تمتص هذه Houseplant المواد الكيميائية المرتبطة بالسرطان من الهواء

تمتص هذه Houseplant المواد الكيميائية المرتبطة بالسرطان من الهواءتعديل pothos اللبلاب. (الائتمان: مارك ستون / يو. واشنطن)

قام الباحثون بتعديل نبات جيني مشترك ، هو pothos ivy ، من أجل إزالة الكلوروفورم والبنزين من الهواء المحيط به.

نحب أن نبقي الهواء في بيوتنا نظيفًا قدر الإمكان ، وفي بعض الأحيان نستخدم مرشحات الهواء HEPA لإبقاء المواد المسببة للحساسية والجزيئات الغريبة في مكان بعيد. لكن بعض المركبات الخطرة صغيرة للغاية حتى لا تصطدم هذه المرشحات.

جزيئات صغيرة مثل الكلوروفورم ، والتي توجد بكميات صغيرة في المياه المعالجة بالكلور ، أو البنزين ، الذي هو أحد مكونات البنزين ، تتراكم في منازلنا عندما نستحم أو نغلي الماء ، أو عندما نخزن السيارات أو جز العشب في المرائب المرفقة. وقد ارتبط كل من التعرض للبنزين والكلوروفورم بالسرطان.

وتعبر النباتات المعدلة عن بروتين يسمى 2E1 ، يحول هذه المركبات إلى جزيئات يمكن للنباتات استخدامها لدعم نموها.

يقول المؤلف الكبير ستيوارت ستراند ، وهو أستاذ باحث في قسم الهندسة المدنية والبيئية: "لم يكن الناس يتحدثون حقاً عن هذه المركبات العضوية الخطرة في المنازل ، وأعتقد أن ذلك يرجع إلى أننا لم نتمكن من فعل أي شيء حيالها". جامعة واشنطن. "الآن قمنا بتصميم النبتات المنزلية لإزالة هذه الملوثات بالنسبة لنا."

"كبد أخضر" خارج الجسم

قرر الفريق استخدام بروتين يسمى السيتوكروم P450 2E1 ، أو 2E1 باختصار ، وهو موجود في جميع الثدييات ، بما في ذلك البشر. في أجسامنا ، يحول 2E1 البنزين إلى مادة كيميائية تسمى الفينول والكلوروفورم في أيونات ثاني أكسيد الكربون وأيونات الكلوريد. ولكن 2E1 يقع في الكبد لدينا ويتم تشغيله عندما نشرب الكحول. لذلك لا يتوفر لمساعدتنا في معالجة الملوثات في الهواء.

يقول ستراند: "قررنا أن يحدث هذا التفاعل خارج الجسم في المصنع ، وهو مثال على مفهوم" الكبد الأخضر ". "و 2E1 يمكن أن يكون مفيدًا للمصنع أيضًا. تستخدم النباتات ثاني أكسيد الكربون وأيونات الكلور لتصنيع طعامها ، وتستخدم الفينول للمساعدة في تصنيع مكونات جدران الخلايا. "

قام الباحثون بعمل نسخة اصطناعية من الجين الذي يعمل بمثابة تعليمات لصنع شكل أرنب من 2E1. ثم قاموا بإدخالها في pothos ivy بحيث تعبر كل خلية في النبات عن البروتين. لا يزهر بوتفوس اللبلاب في المناخات المعتدلة حتى لا تتمكن النباتات المعدلة وراثيا من الانتشار عبر حبوب اللقاح.

"هذه العملية برمتها استغرق أكثر من عامين ،" يقول المؤلف الرئيسي لونغ تشانغ ، وهو عالم أبحاث في قسم الهندسة المدنية والبيئية. "هذا وقت طويل ، مقارنة بمصانع المختبرات الأخرى ، والتي قد تستغرق بضعة أشهر فقط. لكننا أردنا القيام بذلك في بوتوس لأنه نبات بيت قوي ينمو بشكل جيد تحت كل الظروف. "

اختبار المدى

بعد ذلك اختبر الباحثون مدى جودة نباتاتهم المعدلة التي يمكن أن تزيل الملوثات من الهواء مقارنة مع اللباب العادي. وضعوا كلا النوعين من النباتات في أنابيب زجاجية ثم أضافوا إما غاز البنزين أو كلوروفورم في كل أنبوب. خلال أيام 11 ، قام الفريق بتتبع كيفية تغير تركيز كل ملوث في كل أنبوب.

بالنسبة للنباتات غير المعدلة ، لم يتغير تركيز أي من الغازين بمرور الوقت. ولكن بالنسبة للنباتات المعدلة ، انخفض تركيز الكلوروفورم بنسبة 82 في المائة بعد ثلاثة أيام ، وكان غير قابل للكشف تقريبا بحلول اليوم السادس. كما انخفض تركيز البنزين في قوارير النباتات المعدلة ، ولكن ببطء أكبر: بحلول اليوم الثامن ، انخفض تركيز البنزين بحوالي 75 في المائة.

من أجل الكشف عن هذه التغيرات في مستويات الملوثات ، استخدم الباحثون تركيزات ملوثة أعلى بكثير من التي توجد عادة في المنازل. لكن الفريق يتوقع أن تنخفض مستويات المنازل بشكل مماثل ، إن لم يكن أسرع ، على الإطار الزمني نفسه.

ويقول ستراند إن النباتات في المنزل تحتاج أيضًا إلى أن تكون داخل حاوية مع شيء ما لنقل الهواء عبر أوراقها ، مثل المروحة.

"إذا كان لديك نبات ينمو في زاوية الغرفة ، فسيكون له بعض التأثير في تلك الغرفة" ، كما يقول. "ولكن بدون تدفق الهواء ، سيستغرق الأمر وقتًا طويلاً لجزيء على الطرف الآخر من المنزل للوصول إلى المصنع".

