Les aventures d'Alice dans le cyberespace: la création de Lewis Carroll tourne 150

Les aventures d'Alice dans le cyberespace: la création de Lewis Carroll tourne 150Alice Madness Returns d'American McGee. emalord / flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

Au cours des dernières années 150 Alice de Lewis Carroll a subi d'innombrables transformations. Immédiatement populaire, elle a rapidement échappé à son environnement romanesque original, apparaissant dans des caricatures de style victorien, sur diapositives de lanterne magique sur scène. Seulement cinq ans après la mort de Carroll, Alice au Pays des Merveilles avait déjà été faite dans un court film muet.

Depuis, son succès de pionnier dans le multimédia a continué: Alice échappe au tourbillon de DisneyLe pays des merveilles coloré et dragéifié (1951), navigue le monochrome hypnotisant de Jonathan Miller Alice (1966), et conquiert même le surréaliste stop-motion de Jan Švankmajer expérience (1988). Dans l'esprit de l'entreprise de rêve originale et vertigineuse, Alice est toujours pionnière à travers un territoire nouveau et inexploré, embrassant toujours de nouvelles possibilités, ses aventures toujours un peu troublantes.

Ce sentiment a également caractérisé ses entreprises dans l'aube du 21st siècle, la conquête du cyberespace dans un ensemble de jeux vidéo par le maître du conte de fées gothique numérique, American McGee. Ces jeux frappent une note nettement plus sombre: après la mort de la famille d'Alice Liddell dans un incendie de maison, l'adolescente maintenant Alice vit dans un asile de Londres victorien.

Ici, entre les mains d'un psychiatre devenu hypnotique, elle lutte pour retrouver la mémoire de l'incident. Navigant dans ses sorts hallucinatoires post-traumatiques au pays des merveilles, Alice fusionne le passé et le présent. Les joueurs entreprennent un voyage pour récupérer des fragments de ses souvenirs perdus dans un paysage de rêve psychologique bouleversé, qui désintègre les profondeurs qu'ils pénètrent dans l'esprit d'Alice.

Alice Reloaded

Les histoires de McGee et Carroll peuvent sembler différentes à première vue, mais on peut en apprendre beaucoup sur l'autre. Conçues comme des rêves ou des visions de la folie, les imaginations d'Alice réagissent, de manière fantastique, à des réalités historiques réelles.

Carroll's Alice est une histoire écrite par un don d'Oxford pour la fille du doyen. Dans son rêve cette fille victorienne gagne l'agence pour interroger la dynamique de pouvoir de son environnement. Sa vision transforme les poèmes populaires de la moralité victorienne et l'étiquette du thé-party en «absurdité hors du commun», remettant en question l'authenticité de leur moralité sous-jacente.

McGee se cramponne à ce potentiel subversif. La corruption industrielle est un thème majeur du jeu, par exemple. Son Hatter et Hare se transforment en propriétaires d'horreur steampunk d'une usine de thé, asservissant et améliorant mécaniquement les créatures du pays des merveilles. L'industrie apparaît comme une nouvelle religion dépassant l'individu, incarnée visuellement dans un gigantesque train polluant en forme de cathédrale gothique - un regard sur l'histoire victorienne qui frappe la maison même presque deux siècles après les victoriens. Le joueur aide Alice à découvrir ces atrocités.

Alice au pays des merveilles2L'enfer industriel. emalord / flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

Further Adventures

Beaucoup de chercheurs modernes avoir reconnu l'importance du classique de Carroll en tant que moment décisif dans l'histoire de la littérature pour enfants. L'héroïne de Carroll, contrairement à d'autres voyages de rêves, ne progresse pas en obéissant à des programmes moraux. Elle interroge activement les doctrines statiques des figures adultes parodiées du pays des merveilles, agissant selon sa propre volonté.

Ce faisant, Alice met une loupe à la réalité, en agrandissant des fragments à des dimensions terrifiantes. Elle devient une interprète subversive du monde, un conquérant montant à une position pour rejeter une cour royale comme "rien mais un paquet de cartes". C'est cet élément central de l'appel d'Alice au public moderne sur lequel McGee s'est concentré dans ses jeux.

