المثلية: تاريخ من ألمانيا إلى الولايات المتحدة

المثلية: تاريخ من ألمانيا إلى الولايات المتحدة

وكتب توماس كارليل ان "التاريخ هو فقط سيرة الرجال العظماء". إذا كان صحيحا أن لا يتم تشكيل شعب عظيم من الأوقات التي يعيشون فيها، أنه من الأوقات التي يتم تشكيلها من قبل شعب عظيم، ويجب أن صموئيل هانيمان، دكتوراه في الطب، ورتبته بين الرجال عظيم حقا من الدواء. وهو يقف مع القدماء، ابقراط، وجالينوس، وParacelsus، و في الآونة الأخيرة مع فيزاليوس أندرياس، أمبرواز باري، وليام هارفي، رينيه اينيك، سيملويس الدفعة الأولية، بقي يوسف، جون هنتر، وغيرها.

الدكتور هانيمان - عالم والمجرب

ولد الدكتور هانيمان في Meisen، ألمانيا، في 1755 وتوفي عن عمر يناهز ال 88 في باريس. وكان تألقه في مرحلة الطفولة واضح، كما انه تعلم اليونانية واللاتينية من قبل 12 العمر. بواسطة 24 العمر، وكان يعلم أيضا العبرية، الإنجليزية، والفرنسية، وكان قد تخرج من كلية الطب في فيينا. في غضون سنوات قليلة، غادر ممارسة الطب ليكون كاتبا ومترجما من النصوص الطبية إلى اللغة الألمانية. يقال انه فعل ذلك بسبب خيبة الأمل التي أجراها مع العلاجات من وقته. مع ترجمة للمقال نص المواد الطبية من قبل الطبيب ويليام كولين الاسكتلندي، MD (الذي كان استاذا في جامعة غلاسكو، اسكتلندا، واستاذ الطب في جامعة ادنبره، كما في اسكتلندا)، والتاريخ الطب الحديث قد تغير. كان العام 1790.

لحاء الكينا، المصدر من الكينين

أمضى الدكتور كولين 16 صفحات من نصه تصف الطبيعة من لحاء الكينا، ومصدر الكينين. من المعروف أن لحاء يمكن علاج الملاريا، ولكن لا أحد يعرف كيف. يعتقد الدكتور كولين كان يعرف وانما هو المرارة وصفات الدواء القابض من لحاء التي واجهت الحمى والتوعك من الملاريا. يمكن أن الدكتور هانيمان لم تقبل هذا التفسير. يعرف انه بعد أن درست بالفعل وترجمت نصوص أخرى، أن هناك العديد من الأدوية حتى أكثر مرارة وأكثر عقولة التي كانت عديمة الفائدة لمكافحة الملاريا. ميديكا الدكتور هانيمان لبالمادة الخاصة أصبحت في نهاية المطاف النص القياسي في كليات الطب الألمانية. (في مقال كتب الدكتور كولين: "أرى أن لحاء بيرو أن تكون [1] مادة في أي صفات يتم الجمع بين المر والدواء القابض ... كما بينا من قبل أن هذه الصفات في دولة منفصلة إعطاء الأدوية منشط، لذلك سيتم بسهولة أن سمحت، ملتصقين معا، فإنها قد تعطي واحدة لا تزال أكثر قوة. "

الولادة من التجارب الطبية الحديثة

الدكتور هانيمان، وطبيب ومترجم، وهكذا أصبح عالم ومجرب. التجارب الطبية الحديثة يبدأ هنا. طريقته بسيطة:

الدكتور هانيمان طلب الآن: "ماذا سيحدث لو ...؟" كما كان يستخدم على نطاق واسع مع نجاح الكينين لعلاج الملاريا المرضى المصابين، كان يعرف أن لحاء كانت غير سامة في جرعات صغيرة، لذلك تجربته الأولى كانت لاستيعاب ذلك. بعد أن جرعة واحدة، حوالي ملعقة صغيرة من النباح، بدأ الدكتور هانيمان لتطوير أعراض الملاريا - الرعشة، والشعور بالضيق، والصداع الرهيب. لأنه كان يعرف انه لم يكن لديهم هذا المرض، وتساءل ما حدث لجثته.

