هل انت شخصيتك؟ هل أتت من والديك؟

هل انت شخصيتك؟ هل أتت من والديك؟
الصورة عن طريق الممثلة

بما أنه من خلال شخصيتنا التي نعبر عنها من نحن ، فإننا غالباً ما نراها كمصدر لفرادتنا. لكن فكر للحظة في إمكانية تمثيل شخصيتك كقناعك ، كحمايتك في العالم. مثل فناني الأداء ، يقدم كل واحد منا أنفسنا على أنه يتمتع بخصائص شخصية معينة. قد نكون عدوانيين أو وديعين أو صاخبين أو ناعمة الكلام أو مهيمنين أو محبين أو فضوليين أو محبين. تنعكس شخصيتك على الطريقة التي تتصرف بها وكيف "تظهر" وكيف تكشف نفسك. لكن كيف طورت الشخصية التي تميزك أنت؟

تخيل طفل جديد. بعد الولادة بقليل ، من الواضح أن الرضيع قد أسس بالفعل أنماط سلوكية فريدة خاصة به. كما هو الحال مع معظم الرضع ، تعني صرخاته واحدة من ثلاثة أشياء: إطعامني! غيرني! أو امسك بي! تملي شخصيته أنه سيؤدي بطريقة معينة لجذب انتباه والديه. بعض الأطفال صاخبين والبعض الآخر هادئ. سيحرك بعض الأطفال أيديهم أو أذرعهم أو أرجلهم كثيرًا بينما لا يزال الآخرون ساكدين. لديهم جميعا احتياجات أساسية مماثلة - الغذاء ، والجفاف ، والاتصال الجسدي - ولكن لكل منهم طريقة خاصة للتعبير عن تلك الاحتياجات. ولأنه يمكن ملاحظة شخصية الطفل في مثل هذا العمر المبكر ، يبدو من المرجح أن الجينات تلعب دورًا في كيفية تطورها.

السمات: انها جاءت من أمي وأبي

في الحمل ، تتلقى العديد من الصفات من والديك والآخرين في شجرة عائلتك. تتلقى هذه البرمجة الجينية سواء أعجبك ذلك أم لا. قد يظهر في شكل تشابه مادي ، مثل حجم الجسم أو الوزن أو لون الشعر. قد يبدو وكأنه أحد والديك. أفضل أو أسوأ من ذلك كله ، قد تجد نفسك تتصرف مثلهم. البنية الجسدية لعينيك - بالإضافة إلى طريقتك في الرؤية والرؤية وتصوراتك العميقة - يمكن أن تكون مصاغة من خلال هذه البصمة الجينية.

هل فكرت يومًا في سبب انتهائك من عمل والديك؟ هل تساءلت لماذا تصادف القطع والقطع في كل مرة تنظر فيها في المرآة أو تسمع نفسك تتحدث؟ ربما كنت غالبًا ما تشعر بالإحباط لتجد أنك تشارك بعض أوجه القصور فيها. مثلهم ، أنت غضب بسهولة. أو يمكنك كبح مشاعرك. أو أنك لا تعبر عن نفسك بشكل كامل. في كل هذه الملاحظات ، قد تدرك أن تاريخ حياتك يحمل بعض التشابه مع ذلك من والديك. ربما حتى رؤيتك السيئة هي مثل رؤيتهم.

في إحباطك ، قد تكون قضيت وقتًا حرجًا أو ينتقص من الأشياء التي علمك آباؤك بها. نحن في كثير من الأحيان نحكم على آباءنا ووجهات نظرهم ، متعهدين بعدم تكرار أنماطهم السلبية مع أطفالنا. ومع ذلك ، على الرغم من الجهود التي نبذلها ، غالبا ما نفعل.