McGee comprend Alice comme quelqu'un qui a conquis à la fois le physique et l'esprit. Envisagé comme une trilogie dès le départ, il prend la notion d'Alice comme un explorateur de la psychologie plus loin dans son dernier épisode, une série de courts métrages plutôt qu'un jeu. Dans Alice: Autres terres (2015) Alice saute de son esprit dans les autres, scrutant le génie créateur qui a conduit le 19ème siècle. Dans des films de styles divers, elle explore l'esprit du scientifique Edison, du peintre Vincent van Gogh, du compositeur Richard Wagner ou d'un écrivain de science-fiction. Jules Verneet les accompagne dans leurs extraordinaires voyages d'invention artistique. Alice, encore une fois, devient notre guide et notre interprète, cette fois au processus de transformation de la réalité en vision, en art, lui-même.

Icône de métro Et Pioneer

Souvent critiqué pour le ton sombre de son adaptation, McGee m'a expliqué avec confiance dans une interview qu'il n'a jamais "décidé" qu'Alice deviendrait un personnage "gothique". Au lieu de cela, il croit, "nous étions tous conscients de cela, inconsciemment", notant "elle était déjà un capitaine, une icône de ce sentiment" de "culture underground". Elle navigue littéralement et figurativement ce que Donald Rackin a appelé "La vision horrifique comique de la terre chaotique sous le fondement artificiel de la pensée et de la convention occidentales".

Alice est toujours en quelque sorte "nous", mais pas "eux". Elle agit comme médiateur. McGee est d'accord avec Carroll pour créer une héroïne émancipée, une «personne belle, puissante et intéressante» - qui nous séduit esthétiquement et intellectuellement. Nous faisions toujours partie de ce qui était intrinsèquement conçu comme une histoire interactive. Ce fut, après tout, le lecteur qui dut tourner la page pour faire disparaître l'illustration de Tenniel du chat du Cheshire.

Alice au pays des merveilles3Le chat du Cheshire original, disparaissant ...

Peut-être l'une des raisons pour lesquelles Alice reste si réussie est le modèle narratif intemporel puissant de donner un sens au monde à travers les yeux d'un étranger interrogateur. Et dans cette veine, McGee, comme beaucoup avant lui, suit les traces de Carroll en dotant le «lecteur» de son histoire avec agence.

Dans un siècle où les médias numériques interactifs offrent de nouvelles façons de dessiner dans le «lecteur», nous découvrons non seulement avec Alice, nous pouvons devenir Alice, et découvrir des réalités encore inconnues sous-jacentes à nos propres terres qui nous étonnent. Alors, voici les prochaines années 150 d'Alice.

A propos de l'auteurLa Conversation

kohlt franziskaFranziska Kohlt, candidat au doctorat et Assistant d'enseignement en littérature et sciences, Université d'Oxford. Sa thèse étudie la transformation des visions de rêve dans la littérature fantastique victorienne dans le cadre interdisciplinaire du XIXe siècle la psychologie, en se concentrant particulièrement sur les travaux de Lewis Carroll, George MacDonald, Charles Kingsley et HG Wells.

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livre connexe:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = 161628384X; maxresults = 1}

Alice's Adventures In Cyberspace: Lewis Carroll's Creation Turns 150

Alice's Adventures In Cyberspace: Lewis Carroll's Creation Turns 150American McGee’s Alice Madness Returns. emalord/flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

In the past 150 years Lewis Carroll’s Alice has undergone innumerable transformations. Instantly popular, she quickly escaped her original novelistic environment, appearing in Victorian Punch caricatures, on magic lantern slides and on stage. Only five years after Carroll’s death, Alice in Wonderland had already been made into a short silent film.

Ever since, her pioneering success in multimedia has continued: Alice escapes the whirl of Disney’s colourful and sugar-coated animated Wonderland (1951), navigates Jonathan Miller’s mesmerising monochrome Alice (1966), and even conquers Jan Švankmajer’s stop-motion surrealist experiment (1988). In the spirit of the original dizzying dream-venture, Alice is always trailblazing through new and uncharted territory, always embracing new possibilities, her adventures always somewhat unsettling.

This sentiment has also characterised her ventures into the dawn of the 21st century, conquering cyberspace in a set of video games by the master of the digital Gothic fairy-tale, American McGee. These games strike a distinctly darker note: set after the death of Alice Liddell’s family in a house fire, the now teenaged Alice lives in a Victorian London asylum.

