تمارين التنفس براناياما للشفاء ورفع الوعي

Pranayama Breathing Exercises for Healing and Raising Consciousnessالصورة عن طريق دين موريارتي

برانا هي القوة الحيوية التي تنتشر في الكون كله. على الرغم من ارتباط البرانا ارتباطًا وثيقًا بالهواء الذي نتنفسه ، إلا أن البرانا طاقة أكثر دقة - جوهر الطاقة في كل شيء في الكون.

البراناياما هي سلسلة من تقنيات التنفس التي تحفز البرانا وتزيدها ، وتحكم في نهاية المطاف السيطرة على تدفق البرانا في الجسم.

توجيه برانا

آمن العديد من الثقافات القديمة ، مثل الإنكا والمصريين والتبتيين ، وتمرنوا على تمارين التنفس لأغراض الشفاء وزيادة الوعي. يعتقد المتصوفون والمعلمين أن ممارسة البراناياما أدى إلى تجربة الذات الحقيقية والكون.

تحدث المسيح عن قدسية النفس في مخطوطات البحر الميت: `` نوقس النفس المقدسة التي تتجاوز كل الخليقة. فبالنظر إلى عالم الضوء الأبدي ، حيث تسود النجوم اللامتناهية ، هو عالم الهواء الذي نستنشقه ونتنفسه. وفي اللحظات بين الاستنشاق والزفير ، يتم إخفاء جميع أسرار الحديقة الأبدية.

استخدم بوذا التنفس الواعي لتحقيق التنوير ، ويشمل الهنود الأمريكيون الأصليون والصوفية ممارسات التنفس في طقوس بدءهم. قال المعلم الهندي مهاريشي ماهيش يوغي ، الذي طور تقنية التأمل التجاوزي: "من خلال التحكم في النفس نحقق السيطرة على العقل ، وعن طريق التحكم في العقل نعود إلى حالة عدن الأصلية".

قام اليوغيون القدماء بقياس عمر الشخص ليس بالسنوات ولكن بعدد الأنفاس التي أخذوها في الدقيقة. كانوا يعتقدون أن الشخص الذي يتنفس بصوت قصير وسريع من المرجح أن يكون له عمر أقصر من الشخص الذي يتنفس بعمق وببطء. هذه المعلومات التي تم جمعها من الحيوانات التي تعيش في الغابة. لاحظوا أن الحيوانات ذات معدل التنفس البطيء ، مثل السلاحف والفيلة والثعابين ، عاشت لفترة أطول ، لكن الحيوانات ذات معدلات التنفس السريعة ، مثل الأرانب والطيور والفئران عاشت لفترة قصيرة نسبيًا.

تدفق برانا

لا ينبغي النظر إلى البراناياما على أنه مجرد مجموعة من تمارين التنفس التي تزيد من تناول الجسم للأكسجين (على الرغم من أهميته) ، ولكن أيضًا كوسيلة للتأثير على تدفق البرانا [القوة أو الطاقة الحيوية] عبر قنوات الطاقة [nadis] ، لتنقيتهم وتحفيز الاستقرار البدني والعقلي.


 الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


برانا هي الوسيط الذي يربط الجسد بالروح. إنها قوة الربط بين الوعي والمادة ، وتنشط الجسم المادي من خلال النادي. في المقام الأول ، يضمن البراناياما أن تدفق البرانا في جميع أنحاء الغمد الأثيري مجاني وبدون عوائق بحيث يبقى الجسم المادي قويًا وصحيًا.

لحوالي ساعتين في اليوم ، يكون فتحة الأنف اليمنى أو اليسرى هي السائدة. يرتبط تدفق الهواء عبر فتحة الأنف اليسرى ارتباطًا وثيقًا بتدفق البرانا في بينجالا نادي، وتدفق الهواء من خلال فتحة الأنف اليمنى مرتبطة ايدا نادي. الوقت الوحيد عندما تكون كلتا الخياشيم مفتوحة قبل الفجر، عندما السوشومنا يفتح للسماح بتدفق طاقة الكونداليني. لهذا السبب ، يجب ممارسة التأمل قبل الفجر.

