عندما تكون الحيوانات الأليفة الأسرة ، فإن الفوائد تمتد إلى المجتمع

عندما تكون الحيوانات الأليفة الأسرة ، فإن الفوائد تمتد إلى المجتمعسرير القط.

هناك اتجاه عالمي متزايد للنظر في الحيوانات الأليفة كجزء من الأسرة. في الواقع ، الملايين من الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم يحبون حيواناتهم الأليفة ، والاستمتاع برفاقهم ، والذهاب للمشي ، واللعب وحتى التحدث معهم. وهناك أدلة تشير إلى أن التعلق بالحيوانات الأليفة مفيد لصحة الإنسان ويساعد حتى في بناء المجتمع.

في كثير من الأحيان ، يتم تضمين الحيوانات في الأحداث العائلية وتصبح مهمة لجميع أفراد الأسرة. يمكن أن يكون هذا مهمًا بشكل خاص في العائلات ذات العائل الوحيد ، أين حيوان أليف يمكن أن يكون رفيقا هاما للأطفال. الأطفال الذين لديهم حيوانات أليفة قد يكون أعلى مستويات التقمص العاطفي . إحترام الذات مقارنة مع أولئك الذين ليس لديهم حيوانات أليفة. يمكن التفكير في الحيوانات الأليفة كأفراد الأسرة جعل الأعمال المنزلية المرتبطة رعاية الحيوانات الأليفة أقل إرهاكا مما هي عليه بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يعتبرون الحيوانات الأليفة كممتلكات. إنفاق المزيد من الوقت لرعاية حيوان أليف يزيد من ارتباط ذلك الحيوان الذي بدوره يقلل من الإجهاد في الملاك.

في البحث الذي أجريته مع زملائي الشيخوخة والمشاركة الاجتماعية، وجدنا تحليلا كبيرا يبين أن التفاعلات التي تنطوي على الحيوانات الأليفة ، وخاصة إذا كنا نهتم بهم ، يمكن أن يكون لها تأثير وقائي على الصحة. Zooeyia (وضوحا zoo-AY-uh) هي فكرة أن الحيوانات الأليفة ، والمعروفة أيضا باسم الحيوانات الأليفة ، يمكن أن تكون جيد لصحة الانسان. في الواقع ، تم العثور على أصحاب الحيوانات الأليفة في ألمانيا وأستراليا زيارة الطبيب 15 في المائة أقل من مرة سنويا من غير أصحاب الحيوانات الأليفة.

اتصالات صحية وعاطفية

العديد من الفوائد الصحية للإنسان تحدث عندما يكون هناك ارتباط عاطفي بالحيوانات الأليفة. ونحن نميل إلى رعاية أكثر للحيوانات التي تعيش معنا. على سبيل المثال ، وجدت دراسة نظرت إلى التعلق بالكلاب أن الناس يميلون إلى ذلك رعاية كلاب منزلهم أكثر من تلك التي تعيش في الفناء. ارتبطت مستويات أعلى من الارتباط للكلاب مع احتمال أكبر للمشي الكلب و قضاء مزيد من الوقت على تلك المشى مقارنة مع أولئك الذين لديهم رابطة أضعف مع كلابهم.

ارتبط حياتك مع حيوان أليف مع انخفاض خطر الإصابة مرض الشريان التاجي ، وانخفاض في مستويات التوتر وزيادة النشاط البدني (وخاصة من خلال المشي الكلب). وقد تبين وجود وجود حيوان أليف خلال الأنشطة المجهدة خفض ضغط الدم من الأزواج الذين يشاركون في مهمة مرهقة. في الواقع، ارتفعت مستويات الأندورفين بيتا والأوكسيتوسين والدوبامين ، من بين علامات أخرى ، في كل من البشر وكلابهم خلال تفاعلات العناية ، مما يدل على أن الوقت الذي يقضيه هو مفيد من الناحية الفسيولوجية لكلا النوعين. وقد ارتبط امتلاك حيوان أليف مع تحسين بقاء أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية بين كبار السن (الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 65 إلى 84 سنة) يعالجون لارتفاع ضغط الدم.

