ليس كل شخص يستخدم فرشاة الأسنان ومعجون الأسنان لتنظيف أسنانهم

ليس كل شخص يستخدم فرشاة الأسنان ومعجون الأسنان لتنظيف أسنانهم فرشاة أسنان مصنوعة من غصين من شجرة آراك. محمد حفيظ محمد / شترستوك

معظم الناس يستخدمون فرشاة الأسنان ومعجون الأسنان وخيط تنظيف الأسنان لتنظيف أسنانهم ، ولكن استخدامها ليس عالميًا على الإطلاق. تستخدم العديد من مجموعات السكان الأصليين ، وكذلك الأشخاص في البلدان النامية ، التقنيات التقليدية لتنظيف أسنانهم. بعض هذه التقنيات أكثر فعالية من غيرها.

كثير من الناس في الشرق الأوسط ، وبعض أجزاء من جنوب وجنوب شرق آسيا ، يستخدمون الأغصان من شجرة أراك (المعروفة باسم السواك) لتنظيف أسنانهم. إنهم يلقون نهاية الغصين ، ويرطبون الشعيرات الناتجة بالماء أو ماء الورد ثم يفركون الشعر الخشن على أسنانهم (انظر الفيديو أدناه). يحتوي خشب شجرة الأراك (Salvadora persica) على نسبة عالية من الفلورايد وغيرها من المكونات المضادة للميكروبات التي تمنع تسوس الأسنان.

كيفية استخدام miswak:

الأغصان من الأشجار الأخرى ، خاصة الأشجار العطرية التي تنعش الفم ، تستخدم في ثقافات مختلفة. تم استخدام هذه العصي المزعومة منذ آلاف السنين. كان أول استخدام مسجل في بابل القديمة (3500BC) ولكن تم استخدامها أيضًا في الصين مثل 1600BC.

يمكن أن يكون لاستخدام الأغصان تأثيرات تنظيف مماثلة لفرشاة الأسنان التقليدية ، كما هو موضح في دراسات عديدة. لكن العصي لا يمكن أن تصل إلى المناطق الواقعة بين الأسنان ، وإذا لم يتم استخدامها بشكل صحيح ، فإنها يمكن أن تلحق الضرر باللثة وتآكل الأسنان.

الأصابع

في بعض الثقافات ، يفرك الناس مواد مختلفة على أسنانهم بأصابعهم. على سبيل المثال ، في بعض البلدان الإسلامية ، يفرك الناس نباح شجرة الجوز على أسنانهم. لحاء هذه الشجرة له خصائص مضادة للميكروبات ويعتقد أيضا أن يكون لها تأثير تبييض. ومع ذلك ، لم تجر أي دراسات للتحقق من فعاليتها أو آثارها الجانبية.

بعض الناس في المناطق الريفية في الهند وأفريقيا وجنوب شرق آسيا وأمريكا الجنوبية مسحوق الطوب والطين والملح أو الرماد لتنظيف أسنانهم. على الرغم من أن هذه المكونات تزيل البقع والبلاك بشكل فعال ، إلا أنها لا تحتوي على الفلورايد وغالبًا ما تكون كاشطة ، مما ينتج عنه حساسية الأسنان وتراجع اللثة.

فحم، وهو أيضا مسحوق التنظيف التقليدي للأسنان ، يجعل العودة قليلا. بعض معاجين الأسنان الحديثة وفرشاة الأسنان تحتوي الآن على هذا المكون ، وتشير الأدلة إلى أنه يمكن أن يرتبط بالبكتيريا الضارة ويعطلها.

ولكن ليس كل المنتجات الطبيعية يمكن التوصية بها. التنبول والمربى areca - التي غالبا ما تستخدم في جنوب شرق آسيا لتنظيف الأسنان - وصمة عار الأسنان واللثة. والأسوأ من ذلك ، أنها ترتبط بزيادة خطر الإصابة بسرطان الفم.

الصحة الفحم هو العودة كمنتج لتنظيف الأسنان. A-photographyy / شترستوك

هناك طريقة أخرى لتنظيف الأسنان لا تتضمن معجون الأسنان أو فرشاة الأسنان وهي شد الزيت - وهي ممارسة قديمة للأيورفيدا. هنا ، يتم تدوير كمية صغيرة من جوز الهند أو السمسم أو زهرة الشمس أو زيت الزيتون حول الفم لمدة 15 دقيقة. ويعتقد أن هذا يغسل البكتيريا والسموم. يمكن أن يساعد سحب الزيت ، عند إجرائه جنبًا إلى جنب مع تنظيف الأسنان بالفرشاة والخيط ، على تقليل التهاب اللثة ، وفقا للدراسات الحديثة.