تمارين التنفس

معظمنا يتنفس بشكل غير صحيح ، فقط باستخدام الجزء العلوي من رئتينا. عندما يكون تنفسنا ضحلًا ، يمكن لجسمنا ودماغنا أن يُحرموا من الأكسجين وقوة الحياة. يتيح التنفس الضحل أيضًا تراكم الهواء الراكد في المناطق السفلية من الرئتين.

عندما تبدأ في ممارسة التنفس العميق ، من المهم الاستماع إلى جسمك. ارتد ملابس فضفاضة حتى لا يكون جسمك مقيدًا. الملابس القطنية أفضل من الألياف الاصطناعية ، التي يعتقد أنها تقيد حركة الهالة لدينا. يجب أن يكون عمودك الفقري في وضع رأسي ، مع رفع الكتفين للخلف وللأسفل. هذا يسمح بتوسيع الرئتين والحجاب الحاجز لينزل إلى التجويف البطني أثناء الاستنشاق.

إذا بدأت في أنفاسك ، توقف عن التنفس العميق وارجع إلى التنفس الطبيعي. إذا بدأت تشعر بالدوار ، توقف مرة أخرى عن تمرين التنفس وعاد إلى التنفس الطبيعي. الشعور بالدوار يمكن أن يعني أنك تعاني من فرط التنفس أو تدخل كمية أكبر من الأكسجين إلى الجسم أكثر مما اعتادت عليه.

في البداية ، مارس تمرينات التنفس لمدة أقصاها 5 دقائق يوميًا ، وتزداد تدريجيًا هذه المرة مع اعتياد الجسم على تناول كمية أكبر من الأكسجين. احرص دائمًا على التمرن في غرفة جيدة التهوية ، ويفضل أن يكون ذلك من خلال نافذة مفتوحة. ولا تأكل لمدة 4 ساعات على الأقل قبل ممارسة أساناس أو براناياما. حاول الاستمرار في التركيز على التنفس طوال فترة التمرين.

ممارسة البراناياما قبل العمل مع الأساناز التي تنشط مثلثات الضوء في الجسم أمر مفيد ، لأنه من خلال التنفس يعاد شحن النادي بالطاقة البرانكية. إذا كان التمرين يشير إلى احتباس النفس ، فلا تمسكه لفترة أطول مما هو مريح. لأولئك الجدد على البراناياما ، ابدأ بأول تمرينين قبل الانتقال إلى الأمثلة التالية الأكثر تقدمًا.

التنفس البطني

يرقد على السرة مستلقياً على الأرض. تأكد من أن ذقنك مطوي لمنع إجهاد الجزء العنقي من العمود الفقري. إذا وجدت هذا صعبًا ، ضع وسادة صغيرة تحت رأسك. عند ممارسة التمرين ، تأكد من أنك لا تحرك صدرك أو كتفيك. استنشق بعمق ، ولاحظ كيف ترتفع يدك مع تمدد بطنك. الآن قم بالزفير بعمق ولاحظ كيف تتحرك اليد لأسفل بينما ينقبض بطنك. استمر في التدرب لمدة 5 دقائق تقريبًا.

تنفس في الصدر

الاستلقاء على الأرض مع ذراعيك بجانبك والذقن مدسوسة ، واستنشاق وتوسيع صدرك مع إبقاء عضلات البطن متقلصة. لاحظ كيف يبدأ القفص الصدري بأكمله في التمدد والتحرك للأمام وللأعلى. الزفير ، لاحظ كيف ينهار القفص الصدري بينما تتحرك الأضلاع إلى الداخل وإلى الأسفل. حاول عدم تحريك البطن أثناء هذا التمرين.

يوجا التنفس الكامل

يجمع هذا التمرين بين التمرينين أعلاه. مع الممارسة ، يسمح لك بأخذ كمية الهواء المثلى إلى الرئتين وطردها. يمكن ممارسة التمرين على الجلوس على كرسي مدعوم بشكل مستقيم ، مع وضع كلتا القدمين على الأرض ووضع اليدين راحتين على الفخذين ، أو الجلوس على الأرض إما في وضع اللوتس الكامل أو النصف ، إذا كنت مألوفًا بالفعل مع هذه ، أو مع تمدد الساقين أمام الجسم - مرة أخرى مع راحة اليدين إلى أسفل الفخذين.

