Alices Abenteuer im Cyberspace: Lewis Carrolls Schöpfung verwandelt 150

Alices Abenteuer im Cyberspace: Lewis Carrolls Schöpfung verwandelt 150American McGees Alice Madness kehrt zurück. Emalord / Flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

In der Vergangenheit 150 Jahren Lewis Carrolls Alice hat unzählige Transformationen durchlaufen. Sofort beliebt, entkam sie schnell ihrer ursprünglichen romanhaften Umgebung, in der Victorian Punch Karikaturen auftauchten magische Laterne Dias und auf der Bühne. Nur fünf Jahre nach Carrolls Tod war Alice im Wunderland bereits zu einem Kurzfilm geworden Stummfilm.

Seither hat sich ihr bahnbrechender Multimedia - Erfolg fortgesetzt: Alice entkommt dem Wirbel von DisneyDas farbenfrohe und mit Zucker überzogene animierte Wonderland (1951) navigiert Jonathan Millers hypnotisierendes Monochrom Alice (1966), und erobert sogar Jan Švankmajers Stop-Motion-Surrealist Experiment (1988). Im Geist des schwindelerregenden Traumprojekts bahnt Alice sich immer neue Wege durch Neuland, immer neue Möglichkeiten, ihre Abenteuer immer etwas beunruhigend.

Dieses Gefühl hat auch ihre Unternehmungen in die Anfänge des 21-Jahrhunderts geprägt und den Cyberspace in einer Reihe erobert Videospiele vom Meister des digitalen gotischen Märchens, Amerikaner McGee. Diese Spiele haben eine deutlich dunklere Note: Nach dem Tod von Alice Liddells Familie in einem Hausbrand lebt die jetzt Teenagerin Alice in einem viktorianischen Londoner Asyl.

Hier, in den Händen eines Mesmerist-Come-Psychiaters, kämpft sie darum, die Erinnerung an den Vorfall wiederzugewinnen. Alice navigiert ihre posttraumatischen halluzinatorischen Zaubersprüche im Wunderland und verbindet Vergangenheit und Gegenwart. Die Spieler begeben sich auf eine Reise, um Fragmente ihrer verlorenen Erinnerungen in einer psychologischen Traumlandschaft zu finden, die sich auflöst, je tiefer sie in Alice 'Gedanken eindringen.

Alice neu geladen

McGees und Carrolls Geschichten mögen auf den ersten Blick anders aussehen, aber man kann uns viel über den anderen beibringen. Ob als Traum oder Visionen des Wahnsinns konfiguriert, reagieren Alices Fantasien auf phantastische Weise auf reale historische Realitäten.

Carrolls Alice ist eine Geschichte, die von einem Oxford Don für die Tochter des Dekans geschrieben wurde. In ihrem Traum erhält dieses viktorianische Mädchen die Möglichkeit, die Machtdynamik ihrer Umgebung in Frage zu stellen. Ihre Vision verwandelt populäre viktorianische Moralgedichten und die Etikette der Teeparty in "ungewöhnlichen Unsinn" und hinterfragt die Echtheit ihrer zugrunde liegenden Moral.

McGee greift dieses subversive Potenzial auf. Industrielle Korruption ist zum Beispiel ein Hauptthema des Spiels. Seine Hatter und Hare werden zu Steampunk-Horrorbesitzern einer Teefabrik, die die Wunderland-Kreaturen versklaven und mechanisch verbessern. Die Industrie erscheint als eine neue Religion, die das Individuum überlagert, visuell verkörpert in einem gigantischen, verschmutzenden Zug in Form einer gotischen Kathedrale - eine Anspielung auf die viktorianische Geschichte, die sogar fast zwei Jahrhunderte nach den Viktorianern Einzug hält. Der Spieler hilft Alice, diese Grausamkeiten aufzudecken.

Alice im Wunderland2Industrielle Hölle. Emalord / Flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

Weitere Abenteuer

Viele moderne Gelehrte habe bestätigt die Bedeutung von Carrolls Klassiker als Wendepunkt in der Geschichte der Kinderliteratur. Carrolls Heldin entwickelt sich im Gegensatz zu anderen Traumreisen nicht durch moralische Ziele. Sie stellt aktiv die statischen Lehren der parodierten Erwachsenenfiguren des Wunderlandes in Frage, die nach ihrem eigenen Willen handeln.

Dabei setzt Alice ein Vergrößerungsglas in die Realität und vergrößert Fragmente in erschreckende Dimensionen. Sie wird zu einem subversiven Interpreten der Welt, ein Eroberer, der aufsteigt, um einen königlichen Hof als "nichts als ein Kartenspiel" zu verwerfen. Es ist dieses Kernelement von Alice 'Appell an ein modernes Publikum, auf das sich McGee in seinen Spielen konzentriert hat.

