يمكن تغيير سلوك التكنولوجيا ومساعدة الناس على إدارة أفضل الأمراض المزمنة؟

يمكن تغيير سلوك التكنولوجيا ومساعدة الناس على إدارة أفضل الأمراض المزمنة؟
هل يمكن أن يكون النص في الوقت المناسب أو تذكرة ودية هو الفرق بين الصحة الجيدة والأمراض المزمنة؟
anuje / Shutterstock.com

كان مارس 2014 عندما تلقيت مكالمة هاتفية كما كنت أعمل في مكتبي. قدم الشخص على الطرف الآخر بنفسها الدكتورة ليندا هيوستن-فيسترا ، ممرضة القلب الرئيسية في جامعة لوما ليندا SACHS Heart Clinic. وقالت إنها سمعت عن عملي على تكنولوجيا مقنعة، على وجه الخصوص كيف يمكن أن تؤثر على تغيير الموقف أو السلوك في الناس. لقد أرادت أن أساعدها مع مرضى قصور القلب.

فشل هؤلاء المرضى في الامتثال لنظم التدبير الذاتي مثل التمارين الرياضية والنظام الغذائي وقياس نسبة الجلوكوز في الدم يومياً ، وعاد عدد متزايد منهم إلى المستشفى في غضون أيام 30 من التخريج ، وهو ما يعرف باسم 30-day hospital reconmission.

وهكذا بدأ التعاون الطويل والمثمر الذي نتج منذ ذلك الحين ثلاثة أطروحات ، والعديد من التقنيات الجديدة ، والعديد من المنشورات البحثية ، والمنح ، وشركة ناشئة.

لقد شاركت بشكل كبير في العديد من مشاريع تكنولوجيا معلومات الرعاية الصحية قبل أن نستخدم النظريات الحالية لتنفيذ أنظمة مثل الرسائل النصية أو التطبيقات الطبية أو الخدمات لمساعدة المرضى. لي مختبر IDEA في Claremont يركز بالفعل على الوقاية وتغيير السلوك. كانت نداء الدكتور هيوستن-فيينسترا خطوة أساسية في مساعدة مختبري على الكشف عن إمكانات ومخاطر استخدام التقنيات الرقمية لتحسين إدارة الأمراض المزمنة.

ما هي تكنولوجيا مقنعة؟

يمكن أن تكون التقنيات المقنعة أي شكل من أشكال تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات التي تتفاعل مع الناس لتغيير موقفهم و / أو سلوكهم. بعد عدة اجتماعات مع موظفي الدكتور هوستن-فيينسترا ، كان لدينا فهم جيد للمشكلة: تحديدًا ، الحواجز التي تحول دون الامتثال للإدارة الذاتية ولماذا يعود عدد متزايد من المرضى إلى وحدة العناية المركزة خلال أيام 30. كنا بعد ذلك قادرين على تصميم نظام المراقبة المنزلية عن بعد بما في ذلك التطبيق المجاني يسمى قلبي.

وعندما غادر المرضى العيادة ، حصلوا على مقياس وزن مزود بتقنية البلوتوث ، وكفة ضغط الدم ، وجهاز قياس نسبة الجلوكوز في الدم و MyHeart مثبتين على هواتفهم الذكية. يقوم المريض بقياس الحيوية اليومية وتسجيل أعراضها في التطبيق. قام النظام بجمع البيانات اليومية مثل الوزن وضغط الدم وجلوكوز الدم والنشاط (الخطوات) إلى جانب الإجابة على خمسة أسئلة حول الأعراض التي قاموا بتصنيفها على مقياس 1-10 استنادًا إلى إرشادات جمعية القلب الأمريكية. قدم تطبيق MyHeart رسائل تحفيزية مع التذكيرات لأي بيانات حيوية مفقودة.

تم توجيه جميع البيانات وعرضها من خلال لوحة القيادة إلى موظفي الدكتور هوستن-فيينسترا. علاوة على ذلك ، تم توجيه كل بيانات أو أعراض حيوية واردة من خلال مرشح القاعدة الذي يساعد على تصنيف كل مريض على أنه خطر مرتفع أو متوسط ​​أو منخفض لإعادة الإدخال في المستشفى. يمكن للممرضين بعد ذلك إجراء مكالمة للمرضى الذين يعانون من مخاطر عالية والتدخل لمساعدتهم على البقاء في المنزل من خلال التغييرات في الأدوية أو توصيات النظام الغذائي أو تقديم اقتراحات حول التمارين.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


لقد كنت مفتونًا بهذا المجال منذ 2008 وقد طورت أجندة بحثية نشطة في مختبري حيث قمنا بتصميم العديد من التقنيات المقنعة. عندما ينظر المرء إلى الأمراض المزمنة ، فإنه غالباً ما ينحدر إلى سلوكيات معينة. دعونا نأخذ السمنة والسكري كمثال. تشير الأبحاث إلى أن هذه الأعراض غالباً ما تحدث بسبب اتباع أنظمة غذائية غير مناسبة ، وعدم ممارسة التمارين الرياضية ، ونسيان تناول الأدوية ، وما إلى ذلك.

