الغذاء صديق أم عدو؟ منظور الايورفيدا

الغذاء صديق أم عدو؟ منظور الايورفيدا
الصورة عن طريق أكوا سبيريت


رواه ماري ت. راسل

نسخة الفيديو في نهاية هذه المقالة

عندما نشأت في جامشيدبور بالهند ، عشنا حياة مبنية على الأيورفيدا ، وهو نظام قديم لفهم الأمراض والصحة يعتبر الطعام الذي يُزرع ويُطبخ ويؤكل باحترام كغذاء ودواء.

علمنا آباؤنا التحدث إلى النباتات التي نمت بكثرة على مدار العام في حدائق المطبخ الأمامية والخلفية وكذلك على أسطح المنازل وطلب العفو من النباتات قبل قطعها أو نتفها أو تقليمها أو اقتلاعها بالضرورة. لقد تم تدريبنا على أن نشكر النباتات على تزويدنا بالفواكه والخضروات والزهور وأن نأخذ فقط ما نحتاجه في أي وقت ؛ وهكذا كان الحصاد عملية يومية.

كانت والدتي أيضًا راوية قصص رائعة ، وكانت معظم قصصها أثناء تناول الطعام تدور حول مفاهيم مثل الشكر ، والتعبير عن الامتنان تجاه الطبيعة والآلهة التي تبقينا نعمة في صحة جيدة وجسدية وعقلية وعاطفية ، ونتناول الطعام ونستمتع به. من صفاته الحياتية. كما رأينا والدينا يصومون في جميع المناسبات الدينية ولعدة أيام كل شهر ويتبرعون بنصيبهم من الطعام للمحتاجين.

المعالم في العلوم مقابل المواقف الفردية

منذ طفولتي في الستينيات ، وصل العلم إلى مراحل كبيرة من خلال اكتشاف المزيد والمزيد من المعلومات حول الطعام ، بما في ذلك الزراعة والحصاد والتخزين والنقل والطبيعة البيوكيميائية. يمكن للعلماء التنبؤ بعدد السعرات الحرارية وعدد الجرامات من أي عنصر غذائي معين قد يؤدي إلى طول العمر أو قدر معين من كتلة العضلات أو كثافة العظام وربما حتى التنبؤ بالنظام الغذائي المثالي الذي من شأنه أن يؤدي إلى هذا الهدف بعيد المنال: الخلود.

لكن يبدو أن هذه الثروة من المعلومات حول كل جانب مادي من الطعام قد جردت الموقف التبجيل والتعبدي والصلي والشكر تجاه الطعام وتجاهل الطريقة التي يتم بها تحضيره وتناوله. يبدو أن الطعام يُنظر إليه على أنه سلعة يجب تناولها يوميًا ، وغالبًا ما يُعتقد أنه نقمة أكثر منه نعمة.

إن رؤية والدي يظلان شابين ونشطين في الثمانينيات والتسعينيات من العمر وأذكر سنوات طفولتي في المنزل ، من الواضح لي أن تأثير الطعام على الجسد والعقل والروح مرتبط بموقف الفرد تجاه النمو والحصاد والطبخ والمشاركة وأكل هذا الطعام.


 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

الاسم الاول:البريد الإلكتروني:
 


"أكل لتعيش" وليس "عش لتتناول"

نحن ونصبح ما نأكله. هذا مفهوم أيورفيدا مشهور تعلمته في المنزل من والديّ.

إذا تم تناول الطعام كدواء ، بحكمة ، وحكمة ، وذهن ، واتباع موقف "أكل لتعيش" ، يمكن أن يخلق ويحافظ على الجسم السليم. ومع ذلك ، إذا تم تناول الطعام بالجشع والشهوة واتباع أسلوب "العيش للأكل" من دون وعي ومعرفة وصقل ، فإنه يدمر الجسم بدلاً من رعايته والحفاظ عليه.

نظرًا لأن الطعام يمكن أن يؤثر على كياننا بالكامل ، فنحن حقًا ، في الواقع ، ما نأكله ، وإذا كانت لدينا الرغبة في أن نصبح أكثر صحة ونشاطًا ، فيمكننا القيام بذلك عن طريق تغيير تفاعلنا مع الطعام وأن نصبح أكثر وعياً بما نأكله. ابتلاع.

