بامبو يمكن أن يدير تجارة البناء في العالم

بامبو يمكن أن يدير تجارة البناء في العالم

الخيزران ، العشب المشترك الذي يصعب فصله عن الفولاذ ، لديه القدرة على إحداث ثورة في تشييد المباني في جميع أنحاء العالم. ولكن هذا ليس كل شيء. باعتبارها مادة خام موجودة في الغالب في العالم النامي ، بدون بنية تحتية صناعية موجودة مسبقًا تم بناؤها لتشويه الأشياء نحو العالم الغني ، فإن الخيزران لديه القدرة على تحويل العلاقات الاقتصادية الدولية بالكامل.

لقد شهد القرن الماضي نقلًا غير مسبوق للمنتجات وحلول محددة مسبقًا - بدلاً من برامج بناء القدرات - من الدول الغنية إلى الفقراء ، تحت عنوان "مساعدات التنمية". إن الحوافز الاقتصادية للأولى واضحة: عندما تقدم الدول المتقدمة ، على سبيل المثال ، تكنولوجيا الخرسانة المسلحة للدول النامية ، يجب على تلك الدول أيضًا الحصول على الآلات المناسبة ، والخبرة التقنية لصيانتها ، ومواد البناء المناسبة لتلك الآلات ، ويجب عليهم شراء كل هذه الأشياء من البلدان المتقدمة.

هذا يقسم كوكبنا بين أولئك الذين ينتجون السلع والخدمات ، وأولئك الذين يقصد منهم فقط للاستهلاك. ما لم تدخل المواد الجديدة ، التي تم تطويرها من الموارد المتاحة في المناطق النامية ، إلى السوق ، فسيظل النظام كما هو. الخيزران يمكن أن يكون المادة التي تحول هذه العلاقة على رأسها.

للحصول على مثال عن نظام التجارة الاستغلالي المعمول به حاليًا ، لا تنظر إلى أبعد من الفولاذ. الخرسانة المسلحة من الصلب هي أكثر مواد البناء شيوعًا في العالم ، وتستخدمها الدول النامية على مقربة منها 90 ٪ من الاسمنت في العالم و 80 ٪ من الصلب. ومع ذلك ، فإن قلة قليلة من هذه الدول لديها القدرة أو الموارد لإنتاج الصلب أو الأسمنت الخاصة بهم ، مما يجبرهم على إقامة علاقة استيراد استغلالية مع العالم المتقدم. من دول 54 الأفريقية ، على سبيل المثال ، اثنين فقط هم منتجو الصلب خطيرة. تتنافس جميع بلدان 52 الأخرى في السوق العالمية على هذه المواد التي لا غنى عنها على الإطلاق ، والتي لا يمكن الاستغناء عنها.

لكن الصلب لا يمكن تعويضه. يوفر الخيزران بديلاً ماديًا ، وينمو في المناطق الاستوائية ، وهي منطقة تتزامن بشكل وثيق مع العالم النامي. ينتمي الخيزران إلى مجموعة الأعشاب النباتية ، وهو أحد المنتجات الأكثر تنوعًا في الطبيعة ، ومن الصعب للغاية تمزيقه.

قوتها تأتي من الطريقة التي تطورت العشب ، والتكيف مع القوى الطبيعية. على النقيض من الخشب ، فإن نبتة الخيزران أو قشورها - المصطلحات النباتية لساق العشب - رفيعة وجوفاء. هذا يسمح لها بالتحرك مع الريح ، على عكس الشجرة ، التي تحاول ببساطة تحمل أي قوى طبيعية تتعرض لها. يتطلب هذا التكيف للحركة المرنة أن تأتي الطبيعة بألياف خفيفة للغاية ولكنها مقاومة للتوتر في ذيل الخيزران والتي تكون قادرة على الانحناء بطرق قصوى دون كسر. يصعب فصل الخيزران عن الأخشاب أو حتى الصلب المقوى.

