Pourquoi les fermiers peuvent vouloir garder, pas tuer, mauvaises herbes

Pourquoi les fermiers peuvent vouloir garder, pas tuer, mauvaises herbes

Les agriculteurs qui cherchent à réduire leur dépendance à l'égard des pesticides, des herbicides et d'autres outils de lutte antiparasitaire voudront peut-être tenir compte des conseils des scientifiques agricoles: que la nature soit, dans une certaine mesure, la nature.

«Gérer les ravageurs des cultures sans comprendre pleinement les impacts des tactiques - liées à la résistance et aux plantes ou insectes non visés - coûte de l'argent aux producteurs», explique Antonio DiTommaso, professeur de science des sols et des cultures à l'Université Cornell et auteur principal d'une nouvelle étude. Science des mauvaises herbes.

"Nous jetons un regard renouvelé sur une approche holistique et durable de la lutte antiparasitaire intégrée (IPM)", explique DiTommaso.

Dans la production de maïs, par exemple, le maintien de quelques plantes d'asclépiade malignes au milieu d'un champ de maïs peut aider à minimiser la perte de récolte due à la pyrale destructrice de la pyrale. Les plantes d'asclépiade peuvent héberger des pucerons (mouches destructrices de la sève) qui produisent une source de nectar pour les guêpes parasitoïdes bénéfiques Trichogramma.

Les guêpes, à leur tour, pondent des œufs dans les œufs de la pyrale du maïs, tuant les œufs de la pyrale du maïs, réduisant ainsi les dommages à la culture.

«La gestion de la production prend rarement en compte les avantages des mauvaises herbes dans les écosystèmes agricoles», explique DiTommaso. "Regardons la grande image. Si nous ouvrons nos yeux - même si c'est une mauvaise herbe qui pousse dans le champ de maïs - nous montrons que cela pourrait être bénéfique. L'intégration des avantages des mauvaises herbes deviendra de plus en plus importante, car la lutte antiparasitaire est susceptible de passer d'une dépendance totale aux herbicides et aux caractéristiques des cultures transgéniques pour le contrôle, en raison de la résistance croissante des mauvaises herbes à ces produits.

Plus de mauvaises herbes, plus de papillons

Un avantage supplémentaire pour avoir quelques plantes d'asclépiade dans un champ de maïs est qu'il sert de lieu de reproduction et de source de nourriture pour les papillons monarques. Dernièrement, le nombre de monarques a diminué et le Fish and Wildlife Service des États-Unis évalue une pétition visant à les protéger en vertu de la Endangered Species Act.

Alors que certains cultivateurs choisissent de ne pas utiliser de cultures techniques, les producteurs peuvent voir un retour aux méthodes de lutte intégrée dès 20 ans, car une résistance pourrait facilement se produire en s'appuyant sur une seule tactique.

Avec l'augmentation de la production de semis direct, les producteurs verront inévitablement des rebondissements dans les mauvaises herbes vivaces, comme l'asclépiade, selon les chercheurs. Ainsi, certains cultivateurs peuvent être disposés à tolérer une faible population d'asclépiade en faveur d'un espace végétal habitable pour les monarques.

"Chaque organisme dans un système agricole joue plusieurs rôles", explique John Losey, professeur d'entomologie. "Si les décisions de gestion sont basées uniquement sur les aspects négatifs, le rendement et le profit peuvent être perdus à court terme et des problèmes plus larges peuvent survenir à plus long terme."

L'intégration des coûts et des avantages des mauvaises herbes deviendra importante.

"Les avantages des mauvaises herbes ont été négligés. Ils sont souvent considérés comme indésirables, non désirés. Nous commençons maintenant à quantifier leurs avantages », explique Kristine M. Averill, associée de recherche.

«Il est très important de reconnaître les avantages de toutes les espèces dans le champ de culture - qui comprennent à la fois les cultures et les mauvaises herbes - sans parler des cultures de couverture. Les mauvaises herbes peuvent offrir des services écosystémiques, tels que la protection contre l'érosion des sols et les services de pollinisation au profit des insectes », explique M. Averill. "Ils peuvent faire partie d'un cycle réparateur."

La source: L'Université Cornell

À propos des auteurs

En rejoignant DiTommaso, Averill et Losey sur l'étude étaient Michael Hoffmann, professeur d'entomologie; et Jeffrey R. Fuchsberg, directeur de la propriété intellectuelle à la Fondation du Centre médical des Amériques.

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; keywords = "mauvaises herbes favorables"; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

suivez InnerSelf sur

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

Why Farmers May Want To Keep, Not Kill, Weeds

Why Farmers May Want To Keep, Not Kill, Weeds

Farmers looking to reduce reliance on pesticides, herbicides, and other pest management tools may want to heed the advice of agricultural scientists: Let nature be nature—to a degree.

“Managing crop pests without fully understanding the impacts of tactics—related to resistance and nontarget plants or insects—costs producers money,” says Antonio DiTommaso, professor of soil and crop science at Cornell University and lead author of a new study in the journal Weed Science.

“We are taking a renewed look at a holistic, sustainable integrated pest management (IPM) approach,” DiTommaso says.

In corn production, for example, maintaining a few villainous milkweed plants in the middle of a cornfield may help minimize crop loss from the destructive European corn borer. The milkweed plants can harbor aphids (destructive sap-sucking flies) that produce a nectar food source for beneficial parasitic wasps Trichogramma.

The wasps, in turn, lay eggs inside the eggs of the European corn borer, killing the corn borer eggs—reducing damage to the crop.

“Production management rarely considers the benefits of weeds in agricultural ecosystems,” says DiTommaso. “Let’s look at the big picture. If we open our eyes—even if it’s a weed growing in the cornfield—we show it could be beneficial. Integrating weed benefits will become increasingly important, as pest management is likely to move from total reliance on herbicides and transgenic crop traits for control, because of increasing resistance of weeds to these products.”

More weeds, more butterflies

One additional side benefit for having a few milkweed plants in a field of corn is that it serves as a breeding place and food source for monarch butterflies. As of late, monarch numbers are down, and the US Fish and Wildlife Service is evaluating a petition to have them protected under the Endangered Species Act.

While some growers elect not to use engineered crops, producers may see a return to IPM methods from two decades ago, as resistance could easily occur when relying on a single tactic.

With increasing no-till production, producers will inevitably see rebounds in perennial weeds—such as milkweed, the researchers say. Thus, some growers may be willing to tolerate a low milkweed population in favor of providing livable plant space for monarchs.

“Every organism in an agricultural system plays multiple roles,” says John Losey, professor of entomology. “If management decisions are based solely on the negative aspects, yield and profit can be lost in the short term and broader problems can arise in the longer term.”

Integration of the weed costs and advantages will become important.

“The benefits of weeds have been neglected. They’re often seen as undesirable, unwanted. We’re now beginning to quantify their benefits,” says Kristine M. Averill, a research associate.

“It’s very important to recognize the benefits of all the species within the crop field—that includes both the crops and the weeds—not to mention cover crops. Weeds can offer ecosystem services, such as soil erosion protection and pollination services for the benefit of insects,” Averill says. “They can be part of a restorative cycle.”

Source: Cornell University

About The Authors

Joining DiTommaso, Averill and Losey on the study were Michael Hoffmann, professor of entomology; and Jeffrey R. Fuchsberg, director of intellectual property at the Medical Center of the Americas Foundation.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords="friendly weeds";maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.