كان تدخل الأيورفيدا من الخلف إلى الأساسيات بسيطًا جدًا ويتألف من الخطوات الثلاث التالية:

  1. حجب أو القضاء على مشكلة الطعام
  2. الصيام على الماء فقط لغسل وتطهير الجهاز الهضمي
  3. تبسيط تناول الطعام في طعام واحد بسيط للغاية وخفيف وسهل الهضم

من خلفية طفولتي في الأيورفيدا ، أعلم أن الوقاية من العديد من الأمراض وإدارتها بالإضافة إلى علاج بعض الأمراض يمكن تحقيقها عن طريق تغيير تفاعل الشخص مع الطعام وتغيير ماذا ولماذا وأين ومتى وكيف يأكل - وأحيانًا مع من يأكلون.

تشير أحدث الأبحاث في مجال الغذاء والتغذية والرؤى المكتسبة منه إلى أنه يمكن الوقاية من الأمراض وحتى الشفاء منها عن طريق تعديل نمط الأكل لدينا وجودة طعامنا. "الغذاء دواء" مثل معروف.

طريقة الايورفيدا: نهج شامل

الأيورفيدا شاملة بمعنى أنها تكرم وتقر بحقيقة أن صحتنا وحالات مرضنا مرتبطة ارتباطًا جوهريًا بأفكارنا وعواطفنا وبيئتنا وظروفنا المعيشية ومستوى التمرينات وتناول الطعام.

في الوقت الذي تم فيه تطوير الأيورفيدا كنظام طبي منذ آلاف السنين ، كان البشر لا يزالون يصطادون ويجمعون أو يقومون بزراعة الكفاف على نطاق صغير لتلبية احتياجاتهم الغذائية الأساسية. لأنهم اعتمدوا كليًا على الطبيعة في الغذاء والمأوى والدواء ، عرف الناس أنه يجب تكريم الطبيعة وإيقاعاتها ومواسمها.

لكن الزمن تغير ، وتغير ارتباط الناس بالطبيعة أيضًا. نحن نعيش الآن في عالم صناعي حيث يتم تقييم التجارة القائمة على الربح والكمية أكثر بكثير من الجودة والنظرة الخيرية للعالم. لقد تخلينا عن أسلوب الحياة السلمي الذي يحترم الأرض لأسلافنا والذي تسبب في أقل قدر من الضرر بالبيئة ، ونحن الآن ندفع الثمن عن طريق التدهور العام في صحتنا ورفاهيتنا بشكل عام.

وغني عن القول ، أن خلفيتي العائلية الشخصية مع الأيورفيدا ساعدتني على رؤية الطعام - زراعته وتحضيره واستهلاكه - من منظور مختلف تمامًا عما أسمعه من العملاء الذين قابلتهم في ممارسة المعالجة المثلية الخاصة بي وما أراه في الأساليب الصناعية والتجارية الحديثة في زراعة ومعالجة وطبخ وتناول الطعام.

ما علاقتك بالطعام؟

منذ عام 2008 ، انخرطت في ممارسة عائلية للطب المثلي. أرى العديد من العملاء يعانون من مجموعة متنوعة من الأمراض. بعد كل شيء ، فإن عيادة الأسرة هي باب مفتوح لأي وجميع الشكاوى التي يعاني منها الناس.

كجزء من استفساري حول صحة عملائي ، أسألهم بشكل روتيني عن تناولهم للطعام. إن معرفة ما يأكله الناس ، وكيف ينظرون إلى علاقتهم بالطعام ، وكيف يشعرون بالرغبة الشديدة في تناول الطعام والنفور منه هو جزء من استفسار عام عن مجمل الفرد.

تتضمن بعض مشكلات الطعام التي يلفت الناس انتباهي إليها عدم الشعور بالجوع أو العطش أو الجوع أو العطش طوال الوقت أو المعاناة من أجل إنقاص الوزن أو فقدان الكثير من الوزن بسرعة كبيرة جدًا. يأكلون الكثير من السكر أو يلعقون الملح من الملعقة. إنهم يتوقون إلى الشوكولاتة أو الآيس كريم أو الخبز ويمكنهم بسهولة تناول قطعة كاملة من الشوكولاتة أو نصف لتر من الآيس كريم أو رغيف خبز في جلسة واحدة. إنهم يشربون عشر زجاجات أو أكثر من المشروبات الغازية يوميًا ، أو يرفضون تناول أي خضروات غير بيضاء أو كريمية (أي يأكلون البطاطا المهروسة فقط).

من خلال الاستفسار عن العادات الغذائية للعميل ، يصبح في كثير من الأحيان واضحًا مثل ضوء النهار أن جزءًا على الأقل من مخاوفه الصحية مرتبط بتناول الطعام الخاطئ.

