لماذا الشوكولاته يمكن أن يكون أسوأ كابوس الكلب الخاص بك

الكلاب والشوكولاته 5 23

هناك زيادة كبيرة في خطر التسمم الشوكولاته في الكلاب خلال فترة الأعياد ، لدينا الدراسة الاخيرة يكشف. تحتوي الشيكولاتة على مادة كيميائية تشبه الكافيين تسمى ثيوبرومين وهي سامة للكلاب (والقطط) لأنها لا تستطيع استقلابها بسرعة كما يفعل البشر.

سوف تؤدي الجرعات السامة بشكل معتدل إلى القيء والإسهال والانتفاخ والتململ ، ولكن الجرعات العالية ستسبب فرط النشاط وعدم التوازن والهزات. في الجرعات العالية جدا ، يمكن أن يسبب التسمم الثيوبرومين النوبات والغيبوبة وحتى الموت. يمكن أن يسبب التسمم أيضًا زيادات في كل من ضغط الدم ودرجة حرارة الجسم. عادة ما تصبح هذه العلامات ستة إلى 12 بعد ساعات من تناول الحيوانات الأليفة الشوكولا.

لدراستنا استخدمنا بيانات من SAVSNET ، شبكة مراقبة الحيوانات البيطرية الصغيرة ، ومجموعة من السجلات الصحية مجهولة المصدر من شبكة واسعة من الممارسات البيطرية في جميع أنحاء المملكة المتحدة. يعتبر هذا النوع من الأبحاث ، والذي يُطلق عليه اسم "المعلوماتية الصحية" ، مثاليًا لفهم كيف تكون الأمراض الشائعة الشائعة في حيواناتنا الأليفة ، عندما تكون أكثر عرضة للخطر ، وأيها أكثر عرضة للمعاناة.

باستخدام بيانات من ممارسات بيطرية 229 بين 2012 و 2017 ، حددنا حالات 386 لسمية الشوكولاتة المحتملة التي تؤثر على كلاب 375 الفردية. في العديد من الحالات ، كانت كمية الشوكولا المستهلكة تعتبر في نهاية المطاف غير سامة من قبل الجراح البيطري.

أكثر العلامات الإكلينيكية شيوعاً هي الإقياء (حالات 64) ، ومعدل ضربات القلب المرتفع جداً (حالات 28) والإثارة / الهزات (حالات 12). وأظهر تحليلنا أيضا أن الكلاب الأصغر سنا - أقل من أربع سنوات من العمر - من المرجح أن يتم إحضارها للطبيب البيطري مع التسمم بالشوكولا المشتبه. لحسن الحظ ، لم تكن هناك حالات مميتة في دراسة SAVSNET.

وعموما ، كان من المرجح أن يتم جلب الكلاب إلى طبيب بيطري أربع مرات أكثر مع التسمم بالشوكولا في جميع أنحاء عيد الميلاد مما كان عليه في وقت آخر من السنة ، بما في ذلك عيد الفصح ، عيد الحب وعيد الهالوين. شملت الشوكولاتة التي أكلتها الكلاب تماثيل سانتا كلوز ، والتقويمات المجيء وشوكولاته البرتقال. حالة واحدة تنطوي على شراب الشوكولاتة الساخنة.

nom nom nom، barf

على الرغم من ندرة ، يمكن أن تكون سمية الشوكولا شديدة وغالبا ما تتطلب إعطاء الكلاب المتضررة مقيدة لجعلها مريضة. هذا غير سارة للغاية بالنسبة للكلب ويمكن أن تكون مكلفة للمالك.

لحسن الحظ ، هناك أشياء يمكن لأصحابها القيام بها لتقليل احتمال سمية الشوكولاتة ، خاصة خلال عيد الميلاد. يجب على المالكين التأكد من أن الجميع يعرف أن الشوكولاته يمكن أن تكون سامة للكلاب ووضع الشوكولاته في أماكن لا تستطيع حيواناتهم الأليفة الوصول إليها.

