كيف يمكن لزراعة الحديقة أن تعزز النحل والطعام المحلي والمرونة

كيف يمكن لزراعة الحديقة أن تعزز النحل والطعام المحلي والمرونة يعتمد البستانيون في المدينة على الحشرات البرية لجعل حدائقهم تزدهر. (صراع الأسهم)

مع حلول فصل الربيع ، بدأ الكثير من الناس يفكرون في كيفية تأثير COVID-19 على القدرة على تحمل التكاليف وتوفر الفواكه والخضروات في الأشهر القادمة ، حيث سيعاني نقص في نحل العسل و العمال المهاجرين تهدد تلقيح المحاصيل والأغذية التي تأتي معها.

لقد أبرز الوباء العالمي الحالي الطرق العديدة التي تتعرض بها أنظمتنا الزراعية للصدمات العالمية. مشاكل متعلقة بـ سلاسل التوريدوقد ألمح العمال المهاجرون والنقل والتجارة وإغلاق الحدود إلى أن بعض الأطعمة قد تكون قليلة.

إن زراعة الأطعمة في المدن هي إحدى الطرق للمساعدة في التخفيف من مشاكل الأمن الغذائي هذه ولديها الناس إحياء فكرة الزراعة "حدائق النصر. " لكن الشخص العادي قد لا يدرك أن البستانيين يعتمدون على الحشرات البرية لجعل هذه الحدائق تزدهر. يحتاجون إلى النحل والذباب والفراشات والحشرات الأخرى لالتقاط حبوب اللقاح من زهرة ونقلها إلى أخرى. لذا ، أقترح أن نزرع نوعًا مختلفًا من الحدائق: حدائق الصمود.

الحشرات تقوم بالعمل

وقد اكتسبت البستنة من أجل الطعام البخار حول العالم مع كليهما الشعبية والمبادرات الحكومية تترسخ.

في كندا ، اعتبرت بعض المقاطعات حدائق المجتمع من الخدمات الأساسية. موظفي المدينة فيكتوريا ، كولومبيا البريطانية ، ينمو عشرات الآلاف من شتلات الخضروات للمقيمين وحدائق المجتمع. في مكان آخر ، ترك انفجار أوامر البذور والشتلات مخازن غارقة من قبل زيادة مفاجئة في الطلب.

لكن البستنة تتطلب الملقحات: تقريبًا تعتمد ثلاثة أرباع محاصيلنا الغذائية على تلقيح الحشراتبما في ذلك المواد الغذائية الأساسية مثل الطماطم والخيار والفلفل والقرع. بدونهم ، يجب أن يلجأ المزارعون إلى تكلفة باهظة الثمن وكثيفة العمالة حلول ميكانيكية.

كعالم حماية ، أجد أنه من المدهش أن سكان المدن يتوقعون خدمات التلقيح المجانية ، على الرغم من إجراء محدود اتخذ في الماضي للحفاظ على الحشرات التي تؤدي العمل. إن بناء مجتمعات متنوعة وفيرة من الملقحات الأصلية ، في المدن والأراضي الزراعية ، سيكون أمرا حاسما في معالجة نقص الغذاء الآن وفي المستقبل.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


رعاية الملقحات البرية

على الرغم من وجود أكثر من 850 نوعًا من النحل الأصلي ، فقد اعتمدت كندا على نحل العسل الأوروبي المشترك غير الأصلي (أبيس mellifera) لعقود لاستكمال تلقيح المحاصيل المزروعة في الأراضي الزراعية المكثفة على نطاق واسع.

في المدن، دفعت شركات تربية النحل لوضع خلايا النحل على أسطح المنازل والمناطق الطبيعية ، على الرغم من مخاوف علماء الأحياء الحفظ مثلي حول آثارها على الملقحات الأصلية والمجتمعات النباتية.

في الواقع ، يعتمد مستقبل إنتاج الغذاء واستدامته إلى حد كبير على وجود العديد من الأنواع المختلفة من الحشرات الملقحة. أهميتها الحاسمةومع ذلك ، تم تجاهلها منذ فترة طويلة لصالح تعزيز ودعم صناعة نحل العسل.