أولاً ، قم بالزفير بالكامل من خلال الأنف. ابدأ الآن في استنشاقك البطيء والسلس ، ثم قم بتوسيع البطن أولاً ثم الصدر حتى يتم أخذ أكبر قدر من الهواء إلى الرئتين. الآن قم بالزفير عن طريق إطلاق الهواء أولاً من الصدر ، ثم من البطن وأخيرًا عن طريق انقباض عضلات البطن للسماح بطرد أكبر قدر من الهواء من الرئتين.

يجب أن يستغرق الاستنشاق والزفير نفس المدة الزمنية ، لذلك عندما تمارس هذا التمرين لأول مرة قد تجد أنه من المفيد أن تحسب إلى سبعة لكل من الاستنشاق والزفير. إذا كان العدد سبعة أطول من اللازم بالنسبة لك ، فقم بتقليل العدد إلى أربعة أو خمسة. إذا كان العدد قصيرًا جدًا ، فقم بزيادة العدد إلى حساب يشعر بالراحة. مع الممارسة ، ستجد أنك قادر على زيادة العدد على كل من الاستنشاق والزفير.

تنفس أنفي بديل

تحافظ تقنية التنفس sukh purvak ، أو التنفس الأنفي البديل ، على توازن في التفاعل المستمر بين تيارات البرانيك الإيجابية والسلبية. في كل مكان في العالم الخارجي ، نواجه مظاهر المبدأ الإيجابي السلبي. نجدها في تكوين الذرة ، في الخلية ، في قطبية الأرض ، في الشمس والقمر ، وفي علاقة الرجل والمرأة. في تلك الأبعاد من الوجود التي أصبحنا ندركها تدريجيًا من خلال رؤيتنا الداخلية ، تحدث نفس العلاقة السلبية الإيجابية.

عند الجلوس على كرسي أو على الأرض ، تأكد من أن عمودك الفقري مستقيماً وأن جسمك مسترخي.

  1. ضع إبهامك الأيمن بخفة على فتحة الأنف اليمنى ، وفهرسك وأصابعك الوسطى على جبهتك ، بين وفوق حاجبيك ، وإصبعك الرابع والأصغر بخفة أمام فتحة الأنف اليسرى.
  2. قم بالزفير بعمق من خلال الخياشيم.
  3. اضغط على فتحة الأنف اليسرى مغلقة بأصابعك الرابعة والصغيرة واستنشق بهدوء بعمق من خلال فتحة الأنف اليمنى حتى العد ثمانية.
  4. أغلق كلتا الخياشيم واحتفظوا بأنفاسهم لعد أربعة ، مع تطبيق ثلاثة bandhas.
  5. قم بتحرير العصا ، وفتح فتحة الأنف اليسرى والزفير من خلاله حتى العد ثمانية.
  6. أغلق كلتا الخياشيم ، وطبق العصا واستمر في الزفير بعدد أربعة.
  7. ارفع العصا واستنشق من خلال فتحة الأنف اليسرى لعد ثمانية.
  8. أغلق كل من فتحتي الأنف ، وضعي العصا واحتفظي بالأنفاس لعدد أربعة.
  9. قم بتحرير العصا ، وفتح فتحة الأنف اليمنى والزفير من خلاله حتى العدد ثمانية.
  10. أغلق كلتا الخياشيم ، وطبق العصا واستمر في الزفير بعدد أربعة.
  11. حرر العصا واستنشق من خلال فتحة الأنف اليمنى حتى العد ثمانية.

هذا يكمل جولة واحدة. دون توقف مؤقت ، قم بإجراء عشر جولات أخرى - زيادة عدد الجولات بالتدريب. هدفك هو أن تتنفس في النهاية إلى ثمانية ، وتمسك لمدة ثمانية ، وتتنفس إلى ثمانية ، ثم تحبس النفس حتى العد لثمانية. عندما تعمل في التمرين لأول مرة ، يُنصح بحذف النفس. يمكن ممارسة الاحتفاظ بالتنفس ، مع تطبيق bandhas ، في وقت لاحق. عند الانتهاء من هذا التمرين ، ضع يديك على فخذيك وتنفس بشكل طبيعي لبضع دقائق.

