ألم الحيوان هو عن الاتصال وليس الشعور فقط

ألم الحيوان هو عن الاتصال وليس الشعور فقط

إذا شاهدت أطفالاً في ملعب محلي ، فسرعان ما سيبدأ أحدهم في السقوط على الأرض. للحظة ، من المحتمل أن يكون هناك صمت. ثم سوف ينظر الطفل حوله ، ويلتقط لمحة عن والده ، وأخيرا ينفجر في نحيب يصم الآذان. تسلسل صرخة هذا الطفل ليس صدفة: إنه إشارة. الوالد ينظر من كتابهم ويسرع على الفور إلى سجع ووحدة التحكم. دون استخدام كلمة ، تمكن الطفل من جذب انتباه شخص ما الذي يمكنه التخفيف من آلامه.

لماذا يوجد ألم؟ إنه موجود في كل مكان في الحياة البشرية ، ولكن وظيفته البيولوجية أكثر فضولًا. الألم يختلف عن النقي حس الألم، عملية القدرة على الكشف عن التحفيز السام والابتعاد عنه. لكن الألم لا يسجل ببساطة في وعينا كعلامة أو علامة لأشياء يجب أن نتجنبها في العالم. إنها تجربة في حد ذاتها ، شيء نحن بشكل ذاتي شعور.

توجد مشاعرنا الداخلية للألم كجزء من عالم اجتماعي خارجي من خلال التعبير. نحن نقبل بسهولة قدرتنا البشرية على التواصل مشاعرنا عدمشفهيا ونعلم أن هناك نتائج مفيدة ، مثل الراحة ، في القيام بذلك. ولكن عندما يتعلق الأمر بالطريقة غير البشرية لقد عانى العلماء ـ على نحو مفاجئ ـ من التفكير في أنه ليس أكثر من مجرد نتيجة جانبية للإصابة. النظر إلى الغرض من الألم كنوع من الإشارات بين الحيوانات يثير شبح التجسيم البشري.

ومع ذلك ، هناك الكثير من الأدلة على أن الرغبة غير البشرية في عرض الألم لها قيمة التواصل العميق والجوهرية. خذ صراخ الحملان أو الجراء الفئران ، التي تجلب أمهاتهم إلى العريس ولعق لهم. أو الطريقة التي سوف الصرير وتتلوى الفئران ارسم cagemate أغلق. يقلل هذا الاهتمام والراحة من مدى الضرر الذي تشعر به الإصابة ، وهي ظاهرة تعرف باسم التخزين المؤقت الاجتماعي. الحملان تمر باجراءات مؤلمة مع أم or التوأم الشقيق في مكان قريب يبدو أقل تحفيزًا من الحملان التي تركها بنفسه ؛ فأره تجربة شيء مماثل.

ليس أن ألم البث يثير دائما رعايته. الفئران في بعض الأحيان هرب من صور وجوه الفئران الملطخة ، ربما لأن رؤية الألم مزعجة للغاية بالنسبة لهم. وبالمثل ، فقد عرفت الحملان ل نطحة الأقران ، ربما لمنعهم من جذب الانتباه غير المرغوب فيه من الحيوانات المفترسة.

هذا هو العائق لإظهار أنك تتألم: فالعلامات التي تجذب الأصدقاء يمكن أيضًا أن ترسم الأعداء. يمكن أن تكون التعبيرات الأكثر دهاءً من الألم ، مثل تعبيرات الوجه ، طريقة للتغلب على هذا اللغز. يتلطف الشعور بالمتعة إلى أولئك الذين يقتربون منهم ، دون أن يتضح على الفور وجود حيوان مفترس يتربص في الأدغال. في الواقع ، العديد من الحيوانات التي تظهر الألم على وجوههم ، مثل الأرانب, فأره or خروف، هي حيوانات الفريسة الضعيفة.

لكن لماذا هل تهتم الحيوانات للآخرين الذين يعانون من الألم؟ أبسط سبب هو أن السلوك غير طبيعي لدرجة أنه يأمر برد فعل ؛ إنه حافز بسيط يبرز على خلفية اليوم. التفسير الآخر الأكثر معقولية هو أن هناك فائدة في الاهتمام بألم الشخص الآخر. مثلما تتطلع الحيوانات إلى البيئة المادية للحصول على معلومات حول موقع الغذاء أو التهديدات ، فإن الاهتمام بالبيئة الاجتماعية يتيح لها جمع معلومات حول السيناريوهات الفورية والماضية والمستقبلية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


على سبيل المثال ، إذا أصاب الحيوان نفسه بالسقوط في حفرة ، يمكن للحيوانات الأخرى أن تتعلم تجنب هذا الخطر دون الوقوع ضحية له. هم المخاطر خطر محتمل من تعبير الآخر عن الانزعاج. يتعلم عدد من الحيوانات من مشاهدة معاناة أقرانهم ، بما في ذلك قرود ريسوس, الزرد, السناجب الأرضية . كلاب البراري. البعض لا يحتاج إلا لألم شاهد مرة من أجل التعلم منه.