هل الغذاء هو السبب الرئيسي للوفاة؟

اكتشف باحثون من جامعة واشنطن في دراستهم حول العبء العالمي للأمراض التي شملت 195 دولة واستمرت من عام 1990 حتى عام 2017 ، أن النظم الغذائية غير الصحية تسبب وفيات أكثر من التدخين وارتفاع ضغط الدم. ووجدوا أيضًا أنه على الرغم من أن استهلاك اللحوم الحمراء ، والملح الزائد ، والمشروبات السكرية ، والأطعمة السيئة الأخرى تلعب دورًا في حصيلة الوفيات ، فإن غالبية الوفيات ترجع إلى عدم تناول الأشخاص ما يكفي من الأطعمة المفيدة لهم - الفواكه والخضروات والمكسرات والبذور والحبوب الكاملة ، على سبيل المثال.

من خلال تتبع تناول خمسة عشر عنصرًا غذائيًا مختلفًا ، وجد الباحثون أن النظم الغذائية السيئة كانت مسؤولة عن 10.9 مليون حالة وفاة في جميع أنحاء العالم. وهذا يمثل خمس إجمالي الوفيات التي يمكن الوقاية منها. وبالمقارنة ، يرتبط استهلاك التبغ بحوالي 8 ملايين حالة وفاة ، بينما يتسبب ارتفاع ضغط الدم في 10.4 مليون حالة وفاة.

حث الباحث الرئيسي في هذه الدراسة ، أشكان أفشين ، السلطات الصحية على التركيز على تعزيز الأكل الصحي الذي يشمل الفواكه والخضروات والمكسرات والبذور والحبوب الكاملة وعدم التشديد على إسقاط السكريات والدهون والملح. وهو يبني حجته على المنطق القائل إنه عندما يبدأ الناس في تناول النوع المناسب من الطعام الجيد لهم ، فإنهم سيتخلون عن الطعام الضار لهم. "بشكل عام ، في الحياة الواقعية يقوم الناس بالتبديل" ، كما يقول. "عندما يزيدون من استهلاك شيء ما ، فإنهم يقللون من استهلاك أشياء أخرى."

توصيات الايورفيدا

يمكن أن تساعد الأيورفيدا أي شخص على شفاء المعاناة الحالية المتعلقة بتدمير علاقة البشرية بالطعام وطريقة نموه والتعامل معه وطهيه وأكله. الأيورفيدا لديها مجموعة أدوات ضخمة جدا تحت تصرفها. لديها نظام جراحي ودستور الأدوية الذي يعالج الحالات المرضية المتقدمة ، كما أن لديها تخصصًا قويًا للغاية يتعامل مع التدابير الوقائية.

للمساعدة في الوقاية من الأمراض المتعلقة بالغذاء ، توصي الأيورفيدا ببعض الأساليب البسيطة جدًا التي يمكن لأي شخص اتباعها براحة في منزله وبدون نفقات كبيرة أو أي تدريب أو تدخل مهني خاص.

الخطوات الثلاث البسيطة في تقنية الايورفيدا التي تم اختبارها عبر الزمن هي كما يلي:

  1. الصيام على الماء فقط أو الماء وشاي الأعشاب فقط للمساعدة في طرد المخلفات القديمة والبراز المتأثر والجراثيم الضارة وأيضًا لإعادة توازن البكتيريا في أمعائنا
  2. عزل الطعام عن طريق تناول نوع واحد فقط من الطعام في كل مرة لتسهيل عملية الهضم والسماح للجسم بامتصاص جميع العناصر الغذائية في طعام معين (المعروف أيضًا باسم النظام الغذائي الأحادي)
  3. خلط الأطعمة من المجموعات الغذائية المختلفة بطريقة معقولة

نشأت في منزل كان يعتمد على الأيورفيدا ، رأيت بشكل مباشر التطبيق العملي ، والمنفعة ، والبساطة ، والذكاء لهذه المبادئ الأساسية الثلاثة للأيورفيدا وكيف تساعدنا في استعادة الحيوية.

من السمات البارزة لهذه الأساليب أنه بينما تكون مشغولاً وبالكامل ، بجد ، ومنخرط بوعي في الشفاء وإعادة تشغيل نفسك من الداخل إلى الخارج ، فأنت لا تعاني من آلام الجوع أو الإرهاق أو الحرمان أو الرغبة الشديدة التي ترتبط عادةً بأي تغيير في الطريقة التي نأكل بها أو خطط "النظام الغذائي" المعتادة. بدلاً من ذلك ، لديك خفة في جسدك وشعور مُرضٍ بأنك أخيرًا تفعل شيئًا إيجابيًا ومستدامًا ومنطقيًا لمساعدة نفسك.