McGee versteht Alice als jemanden, der sowohl den physischen als auch den mentalen Raum erobert hat. Von Anfang an als Trilogie vorgestellt, nimmt er in seiner jüngsten Folge die Idee von Alice als Entdecker der Psychologie weiter, eine Reihe von Kurzfilmen statt eines Spiels. Im Alice: Andere Länder (2015) Alice springt von ihrem Verstand in andere hinein und späht in das kreative Genie ein, das das 19th Jahrhundert antrieb. In Filmen verschiedener Stile erkundet sie die Gedanken des Wissenschaftlers Edison, des Malers Vincent van Gogh, des Komponisten Richard Wagner oder des Science-Fiction-Schriftstellers Jules Verneund begleitet sie auf ihren außergewöhnlichen Reisen künstlerischer Erfindungen. Alice wird wieder einmal unser Führer und Interpret, diesmal zum Prozess der Umwandlung der Realität in die Vision, in die Kunst selbst.

Underground Icon und Pionier

Oft für den dunklen Ton seiner Adaption kritisiert, erklärte McGee mir selbstbewusst in einem Interview dass er nie "entschieden" hat, dass Alice ein "gothischer" Charakter wird. Stattdessen glaubt er, "wir waren alle bewusst, unterbewusst" und bemerkte "sie war bereits ein Kapitän, eine Ikone dieses Gefühls" der "Untergrundkultur". Sie steuert wortwörtlich und im übertragenen Sinn, was Donald Rackin hat genannt "Die komische Horror-Vision des chaotischen Landes unter der von Menschen geschaffenen Grundlage westlicher Gedanken und Konventionen."

Alice ist immer irgendwie "uns", aber nicht "sie". Sie fungiert als Vermittlerin. McGee ist auf der Seite mit Carroll und schafft eine ermächtigte Heldin, eine "schöne, mächtige und interessante Person" - die uns anspricht ästhetisch und intellektuell. Wir waren immer irgendwie Teil dessen, was von Natur aus als interaktive Geschichte gedacht war. Es war schließlich der Leser, der die Seite umdrehen musste, um Tenniels Illustration der Cheshire Cat verschwinden zu lassen.

Alice im Wunderland3Die ursprüngliche Cheshire Cat, verschwindet ...

Vielleicht ist einer der Gründe, warum Alice so erfolgreich bleibt, das zeitlos kraftvolle Erzählmuster, durch die Augen eines fragenden Außenseiters die Welt zu verstehen. Und in diesem Sinne folgt McGee, wie viele andere vor ihm, Carrolls Fußstapfen, die den "Leser" seiner Geschichte mit Handlungsfähigkeit ausstatten.

In einem Jahrhundert, in dem interaktive digitale Medien neue Wege des Zeichnens im "Leser" bieten, entdecken wir nicht nur mit Alice, wir können Alice werden, und entdecken noch unbekannte Realitäten, die unseren eigenen Ländern zugrunde liegen und uns wundern. Also, hier ist für die nächsten 150 Jahre von Alice.

Über den AutorDas Gespräch

kohlt franziskaFranziska Kohlt, Doktorandin und Lehrassistentin für Literatur und Naturwissenschaften, Universität Oxford. Ihre Dissertation untersucht die Transformation von Traumvisionen in der viktorianischen Phantastikliteratur im interdisziplinären Rahmen der Psychologie des 19. Jahrhunderts, wobei sie sich insbesondere auf die Arbeiten von Lewis Carroll, George MacDonald, Charles Kingsley und HG Wells konzentriert.

Dieser Artikel wurde ursprünglich veröffentlicht am Das Gespräch.. Lies das Original Artikel.

Verwandte Buch:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = 161628384X; maxresults = 1}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Alice's Adventures In Cyberspace: Lewis Carroll's Creation Turns 150

Alice's Adventures In Cyberspace: Lewis Carroll's Creation Turns 150American McGee’s Alice Madness Returns. emalord/flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

In the past 150 years Lewis Carroll’s Alice has undergone innumerable transformations. Instantly popular, she quickly escaped her original novelistic environment, appearing in Victorian Punch caricatures, on magic lantern slides and on stage. Only five years after Carroll’s death, Alice in Wonderland had already been made into a short silent film.

Ever since, her pioneering success in multimedia has continued: Alice escapes the whirl of Disney’s colourful and sugar-coated animated Wonderland (1951), navigates Jonathan Miller’s mesmerising monochrome Alice (1966), and even conquers Jan Švankmajer’s stop-motion surrealist experiment (1988). In the spirit of the original dizzying dream-venture, Alice is always trailblazing through new and uncharted territory, always embracing new possibilities, her adventures always somewhat unsettling.

