee has focused on in his games.

McGee understands Alice as someone who has conquered both the physical and the mindspace. Envisaged as a trilogy from the start, he takes the notion of Alice as a explorer of psychology further in his most recent instalment, a series of short films rather than a game. In Alice: Otherlands (2015) Alice hops from her mind into others, peering into the creative genius that drove the 19th century. In films of diverse styles she explores the minds of scientist Edison, of painter Vincent van Gogh, composer Richard Wagner, or of science fiction writer Jules Verne, and accompanies them on their extraordinary journeys of artistic invention. Alice, once again becomes our guide and interpreter, this time to the process of transforming reality into vision, into art, itself.

Underground Icon And Pioneer

Often criticised for the dark tone of his adaptation, McGee confidently explained to me in an interview that he never “decided” that Alice should become a “gothy” character. Instead, he believes, “we were all aware of it, subconsciously”, noting “she was already a captain, an icon of that feeling” of “underground culture”. She literally and figuratively navigates what Donald Rackin has called “the comic horror-vision of the chaotic land beneath the man-made groundwork of Western thought and convention.”

Alice is always somehow “us”, but not “them”. She acts as a mediator. McGee is on side with Carroll creating an empowered heroine, a “beautiful, powerful, and interesting person” – appealing to us aesthetically and intellectually. We were always somehow part of what was inherently conceived as an interactive story. It was, after all, the reader who had to turn the page to make Tenniel’s illustration of the Cheshire Cat disappear.

alice in wonderland3The original Cheshire Cat, disappearing …

Perhaps one of the reasons Alice remains so successful is the timelessly powerful narrative pattern of making sense of the world through the eyes of a questioning outsider. And in this vein, McGee, like many before him, follows Carroll’s footsteps endowing the “reader” of his tale with agency.

In a century in which interactive digital media offers novel ways of drawing in the “reader”, we not only discover with Alice, we can become Alice, and discover yet unknown realities underlying our own lands that make us wonder. So here’s to the next 150 years of Alice.

About The AuthorThe Conversation

kohlt franziskaFranziska Kohlt, PhD Candidate & Teaching Assistant in Literature and Science, University of Oxford. Her thesis investigates the transformation of dream visions in Victorian fantastic literature within the interdisciplinary framework of nineteenth century psychology, focusing particularly on the works of Lewis Carroll, George MacDonald, Charles Kingsley and H.G. Wells.

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Book:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=161628384X;maxresults=1}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)