لماذا يجب أن تتبنى المدارس التعليم في الهواء الطلق

لماذا يجب أن تتبنى المدارس التعليم في الهواء الطلق
يمكن لواضعي السياسات اغتنام هذا الوقت لدعم المدارس في اختيار إخراج الطلاب إلى الخارج.
(صراع الأسهم)

ما إذا كان سيتم إعادة فتح المدارس في سبتمبر وكيف سيتم إعادة فتحها في سبتمبر نظرًا لكوفيد -19 قد تمت مناقشته في الأخبار ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي طوال فصل الصيف. أحجام الفصول الأصغر، أنماط الحضور المتناوبة ، وجها لوجه أو التعليمات عبر الإنترنت وقد نوقشت المعدات مثل الأقنعة الإلزامية من قبل كل من السياسيين والجمهور.

لكن هناك إجابة أخرى أكثر وضوحًا تسمح بذلك للتباعد الاجتماعي ويعالج مخاطر الإرسال COVID-19 في الداخل.

يستحق نقل الفصول إلى الخارج دراسة جادة ليس فقط من أجل تهوية أفضل ، ولكن أيضًا لتقديم المزيد من التعليم العام المكرس للتعلم على الأرض ومنها ومعها.

بصفتي معلّمًا مستوطنًا أبيض يسعى جاهداً ليكون جزءًا من تعليم إنهاء الاستعمار ، أهدف إلى التعلم من أمثلة الزملاء والشيوخ من السكان الأصليين الذين يمثلون ضرورة التعلم القائم على الأرض إذا كان التعليم سيساعد في تحقيق المصالحة. بحثي وتدريسي في كلية التربية بجامعة كوينز ، وأدرّس في المقام الأول في العالم دراسات السكان الأصليين في التعليم وبرامج الماجستير المهنية في التعليم (تركيز السكان الأصليين) ، والكثير من أبحاثي ركز على التعليم القائم على الأرض. يتعلق بعض تدريسي بدعم المرشحين المعلمين في اتخاذ الخطوات اللازمة لمساعدة الطلاب على إعادة الاتصال بالأرض.

في ظل هذه القدرات ، وأيضًا بصفتي شخصًا يعيش في مزرعة ريفية صغيرة ، يبدو لي أن الوقت قد حان لأنظمة المدارس العامة لدمج المزيد من التعلم عن الأرض مع تعليم الأطفال - خاصة في وقت يبدو فيه أن COVID-19 يعاني أعاد إشعال وعي أوسع بالترابط من البيئة لدينا و نظم الغذاء.

التعليم في الهواء الطلق

سواء قبل وأثناء الجائحة ، والبيئية و برامج التعليم في الهواء الطلق كانت متاحة للطلاب الذين والديهم يمكن أن يتحمل ويختار الدفع الرسوم الدراسية أو الرسوم. لكن التعليم في الهواء الطلق والتعليم العام الذي يدمج التعلم من الأرض وحولها لم يكن دائمًا للمتميزين.

قبل قرن من الزمان ، خلال جائحة السل ، تم إنشاء فصول دراسية في الهواء الطلق في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدةباتباع توصيات الأطباء.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


طلاب في صف مدرسة هاي بارك فورست. (أرشيف مدينة تورنتو / ويكيميديا) (لماذا يجب أن تتبنى المدارس التعليم الخارجي)طلاب في صف مدرسة هاي بارك فورست. (أرشيف مدينة تورنتو / ويكيميديا), CC BY

مجموعة استشارية بقيادة مستشفى للأطفال المرضى في تورونتو مؤخرا استشهد بمدرسة هاي بارك فورست في تورنتو ، التي بنيت في أوائل القرن العشرين لتعليم الأطفال المصابين بالسل ، كمثال على التعليم الأكثر أمانًا يمكن أن يكون خلال الجائحة الحالية.

التعلم عن الأرض

التعليم القائم في الهواء الطلق ليس فكرة جديدة - ولا تعلم المزيد عن علاقاتنا بالأرض.

يعلم حكماء السكان الأصليين أن الأرض هي أول معلم لنا. تشارك الأستاذة المساعدة والمعلمة في Anishnaabe نيكول بيل ، التي تدرس في مدرسة التربية في جامعة ترينت ، مع المرشحين المعلمين أنها من الأرض يمكننا فهم علاقاتنا ببعضنا البعض وجميع النباتات والمخلوقات الأخرى.