لقد ولدت مع ذلك

تخيل والديك للحظة. أرى حقا وجوههم. سماع أصواتهم. أشعر بالعناق. تذكر الحاضرين في السرير. شم رائحة الروائح من أجسامهم. عندما تعود إلى الذاكرة لتجربة هذه اللحظات معهم مرة أخرى ، فكر في هذا: هل من الممكن أنه لم يكن من قبيل الصدفة أن يكون هذان الشخصان اللذان تسمينهما الأب والأم هما اللذان انتهى بهما والديك؟

في المخطط الأوسع للأشياء ، هل من الممكن أن يكون لديك رأي في اختيار والديك؟ من أجل الرؤية الواعية ، ادعي أنك ساعدتهم حتى في تحديد موعد الحمل ، لكي تصل روحك على كوكب الأرض في وقت معين. لنفترض أن آباءك قد وصلوا إلى مستوى معين من الوعي ، وعند هذه النقطة كنت مستعدًا لمقابلتهم.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


أدرك أن هذا قد يكون من الصعب تخيله ، أو ببساطة لا يمكن تصوره على محمل الجد. من أجل زراعة الرؤية الواعية ، يمتد إلى ما وراء الطريقة التي تدرك بها الأمور عادة. عندما تصل إلى خيالك إلى ما وراء الطريقة اليومية لفهم الأشياء ، قد تبدأ في الشعور بأن الواقع الرضائي الذي نقبله بسهولة لا ياخذ بعين الاعتبار سوى المظهر السطحي لحياتنا. رؤية رؤية مطالب أننا ننظر أعمق قليلا.

إذا كان من الممكن في الواقع أن يكون لك رأي في اختيارك للوالدين ، وحتى إذا اخترت موعد الوصول ، فستظهر العديد من الاحتمالات الأخرى المثيرة للاهتمام. لسبب واحد ، قد تكون عناصر شخصيات والديك التي تلقيتها مطلوبة لك لتجربة حياة معينة. هذا قد يعني أن سلعتهم وكذلك أخطائهم جزء لا يتجزأ من إنسانيتك الفردية. لماذا ا؟ هل من الممكن أن تحتاج ، كطفل ، لتجربة الجوانب الإيجابية والسلبية من أجل التطور؟ دعونا نأخذ هذا الخط من التحقيق خطوة أخرى إلى الأمام. تطوَّر والديك أيضًا من والديهما ، وكان لكل منهما مخطط فريد خاص به للمساهمة في الاستمرارية. افتح عقلك أمام هذه الاحتمالات ، ولو للحظة فقط ، بينما نستكشف كيف يمكن أن تتجمع كل هذه العناصر في فهمنا لتطوير الرؤية الواعية.

لسنوات عديدة ، كنت مستمتعا من كم أطباء العيون التقليديين يعتقدون أنه من المستحيل أن تتحسن الرؤية. يشير البعض إلى مقل العيون المشوه جينيا باعتباره السبب الرئيسي لمشاكل الرؤية. أخصائيي النظر الوظيفي والسلوكي يلومون العوامل البيئية. يقولون ، على سبيل المثال ، أن القراءة تتطلب أن تركز العين أكثر من اللازم ؛ الإضاءة السيئة تضع ضغطًا كبيرًا على العينين. في الرؤية الواعية سوف نكتشف كيف تساهم كل هذه المتغيرات - من الروحية ، إلى الجينية ، إلى البيئة في الطريقة التي تراها ، مع العوامل البيئية التي غالباً ما تؤدي إلى استعدادات وراثية.

شخصية مرنة

الشخصيات يمكن أن تكون مرنة أو غير مرنة. في العائلة التي نشأت فيها ، بدا أن شخصيات قوية كشفت في معظم الأحيان أنها غير مرنة. ارتبطت قوة الشخصية بالغضب والخوف والسيطرة. بعد ذلك بكثير ، عندما بدأت أرى والدي بطريقة أكثر وعياً ، أدركت أنهم كانوا يتطورون كما كنت. يحدث التطور نحو الوعي في وقت واحد في جميع الأجيال ، وإن كان بمعدلات مختلفة. قد لا يتطور جيل والديك بنفس السرعة التي يتطور بها والديك ، ولن تتطابق خطوتك مع جيل أطفالك. يبدو أن كل جيل متعاقب يسير بشكل أسرع في إجراء تعديلات في الشخصية كطريقة لتصبح أكثر وعياً.