عندما تكون الحيوانات الأليفة الأسرة ، فإن الفوائد تمتد إلى المجتمع تظهر الأبحاث أن الأطفال الذين يكبرون مع الحيوانات الأليفة يطورون مستويات أعلى من التعاطف ومستويات إجهاد أقل. شترستوك

الحيوانات الأليفة والأسرة وأعضاء المجتمع

لأن الحيوانات الأليفة تعتبر من أفراد العائلة من قبل العديد من الأشخاص ، فإن فقدان كلب أو قطة غالباً ما يكون سبباً للحزن العميق. يصعب على الكثيرين استبدال الحيوانات الأليفة المفقودة أو الميتة لأن العلاقة بين الشخص والحيوان كانت خاصة بهؤلاء الأفراد. غالبا ما يكون الارتباط بين البشر والحيوانات قويا لدرجة أنه من الشائع حدادا بطريقة مشابهة جدا للمشاعر والسلوكيات المرتبطة بفقدان أحد أفراد العائلة البشرية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


العلاقة بين البشر والحيوانات ليست فقط جيدة لصحة الإنسان ، يمكن أن تساعد أيضا بناء المجتمع. الناس مع الحيوانات الأليفة غالبا ما تجد ذلك الأنشطة مع الحيوانات رفيقة بهم يخلق اتصالات مع أشخاص آخرين. الشبكات الاجتماعية التي تم تطويرها على أساس الاهتمام المشترك حول رفاهية الحيوانات يمكن أن تؤدي إلى زيادة التفاعل بين الإنسان ، وكذلك الأنشطة التي تنطوي على الحيوانات الأليفة (مثل نوادي المشي الكلب). يمشي الكلب على الناس خارج المساحات الخاصة ، والتي يمكن عزلها ، و في المناطق العامة حيث يمكن التفاعل مع الجيران وغيرهم من المشاة.

حماية الحيوانات الأليفة

تنشئ المجتمعات قوانين ومؤسسات لحماية الحيوانات الأليفة من القسوة والإهمال. في معظم الولايات القضائية ، لم يتطور تنظيم الملاجئ والجنيهات ليعكس الوضع المحبوب للعديد من الحيوانات الأليفة ، وبدلاً من ذلك يعتبر الحيوانات الأليفة ملكية. إذا لم يتم لم شمل حيوان أليف مفقود مع مالك في غضون أيام قليلة يمكن أن يكون بيعت إلى عائلة جديدة ، إلى مختبر أبحاث ، أو تموت. ومع ذلك ، فإن بعض البلدان ، مثل الهند, إيطاليا . تايوان قد شرع ضد القتل الرحيم من الحيوانات المأوى صحية.

لكن في أمريكا الشمالية القتل الرحيم لا يزال شائعا. في 2017 ، وجدت Humane Canada أنه من بين الملاجئ التي قاموا بمسحها ، أكثر من 70 في المائة من الكلاب والقطط المفقودة لم يطالب بها أحد ، كما تم قتل عشرات الآلاف من الكلاب والقطط. في 2016، تم تجربة حيوانات 4,308,921 في المختبرات الكندية. تقريبا كانت 17,000 الكلاب والقطط الأليفة التي تم توفيرها من قبل الملاجئ لمختبرات البحوث و الموت الرحيم في وقت لاحق.

وقد أدت قوة الرابط بين الإنسان والحيوان إلى إنشاء عمليات إنقاذ للحيوانات لا تهدف إلى الربح تتمثل مهمتها في "سحب" الحيوانات المهجورة والمهجورة من الملاجئ قبل أن يتم التخلص منها أو بيعها لأغراض البحث. فمثلا، أمل مارلي هي منظمة إنقاذ جميع نوفا سكوتيا. المنظمة أيضا شركاء مع Sifykne'katik First Nation للمساعدة إعادة التجوال الكلاب وكذلك التعقيم والحياد حيثما أمكن ذلك. ال المستضعف السكك الحديدية في تورونتو ، أونتاريو ، ينقذ الكلاب والقطط من الملاجئ عالية القتل بالإضافة إلى تلك التي تقدم "مجانية إلى منزل جيد" عبر الإنترنت. و Elderdog يوفر كبار السن مع مساعدة لرعاية حيواناتهم الأليفة وكذلك إنقاذ الكلاب القديمة المهجورة.