يمكن أن يكون الطعام صديقك

هل يكفي تناول الطعام المناسب في الوقت المناسب وبالكمية المناسبة للحفاظ على صحتك؟ تجربتي الشخصية هي أنه يجب توجيه الطاقة في اتجاه إيجابي ، كما أن ممارسة الرياضة البدنية وروتين حركة الجسم المنتظمة ضرورية للحصول على أكبر فائدة من نظام إعادة الضبط الغذائي للأيورفيدا.

ستؤدي إضافة نظام تمارين إلى حياتك اليومية إلى زيادة الأوكسجين ومرونة العضلات والمفاصل ، وتقوية الهياكل العضلية الهيكلية ، وتعزيز الدورة الدموية وأنظمة التخلص من النفايات ، والتأثير بشكل إيجابي على الحالة المزاجية والعواطف ، وتوفير شعور عام الرفاه.

آمل بشدة ، في المضي قدمًا ، أن تبدأ في رؤية الطعام كصديق يساعد ويدعم جهودك للتحسن والبقاء أفضل ، وليس عدوًا يهددك ويمتص طاقتك الحيوية.

حقوق النشر 2021 بواسطة Vatsala Sperling. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من الناشر،
مطبعة هييلنج آرتس ، بصمة للتقاليد الداخلية الدولية.
www.innertraditions.com 

المادة المصدر

نظام إعادة ضبط نظام الأيورفيدا: صحة مشعة من خلال الصيام ، والنظام الغذائي الأحادي ، والجمع بين الغذاء الذكي
بواسطة Vatsala Sperling

نظام إعادة ضبط النظام الغذائي للأيورفيدا: صحة مشعة من خلال الصيام والنظام الغذائي الأحادي والطعام الذكي الذي يجمعه فاتسالا سبيرلينجفي هذا الدليل السهل المتابعة لإعادة ضبط النظام الغذائي للأيورفيدا ، توضح Vatsala Sperling ، دكتوراه ، كيفية الراحة وتنظيف الجهاز الهضمي بلطف ، وفقدان الوزن الزائد ، وإعادة تشغيل جسمك وعقلك باستخدام تقنيات الأيورفيدا للصيام ، أحادية اللون - النظم الغذائية والجمع بين الغذاء. تبدأ بمشاركة مقدمة مبسطة لعلم الشفاء للأيورفيدا من الهند وتشرح العلاقة الروحية والواعية بالطعام في قلبها. تقدم إرشادات خطوة بخطوة لنظام غذائي كامل من 6 أو 8 أسابيع لإعادة ضبط نظام الأيورفيدا ، بالإضافة إلى برنامج مبسط مدته أسبوع واحد ، توضح بالتفصيل ، يومًا بعد يوم ، ما يجب أن تأكله وتشربه وتوفر وصفات ونصائح لإعداد الوجبات و التقنيات.

لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب ، انقر هنا

المزيد من الكتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف.

عن المؤلف

فاتسالا سبيرلينجVatsala Sperling ، دكتوراه ، PDHom ، CCH ، RSHom ، هي طبيبة تجانسي كلاسيكية نشأت في الهند وحصلت على درجة الدكتوراه في علم الأحياء الدقيقة السريرية. قبل الانتقال إلى الولايات المتحدة في التسعينيات ، كانت رئيسة قسم الأحياء الدقيقة السريرية في مستشفى تشايلدز تراست في تشيناي ، الهند ، حيث نشرت على نطاق واسع وأجرت أبحاثًا مع منظمة الصحة العالمية. وهي عضو مؤسس في Hacienda Rio Cote ، وهو مشروع إعادة تشجير في كوستاريكا ، وتدير عيادة المعالجة المثلية الخاصة بها في كل من فيرمونت وكوستاريكا. 

نسخة الفيديو من هذه المقالة:

عودة للأعلى
  

المزيد من المقالات من قبل هذا المؤلف

ربما يعجبك أيضا

اللغات المتوفرة

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

الاسم الاول:البريد الإلكتروني:
 