في حالتي وجدت أنني بحاجة إلى تعديل الميل لقمع مشاعري. كان هذا صعبًا جدًا بالنسبة لي في البداية. ما حدث في كثير من الأحيان هو أنني كنت سأجلس على مشاعري أو أن أنكرها أو ببساطة أن أكون فاقدًا لها. عندما شاركت في النهاية ما كنت أشعر به ، غالبًا ما كنت أفعل ذلك بطريقة ممزوجة بالغضب العميق والسري. عندما بدأت بدمج الحدس مع الذكاء ، وكوني مع القيام ، ورؤية مع النظر ، وجدت أنه من الأسهل التعبير عن مشاعري دون هذا الغضب الكامن ، على الأقل لأفراد العائلة.

عرض مشوه للواقع

إن تفكيري غير المكتمل خلال طفولتي شوه وجهة نظري للواقع. تم تسجيل تصوري للأذى في مكان ما في الطبقات العميقة من دماغي. كان علي أن أخرجهم ، واجعلهم جزءًا من حياتي الواعية. عندها فقط تمكنت من البدء في صنع السلام مع تلك الذكريات والتقدم نحو العيش حياة أكثر وعيا. كان عليّ أن أتصدى للأجزاء البديهية والتعبيرية ، والخائفة من نفسي. عندما فعلت ذلك ، شهدت تحولاً دراماتيكياً في الطريقة التي رأيت بها عالمي.

في هذه الأثناء ، شحّبت ابنتي قدرتها على جلب مشاعرها العميقة إلى وعيها أكثر من الأول. عندما كانت طفلة صغيرة ، أعربت عن غضبها مباشرة علي بطريقة غير مهذبة. عندما كبرت بمساعدة أمها وآخرين ، تعاملت مع الخلل في شخصيتها وواجهت مخاوفها. ثم يمكنها التواصل معي من طبيعتها الحقيقية. كانت قادرة على إخباري كيف شعرت وكانت واعية بالكامل وحاضرة معي. تطورت إلى هذه المرحلة في عمر أصغر بكثير من والدي أو أنا. ما أنجزته في سن الحادية والعشرين ، كنت أدرك للتو في اثنين وخمسين ، وأبي في الثانية والثمانين. في جيل ابنتي كان هناك تسارع لمدة ثلاثين سنة في تطور الوعي.

أتظنون أنكم هل شخصيتك؟

لوقت طويل من حياتي تلقيت وقبلت العديد من الرسائل المختلطة حول شخصيتي. أولا ، كنت أعتقد أنني شخصيتي. اعتقدت أن هويتي كانت متجذرة في كم أنا ذكي ، ظهور جسدي ، سواء التقيت بتوقعات المجتمع حول كيف يجب أن أتصرف ، وكيف كنت فعالا في مسيرتي المهنية.

افحص للحظة ما هي التصورات التي لديك عن العلاقة بين شخصيتك ومن أنت. قضاء بعض الوقت في النظر بعمق في حياتك ونفسك.

  1. هل تقيس روعتك بناء على النجاح المادي أو المظهر الخارجي؟
  2. على ماذا قياس نفسك وحياتك؟
  3. هل من الأهم بالنسبة لك الحصول على أشياء مادية بدلاً من استكشاف المساعي التي تعزز معرفتك بنفسك؟
  4. عندما تنظر بوضوح إلى حياتك ، هل تكتشف تجارب تم تركها غير مكتملة؟
  5. أنت تحاول أن تثبت نجاحك للآخرين؟
  6. هل تحاول السيطرة على الآخرين لأنك تشعر بعدم الارتياح مع أجزاء من نفسك؟
  7. في نهاية اليوم ، هل تشعر أن هناك شيء مفقود حتى لو تم تلبية جميع احتياجاتك المادية؟
  8. هل ترى نفسك غير كافية مقارنة بالآخرين ، مثل زملائك في العمل أو أفراد العائلة؟
  9. يمكنك أن تقول بصراحة كنت تحب جسدك؟
  10. عندما تنظر إلى المرآة ، هل تقضي لحظات تعكس مدى استمتاعك وحب رؤية جوهرك في عينيك؟

إذا أجبت بنعم على جميع الأسئلة باستثناء السؤالين الأخيرين ، فراجع كيف يمكنك تغيير أنماطك اليومية للوصول إلى النقطة التي لم تعد فيها توافقًا على الأسئلة. في رؤية رؤية الهدف هو أن تكون قادرة على أن تكون مع نفسك غير قضائية ، احتضان كامل أجزاء كثيرة من نفسك والسعي لتكون على بينة من ما يغذي جوهر الخاص بك.