الـ جمعية الرفق بالحيوان الدولية - كندا يساعد في برامج spay-neuter طالما الدعوة ل وإنقاذ الحيوانات ، بما في ذلك في صناعات لحوم الكلاب والقطط الدولية. أغلقوا ثلاثة مزارع لحوم الكلاب الكورية الجنوبية واثنين من المسالخ في 2018 ، إنقاذ الكلاب 512 ، وكثير منهم وجدت منازل في كندا والولايات المتحدة.

عندما تكون الحيوانات الأليفة الأسرة ، فإن الفوائد تمتد إلى المجتمع بالإضافة إلى الفوائد الصحية للنشاط البدني ، فإن المشي لدى الكلب لديه العديد من المزايا الاجتماعية والمجتمعية. شترستوك

أدرك المهندسي غاندي أهمية رابطة الحيوانات البشرية. في سيرته الذاتية قال "كان تفوق الإنسان على الحيوانات الدنيا يعني أن الأول يجب أن يفترس الأخير ، لكن الأعلى يجب أن يحمي الدنيا ، وأنه يجب أن تكون هناك مساعدة متبادلة بين الاثنينإن التعرف على الطرق التي تؤدي بها الحيوانات الرفيقة إلى إثراء حياة البشر ، وفهم عمق المودة بين العديد من البشر والحيوانات ، قد يكون المفتاح ليس للصحة الأفضل فحسب ، بل لتحسين رفاهية المجتمع ككل.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ليزا إف كارفر ، زميلة ما بعد الدكتوراة ، جامعة الملكة والشيخوخة + تكنولوجيا الاتصالات + (ACT) (بتمويل من SSHRC) ، جامعة كوينز ، أونتاريو

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Pets for happiness؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
كيف تتحدث مع أطفالك عن الطلاق؟
by مونتيل ويليامز وجيفري غارديري ، دكتوراه

When Pets Are Family, The Benefits Extend Into Society

pets

When Pets Are Family, The Benefits Extend Into SocietyCat bed.

There is a growing global trend to consider pets as part of the family. In fact, millions of people around the world love their pets, enjoying their companionship, going for walks, playing and even talking to them. And there is evidence suggesting that attachment to pets is good for human health and even helps build community.

More and more often, animals are included in family events and become important to all members of the family. This can be particularly significant in single-parent families, where a pet can be an important companion to children. Children with pets may have higher levels of empathy and self-esteem compared to those who do not have pets. Thinking of pets as family members can actually make the chores associated with pet care less stressful than they are for those who consider pets as property. Spending more time caring for a pet increases attachment to that animal which in turn reduces stress in owners.

In the research my colleagues and I have done on aging and social participation, we found considerable analysis showing that interactions involving pets, especially if we care about them, can have a health-protective effect. Zooeyia (pronounced zoo-AY-uh) is the idea that pets, also known as companion animals, can be good for human health. In fact, pet owners in Germany and Australia were found to visit their doctor 15 per cent fewer times annually than non-pet owners.

Healthy, emotional connections

Many health benefits to humans occur when there is an emotional attachment to pets. And we tend to care the most for animals that live with us. For example, a study that looked at attachment to dogs found that people tended to care about their house dogs more than those that lived in the yard. Higher levels of attachment to dogs has been associated with a greater likelihood of walking the dog and spending more time on those walks as compared with those with a weaker bond to their dogs.