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

إلهام ماري تي راسل اليومي

أصوات INNERSELF

10 أسباب لماذا يعاني الرجال
10 أسباب لماذا يعاني الرجال
by باري Vissell
انتهيت مؤخرًا من قيادة معتكف للرجال عبر الإنترنت. أصبح كل واحد منا ضعيفًا للغاية و ، ...
علاج شقرا الشفاء: الرقص نحو البطل الداخلي
علاج شقرا الشفاء: الرقص نحو البطل الداخلي
by غلين بارك
مشاهدة رقص الفلامنكو متعة. راقص الفلامنكو الجيد ينضح بثقة كبيرة بالنفس ...
هل ندخل عصر الروح القدس؟
هل ندخل عصر الروح القدس؟
by ريتشارد سمولي
ربما لن يكون كهنة عصر الآب ، الذين تركز عملهم على الذبيحة ، ...
صدق في عبقريتك: امنح نفسك سمعة ترقى إلى مستوى!
صدق في عبقريتك: امنح نفسك سمعة ترقى إلى مستوى!
by آلان كوهين
ربما في وقت مبكر من حياتك تبنت فكرة عن نفسك حددت فيها أنك صغير ، قبيح ، ...
لمس الروح لفترة وجيزة في الشكل: حكمة من دام نفسه
لمس الروح لفترة وجيزة في الشكل: حكمة من دام نفسه
by نانسي الرياح
عندما خاضت في الماء البارد ، لاحظت جسم بركة زرقاء تطفو على ...
كيف تخطط وتجري جنازة منزلية
كيف تخطط وتجري جنازة منزلية
by إليزابيث فورنييه
كتب لي ويبستر ، الرئيس الفخري للتحالف الوطني للجنازة المنزلية ، "الجنازات المنزلية ...
أسبوع الأبراج: 29 مارس - 4 أبريل 2021
أسبوع الأبراج الحالي: 29 مارس - 4 أبريل 2021
by حزب الأصالة والمعاصرة Younghans
تستند هذه المجلة الفلكية الأسبوعية إلى تأثيرات الكواكب ، وتقدم وجهات نظر و ...
ترك رحلة الشفاء مع التأمل على مستوى الخلية
ترك رحلة الشفاء مع التأمل على مستوى الخلية
by باري غروندلاند ، دكتوراه في الطب ، وباتريشيا كاي ، ماساتشوستس
التأمل على مستوى الخلية هو وسيلة لإيجاد طريقنا إلى "المنزل". نأخذ أنفاسنا إلى خلايانا ، ...

الأكثر قراءة

القاعدة الأولى لنجاح التأمل: لا تحكم بما يفعله الآخرون
القاعدة الأولى لنجاح التأمل: لا تحكم بما يفعله الآخرون
by ج. دونالد والترز
كم من الوقت يجب أن تتأمل؟ القاعدة الأولى هي ، لا تحكم بما يفعله الآخرون. ما الذي يعمل بشكل جيد ...
تاريخ غريب جدا من عيد الفصح الأرنب
التاريخ الغريب جدا لأرنب عيد الفصح
by كاتي إدواردز ، جامعة شيفيلد
أثناء قيامك بقضم رؤوس أرانب الشوكولاتة في نهاية هذا الأسبوع ، قد تتساءل عن كيفية رسم الرسوم المتحركة ...
سبع طرق لتحقيق التوازن هذا الربيع
سبع طرق لتحقيق التوازن هذا الربيع
by نانسي إي
الربيع هو وقت النمو والبدايات الجديدة! أزهار النرجس البري والزنبق تصل إلى ذروتها ...
تقنيات أحلام اليقظة التي يمكن أن تساعد في بناء مستقبلك
تقنيات أحلام اليقظة التي يمكن أن تساعد في بناء مستقبلك
by سيرج كاهيلي كينج
من السهل المبالغة في تبسيط أحلام اليقظة بالقول إن كل ما عليك فعله هو تخيل شيء ما ، ولكن ...
الإجهاد المشي: خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح
المشي الحماسي: خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح
by كارولين سكوت Kortge
في كثير من الأحيان نتعامل مع التمرين على أنه مجرد مهمة أخرى - ربما حتى عبء. نحن نفعل ذلك لأننا ...
انطلق إلى الأمام ، وخذ هذه المخاطرة ، وحاول الوصول إلى إمكانياتك اللانهائية
انطلق إلى الأمام ، وخذ هذه المخاطرة ، وحاول الوصول إلى إمكانياتك اللانهائية
by دونا كيميلمان ، MS
هذا هو الوقت من العام ، الربيع ، الذي يمثل الولادة والتجدد. حان وقت ...
الرقم صفر (0) في حياتك ببعض المساعدة من شفاء الأحجار
الرقم صفر (0) في حياتك ببعض المساعدة من شفاء الأحجار
by إيدثا ويست وسابين شيفرلي
قال عالم الرياضيات الأمريكي روبرت كابلان ذات مرة: "إذا نظرت إلى الصفر ، فلن ترى شيئًا. لكن انظر…
لماذا يحاول الناس القيادة عبر مياه الفيضانات أو يغادرون بعد فوات الأوان ليهربوا؟
لماذا يحاول الناس القيادة عبر مياه الفيضانات أو يغادرون بعد فوات الأوان للهروب
by جاري ستيفنز وآخرون
على الرغم من التحذير من خطورة ظروف الطريق ، قام بعض الأشخاص بقيادة سياراتهم من خلال ...