تقييم مادي من نحن

إن نمط الحياة المادية والرأسمالية السائد في ثقافتنا يميل إلى جعلنا نقيم أنفسنا في المقام الأول من وجهات نظرنا الخاصة وكيف نتلاءم مع هذا النموذج. تبدو جيدا. قيادة السيارة المناسبة. عش في أفضل حي. اجني الكثير من المال. أقترح أن هذه القيم بالنسبة للعديد من الناس قد تحد من مستوى وعيهم. أجد أن العديد من موكلي الذين حققوا هذه الأهداف المادية يعانون من اضطرابات في العين. تشير ظروف العين هذه إلى عدم توازن في تصوراتهم لأنفسهم. إن شخصياتهم تخوض معركة مع طبيعتها الأصيلة ، حيث تتنافس كل واحدة من أجل الدور المهيمن في حكم حياتها. في عالم أكثر مثالية ، فإن الطبيعة الأصيلة تُعلم الشخصية لتحقيق قدر أكبر من الانسجام والتوازن بين المتطلبات الثقافية والشخصية الفريدة للفرد. إذا تم السعي وراء الجهد المبذول للتوصل إلى الانسجام بين الاثنين ، يمكن أن يؤدي ذلك إلى عملية تكاملية عميقة تؤدي إلى شخصية أكثر مرونة وأصالة. يمكن أن تكون الرؤية الواعية بداية مفيدة في هذه العملية.

قصة سونيا تساعد على توضيح هذه النقطة. كانت رؤيتها تهيمن عليها تصورات كونها عالقة في شخصية حياتها المهنية. عندما أدركت ذلك ساعدتها على خلق رؤية جديدة.

نجحت سونيا في مسيرتها المهنية في العمل في دار مزادات كبيرة في لندن ، إنجلترا. كانت وظيفتها مثيرة وقدمت فرصًا للسفر ، والتحدي ، والاختلاط مع الناس من جميع مناحي الحياة. علاقتها برؤيتها كانت طقوسًا بسيطة في الصباح والمساء لترك عدساتها اللاصقة داخل وخارج. لم تعتبر سونيا حقيقة أن عينيها كانتا مشكلة أو أنها في حاجة إلى التركيز عليها بأي شكل من الأشكال.

في نهاية المطاف وقعت في حب غودفري وتزوجا مع البهاء والأناقة. شعرت سونيا بهذا الاهتمام من جودفري. عرض أمنها ، منزل رائع ، ومستقبل مليء بالإثارة والإحتمال. استمرت في العمل ولكنها خفضت ساعاتها للاستمتاع بالوجود في المنزل. اعتقدت سونيا أنها حصلت على كل شيء. بدأ غودفري السفر إلى الخارج وترك سونيا في المنزل لفترات طويلة خلال غيابه. بدأت في ملاحظة أنها شعرت فارغة. أدركت أنها تهمل أصدقاءها السابقين وهواياتهم. أصبحت غير راضية عن أنماط حياتها اليومية. في هذا الوقت بدأت عدساتها اللاصقة في إعطاء صعوباتها. اضطرت سونيا لخفض وقت الارتداء بشكل جذري واضطرت إلى استخدام نظاراتها الاحتياطية. عرضت مفهوم الرؤية الواعي لقضاء بعض الوقت في رؤيتها "العارية" وترميم عينيها. هذا هو مفهوم علاجي حيث يتم منع جزء أو كل عين من الرؤية من خلال تغطية العدسة أو ارتداء غطاء على العين.

