توفير المال ليس مفتاح قطع الطاقة المنزلية

توفير المال ليس مفتاح قطع الطاقة المنزليةالباحثون في لوس انجليس تجد أن توفير المال ليست رسالة أقوى في إقناع الناس للحد من كمية الكهرباء التي يستخدمونها.

Altruism على قيد الحياة وبصحة جيدة ويعيشون في ولاية كاليفورنيا. تشير التجربة الممتدة التي تتضمن أكثر من 100 إلى أن الناس أكثر عرضة لتخفيض استخدام الطاقة إذا كانوا يعتقدون ذلك جيد للبيئة بدلا من الخير لجيوبهم.

وأولئك الذين تابعوا الرسائل المتعلقة بالصالح العام أنقذوا ، في المتوسط ​​، 8٪ على فواتير الوقود ، بينما قللت الأسر التي لديها أطفال من استخدام الطاقة بنسبة 19٪. لكن الناس الذين تم تذكيرهم مراراً أنهم يستخدمون طاقة أكثر من جار يراعي الاقتصاد ، غيروا استهلاكهم بالكاد على الإطلاق.

اقتصاديات البيئة مجلي دلماس والباحث عمر أسنسيو، ل جامعة كاليفورنيا، لوس أنجلوستقرير في وقائع الاكاديمية الوطنية للعلوم انهم يحققون رسائل تغيير السلوك الذي قد يشجع وفورات في الطاقة، والأمريكيين يمكن أن تنقذ 20٪ سنويا - أو 123 مليون طن من الكربون.

في الوقت الحقيقي واستخدام

تم تصميم أنظمة القياس الذكية وتركيبها في شقق 118 في إحدى قرى الحرم الجامعي التي تضم طلاب الدراسات العليا وعائلاتهم.

تم إنشاء الموقع بحيث أن الجميع يمكن أن تتبع استخدام الوقت الحقيقي ونرى ما أشياء مثل آلات غسل الأطباق وأنظمة التدفئة والتبريد يمكن أن تكلف، وحتى نرى ارتفاع في استخدام الطاقة في كل مرة أنها فتحت الثلاجة.

"الكهرباء لا يزال غير مرئية إلى حد كبير لمعظم الناس. نريد أن تساعدهم على ذلك ".

استغرق الأمر ستة أشهر لقياس استخدام خط الأساس ، ثم بدأت في إرسال رسائل البريد الإلكتروني الأسبوعية للمتطوعين.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


لمدة أربعة أشهر ، استمرت مجموعة واحدة في تلقي رسائل تقول إنها تستخدم طاقة أكثر من الجيران ، أو أن استهلاكها كان أكثر تكلفة. وقد تم إخبار المجموعة الأخرى عن مقدار تلوث الهواء الذي أحدثته من جارتهم - وفي نفس الوقت ، ذكرت أن تلوث الهواء مرتبط بربو الأطفال والسرطان.

فازت حجة البيئية، بشكل واضح. وربما تكون قد نجحت، يعتقد الباحثون، لأنه تم تعرض فيه الأسر غير مضرة بالبيئة مع فكرتين: أنه إذا قطعوا تلوث الهواء وتقليل خطر الإصابة بأمراض كانوا يفعلون شيئا من شأنه أن يفيد كلا منهم والمجتمع ككل.

رخيص نسبيا

وقال أسينسيو إن الضغط لخفض فواتير الوقود المنزلي ربما لم ينجح ، لأن الكهرباء رخيصة نسبيا.

وقال: "بالنسبة لمعظم الناس في موقعنا الميداني ، فإن المدخرات لتقليص استخدام نفس الجار الأكثر فاعلية لن تتجاوز 4 إلى $ 6 شهريًا". "هذه وجبة كومبو للوجبات السريعة أو بضعة غالونات من الحليب."

وقال البروفيسور ديلماس ، الباحث الرئيسي في الدراسة: "لا تزال الكهرباء غير مرئية إلى حد كبير بالنسبة لمعظم الناس. نريد أن نساعدهم على رؤيتها ".

- شبكة أخبار المناخ

عن المؤلف

تيم رادفورد ، صحفي مستقلتيم رادفورد صحافي مستقل. كان يعمل ل الحارس ل32 عاما، لتصبح (من بين أمور أخرى) خطابات رئيس التحرير، محرر الفنون، المحرر الأدبي ورئيس تحرير العلم. فاز رابطة كتاب العلوم البريطاني جائزة للكاتب العلوم من السنة أربع مرات. خدم في لجنة المملكة المتحدة لل العقد الدولي للحد من الكوارث الطبيعية. وقد ألقى محاضرات عن العلوم والإعلام في عشرات المدن البريطانية والأجنبية.

العلوم التي غيرت العالم: القصة غير المروية لثورة 1960s الأخرىكتاب بهذا المؤلف:

العلوم التي غيرت العالم: القصة غير المروية لثورة 1960s الأخرى
تيم رادفورد.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون. (كتاب أوقد)

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

Saving Money Is Not The Key To Cutting Household Energy

Saving Money Is Not The Key To Cutting Household EnergyResearchers in Los Angeles find that saving money is not the most powerful message in persuading people to reduce the amount of electricity they use.

Altruism is alive and well and living in California. An extended experiment involving more than 100 households suggests that people are more likely to reduce energy use if they believe it is good for the environment rather than good for their pockets.

Those who tuned into the messages about public good saved, on average, 8% on their fuel bills, while households with children reduced their energy use by 19%. But people who were repeatedly reminded that they were using more power than an economy-conscious neighbour altered their consumption hardly at all.

Environmental economist Magali Delmas and research fellow Omar Asensio, of the University of California Los Angeles, report in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences that they were investigating behaviour-altering messages that might encourage energy savings, as Americans could potentially save 20% a year − or 123 million tonnes of carbon.

Real-Time Use

Smart-metering systems were devised and installed in 118 apartments in a campus village that is home to graduate students and their families.

A website was created so that everybody could track real-time use and see what such things as dish washing machines and heating and cooling systems could cost, and even see the spikes in energy use every time they opened the fridge.

“Electricity is still largely invisible to most people. We want to help them see it.”

They took six months to measure the baseline use, and then started to send weekly emails to the volunteers.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


For four months, one group kept getting messages that said they were using more power than a neighbour, or that their consumption was more costly. The other group was told how much more air pollution they were creating than their neighbour − and, at the same time, reminded that air pollution is linked to childhood asthma, and cancer.

The environmental argument won, conspicuously. And it may have succeeded, the researchers think, because the environmentally-aware households were being presented with two ideas: that if they cut air pollution and reduced the risk of disease they were doing something that would benefit both them and society at large.

Relatively Cheap

The pressure to cut household fuel bills may not have worked, said Asensio, because electricity is relatively cheap.

“For most people at our field site, the savings for cutting back to using the same as their most efficient neighbour would only be $4 to $6 a month,” he said. “That’s a fast-food combo meal or a couple of gallons of milk.”

Professor Delmas, the study’s principal investigator, said: “Electricity is still largely invisible to most people. We want to help them see it.”

Climate News Network

About the Author

Tim Radford, freelance journalistTim Radford is a freelance journalist. He worked for The Guardian for 32 years, becoming (among other things) letters editor, arts editor, literary editor and science editor. He won the Association of British Science Writers award for science writer of the year four times. He served on the UK committee for the International Decade for Natural Disaster Reduction. He has lectured about science and the media in dozens of British and foreign cities. 

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolutionBook by this Author:

Science that Changed the World: The untold story of the other 1960s revolution
by Tim Radford.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon. (Kindle book)

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…