التنفس الأنفي البديل هو مقدمة لا غنى عنها للتأمل. إنه يجلب الهدوء والهدوء ويزيل الناديين. يتم معادلة تدفق البرانا في ida و pingala nadis ، ويتم تغذية الجسم بالكامل من خلال الإمداد الإضافي بالأكسجين. هذا يؤدي إلى تحسين صحتك.

تصور ضوء برانك أبيض

عندما تصبح معتادًا على التنفس الأنفي البديل ، اجعله تصورًا لطاقة البرانك البيضاء. خلال كل استنشاق ، تصور التنفس بضوء أبيض شديد. تخيّل الضوء المنتشر في جميع أنحاء الناديين من أجل تطهيرهم وتفعيلهم. عندما تزفر ، تخيل أن تتنفس أي تنافر.

أنفاس طنين

اجلس إما على كرسي أو على الأرض ، وتأكد من أن عمودك الفقري مستقيماً وأن جسمك مسترخي. تنفس بعمق. ثم ، عند الزفير البطيء ، قم بالهمهمة بهدوء لجعل صوت تذمر النحل. استمر طالما كان ذلك مريحًا.

تمرين التنفس هذا مفيد قبل الاسترخاء ولأولئك الذين يعانون من الأرق. عند الانتهاء ، استلق على الأرض واسترخي.

التنفس البارد

اجلس إما على كرسي أو على الأرض ، وتأكد من أن عمودك الفقري مستقيماً وأن جسمك مسترخي. ضع يديك على فخذيك. شكل فمك على شكل حرف O. إن أمكن ، قم بطي جوانب لسانك لتشكيل أنبوب ضيق وقم بتمديده خارج الفم مباشرة. يستنشق ببطء وعمق من خلال اللسان المطوي. أرخي الفم وأخرج الزفير ببطء من أنفك. ابدأ بتسع جولات ، وبمرور الوقت ، قم بزيادة هذا التدريجي إلى ستين جولة. لأن اللسان هو صورة طبق الأصل للجسم كله ، فإن استنشاق الهواء من خلال اللسان المطوي يبرد الهواء الذي نستنشقه ، وبالتالي تبريد الجسم كله.

يبدأ تمرين التنفس هذا الاسترخاء والهدوء الذهني. كما يشجع على التدفق الحر للبرانا في جميع أنحاء الجسم.

Viloma براناياما

تنبيه: لا تقم بهذا التمرين إذا كنت تعاني من مشاكل في القلب.

ينطوي تمرين التنفس هذا على سلسلة من عمليات الاستنشاق أو الزفير المتوقفة مع التوقفات ، ومن هنا جاء اسمها: "viloma" تعني "ضد الحبوب" أو "ضد النظام الطبيعي". يمكن أداء التمرين إما في وضع الجلوس أو الاستلقاء. إذا كنت جالسًا ، فاحرص على إبقاء الظهر منتصبًا والرأس منخفضًا ، بحيث يستقر الذقن في الفتحة بين عظمي الياقة.

الإصدار 1 (استنشاق متقطع) مفيد بشكل خاص لأولئك الذين يعانون من انخفاض ضغط الدم. إذا كنت تعاني من ارتفاع ضغط الدم ، اتبع الإصدار 2 (زفير متقطع) ؛ من المستحسن أيضًا أداء التمرين مستلقيًا.

الإصدار 1 (لذوي ضغط الدم المنخفض)

  1. عندما تكون مستعدًا للبدء ، استنشق لمدة ثانيتين ثم توقف لمدة ثانيتين ؛ حبس النفس ، واستنشق مرة أخرى لمدة ثانيتين ، ثم توقف مرة أخرى لمدة ثانيتين ، مع احتجاز النفس. استمر بهذه الطريقة حتى تمتلئ الرئتان تمامًا.
  2. الآن احبس أنفاسك لمدة 5-10 ثواني.
  3. الآن قم بالزفير ببطء ، واصنع صوت طنين.
  4. هذا يكمل دورة واحدة. كرر ذلك لمدة عشر إلى خمس عشرة دورة.