Hipprocrates: ما علاج مرض يؤدي أيضا

استشارته أبقراط للحصول على الجواب. وكان أبقراط كتب بعض قرون 22 في وقت سابق ان ما يشفي شرط يؤدي أيضا. الكلمة اليونانية pharmakon يعني على حد سواء "الطب" و "السم". وكان هذا الجواب الدكتور هانيمان كان يسعى. واضاف "مثل علاجات مثل". والمادة التي تسبب الأعراض في الشخص السليم علاج هذه الأعراض في نفس الشخص غير صحي. الدكتور هانيمان، في إعادة اكتشاف مبدأ القديم، وأسس الانضباط طبي جديد: المثلية.

في هذا التخصص، واقترح الدكتور هانيمان العلاجات، وخالية من كل آثار ضارة، كوكلاء للعلاج. عرض عليه الموضوعية والبساطة والأصالة، والاستقلال في عصر الغطرسة الطبية.

مختلط الولايات المتحدة حفل استقبال لالمثلية

وكان ذلك عندما قدم للمرة الأولى المعالجة المثلية في أمريكا، في الفترة من ديمقراطية جاكسون. من فصاعدا 1824، دخلت أمريكا حقبة من عدم الثقة من الأثرياء فحسب، بل في أي مجموعة النخبة المتعلمة. لم يكن هناك ترخيص دولة من الأطباء أو المدارس الطبية. بين 1830 و1840، تضاعف عدد هذه المدارس. تألف التعليم الطبي في ذلك الوقت، في أحسن الأحوال، في الأسابيع 16 من المحاضرات مع العمل، إن وجدت، القليل السريرية. مع أدوية سوى عدد قليل جدا المتاحة، وسوى اقل من التعليم، يمكن لأي شخص تقريبا تصبح طبيبة، وفعل أي شخص تقريبا.

يبدو الوقت الميمون لالمثلية، وكان. وكان من الآمن، فإنه كان فعالا، وكان غير مكلف (كما هو حتى اليوم). تم حزم أيضا في مجموعات للمزارعين لاستخدام معزولة. داخل المدن، كان معظم الأطباء المثقفين الذين بدأوا في استخدام العلاجات الجديدة المثلية، وأغنى من المرضى الذين بدأوا في طلب منهم.

AMA مقابل الجمعية المثلية

في 1832، أدلى مقاطعة نيويورك الجمعية الطبية عندما المثلية لم يكن التهديد المالي، والدكتور هانيمان عضوا فخريا. خمسة عشر عاما في وقت لاحق، وألغي هذا الشرف. في ذلك الوقت، كانت الجمعية الطبية الأميركية (AMA) فقط تم تشكيل استجابة لجمعية المثلية. في 1846، أعلن AMA أن المثلية "من شأنه أن يدمر علم الطب". لكن المثلية ازدهرت.

بواسطة 1860، كان هناك أكثر من 2400 المعالجون في البلاد، والتي 1900، 11,000. تمثل هذا في المئة تقريبا من 15 جميع الأطباء. كانت هناك مدارس 22 الطبية والمستشفيات 100. في انكلترا، وكان القبول العالمي تقريبا بسبب تأييد الاسرة المالكة البريطانية. من فصاعدا 1830s، وكانوا أطباء المثلية على وجه الحصر، وحتى اليوم، الملكة اليزابيث والامير تشارلز أبدا السفر من دون حقائبهم الشخصية المثلية.

المثلية: النجاح أو وهمي؟

حيث بلغ عدد المعالجون زيادة، وكذلك فعل العداء لل"النظامي". واتهم الأطباء المعالجون للنجاح فقط من تأثير الدواء الوهمي. "الخيال"، دعوا فيه. إن كان الأمر كذلك، وقال الطبيب المثلي، ثم تذهب وتفعل الشيء نفسه. وبطبيعة الحال، كما المعالجون علاجه الرضع والأطفال الذين لا يعرف شيئا من مهدئات، وكان الأطباء أي رد، ولأن وسائل الانتصاف للطبيب تجانسي لكان لطيف وآمن على ما يبدو، والأمهات من أمريكا دعاهم بأعداد متزايدة لعلاج العلل من أبنائهم .