أثناء ترقيع "فعل" عينها السائدة ، (ترتبط العين عمومًا بتأثير الأب) ، ظهرت مشاعر الهجر. بدأت سونيا في التمييز بين تصوراتها التي تحكمها شخصيتها وذات احتياجاتها الحقيقية. ذهبت بعمق إلى شعورها وطبيعتها العاطفية. بدأت ترى أن عالقة في منزلها المذهل وحده بينما سافر زوجها روج لشعور بالوحدة. بدا منزلها وكأنه ضريح في غياب غودفري. سمحت سونيا لنفسها أن تشعر بعمق بهذا الفراغ. كان قلبها الحقيقي يطالبها بالتوقف عن التخلي عن قوتها العاطفية لزوجها. كانت رغبة سونيا هي السفر ومتابعة اهتمامها بالحياة الروحية للثقافات الأخرى.

عبر النظر إلى عدسات النظارات المنخفضة القوة ، وارتداء العدسات اللاصقة أقل ، ساعدت سونيا على التركيز على مشاعرها المدفونة واستعادة طريقها الطبيعي الحقيقي لرؤية نفسها والحياة. وهي تسافر الآن مع زوجها نصف الوقت وتزور دولًا أخرى بمفردها. ترتبط سونيا بأصدقائها مرة أخرى ، حيث تجد أنها تعزز توازنها الداخلي وشعورها السعيد بالعيش.

أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر ، وراء الكلمات.
©
2002. http://www.beyondword.com

المادة المصدر

واع رؤية: تحويل حياتك من خلال عيونكم
بواسطة روبرتو كابلان.

واع رؤية بواسطة روبرتو كابلان.إذا كانت العيون هي بالفعل "نوافذ للروح" ، فقد يكون هناك أهمية أعمق لظهور مشكلة في العين مثل قصر النظر مما قد يعتقد المرء. في واع رؤيةيشرح الدكتور روبرتو كابلان أن الطريقة التي نرى بها هي أكبر عامل حاسم في ما نراه. عندما ننظر إلى أعيننا إلى ما وراء تشخيص المشكلة ، يمكننا أن نفهم أن الأعراض البصرية هي رسائل قيّمة يمكننا من خلالها أن نكون أكثر وعياً بطبيعتنا الحقيقية. نظرة ثاقبة وعملية وكلية لرعاية العيون ، واع رؤية يمنحك الأدوات اللازمة لإعادة برمجة وعيك واكتساب المهارات لتعديل إدراكك.

معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب. متاح أيضًا كإصدار كيندل.

عن المؤلف

الصحة

روبرتو كابلان، والتطوير التنظيمي، ماجستير التربية، هو فنان فوتوغرافي، وهو عالم معروف دوليا والمؤلف، وهو بديهية الطبية، وطبيب العيون الذي هو في طليعة من القرن الحادي والعشرين للرعاية الصحية. الدكتور كابلان حاصل على دكتوراه في علم البصريات، والماجستير في التربية، وزميل لكلية البصر في تطوير الرؤية وكلية البصريات منسجم مع محيطه. وهو مؤلف من رؤية بدون نظارة والقوة الكامنة وراء عينيك. لمزيد من المعلومات زيارة https://pashyaroberto.wordpress.com/. للحصول على معلومات حول علاج الرؤية. www.covd.org

فيديو / عرض تقديمي مع د. روبرتو كابلان: علاج الرؤية أنقذ حياتي!

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

من المحررين

ترك راندي قمع غضبي
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4-26) لم أتمكن من كتابة شيء أرغب في نشره في الشهر الماضي ، ترى أنني غاضب. انا فقط اريد انتقاد.
إعلان خدمة بلوتو
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
(تم التحديث في 4/15/2020) الآن بما أن كل شخص لديه الوقت الكافي للإبداع ، لا يوجد ما يقوله عن الترفيه عن نفسك الداخلية.
الجانب الخفيف من التحليل النفسي لأرنب عيد الفصح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في InnerSelf ، نشجع الاستبطان ، وبالتالي كان من دواعي سرورنا أن نرى أنه حتى أرنب عيد الفصح قد طلب المساعدة في فهم عاداته وإكراهاته.
ماريان ويليامسون تعكس جائحة فيروس كورونا
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
تأملات ماريان ويليامسون حول جائحة فيروس كورونا الحالي في 31 مارس 2020.
كارول كينغ - التكيف مع 2020
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
نشرت كارول كينغ ، المغنية وكاتبة الأغاني المحبوبة ، مقطع فيديو قصيرًا على الإنترنت مؤخرًا ، تكيفًا لأغنيتها So Far Away.