الإصدار 2 (لارتفاع ضغط الدم)

  1. خذ نفسًا عميقًا من خلال أسنان مثقبة إلى صوت هسهسة مع رفع الذقن في شق الرقبة.
  2. عندما تمتلئ الرئتان ، احبس أنفاسك لمدة 10-15 ثانية.
  3. الآن زفر لمدة 2 ثانية ، ثم توقف لمدة ثانيتين ؛ زفر لمدة 2 ثانية لمدة 2 ثوانٍ. استمر بهذه الطريقة حتى تطرد أكبر قدر ممكن من الهواء من الرئتين.
  4. هذا يكمل دورة واحدة. كرر ذلك من XNUMX إلى XNUMX مرة أخرى ، ثم استلقِ واسترخي.

من المستحسن أن تتقن التنفس أثناء الطنين قبل العمل مع تمرين التنفس هذا.

*****

يجب أن يؤدي الأداء المنتظم لتمارين التنفس في هذا الفصل إلى تحسين صحة وحيوية جسمك. يمكن أن تكون تمارين التنفس ديناميكية أو سلبية. يمكنهم استعادة الطاقة والحيوية لكل ذرة وخلية ويمكنهم تعزيز الاسترخاء ،
الشفاء والسلام.

© 2019 بولين ويلز. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
مقتطف بإذن من كتاب: يوجا النور.
الناشر: Findhorn Press، divn. من التقاليد الداخلية الدولية.

المادة المصدر

يوجا النور: أيقظ طاقات شقرا من خلال مثلثات الضوء
بولين ويلز

Yoga of Light: Awaken Chakra Energies through the Triangles of Light by Pauline Willsبالاعتماد على تعاليم اليوغا الأصلية ، يوجا النور يكشف عن كيفية إيقاظ وتنشيط مثلثات الضوء شقرا مع ممارسة الوضعيات والتنفس والتصور والتأمل. من خلال استكشاف الشبكة العالمية للضوء ومكاننا فيها ، بالإضافة إلى المجال الكهرومغناطيسي للجسم ، أو الهالة ، تقدم خبيرة اليوغا بولين ويلز مقدمة موجزة للعشر الشاكرات الرئيسية وواحد وعشرين شقرا مفيدة في تشكيل مثلثات اليوغا الخفيفة. (متاح أيضًا كإصدار من Kindle.)

مزيد من المعلومات أو ترتيب هذا الكتاب.

عن المؤلف

Pauline Willsبولين ويلز ، أخصائية انعكاسية ومعلمة بخبرة تزيد عن عشر سنوات في إنجلترا وأيرلندا ، تجمع بين اليوجا والعلاج بالألوان في ممارستها للعلاج الانعكاسي. وهي مؤلفة العديد من الكتب عن الشفاء ، بما في ذلك كتاب المعالجة الانعكاسية والعلاج بالألوان.

المزيد من الكتب كتبها هذا الكاتب

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

خذ نفسك وقم بالعمل
خذ نفسك وقم بالعمل
by مالكولم ستيرن
hnob2t7o
لماذا يجب أن أتجاهل COVID-19 ولماذا لا أفعل
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com

من المحررين

لماذا يجب أن أتجاهل COVID-19 ولماذا لا أفعل
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
أنا وزوجتي ماري زوجان مختلطان. هي كندية وأنا أميركية. على مدار الخمسة عشر عامًا الماضية ، أمضينا فصول الشتاء في فلوريدا وصيفنا في نوفا سكوشا.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: نوفمبر 15 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
هذا الأسبوع ، نفكر في السؤال: "إلى أين نتجه من هنا؟" تمامًا كما هو الحال مع أي طقوس مرور ، سواء كان التخرج ، أو الزواج ، أو ولادة طفل ، أو انتخابات محورية ، أو فقدان (أو اكتشاف) ...
أمريكا: توصيل عربتنا بالعالم والنجوم
by ماري تي راسل وروبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
حسنًا ، أصبحت الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية وراءنا الآن وحان وقت التقييم. يجب أن نجد أرضية مشتركة بين الشباب والكبار ، الديموقراطيين والجمهوريين ، الليبراليين والمحافظين لنجعل ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 25 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إن "الشعار" أو العنوان الفرعي لموقع InnerSelf على الويب هو "اتجاهات جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة" ، وهذا هو بالضبط موضوع النشرة الإخبارية لهذا الأسبوع. الغرض من مقالاتنا ومؤلفينا هو ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 18 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نحن نعيش هذه الأيام في فقاعات صغيرة ... في منازلنا وفي العمل وفي الأماكن العامة ، وربما في أذهاننا ومع مشاعرنا. ومع ذلك ، نعيش في فقاعة ، أو نشعر وكأننا ...

