لماذا تصبح الدبابير مزعجة للغاية في نهاية الصيف

لماذا تصبح الدبابير مزعجة للغاية في نهاية الصيف
ساشا بوركارد / Shutterstock.com

النقانق أزيز ، والبرغر يحمر ، والبيرة باردة. أنت جاهز تمامًا للشواء المثالي في نهاية الصيف. تناول الطعام في الهواء الطلق ، والمشروبات في حديقة حانة ريفية ، والآيس كريم - نتفهم آخر قطع الصيف ، والأوقات الثمينة مع أحبائهم قبل فصل الشتاء غير المؤكد من عمليات الإغلاق المحلية و Zoom.

ثم يصل زائر غير مرغوب فيه.

يرتدي ضيفك غير المدعو ملابس مبهجة ومخصرًا مزينًا بالثقة. إنها خالية من الهموم ومغرورة - مشروب أي شخص حلو هو لأخذها. إذا وقفت في طريقها أو قمت بتنظيفها جانبًا ، فستجد أنها حصلت على مفاجأة سيئة في وجهها المقلم.

مع اقتراب نهاية الصيف ، كذلك يقترب موسم الدبابير ، عندما تبدأ هذه الحشرات المكروهة في إزعاجنا في نزهاتنا وحدائق البيرة. يحدث هذا كل عام ، دون أن يفشل ، ويشعر بوقاحة بشكل خاص في الوقت الذي نعد فيه الأيام القليلة المتبقية للتواصل الاجتماعي في الهواء الطلق ، الصديقة لفيروس كورونا.

لا توجد اتجاهات فضية لعالم تجتاحه الجائحة. لكن الشيء الوحيد الذي ربما أعطتنا إياه هو كلمة لشرح السلوك المعادي للمجتمع في أواخر الصيف للدبابير: الإجازة. وكشخص يقضي وقته البحث عن الدبابير، كلمة لتبرير سلوكهم السيئ مثيرة للغاية. إذا كنت أحد كثير الأشخاص الذين غادروا الآن ، فأنت في وضع جيد بشكل خاص لفهم الدبابير في أواخر الصيف.

ملعب الدبور الذي تم إبعاده. (لماذا تصبح الدبابير مزعجة للغاية في نهاية الصيف)
ملعب الدبور الذي تم إبعاده.
JaySi / Shutterstock.com

الدبابير العاملة

على الرغم من المظاهر ، تميل الدبابير فقط إلى إزعاج حياتك الخارجية في نهاية الصيف. هناك ، في الواقع ، الكثير من حركة الدبابير طوال الصيف ، لكنك لست مثيرًا للاهتمام بما يكفي لكي يزعجهم في ذلك الوقت. من المحتمل جدًا أن يكون الدبور الذي ضربته في حفلة الشواء في نهاية الأسبوع الماضي قد أمضى الصيف في إزالة اليرقات من رقعة الخضار أو حشرات المن من الطماطم.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


كان هذا الدبور جزءًا من فريق الطبيعة الأم لمقاومة الآفات: بدون الدبابير ، سنحتاج إلى استخدام المزيد من المبيدات الحشرية للحفاظ على الخس كاملًا وخالية من الطماطم. الدبابير جيدة. هم أعداء طبيعيون للحشرات الأخرى (حتى أكثر ازعاجًا).

بالنسبة إلى دبور منتصف الصيف الذي يعمل بجد ، كانت وجبات الغداء الخاصة بك من بروسيكو وبيرة الشواء مملة ، لأن ما كانت تبحث عنه كان بروتينًا. هي صيّادة ، عاملة. في منتصف الصيف ، هدفها هو تزويد إخوتها الصغار بالبروتين. إنها ترس عقيم في آلة كائن حي كبير ، مدفوعة بالتطور لتمرير جيناتها عن طريق تربية الأشقاء. عادةً ما يكون البروتين الذي تصطاده هو الحشرات الأخرى (اليرقات أو الذباب). إنها تجلب فريستها إلى المستعمرة حيث يوجد الآلاف من الأشقاء الصغار لإطعامهم.

