لماذا انت رائحة المطر

لماذا انت رائحة المطر
أنفك يعرف ما هو على الطريق.
لوسي تشيان / Unsplash, CC BY

عندما تسقط أول قطرات من الأمطار الصيفية على الأرض الجافة والحارة ، هل لاحظت رائحة مميزة؟ لدي ذكريات الطفولة لأفراد الأسرة الذين كانوا مزارعين يصفون كيف يمكنهم دائما "شم المطر" قبل العاصفة.

بالطبع المطر نفسه ليس له رائحة. لكن لحظات قبل حدث المطر ، تتخلل رائحة "ترابي" تعرف باسم petrichor الهواء. الناس يطلقون عليه مسكي ، طازجة - لطيفة بشكل عام.

هذه الرائحة تأتي في الواقع من ترطيب الأرض. علماء استراليون في البداية وثقت عملية تكوين petrichor في 1964 والعلماء من معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا كذلك درس ميكانيكا العملية في 2010s.

Petrichor هو مزيج من المركبات الكيميائية عطرة. بعضها من الزيوت التي تصنعها النباتات. المساهم الرئيسي في petrichor هي شعاويات. يمكن العثور على هذه الكائنات الدقيقة الصغيرة في المناطق الريفية والحضرية وكذلك في البيئات البحرية. إنها تحلل المادة العضوية الميتة أو المتحللة إلى مركبات كيميائية بسيطة يمكن أن تصبح بعد ذلك مغذيات لتطوير النباتات والكائنات الحية الأخرى.

نتيجة ثانوية لنشاطهم هو مركب عضوي دعا geosmin مما يساهم في رائحة البطارق. Geosmin هو نوع من الكحول ، مثل فرك الكحول. تميل جزيئات الكحول إلى أن يكون لها رائحة قوية ، لكن البنية الكيميائية المعقدة للجيوسمين تجعلها ملحوظة بشكل خاص لدى الناس حتى عند مستويات منخفضة للغاية. تستطيع أنوفنا اكتشاف أجزاء قليلة من جوسمين لكل تريليون من جزيئات الهواء.

خلال فترة طويلة من الجفاف عندما لم تمطر منذ عدة أيام ، فإن معدل نشاط تحلل البكتيريا الأكتينية يتباطأ. فقط قبل حدث المطر ، يصبح الهواء أكثر رطوبة وتبدأ الأرض في الترطيب. هذه العملية تساعد على تسريع نشاط actinobacteria وتشكلت أكثر geosmin.

عندما تسقط قطرات المطر على الأرض ، وخاصة السطوح المسامية مثل التربة الرخوة أو الخرسانة الخرسانية ، فإنها سوف ترش إخراج جزيئات صغيرة تسمى الهباء الجوي. يتم إطلاق geosmin ومركبات petrichor الأخرى التي قد تكون موجودة على الأرض أو الذائبة ضمن قطرة المطر في شكل الهباء الجوي وتحملها الرياح إلى المناطق المحيطة بها. إذا كان هطول الأمطار ثقيلًا بما فيه الكفاية ، يمكن لرائحة البطارق أن تسير بسرعة في اتجاه الريح وتنبه الناس بأن المطر سيصعد قريبًا.

تختفي الرائحة في النهاية بعد مرور العاصفة وتبدأ الأرض في الجفاف. هذا يترك البكتيريا الأكتينية في الانتظار - على استعداد لمساعدتنا على معرفة متى قد تمطر مرة أخرى.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

تيم لوجان ، أستاذ مساعد تدريس علوم الغلاف الجوي ، تكساس A & M جامعة

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = rain science؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why You Can Smell Rain

gardening

Why You Can Smell Rain
Your nose knows what’s on the way.
Lucy Chian/Unsplash, CC BY

When those first fat drops of summer rain fall to the hot, dry ground, have you ever noticed a distinctive odor? I have childhood memories of family members who were farmers describing how they could always “smell rain” right before a storm.

Of course rain itself has no scent. But moments before a rain event, an “earthy” smell known as petrichor does permeate the air. People call it musky, fresh – generally pleasant.

This smell actually comes from the moistening of the ground. Australian scientists first documented the process of petrichor formation in 1964 and scientists from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology further studied the mechanics of the process in the 2010s.

Petrichor is a combination of fragrant chemical compounds. Some are from oils made by plants. The main contributor to petrichor are actinobacteria. These tiny microorganisms can be found in rural and urban areas as well as in marine environments. They decompose dead or decaying organic matter into simple chemical compounds which can then become nutrients for developing plants and other organisms.

A byproduct of their activity is an organic compound called geosmin which contributes to the petrichor scent. Geosmin is a type of alcohol, like rubbing alcohol. Alcohol molecules tend to have a strong scent, but the complex chemical structure of geosmin makes it especially noticeable to people even at extremely low levels. Our noses can detect just a few parts of geosmin per trillion of air molecules.

During a prolonged period of dryness when it has not rained for several days, the decomposition activity rate of the actinobacteria slows down. Just before a rain event, the air becomes more humid and the ground begins to moisten. This process helps to speed up the activity of the actinobacteria and more geosmin is formed.

When raindrops fall on the ground, especially porous surfaces such as loose soil or rough concrete, they will splatter and eject tiny particles called aerosols. The geosmin and other petrichor compounds that may be present on the ground or dissolved within the raindrop are released in aerosol form and carried by the wind to surrounding areas. If the rainfall is heavy enough, the petrichor scent can travel rapidly downwind and alert people that rain is soon on the way.

The scent eventually goes away after the storm has passed and the ground begins to dry. This leaves the actinobacteria lying in wait – ready to help us know when it might rain again.The Conversation

About The Author

Tim Logan, Instructional Assistant Professor of Atmospheric Sciences, Texas A&M University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

Forty Signs of Rain (Science in the Capital Trilogy, Book 1)
gardeningAuthor: Kim Stanley Robinson
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Publisher: Spectra

Buy Now

The Science Of Rain: Where Imagination Prevails.
gardeningAuthor: Dowin Gardner
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
List Price: $22.22

Buy Now

The Last Doctor: Mutant Rain Origins
gardeningAuthor: L.A. Frederick
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now

gardening
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}