Pranayama Breathing Exercises for Healing and Raising Consciousness

Pranayama Breathing Exercises for Healing and Raising ConsciousnessImage by Dean Moriarty

Prana is the vital force that pervades the whole cosmos. Though closely related to the air we breathe, prana is a more subtle energy – the energy essence within everything in the universe.

Pranayama is a series of breathing techniques that stimulate and increase prana, and ultimately bring about control over the flow of prana in the body.

Channelling Prana

Many ancient cultures, such as the Incas, Egyptians and Tibetans, believed in and taught breathing exercises for healing purposes and to raise consciousness. Mystics and gurus believed that practising pranayama led to the experiencing of the true self and the universe.

The Christ talked about the sacredness of the breath in the Dead Sea Scrolls: ‘We revere the holy breath which is beyond all creation. For behold, the eternal, highest realm of light, where the infinite stars reign, is the realm of air, which we inhale and exhale. And in the moments between inhalation and exhalation, all the mysteries of the eternal garden are hidden.’

The Buddha used conscious breathing to achieve enlightenment and the Native American Indians and the Sufis include breathing practices in their initiation rites. The Indian guru Maharishi Mahesh Yogi, who developed the Transcendental Meditation technique, said: ‘Through control of the breath we achieve control over the mind, and by controlling the mind we return to the original state of Eden.’

The ancient yogis measured a person’s lifespan not in years but by the number of breaths they took per minute. They believed that a person who breathes in short, quick gasps is likely to have a shorter lifespan than a person who breathes deeply and slowly. This information they gleaned from animals living in the forest. They noticed that animals with a slow breathing rate, such as tortoises, elephants and snakes, lived longest, but animals with fast breathing rates, such as rabbits, birds and mice lived for a relatively short time.

The Flow of Prana

Pranayama shouldn’t be seen merely as a set of breathing exercises that increase the body’s intake of oxygen (although important), but also as a way to affect the flow of prana [vital force or energy] through the nadis [energy channels], to purify them and induce physical and mental stability.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Prana is the medium that links the body with the soul. It’s the connecting force between consciousness and matter, and it activates the physical body through the nadis. Primarily, pranayama ensures that the flow of prana throughout the etheric sheath is free and unimpeded so that the physical body is kept strong and healthy.

For around 2 hours a day, either the right or left nostril is dominant. The flow of air through the left nostril is closely connected with the flow of prana in the pingala nadi, and the flow of air through the right nostril is linked with the ida nadi. The only time when both nostrils are open is just before dawn, when the sushumna opens to allow the flow of the kundalini energy. For this reason, meditation should be practised just before dawn.

Breathing Exercises

Most of us breathe incorrectly, using only the upper part of our lungs. When our breathing is shallow, our body and brain can be starved of oxygen and life force. Shallow breathing also allows stagnant air to build up in the lower regions of the lungs.

When you first start to practise deep breathing, it’s important to listen to your body. Wear loose clothing so your body isn’t restricted. Cotton clothing is preferable to synthetic fibres, which are believed to restrict the movement of our aura. Your spine should be in an upright position, with the shoulders taken back and down. This allows for expansion of the lungs and for the diaphragm to descend into the abdominal cavity during inhalation.

If you start to become breathless, stop your deep breathing and return to normal breathing. If you start to feel dizzy, again stop your breathing exercise and return to normal breathing. Feeling dizzy could mean that you’re hyperventilating or taking more oxygen into the body than it’s used to.

Initially, practise your breathing exercises for a maximum of 5 minutes daily, gradually increasing this time as the body gets used to the greater intake of oxygen. Always practise in a well-ventilated room, preferably by an open window. And don’t eat for at least 4 hours before practising asanas or pranayama. Try to stay focused on the breath throughout your practice time.

Practising pranayama before working with the asanas that activate the triangles of light in the body is beneficial, because through the breath the nadis are recharged with pranic energy. If an exercise indicates retention of the breath, don’t hold it for longer than is comfortable. For those who are new to pranayama, start with the first two exercises before moving on to the next, more advanced examples.