الخيزران هو أيضا مادة متجددة للغاية وصديقة للبيئة. ينمو بشكل أسرع من الخشب ، ويسهل الحصول عليه بكمية كبيرة. وهي معروفة أيضًا بقدراتها التي لا تضاهى على التقاط الكربون ، وبالتالي يمكنها أن تلعب دوراً مهماً في خفض انبعاثات الكربون في جميع أنحاء العالم - وهي ميزة أخرى للدول النامية في ضوء التجارة في شهادات انبعاثات الكربون.

ببساطة من منظور اقتصادي ، يجب أن تكون معظم الدول النامية مهتمة بالمواد. يمكن أن تعزز الاقتصادات المحلية وتقليل الاعتماد على الأسواق الدولية.

مقتطفات الألياف

غير أن الفوائد الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والمادية الكبيرة للخيزران وتوافره على نطاق واسع لا تنعكس في الطلب على هذه المواد. على الرغم من قوته ، فإن الخيزران لديه عدد من نقاط الضعف كمواد بناء. إن امتصاص الماء ، وتورم وتقلص السلوك ، ومحدودية المتانة ، والتعرض للهجمات الفطرية قد حدت من معظم تطبيقات الخيزران حتى الآن.

اليوم ، يقتصر استخدام الخيزران بشكل عام على كونه مكونًا هيكليًا في المناطق التي يعكس فيها التقاليد المعمارية المحلية ؛ لم تنجح المحاولات المبكرة لاستخدامه كمادة غير معززة غير مركبة في الخرسانة.

ولكن يمكن استخراج ألياف الخيزران ودمجها مع مواد أخرى لإنشاء مركب ، وتسخير قوتها الطبيعية كجزء من مواد البناء القابلة للحياة ، كبديل عن الصلب والأخشاب. في الواقع ، هذا هو بالضبط ما الباحثين في ETH سنغافورة مختبر مدن المستقبل تعمل على.

هناك ما يقرب من أنواع 1,400 المعروفة من الخيزران ، والتي تأتي في جميع أنواع الأشكال والأحجام ونقاط القوة. باستخدام تقنيات جديدة ، ندرس أنواع الخيزران الأكثر ملاءمة للاستخدام في البناء وكيف يمكننا التغلب على بعض أوجه القصور من خلال الجمع بين مادة الخيزران والمواد اللاصقة.

مادة الخيزران المركبة يمكن إنتاجها بأي من الأشكال والأشكال المألوفة التي يتم فيها إنتاج الصلب والخشب. مثلهم ، يمكن استخدام المواد لبناء هياكل الجدار للمنازل أو أي المباني الأخرى. والأكثر إثارة للاهتمام ، أنه يمكن استخدامه لتطبيقات محددة تستفيد بشكل أفضل من قوة الشد للمادة ، مثل أنظمة التعزيز في الخرسانة أو الحزم للأسقف وهياكل السقف.

رخيصة وسهلة

اليوم ، يكلف الخيزران أقل من الربع ، بالوزن ، كتعزيز للصلب. ولأن الفولاذ 15 أكثر كثافة من الخيزران الطبيعي ، فإن الأرقام من حيث الحجم أكثر تطرفًا. في جنوب شرق آسيا وحدها ، يوجد بالفعل ما يكفي من الخيزران المزروع لتلبية الطلب المكافئ على الصلب الإنشائي 25 مرات.

ينمو الخيزران إلى حد كبير في البلدان النامية التي ، مع هذه التكنولوجيا الجديدة ، يمكن أن تطور سلاسل قيمة كبيرة. يمكن أن يشكل المزارعون ومراكز التجميع والموزعين ، وأخيراً منشآت الإنتاج قوة اقتصادية قوية - طالما أن الخيزران لا يتم تصديره ببساطة كمواد خام.