يمكن للتطبيقات المقنعة تذكير الأشخاص وتوفير الدوافع ومساعدتهم في الوصول إلى أهدافهم. يمكن أن يتم ذلك باستخدام شيء بسيط مثل الرسائل النصية اليومية أو استخدام تطبيق خيالي مع واجهة تدعم تقنية Bluetooth أو صور افتراضية.

لماذا نحتاج إلى محفزات خارجية؟

لماذا لا نفعل ما هو مطلوب؟ هذا الجانب من علم النفس البشري مهم لفهم لتصميم التقنيات التي يمكن أن تعمل فقط كأدوات دعم. هناك العديد من النظريات المعروفة لتغيير السلوك التي يمكن تطبيقها هنا. نظريات مثل نموذج المعتقدات الصحية, نظرية مكافحة العظة, نظرية السلوك المخطط . مراحل التحول النظري نظرية تساعدنا جميعا على فهم الفروق الدقيقة في السلوك البشري.

لنأخذ حالة بسيطة جون هو السمنة ولكن يحب شرب الصودا الغنية بالسعرات الحرارية. تقول نظرية الجدل المضاد أنه ليس كافياً أن نقول لجون: "لا تشرب فحم الكوك". علينا أن نقدم بديلاً ، مثل "شرب الكثير من مياه الفيتامين". ما يحدث بعد ذلك هو أنه في عقل جون ، هناك فترة من الصراع حيث يتصارع مع كل من البيانات. يزن الإيجابيات والسلبيات ويصل في النهاية إلى قرار.

علم النفس السلوكي فوج BJ وصف تغير السلوك كعلاقة رياضية تعتمد على الدوافع والقدرة والمحفزة. يمكن أن تكون مستويات التحفيز مرتفعة أو منخفضة ؛ قدرتنا على القيام أو القيام بشيء ما تكون عالية أو منخفضة ؛ لكن الزناد ، الحافز الخارجي ، يمكن أن يوفر في كثير من الأحيان دفعة حيوية تجعلنا نتصرف ونقوم بالعمل المطلوب أو السلوك المطلوب.

يمكن أن يساعد تقديم المعلومات المصممة خصيصًا في زيادة التحفيز والقدرة. في بحث مختبري ، وجدت أنا وزملائي أن المشغلات التي يمكن للمستخدم فعلها ، والتي يطلق عليها "المشغلات القابلة للتنفيذ" ، يمكن أن تؤثر على تغيير السلوك. ونحن نرى بشكل متزايد أنه يمكن تصميم هذه التكنولوجيا المقنعة على أساس التباين العرقي والجوانب الثقافية وحتى قضايا اللغة. يعمل الطلاب من مختبري إلى جانب عدد قليل من طلاب المرحلة الجامعية من جامعة جنوب كاليفورنيا في الوقت الحالي مع شركة Cigna Corporation لاختبار الرسائل النصية المخصصة وتأثيرها على الإدارة الذاتية لمرض السكري.

لقد وجدنا أيضًا في دراساتنا أنه على الرغم من التحذيرات والتذكيرات ، فقد نحصل على تغييرات قصيرة المدى في السلوكيات ولكن بعد فترة من الانتكاس. كيف يمكننا تحقيق تغيير سلوكي مستدام إلى شيء يصبح عادة؟

تحويل التغيرات قصيرة الأجل إلى عادات طويلة الأجل

طالبي في الدراسات العليا ، علاء Allahaidan ، زميلي ، ديفيد درو، ولقد درست هذه المشكلة وخرجت مؤخرا مع نظرية التمكين. استنتجنا أن المرضى بحاجة إلى الشعور بالتمكين ، وأشياء مثل الرسائل التي تتماشى مع أهدافهم ، والدعم الاجتماعي والمجتمعي ، يمكن أن تلعب دورا هاما في المساعدة على تحقيق النتيجة المرجوة. يتمثل التحدي في برمجة هذه التركيبات في تطبيقات البرامج.

أدت دراسة قصور القلب في لوما ليندا إلى تجربة تجريبية صغيرة مع ثمانية مرضى حيث رأينا نتيجة ملحوظة: لم يتم إعادة المريض مرة واحدة في أيام 30. تحسين نوعية حياتهم أيضا. منذ ذلك الحين قمنا بإجراء تجارب أخرى عن طريق تدوين شركة ناشئة تسمى DCL الصحة التي تعمل مع العيادات وأطباء القلب لتزويد مرضاهم بتكنولوجيا المراقبة المنزلية عن بعد.