المصدر الحقيقي للصراع بين اثنين من التخصصات، ولكن، ليست له علاقة مع فعالية العلاج. في الواقع، في 1842، قال أوليفر ويندل هولمز، دكتوراه، أستاذ الطب في جامعة هارفارد، "يعني يشفي القليل. وحقيقة مذهب الطبية لا علاقة له مع العلاج". والعلاقة المهنية التي بدأت ديا تدهورت خلال السنوات 25 إلى توجيه الشتائم والاهانات تماما نتيجة للمنافسة. وكان الأطباء العادية تفقد الأعمال إلى المعالجون.

المثلية المشاورات غير القانونية في 1855

بواسطة 1855، وكان قصره حكما مناهضا للتشاور في ميثاقها. وهذا يعني أن أي اتصال أو مهنية أو غير ذلك، مع طبيب تجانسي من شأنه أن يؤدي إلى فقدان الدولة وعضوية مقاطعة، مما قد يعني أيضا فقدان رخصة. في 1878، وهو طبيب في لندن جديدة، كونكتكت، في الواقع لم يخسر رخصته. وكان طبيب تجانسي التقى وتحدث إلى زوجته. ومن المثير للاهتمام أن نلاحظ أنه على الرغم من أن تم قبول جيد الطبيبات في الأوساط المثلية في ذلك الوقت، اتفاقية المعابر لم يعترف حتى النساء 1916.

في ولاية نيويورك، كان أداء أفضل قليلا المعالجون. تم تمرير القانون في 1827 أن يسمح الأطباء لرفع دعوى لعدم دفع الفواتير لكنها لم تسمح المعالجون على أن تحذو حذوها. وقد انعكس هذا القانون أخيرا في 1844. في 1871، افتتاحية صحيفة نيويورك تايمز لاحظت هذا الصراع المرير وقفت مع المعالجون، قائلا مع عدم وجود نقص من السخرية، "أفضل للمريض يجب أن يموت تحت العلاجات القديمة، من النهوض في الجديدة".

المثلية اليوم

اليوم، ومن المقبول على نطاق واسع المثلية في معظم البلدان الغربية أو الصناعية باستثناء الولايات المتحدة. في فرنسا، وبعض في المئة من جميع الصيدليات 25 هي المثلية. في انكلترا، ونصف جميع الأطباء إما استخدام أو يوصي المثلية. في الهند، ويتم تدريسها في المدارس كلها تقريبا الطبية والصيدلية. إذا كان السبب وراء معارضة في القرن 19th كانت المنافسة، ما هو السبب واليوم عندما المثلية يحمل لكن أصغر جزء من العلاج؟ يمكن العثور على الجواب وأعتقد أن في اقتباس من ليو تولستوي. انه، بالطبع، لم يكن يفكر في اتفاقية المعابر، أو إدارة الغذاء والدواء عندما كتب هذا، ولكن المشاعر وتناسب.

أعلم أن معظم الرجال ، بمن فيهم أولئك الذين يعانون من مشاكل في أعقد التعقيدات ، نادراً ما يقبلون حتى أبسط وأوضح الحقيقة إذا كان ذلك سيضطرهم إلى الاعتراف بزيف الاستنتاجات التي أسعدهم في شرحها للزملاء ، التي قاموا بتدريسها بفخر للآخرين ، والتي نسجوها ، خيطًا في خيوط ، في نسيج حياتهم.

كتاب ذو صلة

المعالجه المثليه بسيطة: دليل مرجعي سريع
بواسطة بابون دونالد ر.

المثلية صنعت بسيطة يكتشف بابون ، وهو طبيب بيطري ممارس ، بوضوح محتويات "مجموعة الأدوات المنزلية المثلية". بعد فصل حول الأسئلة الشائعة ، يتم ترتيب العلاجات حسب مساحة الجسم ؛ هناك أيضا أقسام عن الحمى واضطرابات الذكور والإناث والحالات العقلية واضطرابات النوم. برايم مفيد.