مواقف جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
حقوق التأليف والنشر © 1985 - 2021 إينيرسيلف المنشورات. كل الحقوق محفوظة.

Food as Friend or Foe? An Ayurvedic Perspective

Food as Friend or Foe? An Ayurvedic Perspective
Image by AquaSpiritLens


Narrated by Marie T. Russell

Video version at the end of this article

When I was growing up in Jamshedpur, India, we lived a life based on Ayurveda, an ancient system for understanding disease and health that considers food that is grown, cooked, and eaten with reverence as both nutrition and medicine.

Our parents taught us to talk to the plants that grew year-round in abundance in our front and back kitchen gardens as well as on our rooftop and ask for the plants’ forgiveness before cutting, plucking, pruning, or necessarily uprooting them. We were trained to thank the plants for providing us with fruits, vegetables, and flowers and to take only as much as we needed at any given time; thus harvesting was a daily process.

My mother was also a great storyteller, and most of her mealtime stories revolved around concepts like thankfulness, expressing gratitude toward nature and the gods whose grace keeps us in good, physical, mental, and emotional health, and partaking of and enjoying food and benefitting from its life-nurturing qualities. We also saw our parents fast on all religious occasions and for several days every month and donate their share of food to needy people.

Milestones in Science vs. Individual Attitudes

Since my childhood in the 1960s, science has reached great milestones by discovering more and more information about food, including its farming, harvesting, storage, transportation, and biochemical nature. Scientists can predict how many calories and how many grams of any particular nutrient consumed might result in greater longevity or a certain amount of muscle mass or bone density and perhaps even predict the perfect diet that would result in that elusive goal: immortality.

But this wealth of information on every material aspect of food seems to have stripped off the reverential, devotional, prayerful, and thankful attitude toward food and ignores the manner in which it is prepared and eaten. It seems that food is seen as a commodity to be consumed daily, and it is often thought to be more of a curse than a blessing.

Seeing my parents remain youthful and vigorous into their eighties and nineties and recalling my childhood years at home, it is apparent to me that food’s effect on one’s body, mind, and soul is connected to one’s individual attitude toward growing, harvesting, cooking, sharing, and eating that food.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


"Eat to Live" and Not "Live to Eat"

We are and we become what we eat. This is a well-known Ayurvedic concept that I learned at home from my parents.

If food is taken as a medicine, wisely, judiciously, mindfully, and with an attitude of “eat to live,” it can create and maintain a healthy body. However, if food is taken with greed, lust, and a self-indulgent “live to eat” attitude without awareness, knowledge, and refinement, then it destroys the body instead of nurturing and maintaining it.

Since food can impact our entire being, we truly are, in fact, what we eat, and if we have the desire to become healthier and more energetic, we can do so by changing our interaction with food and by becoming more mindful of what we ingest.

Mother’s back-to-basics Ayurvedic intervention was very simple and consisted of the following three steps:

  1. Withholding or eliminating the problematic food
  2. Fasting on water only to flush and cleanse the digestive system
  3. Simplifying food intake to one extremely simple, light, and easy-to-digest food

From my childhood background in Ayurveda, I know that the prevention and management of many maladies as well as a cure for some diseases can be accomplished by altering a person’s interaction with food and changing what, why, where, when, and how they eat—and sometimes with whom they eat.

The latest research in food and nutrition and the insights gained from it suggests that diseases can be prevented and even cured by modification of our eating pattern and the quality of our food. “Food is medicine” is a well-known proverb.

The Ayurvedic Way: A Holistic Approach

Ayurveda is holistic in the sense that it honors and acknowledges the fact that our health as well as our disease states are intrinsically connected to our thoughts, emotions, environment, living conditions, exercise level, and food intake.

At the time Ayurveda was developed as a system of medicine thousands of years ago, human beings were still hunting and gathering or conducting small-scale subsistence farming for their basic food needs. Because they depended completely on nature for food, shelter, and medicine, people knew that nature and her rhythms and seasons must be honored.

But times have changed, and people’s connection to nature has changed too. We now live in an industrialized world where quantity and profit-driven commerce are valued much more than quality and a benevolent worldview. We have abandoned the peaceful, earth-honoring lifestyle of our ancestors that caused the least amount of harm to the environment and are now paying the price by way of a general decline in our overall health and well-being.

Needless to say, my personal familial background with Ayurveda has helped me see food—its cultivation, preparation, and consumption—from a completely different perspective than the one I hear about from the clients I meet in my Homeopathy practice and what I observe in the modern industrial, commercial methods of cultivating, handling, cooking, and eating food.