المحادثةإذا كنت تعتقد أن الكلب قد تناول جرعة سامة من الشوكولا ، يجب أن تتحدث إلى طبيبك البيطري في أقرب وقت ممكن. كن مستعدًا لإبلاغ الطبيب البيطري عن كمية الشيكولاته التي تعتقد أن الكلب قد تناولها ونوع الشوكولاتة حيث سيساعد ذلك الطبيب البيطري على معرفة كمية الثيوبرومين التي تم استهلاكها.

نبذة عن الكاتب

آلان رادفورد ، أستاذ المعلوماتية الصحية البيطرية ، جامعة ليفربول

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = الكتب ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = تغذية الحيوانات الأليفة ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Why Chocolate Can Be Your Dog's Worst Nightmare

pets

dogs and chocolate 5 23

There is a significant increase in the risk of chocolate poisoning in dogs over the festive period, our latest study reveals. Chocolate contains a caffeine-like chemical called theobromine that is toxic to dogs (and cats) because they cannot metabolise it as quickly as humans do.

Mildly toxic doses will cause vomiting, diarrhoea, bloating and restlessness, but higher doses will cause hyperactivity, imbalance and tremors. At very high doses, theobromine poisoning can cause seizures, coma and even death. Intoxication can also cause increases in both blood pressure and body temperature. These signs usually become apparent six to 12 hours after a pet has ingested chocolate.

For our study we used data from SAVSNET, the Small Animal Veterinary Surveillance Network, a collection of anonymised health records from a large network of veterinary practices across the UK. This type of research, called health informatics, is ideal for understanding how common particular diseases are in our pets, when they are most at risk, and which animals are most likely to suffer.

Using data from 229 veterinary practices between 2012 and 2017, we identified 386 cases of potential chocolate toxicity affecting 375 individual dogs. In many of the cases, the amount of chocolate consumed was eventually considered non-toxic by the attending veterinary surgeon.

The most common clinical signs reported were vomiting (64 cases), very high heart rate (28 cases) and agitation/tremors (12 cases). Our analysis also showed that younger dogs – less than four years old – were more likely to be brought to the vet with suspected chocolate poisoning. Fortunately, there were no fatal cases in the SAVSNET study.

Overall, dogs were four times more likely to be brought to a vet with suspected chocolate poisoning around Christmas than at other time of year, including Easter, Valentine’s Day and Halloween. The chocolate that dogs ate included Santa Claus figurines, Advent calendars and chocolate oranges. One case involved a hot chocolate drink.

Nom nom nom, barf

Although rare, chocolate toxicity can be severe and often requires affected dogs to be given an emetic to make them sick. This is very unpleasant for the dog and can be expensive for the owner.

Thankfully, there are things owners can do to reduce the likelihood of chocolate toxicity, especially over Christmas. Owners should make sure everyone knows that chocolate can be poisonous for dogs and put chocolate in places their pets can’t reach.

The ConversationIf you think your dog could have eaten a toxic dose of chocolate, you should speak to your veterinary surgeon as soon as possible. Be prepared to tell your vet how much chocolate you think your dog might have eaten and the type of chocolate as this will help your vet work out how much theobromine may have been consumed.

About The Author

Alan Radford, Professor of Veterinary Health Informatics, University of Liverpool

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

The Ultimate Pet Health Guide: Breakthrough Nutrition and Integrative Care for Dogs and Cats
petsAuthor: Gary Richter MS DVM
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Hay House Inc.
List Price: $22.99

Buy Now

Canine Nutrigenomics: The New Science of Feeding Your Dog for Optimum Health
petsAuthor: W Jean Dodds
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Direct Book Service
List Price: $24.95

Buy Now

Yin & Yang Nutrition for Dogs: Maximizing Health with Whole Foods, Not Drugs
petsAuthor: Judy Morgan DVM
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Thirty Six Paws Press
List Price: $29.99

Buy Now

pets
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

Support A Good Job!