قد تمضغ الفريسة قليلاً (وربما تبتلع بعضها أيضًا) قبل إطعامها مباشرة إلى اليرقة ، لكن الجزء الأكبر من البروتين يذهب إلى الأطفال. في مقابل عملها الشاق ، ستعطيها اليرقة إفرازًا سكريًا غنيًا بالكربوهيدرات. يُعتقد أن هذا هو النمط الرئيسي لتغذية الدبابير العاملة البالغة. ستنتج كل مستعمرة عدة آلاف من الدبابير العاملة وهي مشغولة للغاية في الصيف لتغذية هذه الحضنة ؛ وبقيادة مدمن مخدرات ، يتم ربطهم بالإفرازات السكرية من شفاه إخوتهم الصغار.

إجازة الصيف

مع تقدم الصيف ، تنمو المستعمرة لتصبح قلعة تضم ما يصل إلى 10,000 عامل ؛ بالتزامن مع هذا النمو في أعداد العمال هو تشرنق الحضنة. عندما تتغذى اليرقة بشكل كامل (في حوالي أسبوعين من العمر) ، فإنها تكون جاهزة للتحول إلى دبور بالغ جميل. ستدور قبعة العذراء الخاصة بها ولن تحتاج إلى رعاية أشقائها البالغين.

ليست كل الحضنة خادرة مرة واحدة ؛ لا يزال هناك العديد من اليرقات لتتغذى. لكن نسبة العمال إلى اليرقات تتغير ، ومع اقتراب فصل الصيف إلى الخريف ، تتغير هذه النسبة أكثر ، تاركة المزيد والمزيد من العمال يعانون من نقص في العمالة ، والأهم من ذلك - بدون إصلاح السكر الذي يديره أشقائهم. لقد تم إجازتهم في الواقع. ومثل البشر المغادرين ، يتغير سلوكهم وفقًا لذلك.

الآن يبحثون عن السكر بعيدًا عن المستعمرة - غالبًا في نزهاتك. في غياب تلك الأعياد السكرية السهلة ، يزورون الأزهار: التلقيح ، مثل النحل تمامًا. في الواقع ، يمكن أن تكون الدبابير فعالة في التلقيح مثل بعض النحل. من الناحية التطورية ، فإن نزهةك هي إلهاء جديد نسبيًا.

تنشأ مثل هذه التحولات السلوكية استجابة لاحتياجات مجتمعهم ؛ ينظر العمال الأفراد إلى الطلبات المتغيرة وتؤدي إلى تغييرات في كيفية التعبير عن الجينات في أدمغتهم. داخل أدمغة الحشرات هذه بعض القرائن حول كيفية تطور سلوك المساعدة وما هي الآلية الجزيئية وراءه.

تلقيح دبور. (لماذا تصبح الدبابير مزعجة للغاية في نهاية الصيف)تلقيح دبور. رومبو 64 / Shutterstock.com

داخل أدمغة الدبابير

فريقي هو البحث الآلية الجزيئية التي يقوم عليها سلوك هذه الدبابير لفهم كيف ولماذا تتطور السمات الاجتماعية. الدبابير العاملة التي تراها في نزهةك هي جزء من واحدة من أكثر المنتجات البيولوجية تعقيدًا للتطور الموجودة في العالم الطبيعي: مستعمرة فائقة العضوية.

تمامًا مثل خلية نحل العسل ، تترأس كل مستعمرة ملكة أم وحيدة تضع كل البيض ؛ نسلها المبكر هم العمال العقيمون الذين يساعدون في تربية المزيد من الحضنة وفي نهاية المطاف تربية "الجنس" (ذكور وملكات العام المقبل). يبدو كل من الملكة والعاملين والجنس بشكل مختلف للغاية ويتصرفون بشكل مختلف ، لدرجة أنك قد تخطئ في فهمهم لأنواع مختلفة. إنها تعتمد على بعضها البعض كمكونات مختلفة لـ "آلة" الكائن الحي. ما هو غير عادي هو أنها كلها مصنوعة من نفس لبنات البناء - لديهم جينوم مشترك. هذا ممكن لأن الجينات يتم التعبير عنها بشكل مختلف.

يظل فهم كيفية تطور الجينوم لإنتاج مثل هذه المكونات المتناقضة والمتكاملة لكائن حي أحد أكبر الأسئلة المعلقة في علم الأحياء التطوري. هذا الزنبور في نزهة الخاص بك هو نتاج عالي التطور للتطور وله دور مهم في مجتمع يتفوق على مجتمعنا في التعقيد والتنسيق.