Sharing your life with a pet has been associated with a decreased risk of coronary artery disease, a reduction in stress levels and increased physical activity (especially through dog walking). The presence of a pet during stressful activities has been shown to lower the blood pressure of couples taking part in a stressful task. In fact, levels of beta-endorphin, oxytocin and dopamine, among other markers, increased in both humans and their dogs during caring interactions, demonstrating that time spent together is physiologically beneficial for both species. And owning a pet has been associated with an improved cardiovascular disease survival among older adults (aged 65 to 84 years old) being treated for hypertension.

When Pets Are Family, The Benefits Extend Into Society Research shows that children who grow up with a pet develop higher levels of empathy and lower stress levels. Shutterstock

Pets as family and community members

Because pets are considered family members by many people, the loss of a dog or cat is often a cause for deep grief. A missing or dead pet is hard for many to replace because the relationship between the person and pet was specific to those individuals. The attachment between humans and animals is often so strong that it is common to mourn in a way that is very similar to the feelings and behaviours associated with the loss of a human family member.

The bond between humans and animals is not just good for human health, it can also help build community. People with pets often find that activities with their companion animal creates connections with other people. Social networks that are developed based on shared concern over the welfare of animals can lead to increased human-human interaction, as well as activities involving pets (e.g. dog-walking clubs). Walking a dog gets people out of private spaces, which can be isolating, and into public areas where interactions with neighbors and other walkers are possible.

Protecting pets

Societies create laws and institutions to protect companion animals from cruelty and neglect. In most jurisdictions, regulation of shelters and pounds has not evolved to reflect the beloved status of many pets, and instead consider pets as property. If a lost pet is not reunited with an owner within a few days it can be sold to a new family, to a research lab, or be euthanized. However, some countries, such as India, Italy and Taiwan have legislated against the euthanasia of healthy shelter animals.

But in North America euthanasia is still common. In 2017, Humane Canada found that among the shelters they surveyed, over 70 per cent of lost dogs and cats were unclaimed, and tens of thousands of dogs and cats were euthanized. In 2016, 4,308,921 animals were experimented on in Canadian laboratories. Approximately 17,000 were pet dogs and cats who were provided by shelters to research laboratories and later euthanized.

The strength of the human-animal bond has resulted in the creation of not-for-profit animal rescues whose mission is to ‘pull’ lost and abandoned animals from shelters before they are euthanized or sold for research. For example, Marley’s Hope is a Nova Scotia all-breed rescue organization. The organisation also partners with the Sipekne’katik First Nation to help rehome roaming dogs as well as spay and neuter where possible. The Underdog Railroad in Toronto, Ontario, rescues dogs and cats from high-kill shelters as well as those offered “free to a good home” online. And Elderdog provides older adults with help to care for their pets as well as rescuing abandoned older dogs.

The Humane Society International — Canada assists in spay-neuter programs as well as advocating for and rescuing animals, including in the international dog and cat meat industries. They closed three South Korean dog meat farms and two slaughterhouses in 2018, rescuing 512 dogs, many of whom found homes in Canada and the USA.

When Pets Are Family, The Benefits Extend Into Society In addition to the health benefits of physical activity, walking your dog has many social and community benefits. Shutterstock

Mohandas Ghandi understood the importance of the human animal bond. In his autobiography he said “man’s supremacy over the lower animals meant not that the former should prey upon the latter, but that the higher should protect the lower, and that there should be mutual aid between the two.” Recognizing the ways that companion animals enrich human lives, and understanding the depth of the affection between many humans and animals, may be the key to not only better health, but to improving the welfare of society as a whole.The Conversation

About The Author

Lisa F. Carver, Post Doctoral Fellow, Queen's University and Ageing + Communication + Technologies (ACT) (SSHRC funded), Queen's University, Ontario

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

National Geographic Complete Guide to Pet Health, Behavior, and Happiness: The Veterinarian's Approach to At-Home Animal Care

petsAuthor: Gary Weitzman DVM MPH
Binding: Paperback
Studio: National Geographic
Label: National Geographic
Publisher: National Geographic
Manufacturer: National Geographic

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

In National Geographic's comprehensive and easy-to-use illustrated pet reference, a renowned veterinarian offers expert advice on common health, behavior, and training for cats, dogs, and other domestic pets.