Are You Your Personality? Did It Come From Your Parents?

Are You Your Personality? Did It Come From Your Parents?
Image by actipress

Since it is through our personality that we express who we are, we often see it as the source of our individuality. But consider for a moment the possibility of your personality acting as your mask, as the protection you don for the world. Like performers, each of us presents ourselves as having certain personal characteristics. We may be aggressive or meek, loud or soft-spoken, dominating, loving, inquisitive, or good-natured. Your personality is reflected by how you behave, how you "show up," and how you reveal yourself. But how did you develop the personality that marks you as you?

Imagine a new baby. Soon after birth, it is clear that the infant has already established his own unique behavioral patterns. As with most infants, his cries mean one of three things: Feed me! Change me! or Hold me! His personality dictates that he will perform in a certain way to get his parents' attention. Some babies are loud, others are quiet. Some babies will move their hands, arms, or legs a lot while others are very still. They all have similar basic needs -- food, dryness, and physical contact -- but each has his own special way of expressing those needs. Because a child's personality can be observed at such an early age, it seems likely that genetics plays a role in how it develops.

Personality: It Came from Mom and Dad

At conception you receive many qualities from your parents and others in your family tree. You receive this genetic programming whether you like it or not. It might appear in the form of a physical resemblance, such as body size, weight, or hair color. You may sound like one of your parents. Best or worst of all, you may even find yourself behaving like them. The physical structure of your eyes -- as well as your way of looking and seeing and your deepest perceptions -- can all be molded by this genetic imprint.

Have you ever considered why you ended up with the parents you did? Have you wondered why you encounter bits and pieces of them every time you look in the mirror or hear yourself speak? Perhaps you are often frustrated to find that you share some of their shortcomings. Like them, you anger easily. Or you hold back your feelings. Or you don't fully express yourself. In all of these observations, you may realize that your life history bears some resemblance to that of your parents. Perhaps even your poor vision is like theirs.

In your frustration, you may have spent time being critical or disparaging of things your parents taught you. We often judge our parents and their points of view, vowing never to repeat their negative patterns with our own children. And yet, in spite of our best efforts, we often do.

I Was Born With It

Imagine your parents for a moment. Really see their faces. Hear their voices. Feel their hugs. Remember the snuggles in bed. Smell the odors from their bodies. As you reach back in memory to experience these moments with them again, consider this: Is it possible that it was no accident that those two people you call Father and Mother were the ones who ended up being your parents?

In the larger scheme of things, is it possible that you may have had some say in choosing your parents? For the sake of conscious seeing, pretend that you even helped them decide when to conceive you, in order for your spirit to arrive on planet Earth at a certain time. Just suppose that your parents each reached a certain level of consciousness, at which point you were ready to meet them.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


I realize this may be difficult to imagine, or simply too incredible to take seriously. For the sake of cultivating conscious seeing, stretch beyond the way you normally perceive things. As you reach into your imagination beyond your everyday way of understanding things, you may begin to feel that perhaps the consensual reality we so easily accept takes only the surface view of our lives into account. Conscious seeing demands that we look a little deeper.

If, in fact, it is possible that you did have a say in your choice of parents, and you even chose when to arrive, many other interesting possibilities emerge. For one thing, it may be that the elements of your parents' personalities that you received were needed for you to have a particular life experience. This could mean that their good as well as their faults are integral to your individual human beingness. Why? Is it possible that as a child you needed to experience both the positive and negative aspects in order to evolve? Let's take this line of inquiry one step further. Your parents also evolved from their parents, each of whom had their own unique blueprint to contribute to the evolutionary beingness. Open your mind up to these possibilities, if only for a moment, as we explore how all of these elements could come together in our understanding of the development of conscious seeing.