في كلية التربية ، حيث أقوم بالتدريس ، يشارك الزملاء من السكان الأصليين وغير الأصليين في محادثات تركز على إدخال المزيد من التدريس القائم على الأرض في تدريب المعلمين لدينا. على سبيل المثال ، خلال الدورة التي قمت بتدريسها في وقت سابق من هذا الصيف ، والتي تم فرضها على الإنترنت بسبب COVID-19 ، ديب سانت امانت، مسن مقيم ، أخذ 527 معلمًا مرشحًا في جولة في الطب الافتراضي عبر حديقة محلية.

مثل هذا التعلم جديد للكثيرين. استخدم المستوطنون مدارس داخلية إلى تجريد السكان الأصليين من أراضيهم وتقويض المعارف الأصلية.

تعليم المستوطنين ، جزءا لا يتجزأ من الافتراضات الإمبريالية والعنصرية والطبقية حول من يجب أن يستفيد وكيف ، شدد على الجوانب الاقتصادية للتعلم عن الأرض: طالب دكتوراه في كوينز بحث كريستين كينارد يقوم بتوثيق أ حركة أواخر القرن التاسع عشر لمراجعة مناهج المدارس العامة في أونتاريو لتشمل الممارسات الزراعية. يعتقد المدافعون أن كل طالب يحتاج إلى معرفة تكوين التربة لزراعة حديقة وتربية الحيوانات الأساسية.

عودة إنتاج الغذاء المحلي

أنا ممتن لامتياز العيش في مزرعتنا الصغيرة في شرق أونتاريو ، في الوطن التقليدي لكل من شعوب Haudenosaunee و Anishnaabe. على الصعيد المحلي ، نشهد تغيرات في أنماط شراء الطعام منذ انتشار الوباء ، وأتساءل عما إذا كانت تمثل حركة دائمة نحو الأمن الغذائي الشخصي بسبب الخوف من التسوق العام ، أو زيادة الوعي حول الفوائد الصحية للأغذية الطازجة المحلية، او كلاهما؟

يُباع البيض والدجاج ولحوم الماعز لدينا عند بوابة المزرعة للأشخاص الذين اعتادوا على الشراء من محلات البقالة. كرئيس لجمعية المزارع المحلية ، أسمع تقارير مماثلة من المزارعين عبر المحافظة. لا تستطيع المسالخ مواكبة الطلب على معالجة اللحوم ويتم حجزها حاليًا في أواخر الخريف حيث يقوم الناس من خارج المقاطعة بالطلب المسبق والدفع المسبق للحوم والخضروات ليتم تسليمها في ديسمبر.

علق صديق يبيع لحم الخنزير ولحم البقر في سوق المزارعين المحليين مؤخرًا بأنه يشعر بالتقدير والاحترام كمزارع لأول مرة منذ 35 عامًا.

زاد الطلب على البذور مع تزايد عدد الناس الذين يزرعون الحدائق. (لماذا يجب أن تتبنى المدارس التعليم الخارجي)زاد الطلب على البذور مع تزايد عدد الناس الذين يزرعون الحدائق. (صراع الأسهم)

بدأت الحدائق و أثيرت الدجاج في الفناء الخلفي. في البلدية المجاورة ، أ يتم تداول الالتماس للسماح للدجاج في الفناء الخلفي بالبقاء ضمن حدود القرية.

كما أصبحت الخضروات المزروعة محليًا شائعة هذا العام. بذرة وصلت المنازل مبيعات قياسية كما قرر المزيد من الكنديين لتحويل العشب إلى حدائق.

الطقس والموقع وليس الحواجز

تعلم كيفية العيش على الأرض لا يقتصر على الطلاب في المناطق الريفية الجنوبية. كما أنه ليس من المستحيل تعليم المهارات الأرضية في المدن أو المواقع الشمالية.

في طومسون ، مان. ، أين هناك فصول شتاء شديدة البرودةوالمرشحين المعلمين في طورت أنا و College of the North سلسلة من الدروس على الأرض لطلاب المرحلة الابتدائية. تضمن هذا البحث فلسفة أن التعليم القائم على الأرض ليس رحلة ميدانية ، ولكنه يحدث في ساحة المدرسة والحي. لقد اعتنقنا فكرة أنه لا يوجد شيء اسمه الطقس غير المناسب ، فقط الملابس غير الملائمة.

العديد من المعلمين والمنظمات مكرسة بالفعل للتعلم القائم على الأرض تتكيف مع سياق COVID-19. يرحب بعض معلمي الإنويت بفرصة إعادة التأكيد على أهمية تعليم المهارات التقليدية التي تسمح بالبقاء على الأرض.