يجب على البلدان النامية تطوير المعرفة والدراية الصناعية والحفاظ عليها من أجل تعزيز قدراتها الاقتصادية. إن إنتاج مواد بناء عالية القوة يمكن أن ينشئ روابط ريفية وحضرية قوية جديدة ويخلق مصدراً بديلاً للدخل للمزارعين. التوسع في الزراعة من شأنه أن يساعد المزارعين بطرق أخرى أيضًا ؛ بسبب نموها السريع ، يمكن للخيزران تأمين التربة المفتوحة وحمايتها من التآكل. كونه عشبًا ، يحافظ الخيزران أيضًا على ارتفاع منسوب المياه وبالتالي يحسن إنتاجية الحقول المجاورة المزروعة بمحاصيل غذائية.

يمكن أن يلعب الخيزران دورًا مهمًا ، ليس فقط كمورد بناء تقليدي ولكن أيضًا كمكون رئيسي للمنتج الصناعي ، مما يتيح إنشاء صناعة "خالية من التدخين" في الدول النامية.المحادثة

عن المؤلف

ديرك هيبل، أستاذ مساعد في الهندسة المعمارية والبناء ، المعهد الاتحادي السويسري للتكنولوجيا زيوريخ

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

السحب: الخطة الأكثر شمولاً على الإطلاق من أجل عكس الاحترار العالمي

بول هوكين وتوم شتاير
9780143130444في مواجهة الخوف واللامبالاة على نطاق واسع ، اجتمع تحالف دولي من الباحثين والمهنيين والعلماء لتقديم مجموعة من الحلول الواقعية والجريئة لتغير المناخ. مائة تقنيات وممارسات موصوفة هنا - بعضها معروف جيدًا ؛ البعض ربما لم تسمع به من قبل. وهي تتراوح بين الطاقة النظيفة وتعليم الفتيات في البلدان المنخفضة الدخل إلى ممارسات استخدام الأراضي التي تسحب الكربون من الهواء. الحلول موجودة وقابلة للحياة اقتصاديًا ، والمجتمعات في جميع أنحاء العالم تعمل حاليًا على تفعيلها بمهارة وتصميم. متاح في أمازون

تصميم حلول المناخ: دليل السياسات للطاقة المنخفضة الكربون

هال هارفي ، روبي أورفيس ، جيفري ريسمان
1610919564ومع تأثير تغير المناخ علينا بالفعل ، فإن الحاجة إلى خفض انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة العالمية لا تقل عن الحاجة الملحة. إنه تحد مروع ، لكن التقنيات والاستراتيجيات اللازمة لتحقيقه موجودة اليوم. مجموعة صغيرة من سياسات الطاقة ، مصممة ومطبقة بشكل جيد ، يمكن أن تضعنا على الطريق نحو مستقبل منخفض الكربون. أنظمة الطاقة كبيرة ومعقدة ، لذا يجب أن تكون سياسة الطاقة مركزة وفعالة من حيث التكلفة. مقاربات مقاس واحد يناسب الجميع لن تنجز المهمة ببساطة. يحتاج صانعو السياسة إلى مورد واضح وشامل يحدد سياسات الطاقة التي سيكون لها الأثر الأكبر على مستقبل المناخ لدينا ، ويصف كيفية تصميم هذه السياسات بشكل جيد. متاح في أمازون