Abdominal breathing

Lying flat on the floor, place one hand on your navel. Make sure that your chin is tucked in to prevent strain on the cervical part of your spine. If you find this difficult, place a small cushion beneath your head. When practising the exercise, make sure that you don’t move your chest or shoulders. Inhale deeply, noticing how your hand rises with the expansion of your abdomen. Now deeply exhale and notice how the hand moves down as your abdomen contracts. Continue to practise for around 5 minutes.

Chest breathing

Lying on the floor with your arms by your side and your chin tucked in, inhale and expand your chest while keeping the abdominal muscles contracted. Notice how the whole of your rib cage starts to expand, moving outwards and upwards. Exhaling, notice how the rib cage collapses as the ribs move inwards and downwards. Try not to move the abdomen during this exercise.

Yoga complete breath

This exercise combines the two exercises above. With practice, it allows the optimum amount of air to be taken into the lungs and the maximum amount to be expelled. The exercise can be practised sitting on a straight-backed chair, with both feet on the floor and the hands placed palms-down on the thighs, or sitting on the floor in either the full or half lotus posture, if you’re already familiar with these, or with the legs stretched out in front of the body – again with the hands resting palms-down on the thighs.

First, exhale fully through the nose. Now start your slow, smooth inhalation, expanding first the abdomen and then the chest until the maximum amount of air has been taken into the lungs. Now exhale by releasing air first from the chest, then from the abdomen and finally by contracting the abdominal muscles to allow the maximum amount of air to be expelled from the lungs.

The inhalation and exhalation should take the same length of time, so when you first practise this exercise you might find it helpful to count to seven for both the inhalation and exhalation. If the count of seven is too long for you, reduce the count to four or five. If the count is too short, then increase the number to a count that feels comfortable. With practice, you’ll find that you’re able to increase the count on both the inhalation and exhalation.

Alternate-nostril breathing

The breathing technique sukh purvak, or alternate-nostril breathing, maintains a balance in the constant interplay of positive-negative pranic currents. Everywhere in the external world, we encounter manifestations of the positive-negative principle. We find it in the composition of the atom, in the cell, in the polarity of the Earth, in the sun and moon, and in the man and woman relationship. In those dimensions of existence that we gradually come to perceive through our inner vision, the same negative-positive relationship occurs.

Sitting either on a chair or on the floor, make sure that your spine is straight and your body relaxed.

  1. Place your right thumb lightly against your right nostril, your index and middle fingers on your forehead, between and just above your eyebrows, and your fourth and little finger lightly against your left nostril.
  2. Exhale deeply through both nostrils.
  3. Press the left nostril closed with your fourth and little fingers and quietly inhale deeply through the right nostril to a count of eight.
  4. Close both nostrils and retain the breath for a count of four, applying the three bandhas.
  5. Release the bandhas, open the left nostril and exhale through it to a count of eight.
  6. Close both nostrils, apply the bandhas and hold the exhalation to a count of four.
  7. Release the bandhas and inhale through the left nostril to a count of eight.
  8. Close both nostrils, apply the bandhas and retain the breath for a count of four.
  9. Release the bandhas, open the right nostril and exhale through it to a count of eight.
  10. Close both nostrils, apply the bandhas and hold the exhalation to a count of four.
  11. Release the bandhas and inhale through your right nostril to a count of eight.

This completes one round. Without pausing, perform ten more rounds – increasing the number of rounds with practice. Your aim is to eventually breathe in to eight, hold for eight, breathe out to eight and then hold the breath out to a count of eight. When you first work with the exercise, it’s advisable to omit retaining the breath. Retention of the breath, with the application of the bandhas, can be practised at a later date. On completion of this exercise, place your hands on your thighs and breathe normally for a few minutes.

Alternate-nostril breathing is an indispensable prelude to meditation. It brings about calmness and tranquillity and clears the nadis. The flow of prana in the ida and pingala nadis is equalized, and the whole body is nourished by the extra supply of oxygen. This leads to an improvement in your health.

Visualizing white pranic light

When you’ve become familiar with the alternate nostril breath, bring into it the visualization of white pranic energy. During each inhalation, visualize breathing in an intense white light. Imagine the light circulating throughout all the nadis in order to cleanse and vitalize them. When you exhale, visualize breathing out any disharmony.