في حين تمت مناقشة تأثير نحل العسل المُدار ، فقد كانت هناك العديد من الدراسات التي تشير إلى ذلك منافسون شرسة ويمكن ينقل المرض إلى الملقحات البرية. على سبيل المثال ، يعزو العلماء إدخال أمراض جديدة من النحل المدارة إلى المأساوية انخفاض نحلة طنانة الصدئة المهددة بالانقراض و أنواع النحل الطنانة الأخرى الشائعة سابقًا، والتي يمكن أن يكون لها تأثيرات طويلة المدى ، ولكن غير مفهومة جيدًا ، على تلقيح النباتات الأصلية والمحاصيل الزراعية والأمن الغذائي الحضري.

الموجة التالية: حدائق الصمود

خلال الحربين العالميتين الأولى والثانية ، زرع الكنديون حدائق انتصار للخضروات في ساحات سكنية كوسيلة لزيادة الإنتاج الغذائي المحلي لدعم الجنود في الخارج. الاسم نفسه يستحضر صور المعارك التي ربحت. في وقت لاحق ، خلال فترة الكساد الكبير ، زرعوا حدائق الإغاثة.

كيف يمكن لزراعة الحديقة أن تعزز النحل والطعام المحلي والمرونة حديقة انتصار في الحديقة الأمامية لمنزل على طريق الهلال ، في تورنتو ، حوالي عام 1916. (أرشيفات مدينة تورنتو)

مع اجتياح الفيروس التاجي للمدن في جميع أنحاء العالم ، فإن الكشف عن عدم المساواة والتدهور البيئي والعلل المجتمعية الأخرى ، وزراعة المحاصيل المنتجة للغذاء والنباتات المحلية يمنح المجتمعات فرصة لزيادة الشفاء والمرونة.

يمكن أن تكون حدائق الصمود في أي مكان: حدائق المجتمع والحدائق الخاصة وحدائق الطب وحتى حدائق الشرفة. يمكنهم دعم التنوع البيولوجي الأصلي والملقحات ، وزيادة إجمالي مرونة نظمنا البيئية ومساعدتنا على فهم الروابط بين الأراضي والنباتات والحشرات والبشر بشكل أفضل. انهم يقدموا فوائد الصحة النفسية الموثقة بشكل جيد من التواجد في الخارج ومنح الأطفال خارج المدرسة الفرصة للتعلم أثناء التفاعل مع الطبيعة. والأهم من ذلك ، أنها ستوفر الأطعمة المغذية المحلية في المراكز الحضرية الكثيفة لدعم أجسادنا وعقولنا خلال هذه الأزمة الصحية العالمية.

يمكن أن تلعب المدن دورًا قياديًا في زيادة روابطنا مع الطبيعة ورعاية التنوع البيولوجي الأصلي. في كوريدابات ، كوستاريكا ، كانت الحياة البرية ، بما في ذلك الملقحات نظرا لوضع الجنسية الفخرية لتعكس أهميتها الحاسمة كمقدمين لخدمات النظم البيئية في المناطق الحضرية.

مع عودة البستنة الحضرية في المدن الكندية ، آمل أن ينمو الناس لتقدير الروابط بين الطعام والحياة البرية ، ورعاية هذه العلاقات من خلال البستنة وإدارة الأراضي.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

شيلا كولا ، أستاذ مساعد ، الدراسات البيئية ، جامعة يورك ، كندا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

جي

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
يكلف جائحة الفيروس التاجي بأكمله ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروة ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون قبل الأوان بشكل مباشر ...
التميمة للوباء والأغنية موضوع للتمييز الاجتماعي والعزلة
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لقد صادفت أغنية مؤخرًا ، وبينما كنت أستمع إلى كلمات الأغاني ، اعتقدت أنها ستكون أغنية مثالية كـ "أغنية موضوعية" في أوقات العزلة الاجتماعية هذه. (كلمات تحت الفيديو.)