يمكن لصانعي السياسات مدارس الدعم في كل مكان لنقل الطلاب إلى الخارج لتعلمهم زرع حديقة نباتية, صيد الاسماكوتربية دجاجة وتعلم العديد من المهارات الأرضية الأخرى.

يمكنهم أيضًا ضمان تزويد مجالس المدارس بالموارد الكافية لدعم المعلمين في العمل بالشراكة مع مجتمعات السكان الأصليين المحلية والشيوخ لاتخاذ خطوات صغيرة لاستكشاف الأنشطة الخارجية التي تدمج معرفة السكان الأصليين مع التربية البيئية. لقد أعطانا COVID-19 سببًا وفرصة لاستكشاف التغييرات المطلوبة.المحادثة

عن المؤلف

جينيفر ديفيس ، أستاذ مساعد ، كلية التربية في كوينز ، جامعة كوينز ، أونتاريو

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

جي

أحصل على القليل من المساعدة من أصدقائي
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

كيف غيّر التأمين عادات القراءة
كيف غيّر التأمين عادات القراءة
by أبيجيل باوتشر وآخرون

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 18 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نحن نعيش هذه الأيام في فقاعات صغيرة ... في منازلنا وفي العمل وفي الأماكن العامة ، وربما في أذهاننا ومع مشاعرنا. ومع ذلك ، نعيش في فقاعة ، أو نشعر وكأننا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 11 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الحياة رحلة ، وكما هو الحال في معظم الرحلات ، تأتي مع تقلباتها. ومثلما يتبع النهار دائمًا الليل ، تنتقل تجاربنا الشخصية اليومية من الظلام إلى النور ، ذهابًا وإيابًا. ومع ذلك،…
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 4 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
مهما كان ما نمر به ، فرديًا وجماعيًا ، يجب أن نتذكر أننا لسنا ضحايا لا حول لهم ولا قوة. يمكننا استعادة قوتنا لشفاء حياتنا ، روحيا وعاطفيا ، أيضا ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 27 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إحدى أعظم قوة الجنس البشري هي قدرتنا على أن نكون مرنين ، وأن نكون مبدعين ، وأن نفكر خارج الصندوق. أن نكون شخصًا آخر غير ما كنا عليه بالأمس أو في اليوم السابق. يمكننا ان نغير...…
ما يصلح لي: "لأعلى خير"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...

Why Schools Should Embrace Outdoor Education

Why Schools Should Embrace Outdoor Education
Policymakers could seize this time to support schools in choosing to take students outside.
(Shutterstock)

Whether and how schools will reopen in September given COVID-19 has been discussed in news and social media throughout the summer. Smaller class sizes, alternating attendance patterns, face-to-face or online instruction and equipment such as mandatory masks have been debated by both politicians and the public.

But there is another, more obvious answer that allows for social distancing and addresses the risks of transmitting COVID-19 indoors.

Moving classes outside deserves serious consideration not only for better ventilation, but also to introduce more public education devoted to learning on, from and with the land.

As a white settler educator striving to be part of decolonizing education, I aim to learn from the examples of Indigenous colleagues and Elders who model the necessity of land-based learning if education is to help bring about reconciliation. My research and teaching is at the Queen’s University faculty of education, teaching primarily in the world Indigenous studies in education and the professional master’s in education (Indigenous concentration) programs, and much of my research has focused on land-based education. Some of my teaching relates to supporting teacher candidates in taking the necessary steps to help students reconnect with the land.

In these capacities, and also as someone who lives on a small rural farm, it seems to me the time is ripe for public school systems to integrate more learning about the land with children’s education — especially in a time when COVID-19 seems to have reignited wider awareness of the interconnectedness of our ecological and food systems.

Open-air schooling

Both before and during the pandemic, environmental and outdoor education programs have been available for students whose parents can afford to and choose to pay tuition or fees. But open-air and public schooling that integrate learning from and about the land has not always been only for the privileged.

A century ago, during the tuberculosis pandemic, outdoor classrooms were set up across the United States, following recommendations of doctors.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Students at the High Park Forest School class. (City of Toronto Archives/Wikimedia) (why schools should embrace outdoor education)Students at the High Park Forest School class. (City of Toronto Archives/Wikimedia), CC BY

An advisory group led by the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto recently cited Toronto’s High Park Forest School, built in the early 1900s to teach children with tuberculosis, as an example of what safer schooling could be during the current pandemic.