Combining first aid, medical reference, and tips and tricks of the trade, here is your go-to-guide for at-home animal care, focusing on dogs, cats, rabbits, birds, and more! Building on more than two decades of veterinary experience, Dr. Gary Weitzman covers topics including upset stomachs, house training, physical ailments and behavior tips. The president and CEO of the San Diego Humane Society and former co-host of the weekly NPR show The Animal House, “Dr. Gary” brings a wealth of experience to essential veterinary questions, revealing basic first-aid techniques, when a trip to the vet is necessary, dietary recommendations, simple training techniques, necessary supplies, essential behavior cues, and much more.





The Nature of Animal Healing: The Path to Your Pet's Health, Happiness, and Longevity

petsAuthor: Martin Goldstein
Binding: Hardcover
Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition

Brand: Brand: Knopf
Studio: Knopf
Label: Knopf
Publisher: Knopf
Manufacturer: Knopf

Buy Now
Editorial Review: The Nature of Animal Healing is a groundbreaking, inspirational contribution to animal care. Dr. Martin Goldstein, one of the most successful and best-known holistic veterinarians in the country, offers here, for the first time, invaluable insights into how to give our pets a healthy, happy, and long life.

Dr. Goldstein--a graduate of the Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine who runs a renowned clinic in South Salem, New York--begins by explaining his approach to alternative treatment: what it is, how it works, and why it's especially important that animals be treated holistically. Holistic pet care essentially revolves around the notion that the best way to cure an animal who is ill is to help the animal cure itself. We are not the true healers of our pets--they are. By treating the root of the problem instead of its symptoms, holistic medicine enables our pets to regain and maintain their own health.

In this comprehensive and accessible book, Dr. Goldstein not only shares his philosophy of how animals should--must--be treated, but also shows us exactly what to do. With moving and often entertaining examples from his years of practice, he offers prescriptive advice for the pet lover of every stripe: why we shouldn't feed our animals commercial pet food; why vaccines can actually do more harm than good; how acupuncture and homeopathic medicine can be used to help our pets; why pets need to experience a "healing crisis" in order to get well; and much, much more.

In his practice, Dr. Goldstein has had extraordinary success treating cancer and leukemia. Here, he begins to decipher the riddle of those killer diseases and shows us how best to treat them, as well as how to prevent them from occurring. Included is the exhaustive "Alphabet of Ailments," a list that tackles common afflictions one by one--the most useful guide ever published in a book on animal care.

Dr. Goldstein also turns to the spiritual realm, addressing how the emotional bonds we form with our animals have the power to provoke and cure disease. In his smart, helpful, and comforting style, he tells us how to deal with the inevitable death of a pet--both physically and psychologically.

Finally, there is an indispensable source guide: a complete listing of pet health-care centers, doctors, and products. So wherever you live, you will be able to act on the advice and recommendations you are sure to take to heart.

The Nature of Animal Healing is a revolutionary guide that no pet owner should be without.




Woof: A book of happiness for dog lovers (Animal Happiness)

petsBinding: Hardcover
Features:
  • Exisle Pub

Brand: imusti
Creator(s):
  • Anouska Jones

Studio: Exisle Publishing
Label: Exisle Publishing
Publisher: Exisle Publishing
Manufacturer: Exisle Publishing

Buy Now
Editorial Review:

Dogs have a way of making our lives feel complete. They're there for us through good times and bad, with their wholehearted engagement in life a lesson to us all on living in the moment.

Woof: A book of happiness for dog lovers is a compendium of delightful quotes that capture the essence of our affection for these wonderful animals. Some are by famous people (Aldous Huxley, Mark Twain, Charles M. Schulz, Milan Kundera, G.K. Chesterton), others not; some are philosophical, others light-hearted - all are memorable.

A book that can be joyfully picked up for a few minutes or indulgently read from cover to cover, Woof is accompanied by beautiful photography and presented in a high-quality gift format. This is a collection of quotes to treasure and is an absolute treat for all dog lovers and owners alike.





pets
enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}