Sلماذا المقاومة لرؤية المعاناة غير البشرية كنوع من التواصل؟ في جزء ، هو مخلفات من إيمان رينيه ديكارت في انقسم بين العقل والجسد ، والتي لم يتم منح الحيوانات العقل. هناك أيضا حقيقة أن تجربة الحيوانات الأخرى في العالم تختلف اختلافا عميقا عن تجربتنا. نحن نعرف معنى مظهر صديقتنا المتألم ، لأننا عانينا أنفسنا ونعرف كيف يبدو. لكن ألم الحيوان أكثر غرابة علينا ، لذلك من الصعب أن نضع أنفسنا في أحذيتهم.

السبب الثالث يكمن في فشلنا في فهم الآليات والحالات العقلية الممكنة وراء الاستجابات غير البشرية. نحن نعرف بعض الأنواع قادرة على مدفوعة motivationally- السلوك ، وهذا له علاقة حسي, عاطفي مناطق الذاكرة والتعلم في الدماغ. لكن مدى دقة تقييم الحيوانات للوضع واتخاذ القرارات غير واضح.

لطالما تم شرح سلوك الألم في شروط تطورية أو تكيفية كطريقة لحيوان للهروب ، والشفاء ، وبالتالي البقاء على قيد الحياة. تجربة غير سارة وعاطفية بمثابة منبه، مما يشير إلى مخلوق لوقف ما تفعله و يزيل نفسه من الوضع. يمكن للسلوكيات الخاصة ، مثل لعق أو فرك ، والحد من الأحاسيس غير السارة من قبل يتداخل مع إشارات الألم إرسالها إلى الدماغ ، بما يكفي بحيث يمكن للحيوان نفسه للهروب. مرة واحدة آمنة ، يمكن الاستلقاء أو حراسة المنطقة المتضررة منع مزيد من الضرر أو تجنب تدميرها الأنسجة المستعادة حديثا. إذا تعلم الحيوان لربط تلك التجربة السلبية مع معين مكانأو حدث أو حافز، في الواقع شعور يمكن أن يساعدهم الأذى على تجنب المواقف الخطيرة في المستقبل.

إذا كان الألم قد تطور ليكون متواصلاً ، فإنك تتوقع أن تظهر الحيوانات الاجتماعية ألمًا أكثر من الألم الانفرادي ، لأن لديها شخصًا يتواصل معه. قد تتوقع أيضًا أن ينتقي الانتقاء الطبيعي سلوكًا صادقًا ، بدلاً من التلاعب ، لأن إظهار مخاطر الألم يكشف عن نفسك ضعيفًا للحيوانات المفترسة.

تبقى هذه الأفكار لاختبارها بالكامل. لا يتم استبعاد أي من التفسيرات المحتملة للتكيف مع سلوك الألم. إنه ببساطة أن العلماء لم يدرسوا نظرية الاتصال بشكل صحيح. إن أخذ الألم على محمل الجد كنوع من الإشارات الاجتماعية يعني في الواقع التخلص من التفكير الديكارتي في النظر إلى الحيوانات القديمة على أنها أكثر من مربعات سوداء صغيرة ، استجابة للمدخلات في دوائرها البيولوجية.عداد Aeon - لا تقم بإزالة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ميرجام جوسجين صحافية مستقلة تغطي العلوم أو القانون أو الثقافة أو علم النفس أو الفلسفة. حصلت على درجة الدكتوراه في علم الحيوان من جامعة ماسي ، نيوزيلندا ، واستمرت في إكمال زمالة ما بعد الدكتوراة في جامعة ألبرتا ، كندا. خارج عملها الصحفي ، نشرت ما يقرب من اثني عشر منشورا علميا.

وقد نشرت هذه المقالة أصلا في دهر وقد أعيد نشرها تحت المشاع الإبداعي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = animal pain؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

Animal Pain Is About Communication, Not Just Feeling

Animal Pain Is About Communication, Not Just Feeling

If you watch kids at a local playground, sooner or later one of them will run around and fall face-first to the ground. For a moment, there’s likely to be silence. Then the child will look around, catch a glimpse of their parent, and finally burst into a deafening wail. The sequence of this child’s cry is no accident: it is a signal. The parent looks up from their book and immediately rushes over to coo and console. Without using a word, the child has managed to attract the attention of someone who can alleviate their pain.

Why does pain exist? It’s ubiquitous in human life, yet its biological function is more curious. Pain is different from pure nociception, the process of being able to detect and move away from a toxic stimulus. But pain doesn’t simply register in our awareness as a marker or sign of things we should avoid out in the world. It is an experience in itself, something that we subjectively feel.