Here, in the hands of a mesmerist-come-psychiatrist, she struggles to regain memory of the incident. Navigating her post-traumatic hallucinatory spells in wonderland, Alice fuses past and present. Players embark on a journey to recover fragments of her lost memories in an upset psychological dreamscape, which disintegrates the deeper they penetrate into Alice’s mind.

Alice Reloaded

McGee’s and Carroll’s stories might at first seem unlike, but one can teach us a lot about the other. Whether configured as dream or visions of madness, Alice’s imaginations react, in fantastical manner, to actual historical realities.

Carroll’s Alice is a story written by an Oxford don for the dean’s daughter. In her dream this Victorian girl gains the agency to question the power dynamics of her environment. Her vision turns popular Victorian morality poems and the etiquette of the tea-party into “uncommon nonsense”, questioning the genuineness of their underlying morality.

McGee latches on to this subversive potential. Industrial corruption is a major theme of the game, for instance. His Hatter and Hare turn into steampunk horror owners of a tea factory, enslaving and mechanically enhancing wonderland creatures. Industry appears as a new religion overriding the individual, visually embodied in a gigantic polluting train shaped like a Gothic cathedral – a take on Victorian history that hits home even almost two centuries after the Victorians. The player helps Alice to uncover these atrocities.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


alice in wonderland2Industrial hell. emalord/flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

Further Adventures

Many modern scholars have acknowledged the significance of Carroll’s classic as a watershed moment in the history of children’s literature. Carroll’s heroine, unlike those of other dream-journeys, does not progress by obeying moral agendas. She actively questions the static doctrines of the parodied adult figures of Wonderland, acting according to her own will.

In doing so, Alice puts a magnifying glass to reality, enlarging fragments of it to terrifying dimensions. She becomes a subversive interpreter of the world, a conqueror ascending to a position to dismiss a Royal court as “nothing but a pack of cards”. It is this core element of Alice’s appeal to modern audiences that McGee has focused on in his games.

McGee understands Alice as someone who has conquered both the physical and the mindspace. Envisaged as a trilogy from the start, he takes the notion of Alice as a explorer of psychology further in his most recent instalment, a series of short films rather than a game. In Alice: Otherlands (2015) Alice hops from her mind into others, peering into the creative genius that drove the 19th century. In films of diverse styles she explores the minds of scientist Edison, of painter Vincent van Gogh, composer Richard Wagner, or of science fiction writer Jules Verne, and accompanies them on their extraordinary journeys of artistic invention. Alice, once again becomes our guide and interpreter, this time to the process of transforming reality into vision, into art, itself.

Underground Icon And Pioneer

Often criticised for the dark tone of his adaptation, McGee confidently explained to me in an interview that he never “decided” that Alice should become a “gothy” character. Instead, he believes, “we were all aware of it, subconsciously”, noting “she was already a captain, an icon of that feeling” of “underground culture”. She literally and figuratively navigates what Donald Rackin has called “the comic horror-vision of the chaotic land beneath the man-made groundwork of Western thought and convention.”

Alice is always somehow “us”, but not “them”. She acts as a mediator. McGee is on side with Carroll creating an empowered heroine, a “beautiful, powerful, and interesting person” – appealing to us aesthetically and intellectually. We were always somehow part of what was inherently conceived as an interactive story. It was, after all, the reader who had to turn the page to make Tenniel’s illustration of the Cheshire Cat disappear.

alice in wonderland3The original Cheshire Cat, disappearing …

Perhaps one of the reasons Alice remains so successful is the timelessly powerful narrative pattern of making sense of the world through the eyes of a questioning outsider. And in this vein, McGee, like many before him, follows Carroll’s footsteps endowing the “reader” of his tale with agency.

In a century in which interactive digital media offers novel ways of drawing in the “reader”, we not only discover with Alice, we can become Alice, and discover yet unknown realities underlying our own lands that make us wonder. So here’s to the next 150 years of Alice.

About The AuthorThe Conversation

kohlt franziskaFranziska Kohlt, PhD Candidate & Teaching Assistant in Literature and Science, University of Oxford. Her thesis investigates the transformation of dream visions in Victorian fantastic literature within the interdisciplinary framework of nineteenth century psychology, focusing particularly on the works of Lewis Carroll, George MacDonald, Charles Kingsley and H.G. Wells.

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Book:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=161628384X;maxresults=1}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)