This sentiment has also characterised her ventures into the dawn of the 21st century, conquering cyberspace in a set of video games by the master of the digital Gothic fairy-tale, American McGee. These games strike a distinctly darker note: set after the death of Alice Liddell’s family in a house fire, the now teenaged Alice lives in a Victorian London asylum.

Here, in the hands of a mesmerist-come-psychiatrist, she struggles to regain memory of the incident. Navigating her post-traumatic hallucinatory spells in wonderland, Alice fuses past and present. Players embark on a journey to recover fragments of her lost memories in an upset psychological dreamscape, which disintegrates the deeper they penetrate into Alice’s mind.

Alice Reloaded

McGee’s and Carroll’s stories might at first seem unlike, but one can teach us a lot about the other. Whether configured as dream or visions of madness, Alice’s imaginations react, in fantastical manner, to actual historical realities.

Carroll’s Alice is a story written by an Oxford don for the dean’s daughter. In her dream this Victorian girl gains the agency to question the power dynamics of her environment. Her vision turns popular Victorian morality poems and the etiquette of the tea-party into “uncommon nonsense”, questioning the genuineness of their underlying morality.

McGee latches on to this subversive potential. Industrial corruption is a major theme of the game, for instance. His Hatter and Hare turn into steampunk horror owners of a tea factory, enslaving and mechanically enhancing wonderland creatures. Industry appears as a new religion overriding the individual, visually embodied in a gigantic polluting train shaped like a Gothic cathedral – a take on Victorian history that hits home even almost two centuries after the Victorians. The player helps Alice to uncover these atrocities.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


alice in wonderland2Industrial hell. emalord/flickr, CC BY-NC-SA

Further Adventures

Many modern scholars have acknowledged the significance of Carroll’s classic as a watershed moment in the history of children’s literature. Carroll’s heroine, unlike those of other dream-journeys, does not progress by obeying moral agendas. She actively questions the static doctrines of the parodied adult figures of Wonderland, acting according to her own will.

In doing so, Alice puts a magnifying glass to reality, enlarging fragments of it to terrifying dimensions. She becomes a subversive interpreter of the world, a conqueror ascending to a position to dismiss a Royal court as “nothing but a pack of cards”. It is this core element of Alice’s appeal to modern audiences that McGee has focused on in his games.

McGee understands Alice as someone who has conquered both the physical and the mindspace. Envisaged as a trilogy from the start, he takes the notion of Alice as a explorer of psychology further in his most recent instalment, a series of short films rather than a game. In Alice: Otherlands (2015) Alice hops from her mind into others, peering into the creative genius that drove the 19th century. In films of diverse styles she explores the minds of scientist Edison, of painter Vincent van Gogh, composer Richard Wagner, or of science fiction writer Jules Verne, and accompanies them on their extraordinary journeys of artistic invention. Alice, once again becomes our guide and interpreter, this time to the process of transforming reality into vision, into art, itself.

Underground Icon And Pioneer

Often criticised for the dark tone of his adaptation, McGee confidently explained to me in an interview that he never “decided” that Alice should become a “gothy” character. Instead, he believes, “we were all aware of it, subconsciously”, noting “she was already a captain, an icon of that feeling” of “underground culture”. She literally and figuratively navigates what Donald Rackin has called “the comic horror-vision of the chaotic land beneath the man-made groundwork of Western thought and convention.”

Alice is always somehow “us”, but not “them”. She acts as a mediator. McGee is on side with Carroll creating an empowered heroine, a “beautiful, powerful, and interesting person” – appealing to us aesthetically and intellectually. We were always somehow part of what was inherently conceived as an interactive story. It was, after all, the reader who had to turn the page to make Tenniel’s illustration of the Cheshire Cat disappear.

alice in wonderland3The original Cheshire Cat, disappearing …

Perhaps one of the reasons Alice remains so successful is the timelessly powerful narrative pattern of making sense of the world through the eyes of a questioning outsider. And in this vein, McGee, like many before him, follows Carroll’s footsteps endowing the “reader” of his tale with agency.

In a century in which interactive digital media offers novel ways of drawing in the “reader”, we not only discover with Alice, we can become Alice, and discover yet unknown realities underlying our own lands that make us wonder. So here’s to the next 150 years of Alice.

About The AuthorThe Conversation

kohlt franziskaFranziska Kohlt, PhD Candidate & Teaching Assistant in Literature and Science, University of Oxford. Her thesis investigates the transformation of dream visions in Victorian fantastic literature within the interdisciplinary framework of nineteenth century psychology, focusing particularly on the works of Lewis Carroll, George MacDonald, Charles Kingsley and H.G. Wells.

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Book:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=161628384X;maxresults=1}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)