Our internal feelings of pain exist as part of an external social world through expression. We readily accept our human ability to communicate our feelings non-verbally and we know there are useful outcomes, like comfort, in doing so. But when it comes to the way non-human animals suffer, scientists have been surprisingly reluctant to consider that it’s anything more than a mere byproduct of being hurt. To look at the purpose of pain as a kind of signalling between animals raises the spectre of anthropomorphisation.

Yet there’s plenty of evidence that the non-human urge to display pain has profound and intrinsic communicative value. Take the cries of lambs or rat pups, which will fetch their mothers to groom and lick them. Or the way squeaking and writhing mice will draw a cagemate close. That attention and comfort minimises how bad or stressful an injury feels, a phenomenon known as social buffering. Lambs undergoing a painful procedure with their mother or twin sibling nearby appear to be less agitated than lambs left on their own; mice experience something similar.

Not that broadcasting pain always elicits a caring response. Rats sometimes run away from images of pained rat faces, potentially because seeing pain is too distressing for them. Similarly, lambs have been known to headbutt their pained peers, perhaps to stop them from drawing unwanted attention from predators.

That’s the drawback to showing you’re hurting: the signs that attract friends can also draw foes. More subtle expressions of pain, like facial expressions, could be a way around this conundrum. Grimacing gets the message across to those close by, without being immediately obvious to a predator lurking in the bushes. Indeed, many of the animals that show pain on their face, like rabbits, mice or sheep, are vulnerable prey animals.

But why do animals pay attention to others in pain? The simplest reason is that the behaviour is so abnormal that it commands a reaction; it’s a simple stimulus that stands out against the backdrop of the day to day. The other, more plausible explanation is that there’s some utility in paying attention to another’s pain. Just as animals look to the physical environment for information about the location of food or threats, paying attention to the social environment lets them gather information about immediate, past and future scenarios.

For example, if an animal injures itself by falling in a hole, other animals can learn to avoid that hazard without falling prey to it themselves. They infer potential danger from the other’s expression of discomfort. A number of animals learn from watching their peers suffering, including rhesus monkeys, zebrafish, ground squirrels and prairie dogs. Some need only witness pain once in order to learn from it.

So why the resistance to seeing non-human suffering as a kind of communication? In part, it’s a hangover from René Descartes’s belief in the split between mind and body, within which animals were not accorded a mind. There’s also the fact that other animals’ experience of the world is profoundly different to ours. We know the meaning of our friend’s pained looks, because we’ve suffered ourselves and know what it looks like. But animal pain is more alien to us, so it’s harder to put ourselves in their shoes.

A third reason lies in our failure to grasp the mechanisms and possible mental states behind non-human responses. We know some species are capable of motivationally-driven behaviour, and that this has to do with sensory, emotional memory and learning areas of the brain. But the extent to which animals are thoughtfully evaluating a situation and making decisions is unclear.

Pain behaviour has long been explained in evolutionary or adaptive terms as a way for an animal to escape, heal, and therefore survive. The unpleasant, emotional experience serves as an alarm, signalling to the creature to stop what it’s doing and remove itself from the situation. Particular behaviours, such as licking or rubbing, can reduce unpleasant sensations by interfering with pain signals sent to the brain, enough so that the animal can will itself to escape. Once safe, lying down or guarding the injured area can prevent further damage or avoid destroying newly-restored tissue. If an animal learns to associate that negative experience with a particular place, event or stimulus, then actually feeling hurt can help them avoid dangerous situations in the future.

If pain has evolved to be communicative, you’d expect social animals to show pain more than solitary ones, because they have someone to communicate with. You might also expect natural selection to favour behaviour that’s honest, rather than manipulative, since showing pain risks revealing yourself as weak to predators.

These ideas remain to be fully tested. None of the potential adaptive explanations for pain behaviour are mutually exclusive; it’s simply that scientists haven’t properly considered the communication theory. Taking pain seriously as a kind of social signal means truly throwing off the Cartesian thinking of old – looking at animals as more than little black boxes, responding to inputs into their biological circuitry.Aeon counter – do not remove

About The Author

Mirjam Guesgen is a freelance journalist covering science, law, culture, psychology or philosophy. She received her PhD in Zoology from Massey University, New Zealand and went on to complete a Postdoctoral Fellowship at the University of Alberta, Canada. Outside of her journalistic work, she has published nearly a dozen scientific publications.

This article was originally published at Aeon and has been republished under Creative Commons.

Related Books:

The Problem of Animal Pain: A Theodicy For All Creatures Great And Small (Palgrave Frontiers in Philosophy of Religion)
petsAuthor: Trent Dougherty
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan
List Price: $105.00

Buy Now

Small Animal Anesthesia and Pain Management: A Color Handbook (Veterinary Color Handbook Series)
petsBinding: Paperback
Publisher: CRC Press
List Price: $105.00

Buy Now

Pain Management for the Small Animal Practitioner (Made Easy Series)
petsAuthor: William Tranquilli
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Teton NewMedia
List Price: $57.95

Buy Now

enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}