يعمل الفريق حاليًا على زيادة قدرات المصانع بإضافة بروتين يمكنه تكسير جزيء خطير آخر موجود في الهواء المنزلي: الفورمالديهايد ، والذي يوجد في بعض المنتجات الخشبية ، مثل الأرضيات الخشبية والخزانات ، ودخان التبغ.

تمتص هذه Houseplant المواد الكيميائية المرتبطة بالسرطان من الهواءيضع لونغ تشانغ نباتًا من اللبفوس في أنبوب زجاجي لاختبار قدرته على تحلل البنزين أو الكلوروفورم. (الائتمان: مارك ستون / يو. واشنطن)

يقول ستراند: "هذه كلها مركبات مستقرة ، لذا من الصعب حقاً التخلص منها". "بدون البروتينات لتحطيم هذه الجزيئات ، سيكون علينا استخدام عمليات عالية الطاقة للقيام بذلك. إنه أبسط بكثير وأكثر استدامة لوضع هذه البروتينات معًا في نبات منزلي. "

مولت المؤسسة الوطنية للعلوم ، وأمازون كاتاليست في UW ، والمعهد الوطني لعلوم الصحة البيئية البحث.

يظهر البحث في علوم وتكنولوجيا البيئة.

مصدر: جامعة واشنطن

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = house for health؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

This Houseplant Sucks Cancer-linked Chemicals From The Air

This Houseplant Sucks Cancer-linked Chemicals From The AirThe modified pothos ivy. (Credit: Mark Stone/U. Washington)

Researchers have genetically modified a common houseplant—pothos ivy—to remove chloroform and benzene from the air around it.

We like to keep the air in our homes as clean as possible, and sometimes we use HEPA air filters to keep offending allergens and dust particles at bay. But some hazardous compounds are too small for these filters to trap.

Small molecules like chloroform, which is present in small amounts in chlorinated water, or benzene, which is a component of gasoline, build up in our homes when we shower or boil water, or when we store cars or lawn mowers in attached garages. Both benzene and chloroform exposure have been linked to cancer.

The modified plants express a protein, called 2E1, that transforms these compounds into molecules that the plants can then use to support their own growth.

“People haven’t really been talking about these hazardous organic compounds in homes, and I think that’s because we couldn’t do anything about them,” says senior author Stuart Strand, who is a research professor in the civil and environmental engineering department at the University of Washington. “Now we’ve engineered houseplants to remove these pollutants for us.”

A ‘green liver’ outside the body

The team decided to use a protein called cytochrome P450 2E1, or 2E1 for short, which is present in all mammals, including humans. In our bodies, 2E1 turns benzene into a chemical called phenol and chloroform into carbon dioxide and chloride ions. But 2E1 is located in our livers and is turned on when we drink alcohol. So it’s not available to help us process pollutants in our air.

“We decided we should have this reaction occur outside of the body in a plant, an example of the ‘green liver’ concept,” Strand says. “And 2E1 can be beneficial for the plant, too. Plants use carbon dioxide and chloride ions to make their food, and they use phenol to help make components of their cell walls.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The researchers made a synthetic version of the gene that serves as instructions for making the rabbit form of 2E1. Then they introduced it into pothos ivy so that each cell in the plant expressed the protein. Pothos ivy doesn’t flower in temperate climates so the genetically modified plants won’t be able to spread via pollen.

“This whole process took more than two years,” says lead author Long Zhang, a research scientist in the civil and environmental engineering department. “That is a long time, compared to other lab plants, which might only take a few months. But we wanted to do this in pothos because it’s a robust houseplant that grows well under all sort of conditions.”

Test run

The researchers then tested how well their modified plants could remove the pollutants from air compared to normal pothos ivy. They put both types of plants in glass tubes and then added either benzene or chloroform gas into each tube. Over 11 days, the team tracked how the concentration of each pollutant changed in each tube.

For the unmodified plants, the concentration of either gas didn’t change over time. But for the modified plants, the concentration of chloroform dropped by 82 percent after three days, and it was almost undetectable by day six. The concentration of benzene also decreased in the modified plant vials, but more slowly: By day eight, the benzene concentration had dropped by about 75 percent.

In order to detect these changes in pollutant levels, the researchers used much higher pollutant concentrations than are typically found in homes. But the team expects that the home levels would drop similarly, if not faster, over the same time frame.

Plants in the home would also need to be inside an enclosure with something to move air past their leaves, like a fan, Strand says.

“If you had a plant growing in the corner of a room, it will have some effect in that room,” he says. “But without air flow, it will take a long time for a molecule on the other end of the house to reach the plant.”

The team is currently working to increase the plants’ capabilities by adding a protein that can break down another hazardous molecule found in home air: formaldehyde, which is present in some wood products, such as laminate flooring and cabinets, and tobacco smoke.

This Houseplant Sucks Cancer-linked Chemicals From The AirLong Zhang puts a pothos ivy plant into a glass tube to test its ability to break down benzene or chloroform. (Credit: Mark Stone/U. Washington)

“These are all stable compounds, so it’s really hard to get rid of them,” Strand says. “Without proteins to break down these molecules, we’d have to use high-energy processes to do it. It’s so much simpler and more sustainable to put these proteins all together in a houseplant.”

The National Science Foundation, Amazon Catalyst at UW, and the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences funded the research.

The research appears in Environmental Science & Technology.

Source: University of Washington

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=house plants for health;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
Were You Part Of The Problem Last Time? Will You Be Part Of The Solution This Time?
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Have you registered to vote? Have you voted? If you are not going to vote, you will be part of the problem.
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…