For many years I have been amused at how many conventional eye doctors believe it is impossible for vision to improve. Some point to genetically deformed eyeballs as the primary cause of vision problems. Functional and behavioral optometrists blame environmental factors. They say, for example, that reading requires the eyes to focus too much; poor lighting puts too great a strain on the eyes. In conscious seeing we will discover how all of these variables -- from the spiritual, to the genetic, to the environmental contribute to the way you see, with environmental factors often triggering genetic predispositions.

The Flexible Personality

Personalities can be flexible or inflexible. In the family I grew up in, it seemed that strong personalities most often revealed themselves as inflexible. Strength of character was associated with anger, fear, and control. Only much later, when I began to see my parents in a more conscious way, did I realize that they were evolving just as I was. Evolution toward consciousness happens simultaneously in all generations, although at different rates. Your parents' generation may not evolve as quickly as yours, nor will your pace match that of your children. Each successive generation appears to travel faster in making adjustments in personality as a way to become more conscious.

In my case I found that I needed to modify a tendency to suppress my feelings. This was very difficult for me at first. What often happened was that I would sit on my feelings, denying them or simply being unconscious of them. When I finally did share what I was feeling, I often did so in a way that was laced with deep, covert anger. As I began to integrate intuition with intellect, being with doing, and seeing with looking, I found it easier to express my feelings without that undercurrent of anger, at least to family members.

Distorted View of Reality

My incomplete understanding during my childhood distorted my view of reality. My perceptions of hurt were recorded somewhere in the deeper layers of my brain. I had to bring them forth, make them a part of my conscious life. Only then was I able to begin making peace with those memories and progressing toward living a more conscious life. I had to face the shut-down intuitive and expressive, deeply frightened parts of myself. When I did, I experienced a dramatic shift in the way I saw my world.

Meanwhile, my daughter honed her ability to bring her deepest feelings into her awareness even more than I. As a small child she projected her anger directly onto me in a rather unskillful way. As she grew older, with the help of her mother and others, she dealt with her personality imbalances and faced her fears. Then she could communicate with me from her true nature. She was able to tell me how she felt and be fully conscious and present with me. She evolved to this stage at a much younger age than my father or I had. What she accomplished by age twenty-one, I was just realizing at fifty-two, and my father at eighty-two. In my daughter's generation there was a thirty-year acceleration in the evolution of consciousness.

Do You Believe You Are Your Personality?

For much of my life I received and accepted many mixed messages about my personality. First, I believed that I was my personality. I thought my identity was rooted in how smart I appeared, my physical appearance, whether I met society's expectations of how I should behave, and how effective I was in my career.

Examine for a moment what perceptions you have about the relationship between your personality and who you are. Spend some time looking deeply into your life and your self.

  1. Do you gauge your magnificence based on material success or outward appearance?
  2. On what do you gauge yourself and your life?
  3. Is it more important for you to acquire material things rather than explore pursuits that enhance your knowledge of yourself?
  4. When you clearly look back into your life do you discover experiences that were left incomplete?
  5. Are you attempting to prove your success to others?
  6. Do you try to control others because you feel uncomfortable with parts of yourself?
  7. At the end of the day do you feel like there is something missing even though you have all your physical needs met?
  8. Do you see yourself as being inadequate compared to others, such as your work colleagues or family members?
  9. Can you honestly say you love your body?
  10. When you look into the mirror do you spend moments reflecting upon how much you enjoy and love seeing your essence in your eyes?

If you answered yes to all but the final two questions, see how you can vary your daily patterns to reach the point where you no longer agree with the questions. In conscious seeing the aim is to be able to be with yourself nonjudgmentally, fully embracing the many parts of yourself and striving to be aware of what feeds your essence.