هذا يغير كل شيء: الرأسمالية مقابل والمناخ

بواسطة نعومي كلاين
1451697392In هذا يغير كل شيء تقول ناعومي كلاين أن تغير المناخ ليس مجرد قضية أخرى يتم وضعها بدقة بين الضرائب والرعاية الصحية. إنه إنذار يدعونا إلى إصلاح نظام اقتصادي يفشلنا بالفعل بطرق عديدة. يبني كلاين بدقة على كيفية خفض انبعاثاتنا من غازات الدفيئة بشكل كبير ، وهو أفضل فرصة لنا للتخفيف من التباين الفجائي في الوقت نفسه ، وإعادة تخيل ديمقراطياتنا المحطمة ، وإعادة بناء اقتصاداتنا المحلية المدمرة. إنها تعرّض اليأس الأيديولوجي الذي ينكره من ينكرون تغير المناخ ، والأوهام المشينة التي ارتكبها المهندسون الجيولوجيون المحتملين ، والانهزامية المأساوية في الكثير من المبادرات الخضراء السائدة. وهي تدلل على وجه التحديد على السبب الذي يجعل السوق لا تستطيع - ولا يمكنها - إصلاح أزمة المناخ ، ولكنها ستجعل الأمور أسوأ ، مع أساليب استخراج مدمرة للغاية ومدمرة من الناحية البيئية ، مصحوبة برأسمالية كوارث متفشية. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Bamboo Could Turn The World's Construction Trade On Its Head

Bamboo Could Turn The World's Construction Trade On Its Head

Bamboo, a common grass which can be harder to pull apart than steel, has the potential to revolutionise building construction throughout the world. But that’s not all. As a raw material found predominantly in the developing world, without a pre-existing industrial infrastructure built to skew things towards the rich world, bamboo has the potential to completely shift international economic relations.

The past century has seen an unprecedented transfer of products and predefined solutions – instead of capacity-building programs – from the rich countries to poor, under the rubric of “development aid”. The economic incentives for the former are obvious: when developed nations introduce, for example, their reinforced concrete technology to developing nations, those countries must also acquire the proper machinery, the technical expertise to maintain them, and the building materials suitable for those machines, and they must buy all of those things from the developed countries.

This divides our planet between those who produce goods and services, and those who are meant just to consume. Unless new materials, developed from the resources available in developing territories, enter the market, the system will remain the same. Bamboo could be the material which turns this relationship on its head.

For an example of the exploitative trade system currently in place, look no further than steel. Steel-reinforced concrete is the most common building material in the world, and developing countries use close to 90% of the world’s cement and 80% of its steel. However, very few of these nations have the ability or resources to produce their own steel or cement, forcing them into an exploitative import relationship with the developed world. Out of 54 African nations, for instance, only two are serious steel producers. The other 52 countries all compete in the global marketplace for this ever-more-expensive, seemingly irreplaceable material.

But steel is not irreplaceable. Bamboo provides a material alternative, and it grows in the tropics, an area that coincides closely with the developing world. One of nature’s most versatile products, bamboo belongs to the botanical family of grasses and is extremely hard to tear apart.

Its strength comes from the way the grass evolved, adapting to natural forces. In contrast to wood, the bamboo culm or haulm – botanical terms for the stem of a grass – is thin and hollow. This allows it to move with the wind, unlike a tree, which tries to simply withstand any natural forces it is exposed to. This adaptation for flexible movement required nature to come up with a very light but tension-resistant fiber in the bamboo culm which is able to bend in extreme ways without breaking. Bamboo is harder to pull apart than timber or even reinforced steel.

Bamboo is also a highly renewable and eco-friendly material. It grows much faster than wood, and is easy to obtain in great quantity. It is also known for its unrivalled capacity to capture carbon and could therefore play an important role in reducing carbon emissions worldwide – another advantage for developing nations in light of the trade in carbon emission certificates.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Simply from an economic perspective, most developing nations should be interested in the material. It could strengthen local economies and lower dependency on international markets.

Fiber extracts

The great social, economic, and material benefits of bamboo and its widespread availability are not reflected in the demand for the material, however. Despite its strengths, bamboo has a number of weaknesses as a construction material. Water absorption, swelling and shrinking behaviour, limited durability, and vulnerability to fungal attacks have limited most applications of bamboo so far.

Today, bamboo usage is generally limited to being a structural component in regions where it reflects local architectural traditions; early attempts to use it as an untreated, non-composite reinforcement material in concrete were not successful.