الأساليب الحديثة

يعتبر تسوس الأسنان (تسوس الأسنان) وأمراض اللثة (التهاب اللثة والتهاب اللثة) من بين الأمراض الأكثر شيوعًا ، حيث يتأثر معظم سكان العالم ، منظمة الصحة العالمية. مع استثناءات قليلة ، يمكن الوقاية من هذه الأمراض من خلال النظافة الصحية عن طريق الفم والنظام الغذائي الصحي. تشير النسبة المئوية العالية للأشخاص الذين يعانون من هذه الأمراض إلى أن معظم الناس طرق نظافة الفم لا ترقى إلى المستوى المثالي وتحتاج إلى تحسين.

تم تصميم أجهزة نظافة الفم الحديثة على وجه التحديد لتنظيف المناطق التي يصعب الوصول إليها في الفم وفعالة للغاية ، ولكن فقط عند الانتهاء بشكل صحيح. ومع ذلك ، فإن بعض تقنيات التنظيف البديلة ، مثل سحب الزيت ، تعد إضافات مفيدة.المحادثة

عن المؤلف

جوزفين هيرشفيلد ، محاضر سريري أكاديمي في طب الأسنان التصالحي ، جامعة برمنغهام

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Not Everyone Uses A Toothbrush And Toothpaste To Clean Their Teeth

Not Everyone Uses A Toothbrush And Toothpaste To Clean Their Teeth A toothbrush made from a twig from the arak tree. mohamadhafizmohamad / Shutterstock

Most people use toothbrushes, toothpaste and dental floss to clean their teeth, but their use is by no means universal. Many indigenous groups, as well as people in developing countries, use traditional techniques to clean their teeth. Some of these techniques are more effective than others.

Many people in the Middle East, and some parts of South and Southeast Asia, use twigs from the arak tree (known as miswak) to clean their teeth. They fray the end of the twig, dampen the resulting bristles with water or rosewater and then rub the bristles against their teeth (see video below). The wood of the arak tree (Salvadora persica) has a high concentration of fluoride and other antimicrobial components that prevent tooth decay.

How to use miswak:

Twigs from other trees, especially aromatic trees that freshen the mouth, are used in different cultures. These so-called chew sticks have been in use for thousands of years. The first recorded use was in ancient Babylonia (3500BC) but they were also used in China as far back as 1600BC.

Using twigs can have similar cleaning effects as a conventional toothbrush, as shown in several studies. But the sticks can’t reach areas between the teeth, and if they aren’t used properly, they can damage the gums and abrade the teeth.

Fingers

In some cultures, people rub various substances onto their teeth with their fingers. For example, in some Muslim countries, people rub walnut tree bark on their teeth. The bark of this tree has antimicrobial properties and is also believed to have a whitening effect. However, no studies have been conducted to investigate its effectiveness or side effects.

Some people in rural India, Africa, Southeast Asia and South America use brick powder, mud, salt or ash to clean their teeth. Although these ingredients effectively remove stains and plaque, they don’t contain fluoride and are often abrasive, resulting in sensitive teeth and receding gums.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Charcoal, which is also a traditional tooth cleaning powder, is making a bit of a comeback. Some modern toothpastes and toothbrushes now contain this ingredient, and evidence suggests that it can bind to harmful bacteria and inactivate them.

But not all natural products can be recommended. Betel quid and areca nuts – which are often used in Southeast Asia for tooth cleaning – stain the teeth and gums. And worse than that, they are associated with an increased risk of oral cancer.

Charcoal is making a comeback as a tooth cleaning product. A-photographyy/Shutterstock

Another tooth cleaning method that doesn’t involve toothpaste or a toothbrush is oil pulling – an ancient Ayurvedic practice. Here, a small amount of coconut, sesame, sunflower or olive oil is swirled around the mouth for 15 minutes. This is believed to wash out bacteria and toxins. Oil pulling, when performed along with routine brushing and flossing, can help to reduce gum inflammation, according to recent studies.

Modern methods

Tooth decay (caries) and gum disease (gingivitis and periodontitis) are among the most common diseases, with most of the world population affected, according to the World Health Organisation. With few exceptions, these diseases are preventable with ideal oral hygiene and a healthy diet. The high percentage of people suffering from these diseases suggests that most people’s oral hygiene methods are not up to the ideal standard and need to be improved.

Modern oral hygiene devices are specifically designed to clean even difficult to reach areas in the mouth and are highly effective, but only when done correctly. However, some alternative cleaning techniques, such as oil pulling, are useful additions.The Conversation

About the Author

Josefine Hirschfeld, Academic Clinical Lecturer in Restorative Dentistry, University of Birmingham

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…