Materialistic Evaluation of Who We Are

The predominant materialistic, capitalistic lifestyle in our culture tends to cause us to evaluate ourselves primarily from its own perspectives and how we fit into that model. Look good. Drive the right car. Live in the best neighborhood. Make lots of money. I suggest that for many people these values may limit their level of consciousness. I find that many of my clients who have attained these materialistic goals are plagued with eye disorders. These eye conditions indicate an imbalance in their perceptions of themselves. Their personalities are doing battle with their authentic natures, each one vying for the dominant role in governing their lives. In a more ideal world, the authentic nature informs the personality to achieve greater harmony and balance between the cultural demands and the unique personality of the individual. If the effort to find harmony between the two is consciously pursued, it can lead to a deep integrative process that results in a more flexible and genuine personality. Conscious seeing can be a helpful start in this process.

Sonia's story helps to illustrate this point. Her vision was dominated by perceptions of being stuck in the personality of her career life. When she realized this it helped her create a new vision.

Sonia was successful in her career working in a large auction house in London, England. Her job was exciting and offered opportunities to travel, be challenged, and socialize with people from all walks of life. Her relationship to her vision was a simple morning and evening ritual of slipping her contact lenses in and out. Sonia never really considered that her eyes were a problem or that she needed to focus on them in any way.

She eventually fell in love with Godfrey and they were married with great pomp and style. Sonia felt so taken care of by Godfrey. He offered her security, a gorgeous home, and a future filled with excitement and possibility. She continued to work but cut back her hours to enjoy being at home. Sonia thought she had it all. Godfrey began traveling abroad and Sonia was left at home for long periods during his absences. She began observing that she felt empty. She realized she was neglecting her former friends and hobbies. She became dissatisfied with her daily life patterns. At this time her contact lenses began giving her difficulties. Sonia had to radically cut back the wearing time and had to resort to using her backup glasses. She introduced the conscious seeing concept of spending time in her "naked" vision and patching her eyes. This is a therapeutic concept in which part or all of one eye is prevented from seeing by covering a lens or wearing a covering over the eye.

While patching her dominant "doing" right eye, (the eye generally associated with the influence of the father), feelings of abandonment surfaced. Sonia started making a distinction between her perceptions governed by her personality and those of her true needs. She went deeply into her feeling and emotional nature. She began to see that being stuck in her stunning home alone while her husband traveled promoted a feeling of loneliness. Her house seemed like a mausoleum in Godfrey's absence. Sonia permitted herself to deeply feel this emptiness. Her true heart nature was asking her to stop giving up her emotional power to her husband. Sonia's desire was to travel and pursue her interest in the spiritual life of other cultures.

Looking through lower-strength spectacle lenses, and wearing her contact lenses less, helped Sonia to focus on her buried feelings and reclaim her true natural way of seeing herself and life. She now travels with her husband half the time and visits other countries on her own. Sonia is connecting to her own friends again, which she finds promotes her inner balance and joyous feeling for living.

Reprinted with permission of the publisher, Beyond Words.
©
2002. http://www.beyondword.com

Article Source

Conscious Seeing: Transforming Your Life through Your Eyes
by Roberto Kaplan.

Conscious Seeing by Roberto Kaplan.If the eyes are indeed the “windows to the soul,” then there might be a deeper significance to the emergence of an eye problem like nearsightedness than one might think. In Conscious Seeing, Dr. Roberto Kaplan explains that how we see is the largest determining factor in what we see. When we look at our eyes beyond the diagnosis of a problem, we can come to understand that visual symptoms are valuable messages through which we can be more aware of our true nature. An insightful, practical, and holistic approach to eye care, Conscious Seeing gives you the tools to reprogram your consciousness and gain skills for modifying your perception.

Info/Order this book. also available as a Kindle edition.

About the Author

Health

Roberto Kaplan, O.D., M.Ed., is a photographic artist, an internationally known scientist and author, a medical intuitive, and an optometrist who is at the leading edge of twenty-first century health care. Dr. Kaplan holds a doctorate in optometry, a master's in education, and is a Fellow of the College of Optometrists in Vision Development and College of Syntonic Optometry. He is the author of Seeing Without Glasses and The Power Behind Your Eyes. For more info visit https://pashyaroberto.wordpress.com/.  For info on Vision Therapy. www.covd.org

Video/Presentation with Dr. Roberto Kaplan: Vision Therapy Saved My Life!

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)