لا أحد يحب نزهة مليئة بالدبابير ، ولكن مع بعض الفهم للبيولوجيا الكامنة وراء سلوكهم ، يمكن للجميع التكيف مع احترامهم. لقد فرض الوباء تغييرات في سلوكنا وتكيفنا معه. إذا كانت هناك أية جوانب فضية للتحديات التي نواجهها حاليًا ، فربما يتمثل أحدها في أنه يمكننا التعاطف أكثر قليلاً مع هذه الحشرات المهمة التي يساء فهمها.المحادثة

عن المؤلف

سيريان سومنرأستاذ علم البيئة السلوكية ، UCL

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

books_sciene

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

كيف تكسر السحر وتحرر نفسك
كيف تكسر السحر وتحرر نفسك
by مالكولم ستيرن
القوة معنا: بوابات القوة الروحية
القوة معنا: بوابات القوة الروحية
by سيرج بيدنجتون بيرنس

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 11 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الحياة رحلة ، وكما هو الحال في معظم الرحلات ، تأتي مع تقلباتها. ومثلما يتبع النهار دائمًا الليل ، تنتقل تجاربنا الشخصية اليومية من الظلام إلى النور ، ذهابًا وإيابًا. ومع ذلك،…
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 4 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
مهما كان ما نمر به ، فرديًا وجماعيًا ، يجب أن نتذكر أننا لسنا ضحايا لا حول لهم ولا قوة. يمكننا استعادة قوتنا لنحت طريقنا وشفاء حياتنا روحياً ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 27 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إحدى أعظم قوة الجنس البشري هي قدرتنا على أن نكون مرنين ، وأن نكون مبدعين ، وأن نفكر خارج الصندوق. أن نكون شخصًا آخر غير ما كنا عليه بالأمس أو في اليوم السابق. يمكننا ان نغير...…
ما يصلح لي: "لأعلى خير"
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
السبب في أنني أشارك "ما يناسبني" هو أنه قد يعمل معك أيضًا. إذا لم تكن الطريقة التي أفعل بها ذلك بالضبط ، نظرًا لأننا جميعًا فريدون ، فقد يكون بعض التباين في الموقف أو الطريقة أمرًا جيدًا ...
هل كنت جزءًا من المشكلة آخر مرة؟ هل ستكون جزءًا من الحل هذه المرة؟
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
هل قمت بالتسجيل للتصويت؟ هل صوتت؟ إذا كنت لن تصوت ، فستكون جزءًا من المشكلة.

Why Wasps Become So Annoying At The End Of Summer

Why Wasps Become So Annoying At The End Of Summer
Sascha Burkard/Shutterstock.com

The sausages are sizzling, the burgers browned, and the beer is cold. You’re all set for the perfect end-of-summer BBQ. Alfresco dining, drinks in a garden of a country pub, ice-creams – we grasp at the last shreds of summer, precious times with loved ones before an uncertain winter of local lockdowns and Zoom.

And then an unwanted visitor arrives.

Jazzily dressed, trim-waisted, your uninvited guest is brimming with confidence. She’s carefree and cocky – anyone’s sweet drink is hers for the taking. If you stand in her way or brush her aside, you’ll find she’s got a nasty surprise in her stripy derriere.

As the end of the summer approaches, so does wasp season, when these hated insects start to bother us at our picnics and beer gardens. It happens every year, without fail, and feels especially rude at a time when we’re counting the few days we have left for outdoor, coronavirus-friendly socialising.

There are no silver linings to a pandemic-gripped world. But one thing it has perhaps given us is a word to explain the late-summer antisocial behaviour of wasps: furlough. And as someone who spends their time researching wasps, a word to excuse their bad behaviour is pretty exciting. If you are one of the many people furloughed right now, you are especially well placed to understand the late-summer wasps.

The furloughed wasp’s playground. (why wasps become so annoying at the end of summer)
The furloughed wasp’s playground.
JaySi/Shutterstock.com

Worker wasps

Despite appearances, wasps only tend to upset your outdoor life at the end of the summer. There is, in fact, plenty of wasp action throughout the summer, but you are not interesting enough for them to bother with at that time. It is very likely that the wasp you swatted at your BBQ last weekend has spent the summer removing caterpillars from your vegetable patch, or aphids from your tomatoes.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


That wasp was part of mother nature’s team of pest controllers: without wasps, we would need to use a lot more pesticide to keep our lettuces whole and tomatoes aphid-free. Wasps are good; they are natural enemies of other (even peskier) insects.