What Is Your Relationship to Food?

Since 2008, I have been engaged in a family practice of Homeopathy. I see many clients with a variety of illnesses. After all, a family practice is an open door for any and all complaints experienced by people.

As part of my inquiry into the wellness of my clients, I routinely ask them about their food intake. Finding out about what people eat, how they view their relationship to food, and how they experience food cravings and aversions is part of a general inquiry into the totality of the individual.

Some of the food issues people bring to my attention include not being hungry or thirsty, being hungry or thirsty all the time, struggling to lose weight, or losing too much weight too quickly. They eat too much sugar or lick salt off the spoon. They crave chocolate, ice cream, or bread and can easily eat a full bar of chocolate, a pint of ice cream, or a loaf of bread in one sitting. They are into drinking ten or more bottles of soft drinks a day, or they refuse to eat any vegetable that is not white and creamy (i.e., they only eat mashed potatoes).

By inquiring about the client’s food habits, it oftentimes becomes as apparent as daylight that at least a part of their wellness concern is connected with faulty food intake.

Is Food The Leading Cause of Death?

In their Global Burden of Disease study that spanned 195 countries and lasted from 1990 till 2017, researchers from the University of Washington discovered that unhealthy diets cause more deaths than smoking and high blood pressure. They also found that although the consumption of red meat, excess salt, sugary beverages, and other bad foods play a role in the death toll, the majority of deaths are due to people not eating enough of the foods that are good for them—fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, and whole grains, for example.

By tracking the intake of fifteen different dietary elements, the researchers found that poor diets accounted for 10.9 million deaths worldwide. This is a fifth of the total preventable fatalities. In comparison, tobacco consumption is linked to 8 million deaths and high blood pressure accounts for 10.4 million deaths.

The lead researcher of this study, Ashkan Afshin, has urged the health authorities to focus on promoting healthy eating comprising fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, and whole grains and not to stress dropping sugars, fats, and salt. He bases his argument on the logic that when people begin to eat the right kind of food that is good for them, they will drop eating the food that is bad for them. “Generally, in real life people do substitution,” he says. “When they increase the consumption of something, they decrease the consumption of other things.”

Ayurvedic Recommendations

Ayurveda can help anyone to heal the present-day sufferings related to the destruction of humanity’s relationship to food and the manner in which it is grown, handled, cooked, and eaten. Ayurveda has a very vast tool kit at its disposal. It has a system of surgery and a pharmacopoeia that address advanced disease states, and it also has a very strong specialty that deals with preventive measures.

To help with the prevention of maladies related to food, Ayurveda recommends a few very simple techniques that anyone can follow in the comfort of their own home and without great expense or any special professional training or intervention.

The three simple steps in the time-tested Ayurvedic technique are as follows:

  1. Fasting on water only or water and herb teas only to help flush out old remnants, impacted fecal matter, and germs that are harmful and also to rebalance the bacteria in our gut
  2. Isolating food by eating only one type of food at a time to simplify digestion and allow the body to fully absorb all the nutrients in a particular food (also known as a mono-diet)
  3. Mixing foods from various food groups in a sensible way

Growing up in a household that was based on Ayurveda, I saw firsthand the practicality, utility, simplicity, and intelligence of these three fundamental Ayurvedic principles and how they assist us in regaining vitality.

An outstanding feature of these techniques is that while you are busy and fully, diligently, and consciously engaged in healing and rebooting yourself from the inside out, you are not suffering the hunger pangs, exhaustion, deprivation, or cravings that are usually associated with any change in the way we eat or the usual “diet” plans. Instead, you have lightness in the body and a satisfying feeling that finally you are doing something positive, sustainable, and logical to help yourself.

Food Can Be Your Friend

Is simply eating the right food at the right time and in right quantity sufficient to keep you healthy? My personal experience is that the energy has to be channeled in a positive direction, and physical exercise and a routine of regular body movement are essential for obtaining the greatest benefit from the Ayurvedic reset diet.

Adding an exercise regimen to your day-to-day life will increase the oxygenation and flexibility of the muscles and joints, strengthen the musculoskeletal structures, enhance the blood circulation and waste elimination systems, positively impact moods and emotions, and provide an overall sense of well-being.

It is my earnest hope that, going forward, you will begin to see food as a friend that helps and supports your efforts to get better and stay better, and not a foe that threatens you and sucks out your vital energy.