معلومات / طلب كتاب

نبذة عن الكاتب

يعيش هربرت روثو ، ر. ف. هـ. ، MS ، في بوكا راتون ، فلوريدا ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، حيث يعمل صيدلي ممارس وأخصائي تغذية مرخص. تم نشر هذه المقالة لأول مرة في عدد أغسطس 1999 من The Druggist الأمريكي ردا على رسائل إلى المحرر في عدد مايو 1999 التي كانت تنتقد المعالجة المثلية.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = الشفاء باستخدام المعالجة المثلية ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Homeopathy: History from Germany to the USA

Homeopathy: History from Germany to the USA

Thomas Carlyle wrote that "history is only the biography of great men". If it is true that great people are not formed by the times they live in, that it is the times that are formed by the great people, Samuel Hahnemann, M.D., must rank among the truly great men of medicine. He stands with the ancients, Hippocrates, Galen, and Paracelsus, and in more recent times with Andreas Vesalius, Ambroise Paré, William Harvey, René Laennec, Ignaz Semmelweis, Joseph Lister, John Hunter, and others.

Dr. Hahnemann -- Scientist and Experimenter

Dr. Hahnemann was born in Meisen, Germany, in 1755 and died at the age of 88 in Paris. His brilliance as a child was evident, as he learned Greek and Latin by age 12. By age 24, he also knew Hebrew, English, and French, and had graduated from medical school in Vienna. Within a few years, he left the practice of medicine to be a writer and translator of medical texts into German. It is said that he did this because of his disillusionment with the therapies of his time. With the translation of the text Treatise of the Materia Medica by the Scottish physician William Cullen, M.D. (who was a professor at the University of Glasgow, Scotland, and a professor of medicine at the University of Edinburgh, also in Scotland), the history of modern medicine was changed. The year was 1790.

Cinchona Bark, Source of Quinine

Dr. Cullen spent 16 pages of his text describing the nature of the cinchona bark, the source of quinine. It was known that the bark could treat malaria, but no one knew how. Dr. Cullen thought he knew: it was the bitterness and astringent qualities of the bark that confronted the fever and malaise of malaria. Dr. Hahnemann could not accept this explanation. Having already studied and translated other texts, he knew that there were many drugs even more bitter and more astringent that were useless against malaria. Dr. Hahnemann's own Materia Medica eventually became a standard text in German medical schools. (In the Treatise Dr. Cullen wrote: "I consider the Peruvian bark to be [a] substance in which the qualities of bitter and astringent are combined... As we have before shown that these qualities in their separate state give tonic medicines, so it will be readily allowed that, conjoined together, they may give one still more powerful."

Birth of Modern Medical Experimentation

Dr. Hahnemann, the physician and translator, thus became the scientist and experimenter. Modern medical experimentation begins here. His method is simple:

Dr. Hahnemann now asked: "What will happen if...?" As quinine was widely used with success to treat malaria-infected patients, he knew that the bark was nontoxic in small doses, so his first experiment was to ingest it. Following that one dose, about a teaspoonful of bark, Dr. Hahnemann began to develop the symptoms of malaria -- the chills, the malaise, the terrible headaches. Because he knew he did not have the disease, he wondered what had happened to his body.

Hipprocrates: What Cures Disease Will Also Cause It

He consulted Hippocrates for the answer. Hippocrates had written some 22 centuries earlier that what cures a condition will also cause it. The Greek word pharmakon means both "medicine" and "poison". This was the answer Dr. Hahnemann was seeking. "Like cures like." The substance that causes symptoms in a healthy person will treat those same symptoms in an unhealthy person. Dr. Hahnemann, in rediscovering an old principle, founded a new medical discipline: homeopathy.

In this discipline, Dr. Hahnemann proposed remedies, free from all harmful effects, as agents of cure. He offered objectivity, simplicity, originality, and independence in an era of medical arrogance.

Mixed U.S. Reception for Homeopathy

When homeopathy was first introduced into America, it was the period of Jacksonian democracy. From 1824 onward, America entered an era of distrust of not only the wealthy but of any elite well-educated group. There was no state licensing of physicians or medical schools. Between 1830 and 1840, the number of such schools doubled. The medical education of the time consisted, at best, of 16 weeks of lectures with little, if any, clinical work. With only very few drugs available and only the barest of an education, almost anyone could become a doctor, and almost anyone did.