To that hard-working mid-summer wasp, your prosecco luncheons and BBQ beers were a bore, because what she was after was protein. She is a hunter, a worker. In mid-summer, her purpose is to provide her baby siblings with protein. She is a sterile cog in a big superorganismal machine, driven by evolution to pass on her genes by raising siblings. Usually, the protein she hunts is other insects (garden caterpillars or flies). She brings prey to the colony where there are thousands of baby siblings to feed.

She might chew the prey up a little (and perhaps ingest some too) before feeding it directly to a larva, but the bulk of the protein goes to the babies. In return for her hard work, the larva will give her a carbohydrate-rich sugary secretion. This is thought to be the main mode of nutrition for adult worker wasps. Each colony will produce several thousand worker wasps and they are kept very busy for much of the summer feeding these brood; with the drive of a drug addict, they are hooked on the sugary secretions from the lips of their baby siblings.

 

Summer leave

As summer progresses, the colony grows into a citadel with up to 10,000 workers; concurrent with this growth in worker numbers is brood pupation. When a larva is fully fed (at about two weeks of age), it is ready to metamorphose into a beautiful adult wasp. It will spin its own pupal cap and it no longer needs the care of its adult siblings.

Not all brood pupate at once; there are still many larvae left to feed. But the ratio of workers to larvae shifts, and as summer tips into autumn, this ratio shifts further, leaving more and more workers under-employed and – importantly – without their sibling-administered sugar fix. They have, in effect, been furloughed. And like furloughed humans, their behaviour changes accordingly.

Now they look for sugar away from the colony – often at your picnics. In the absence of those easy sugary feasts, they visit flowers: pollinating, just like bees. In fact, wasps can be as effective at pollination as some bees. In evolutionary terms, your picnic is a relatively novel distraction.

Such behavioural shifts arise in response to the needs of their society; shifting demands are perceived by individual workers and result in changes in how genes are expressed in their brains. Inside these insect brains lie some clues about how helping behaviour evolves and what the molecular machinery is behind it.

A wasp pollinating. (why wasps become so annoying at the end of summer)A wasp pollinating. RomBo 64/Shutterstock.com

Inside wasp brains

My team is researching the molecular machinery underpinning the behaviour of these wasps to understand how and why social traits evolve. The worker wasps you see at your picnic are part of one of the most complex biological products of evolution found in the natural world: a superorganismal colony.

Just like a honeybee hive, each colony is headed by a single mother queen who lays all the eggs; her early season offspring are the sterile workers who help raise more brood and eventually rear the “sexuals” (males and next year’s queens). The queen, workers and sexuals all look and behave very differently, so much so that you might mistake them for different species. They depend on each other as different components of the superorganismal “machine”. What is extraordinary is that they are all produced from the same building blocks – they have a shared genome. This is possible because genes are expressed differently.

Understanding how genomes evolve to produce such contrasting but integrated components of a superorganism remains one of the big outstanding questions in evolutionary biology. That wasp at your picnic is a highly honed product of evolution with an important role in a society that outstrips our own in complexity and coordination.

No one likes their picnic plagued with wasps, but with some understanding of the biology behind their behaviour, everyone can adapt to respect them. The pandemic has forced changes in our own behaviour and we have adapted. If there are any silver linings to the challenges we currently face, perhaps one is that we can empathise a bit more with these misunderstood and important insects.The Conversation

About the Author

Seirian Sumner, Professor of Behavioural Ecology, UCL

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

books_sciene

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: November 29, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we focus on seeing things differently... of looking from a different perspective, with an open mind and an open heart.
Why I Should Ignore COVID-19 and Why I Won't
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
My wife Marie and I are a mixed couple. She's Canadian and I am an American. For the past 15 years we have spent our winters in Florida and our summers in Nova Scotia.
InnerSelf Newsletter: November 15, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we reflect on the question: "where do we go from here?" Just as with any rite of passage, whether graduation, marriage, birth of a child, a pivotal election, or the loss (or finding) of a…
America: Hitching Our Wagon to the World and to the Stars
by Marie T Russell and Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Well, the US presidential election is now behind us and it's time to take stock. We must find common ground between young and old, Democrat and Republican, Liberal and Conservative to truly make…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 25, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The "slogan" or sub-title for the InnerSelf website is "New Attitudes---New Possibilities", and that is exactly the theme of this week's newsletter. The purpose of our articles and authors is to…