Copyright 2021 by Vatsala Sperling. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Healilng Arts Press, an imprint of Inner Traditions Intl.
www.innertraditions.com 

Article Source

The Ayurvedic Reset Diet: Radiant Health through Fasting, Mono-Diet, and Smart Food Combining
by Vatsala Sperling

The Ayurvedic Reset Diet: Radiant Health through Fasting, Mono-Diet, and Smart Food Combining  by Vatsala SperlingIn this easy-to-follow guide to Ayurvedic dietary resets, Vatsala Sperling, Ph.D., details how to rest and gently cleanse your digestive system, lose extra pounds, and reboot your body and mind with the Ayurvedic techniques of fasting, mono-diets, and food combining. She begins by sharing a simplified introduction to the healing science of Ayurveda from India and explains the spiritual, mindful relationship to food at its heart. Offering step-by-step instructions for a full 6- or 8-week Ayurvedic reset diet, as well as a simplified 1-week program, she details, day by day, what to eat and drink and provides recipes and meal prepping tips and techniques.

For more info and/or to order this book, click here

More books by this Author.

About the Author

Vatsala SperlingVatsala Sperling, Ph.D., PDHom, CCH, RSHom, is a classical homeopath who grew up in India and earned her doctorate in clinical microbiology. Before moving to the United States in the 1990s, she was the Chief of Clinical Microbiology at the Childs Trust Hospital in Chennai, India, where she published extensively and conducted research with the World Health Organization. A founding member of Hacienda Rio Cote, a reforestation project in Costa Rica, she runs her own homeopathy practice in both Vermont and Costa Rica. 

Video version of this article:

back to top
  

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

First name:E-mail:
 

{emailcloak=off}

DAILY INSPIRATION

Daily Inspiration: March 7, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 7, 2021
Our culture has relegated aging to the closet. It is not something to be discussed, or even done,…
citizen of the world dress
Daily Inspiration: March 6, 2021
It is said that when someone asked Socrates what country he was from, his response was "of the…
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
Daily Inspiration: March 5, 2021
There's no need to run away, or run to others for answers. Close your eyes and talk to your Self...

INNERSELF VOICES

We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
We Create Our Own Reality By How We See and Interpret Things
by Pierre Pradervand
How I see my life path is a choice I make minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day… And this…
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
How to Walk for Health, Fitness, and Peace of Mind
by James Endredy
For most people, walking is an activity that requires no thought or intention -- it is rarely even…
Young girl sitting surrounded by lots of book of various colors
How to Recognize Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)
by Thom Hartmann
ADHD is not an all-or-nothing diagnosis. There appears to be a curve of behaviors and personality…
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
How To Recognize Your Core Negative Beliefs and Inner Critic
by Bridgit Dengel Gaspard
You may not think you have a core negative belief, but if you’re mysteriously stuck, one or two…
Scrabble letters that spell out: NO HATE
Vaccination or No Vaccination? That Is Not the Question Here...
by Joyce Vissell
This is not an article about the benefits of getting a vaccination. Nor is it an article about not…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
Photo of aurora and moon by Markus Varik on February 22, 2021, Tromsø Norway
Horoscope Current Week: March 1 - 7, 2021
by Pam Younghans
This weekly astrological journal is based on planetary influences, and offers perspectives and…

MOST READ

silhouette of a woman's head and it is disintegrating
Letting Go of All Perceived Pain, Ignorance, and Fear
by Alexis I. Jordan
Thank you, infinite goodness, for your bounteous gifts, including peace, love, freedom and joy,…
picture of colorful fireworks in the sky
Cancer Meditation and Cancer Medication: A Powerful Combination
by Joyce Whiteley Hawkes
Each cell has its own biological clock that controls its individual rate of repair, replication,…
Emotions and Your Moon Sign
How To Deal with Your Emotions According To Your Moon Sign
by Donna Cunningham
The Moon, in the astrological chart, can help us understand how we deal with our emotions. It shows…
heart shape filled with various colors
Quiz: What’s Your Risk of Heart Disease? and What To Do About It
by Maryon Stewart
If you answered yes to more than three questions, I would highly recommend that you follow the…
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
Why Creating Art With Your Children Is Important
by Vicky Armstrong
Many of us may be looking to art activities to keep children busy while at home. If you are, I want…
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
First Aid Buttons: Regulate The Body's Energy Flow and Improve Your Health
by Barry Sultanoff, MD.
We came into this world with special "buttons" pre-installed. These "buttons" are specific spots on…
two balls balanced on top of each other under an arch
Attaining Balance Between Left and Right-Brain by Nourishing the Solar Plexus Chakra
by Glen Park
Aspiration and achievement, power and success, and fame and fortune are presented as highly…
women peering through an opening in a dark wall
Nourishing the Sunrise of Peace with Love and Music
by Christopher Grosso
Yes, love your brother. Yes, live in harmony with nature. But first and foremost, pave the way for…

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.