Learning about land

Education that is based outdoors is not a new idea — neither is learning about our relationships to the land.

Indigenous Elders teach that the land is our first teacher. Anishnaabe associate professor and educator Nicole Bell, who teaches in the school of education at Trent University, shares with teacher candidates that it is from the land that we can gain an understanding of our relationships to each other and all other plants and creatures.

In the education faculty, where I teach, both Indigenous and non-Indigenous colleagues are involved in conversations focused on bringing more land-based teaching into our teacher training. For example, during the course I taught earlier this summer, which was forced online due to COVID-19, Deb St. Amant, Elder-in-residence, took 527 teacher candidates on a virtual medicine walk through a local park.

Such learning is new to many. Settlers used residential schools to dispossess Indigenous people from their lands and to undermine Indigenous Knowledge.

Settler education, embedded with imperialist, racist and classist assumptions about who should benefit and how, emphasized the economic aspects of learning about land: Queen’s PhD student Kristen Kinnard’s research is documenting a late 19th-century movement to revise the Ontario public school curriculum to include agricultural practices. Advocates believed that every student needed to know about the composition of soil to grow a garden and basic animal husbandry.

Resurgence of local food production

I am grateful for the privilege of living on our small farm in eastern Ontario, on the traditional homeland of both the Haudenosaunee and the Anishnaabe peoples. Locally we are seeing changes in food buying patterns since the pandemic hit, and I wonder if these represent a lasting movement towards personal food security due to fear of public shopping, or a growing awareness of the health benefits of local fresh food, or both?

Our eggs, chickens and goat meat are selling at the farm gate to people who are used to buying in grocery stores. As chair of a local farm association, I hear similar reports from farmers across the county. Abattoirs cannot keep up with the demand for meat processing and are currently booking into late fall as out-of-county people are pre-ordering and pre-paying for meat and vegetables to be delivered into December.

A friend who sells his pork and beef at the local farmers’ market recently commented that he feels valued and respected as a farmer for the first time in 35 years.

Demand for seeds has increased as more people grow gardens.  (why schools should embrace outdoor education)Demand for seeds has increased as more people grow gardens. (Shutterstock)

Gardens are being started and backyard chickens raised. In a nearby municipality, a petition is circulating to allow backyard hen keeping within village limits.

Homegrown vegetables have also become popular this year. Seed houses have reached record sales as more Canadians have decided to turn grass into gardens.

Weather and location not barriers

Learning how to live on the land is not limited to students in southern rural areas. Nor is it impossible to teach land-based skills in cities or northern locations.

In Thompson, Man., where there are severely cold winters, teacher candidates at the University College of the North and I developed a series of land-based lessons for elementary students. This research included the philosophy that land-based education is not a field trip, but happens in the schoolyard and the neighbourhood. We embraced the idea that there is no such thing as inappropriate weather, only inappropriate clothing.

Many educators and organizations already devoted to land-based learning are adapting to the COVID-19 context. Some Inuit educators are welcoming the opportunity to reiterate the significance of teaching traditional skills that will allow survival on the land.

Policy-makers could support schools everywhere to take students outside to learn to plant a vegetable garden, catch a fish, raise a chicken and learn many other land-based skills.

They could also ensure that school boards are adequately resourced to support educators in working in partnership with local Indigenous communities and Elders to take small steps to explore outdoor activities that integrate Indigenous Knowledge with environmental education. COVID-19 has given us a reason and the opportunity to explore needed changes.The Conversation

About the Author

Jennifer Davis, Adjunct Professor, Queens Faculty of Education, Queen's University, Ontario

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

ing

Support A Good Job!
enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: November 29, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we focus on seeing things differently... of looking from a different perspective, with an open mind and an open heart.
Why I Should Ignore COVID-19 and Why I Won't
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
My wife Marie and I are a mixed couple. She's Canadian and I am an American. For the past 15 years we have spent our winters in Florida and our summers in Nova Scotia.
InnerSelf Newsletter: November 15, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we reflect on the question: "where do we go from here?" Just as with any rite of passage, whether graduation, marriage, birth of a child, a pivotal election, or the loss (or finding) of a…
America: Hitching Our Wagon to the World and to the Stars
by Marie T Russell and Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Well, the US presidential election is now behind us and it's time to take stock. We must find common ground between young and old, Democrat and Republican, Liberal and Conservative to truly make…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 25, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The "slogan" or sub-title for the InnerSelf website is "New Attitudes---New Possibilities", and that is exactly the theme of this week's newsletter. The purpose of our articles and authors is to…