It seemed an auspicious time for homeopathy, and it was. It was safe, it was effective, it was inexpensive (as it still is today). It was also packaged in kits for the isolated farmers to use. Within the cities, it was the most educated physicians who began to use the new homeopathic remedies, and the wealthiest patients who began to ask for them.

AMA vs. The Homeopathic Association

In 1832, when homeopathy was no financial threat, the New York County Medical Society made Dr. Hahnemann an honorary member. Fifteen years later, that honor was rescinded. At that time, the American Medical Association (AMA) had just been formed in response to the Homeopathic Association. In 1846, the AMA declared that homeopathy "would destroy the science of medicine". But homeopathy prospered.

By 1860, there were more than 2400 homeopaths in the country, and by 1900, 11,000. This represented almost 15 percent of all physicians. There were 22 medical schools and 100 hospitals. In England, acceptance was almost universal because of the endorsement of the British Royal Family. From the 1830s onward, they had used homeopathic physicians exclusively, and even today, Queen Elizabeth and Prince Charles never travel without their personal homeopathic kits.

Homeopathy: Success or Placebo?

As the number of homeopaths increased, so did the animosity of the "regulars". Physicians accused the homeopaths of success only from the placebo effect. "Imagination," they called it. If that was so, said the homeopaths, then go and do the same. Of course, as the homeopaths cured babies and infants who knew nothing of placebos, the physicians had no reply, and because the homeopath's remedies were gentle and apparently safe, the mothers of America called on them in increasing numbers to treat the ills of their children.

The true source of the conflict between the two disciplines, however, had nothing to do with the effectiveness of the therapy. In fact, in 1842, Oliver Wendell Holmes, M.D., Professor of Medicine at Harvard University, said, "cures meant little. The truth of medical doctrine has nothing to do with cures." The professional relationship that started amicably had deteriorated within 25 years to name calling and insults entirely as a result of competition. The regular physicians were losing business to the homeopaths.

Homeopathic Consultations Illegal in 1855

By 1855, the AMA had an anti-consultation clause in its charter. This meant that any contact, professional or otherwise, with a homeopath would result in loss of state and county membership, which could also mean loss of license. In 1878, a physician in New London, Connecticut, actually did lose his license. The homeopath he met with and spoke to was his wife. It is interesting to note that although female physicians were well accepted in homeopathic circles at that time, the AMA did not admit women until 1916.

In New York State, homeopaths fared slightly better. A law was passed in 1827 that permitted physicians to sue for nonpayment of bills but did not allow homeopaths to do the same. This law was finally reversed in 1844. In 1871, a New York Times editorial noted this bitter conflict and sided with the homeopaths, saying with no lack of sarcasm, "better the patient should die under the old remedies, than recover under the new".

Homeopathy Today

Today, homeopathy is widely accepted in most Western or industrialized countries except the United States. In France, some 25 percent of all pharmacies are homeopathic. In England, half of all physicians either use or recommend homeopathy. In India, it is taught in almost all medical and pharmacy schools. If the reason for opposition in the 19th century was competition, what is the reason today when homeopathy holds but the smallest portion of therapy? The answer I think can be found in a quote from Leo Tolstoy. He, of course, was not thinking of the AMA or the Food and Drug Administration when he wrote this, but the sentiments would fit.

I know that most men, including those at ease with problems of the greatest complexity, can seldom accept even the simplest and most obvious truth if it be such as would oblige them to admit the falsity of conclusions which they have delighted in explaining to colleagues, which they have proudly taught to others, and which they have woven, thread by thread, into the fabric of their lives.

Related book

Homeopathy Made Simple: A Quick Reference Guide
by R. Donald Papon

Homeopathy Made Simple Papon, a practicing homeopath, clearly demystifies the contents of the "homeopathic household kit." Following a chapter on FAQs, remedies are arranged by area of the body; there are also sections on fever, male and female disorders, mental states, and sleep disorders. A handy primer.

Info/Order book

About The Author

HERBERT ROTHOUSE, R.PH., M.S., lives in Boca Raton, Florida, USA, where he is a practicing pharmacist and a licensed nutritionist. This article was first published in the August 1999 issue of The American Druggist in response to letters to the editor in their May 1999 issue that were critical of homeopathy.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=healing with homeopathy;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}