How Planting A Garden Can Boost Bees, Local Food And Resilience

How Planting A Garden Can Boost Bees, Local Food And Resilience City gardeners are dependant on wild insects to make their gardens thrive. (Shutterstock)

With the arrival of spring, many people have been starting to think about how COVID-19 will impact the affordability and availability of fruits and vegetables in coming months, as shortages of both honeybees and migrant workers threaten crop pollination and the food that comes with it.

The current global pandemic has highlighted the many ways our agricultural systems are vulnerable to global shocks. Issues with supply chains, migrant workers, transport, trade and border closures have hinted that some foods might be in short supply.

Growing foods in cities is one way to help mitigate these food security issues and has people reviving the idea of planting “victory gardens.” But the average person may not realize that gardeners are dependent on wild insects to make these gardens thrive. They need bees, flies, butterflies and other insects to pick up pollen from one flower and transfer it to another. So, I propose we plant a different type of garden: resilience gardens.

Insects do the work

Gardening for food has picked up steam around the world with both grassroots and government initiatives taking hold.

In Canada, some provinces have deemed community gardens to be essential services. City staff in Victoria, B.C., are growing tens of thousands of vegetable seedlings for residents and community gardens. Elsewhere, an explosion of seed and seedling orders has left stores overwhelmed by the sudden increase in demand.

But gardening requires pollinators: Approximately three-quarters of our food crops rely on insect pollination, including staples like tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers and squash. Without them, farmers must resort to expensive and labour-intensive mechanical solutions.

As a conservation scientist, I find it striking that city-dwellers expect free pollination services, despite the limited action taken in the past to conserve the insects that do the work. Building diverse and abundant communities of native pollinators, in cities and on farmland, will be critical to buffer food shortfalls now and in the future.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Nurturing wild pollinators

Despite having over 850 native bee species, Canada has relied on the non-native common European honeybee (Apis mellifera) for decades to supplement the pollination of crops grown in large-scale intensive agricultural lands.

In cities, beekeeping companies have pushed to place hives on rooftops and natural areas, despite the concerns of conservation biologists like myself about their impacts on native pollinator and plant communities.

In fact, the future and sustainability of food production depends very much on having many different species of pollinating insects. Their critical importance, however, has long been overlooked in favour of promoting and supporting the honeybee industry.

While the impact of managed honeybees has been debated, there have been many studies indicating they are fierce competitors and can transmit disease to wild pollinators. For example, scientists attribute the introduction of novel diseases from managed bees to the dramatic decline of the endangered rusty-patched bumblebee and other previously common bumblebee species, which can have long-term, but not well understood, impacts on the pollination of native plants, agricultural crops and urban food security.

The next wave: Resilience gardens

During both the First and the Second World Wars, Canadians planted victory gardens of vegetables in residential yards as a way to increase local food production to support soldiers abroad. The very name evokes images of battles won. Later, during the Great Depression, they planted relief gardens.

How Planting A Garden Can Boost Bees, Local Food And Resilience A victory garden on the front lawn of a house on Crescent Road, in Toronto, circa 1916. (City of Toronto Archives)

As the coronavirus sweeps through cities around the world, exposing inequalities, environmental degradation and other societal ills, planting food-producing crops and native plants gives communities an opportunity to increase healing and resilience.

Resilience gardens can be anywhere: community gardens, private gardens, medicine gardens and even balcony gardens. They can support native biodiversity and pollinators, increase the overall resilience of our ecosystems and help us better understand the interconnections of land, plants, insects and humans. They provide well-documented mental health benefits from being outside and give out-of-school kids the chance to learn while interacting with nature. Importantly, they will provide local, nourishing foods in dense urban centres to support our bodies and minds during this global health crisis.

Cities could take a leadership role in increasing our connections with nature and nurturing native biodiversity. In Curridabat, Costa Rica, wildlife, including pollinators, were given honorary citizenship status to reflect their critical importance as ecosystem service providers in urban areas.

With the resurgence of urban gardening in Canadian cities, I hope people will grow to appreciate the connections between food and wildlife, and nurture these relationships through gardening and land stewardship.The Conversation

About The Author

Sheila Colla, Assistant Professor, Environmental Studies, York University, Canada

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

ing

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…