Humming breath

Sit either on a chair or on the floor, and make sure that your spine is straight and your body relaxed. Breathe in deeply. Then, on a slow exhalation, hum softly to make the sound of murmuring bees. Continue for as long as is comfortable.

This breathing exercise is helpful prior to relaxation and for those who suffer from insomnia. When you’ve finished, lie down on the floor and relax.

Cooling breath

Sit either on a chair or on the floor, and make sure your spine is straight and your body relaxed. Place your hands on your thighs. Form your mouth into an O shape. If you can, fold the sides of your tongue to form a narrow tube and extend this just outside the mouth. Inhale slowly and deeply through the folded tongue. Relax the mouth and exhale slowly through your nose. Start with nine rounds and, over time, gradually increase this to sixty rounds. Because the tongue is a mirror image of the whole body, inhaling air through the folded tongue cools the air we’re inhaling, thereby cooling the whole body.

This breathing exercise initiates relaxation and tranquillity of mind. It also encourages a free flow of prana throughout the body.

Viloma pranayama

Caution: Don’t perform this exercise if you have heart problems.

This breathing exercise involves a series of interrupted inhalations or exhalations with pauses, hence its name: ‘viloma’ means ‘against the grain’, or ‘against the natural order’. The exercise can be performed either in a sitting or lying position. If you’re sitting, keep the back erect and the head lowered, so the chin rests in the notch between the two collar bones.

Version 1 (interrupted inhalation) is especially beneficial for those with low blood pressure. If you suffer from high blood pressure, follow version 2 (interrupted exhalation); it’s also recommended that you perform the exercise lying down.

Version 1 (for those with low blood pressure)

  1. When you’re ready to begin, inhale for 2 seconds then pause for 2 seconds; holding the breath, again inhale for 2 seconds and again pause for 2 seconds, holding the breath. Continue in this way until the lungs are completely full.
  2. Now hold the breath in for 5–10 seconds.
  3. Now exhale slowly, making a humming sound.
  4. This completes one cycle. Repeat for ten to fifteen cycles.

Version 2 (for those with high blood pressure)

  1. With the chin resting in the notch of the neck, take a deep breath through clenched teeth to a hissing sound.
  2. When the lungs are full, hold the breath for 10–15 seconds.
  3. Now exhale for 2 seconds, then pause for 2 seconds; exhale for 2 seconds three pause for 2 seconds. Continue in this way until you’ve expelled as much air as possible from the lungs.
  4. This completes one cycle. Repeat a further ten to fifteen times, then lie down and relax.

It’s recommended that you master the humming breath before working with this breathing exercise.

*****

Regular performance of the breathing exercises in this chapter should improve the health and vitality of your physical body. Breathing exercises can be dynamic, or they can be passive. They can restore energy and vitality to every atom and cell and they can promote relaxation,
healing and peace.

©2019 by Pauline Wills. All Rights Reserved.
Excerpted with permission from the book: Yoga of Light.
Publisher: Findhorn Press, a divn. of Inner Traditions Intl.

Article Source

Yoga of Light: Awaken Chakra Energies through the Triangles of Light
by Pauline Wills

Yoga of Light: Awaken Chakra Energies through the Triangles of Light by Pauline WillsDrawing on yoga’s original teachings, Yoga of Light reveals how to awaken and energize the chakra triangles of light with the practice of asanas, breathing, visualization, and meditation. Exploring the universal web of light and our place within it, as well as the body’s electromagnetic field, or aura, yoga expert Pauline Wills provides a concise introduction to the ten major and twenty-one minor chakras instrumental in forming the yoga triangles of light. (Also available as a Kindle edition.)

More info or order this book.

About the Author

Pauline WillsPauline Wills, a professional reflexologist and instructor with more than a decade of experience in England and Ireland, combines yoga and color therapy in her practice of reflexology. She is the author of several books on healing, including The Reflexology and Colour Therapy Workbook.

More books by this author

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die prematurely as a direct…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)
Letting Randy Funnel My Furiousness
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(Updated 4-26) I have not been able to right-write a thing I am willing to publish this last month, You see I am furious. I just want to lash out.
Pluto Service Announcement
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
(updated 4/15/2020) Now that everybody has the time to be creative, there's no telling what you will find to entertain your inner self.