But bamboo fiber could be extracted and combined with other materials to create a composite, harnessing its natural strengths as part of a viable building material, an alternative to steel and timber. Indeed, this is exactly what researchers at ETH Singapore’s Future Cities Laboratory are working on.

There are approximately 1,400 known species of bamboo, which comes in all sorts of shapes, sizes and strengths. Using new technologies, we’re studying which bamboo species are most suited for usage in construction and how we can overcome some of its limitations by combining bamboo with adhesive matter.

Bamboo composite material can be produced in any of the familiar shapes and forms in which steel and timber are produced. Like them, the material can be used to build wall structures for houses or any other buildings. More interestingly, it can be used for specific applications that best take advantage of the material’s tensile strength, such as reinforcement systems in concrete or beams for ceilings and roof structures.

Cheap and easy

Today, bamboo costs less than a quarter as much, by weight, as steel reinforcement. And because steel is 15 times denser than natural bamboo, the figures by volume are even more extreme. In South-East Asia alone, there is enough bamboo already in cultivation to meet equivalent demand for construction steel 25 times over.

Bamboo largely grows in developing countries which, with this new technology, could potentially develop substantial value chains. Farmers, collection centres, distributors and, finally, production facilities could form a strong economic power – so long as the bamboo is not simply exported as a raw material.

Developing countries must develop and sustain knowledge and industrial know-how in order to strengthen their economic capacities. The production of a high-strength building material could establish strong new rural-urban linkages and create an alternative source of revenue for farmers. Expanding cultivation would help farmers in other ways, too; due to its fast growth, bamboo can secure open soil and protect it against erosion. Being a grass, bamboo also keeps the water table high and therefore improves the productivity of adjacent fields planted with food crops.

Bamboo could play an important role not only as a traditional construction resource but also as the major component of an industrialised product, enabling the creation of a “smoke-free” industry in developing nations.The Conversation

About the Author

Dirk Hebel, Assistant Professor of Architecture and Construction, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

Drawdown: The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Reverse Global Warming

by Paul Hawken and Tom Steyer
9780143130444In the face of widespread fear and apathy, an international coalition of researchers, professionals, and scientists have come together to offer a set of realistic and bold solutions to climate change. One hundred techniques and practices are described here—some are well known; some you may have never heard of. They range from clean energy to educating girls in lower-income countries to land use practices that pull carbon out of the air. The solutions exist, are economically viable, and communities throughout the world are currently enacting them with skill and determination. Available On Amazon

Designing Climate Solutions: A Policy Guide for Low-Carbon Energy

by Hal Harvey, Robbie Orvis, Jeffrey Rissman
1610919564With the effects of climate change already upon us, the need to cut global greenhouse gas emissions is nothing less than urgent. It’s a daunting challenge, but the technologies and strategies to meet it exist today. A small set of energy policies, designed and implemented well, can put us on the path to a low carbon future. Energy systems are large and complex, so energy policy must be focused and cost-effective. One-size-fits-all approaches simply won’t get the job done. Policymakers need a clear, comprehensive resource that outlines the energy policies that will have the biggest impact on our climate future, and describes how to design these policies well. Available On Amazon

This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate

by Naomi Klein
1451697392In This Changes Everything Naomi Klein argues that climate change isn’t just another issue to be neatly filed between taxes and health care. It’s an alarm that calls us to fix an economic system that is already failing us in many ways. Klein meticulously builds the case for how massively reducing our greenhouse emissions is our best chance to simultaneously reduce gaping inequalities, re-imagine our broken democracies, and rebuild our gutted local economies. She exposes the ideological desperation of the climate-change deniers, the messianic delusions of the would-be geoengineers, and the tragic defeatism of too many mainstream green initiatives. And she demonstrates precisely why the market has not—and cannot—fix the climate crisis but will instead make things worse, with ever more extreme and ecologically damaging extraction methods, accompanied by rampant disaster capitalism. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.comelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}