واليوم نقوم بتطوير نظام ذكاء اصطناعي يمكن أن يتعلم من بيانات المراقبة المنزلية عن بعد ، وبناءً على مجموعات معينة من المتغيرات الحيوية والمتغيرات ، يمكن التنبؤ بخطر إعادة إدخال المستشفى أو احتمال حدوث ألم شديد في الصدر. نحن الآن ندخل في مرحلة مثيرة من تقنيات الصحة الرقمية حيث يمكننا التنبؤ بمستويات معينة من الدقة ما قد يحدث للمريض ومن ثم اتخاذ الاحتياطات وتخطيط التدخلات في وقت مبكر.

التكنولوجيا الآن وراء MyHeart تجد طريقها إلى أمراض مزمنة أخرى مثل السكري ومرض الانسداد الرئوي المزمن. يحتاج كل مرض إلى قياس أعاصير وحيوية محددة وقواعد مختلفة لتصفية هذه الأدوية ، ولكن يمكن تطبيقها لمساعدة المرضى.

التكنولوجيات الرقمية في هذا المجال آخذة في الظهور. يمكن أن تشمل المخاطر حدوث خلل في البطارية ومشاكل في نقل الشبكة والاستخدام المستدام لهذه التكنولوجيا. أعتقد أن هذه الأشياء ستتحسن بمرور الوقت ، لكن في الوقت الحالي ، فإن هذه الأدوات الصحية الرقمية تنقذ الأرواح.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

سمير شاترجي ، أستاذ تصميم وإدارة التكنولوجيا ، جامعة كليرمونت للدراسات العليا

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب بواسطة هذا المؤلف

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = Samir Chatterjee؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Can Technology Change Behavior And Help People Better Manage Chronic Diseases?

health

Can Technology Change Behavior And Help People Better Manage Chronic Diseases?
Could a timely text or a friendly reminder be the difference between good health and chronic disease?
anuje/Shutterstock.com

It was March 2014 when I received a phone call as I was working in my office. The person on the other end introduced herself as Dr. Linda Houston-Feenstra, chief cardiac nurse of Loma Linda University SACHS Heart Clinic. She said that she has heard about my work on persuasive technology, in particular how it can influence attitude or behavior change in people. She wanted me to assist her with her heart-failure patients.

These patients failed to comply with the regimens of self-management such as exercise, diet and measuring blood glucose daily, and an increasing number of them came back to the hospital within 30 days of discharge, which is known as 30-day hospital readmission.

Thus began a long and fruitful collaboration which has since resulted in three dissertations, several new technologies, numerous research publications, grants and a startup company.

I have been heavily involved in several health care information technology projects before in which we have been utilizing existing theories to implement systems such as texting, medical apps or services to help patients. My IDEA lab at Claremont was already focusing on prevention and behavior change. The call from Dr. Houston-Feenstra was a key step in helping my lab uncover the potential and pitfalls of using digital technologies to improve chronic disease management.

What is persuasive technology?

Persuasive technologies can be any form of information and communication technology that interacts with people to change their attitude and/or behavior. After several meetings with Dr. Houston-Feenstra’s staff, we had a good understanding of the problem: namely, the barriers to compliance with self-management and why an increasing number of patients came back to ICU within 30 days. We were then able to design a remote home monitoring system including a free app called MyHeart.

As patients left the clinic, they were given a Bluetooth-enabled weight scale, a blood pressure cuff, blood glucose meter and MyHeart installed on their smartphone. The patient would measure vitals daily and log their symptoms in the app. The system collected daily data such as weight, blood pressure, blood glucose and activity (steps) along with answers to five questions about their symptoms, which they rated on a scale of 1-10 based on guidelines from American Heart Association. The MyHeart app provided motivational messages along with reminders for any missing vital data.

All the data were channeled and displayed through a dashboard to Dr. Houston-Feenstra’s staff. Moreover, each incoming vital data or symptom was directed through a rule filter which helps classify each patient as high, medium or low risk for hospital readmission. Nurses can then make a call for high-risk patients and intervene to help them stay at home through medication changes, diet recommendations or providing suggestions on exercises.

I have been fascinated by this area since 2008 and have developed an active research agenda in my lab where we have designed several persuasive technologies. When one considers chronic diseases, it often comes down to certain behaviors. Let’s take obesity and diabetes as an example. Research shows that these are often caused by improper diets, lack of exercise, forgetting to take medication, etc.

Persuasive apps can remind people, provide motivations, and help them reach their goals. It can be done with something as simple as daily text messages or using a fancy app with Bluetooth-enabled interfacing or virtual avatars.

Why do we need external motivators?

Why don’t we do what is needed to be done? This aspect of human psychology is important to understand for designing technologies that can act only as support tools. There are many well-known theories of behavior change that can apply here. Theories such as the health-belief model, counter-agumentation theory, theory of planned behavior and trans-theoretical stages of change theory all help us to understand the nuances of human behavior.

Let’s take a simple case. John is obese but loves to drink calorie-rich sodas. The counter-argumentation theory says that it is not enough to say to John, “Don’t drink Coke.” We have to provide an alternative, such as, “Drink lots of vitamin water.” What happens then is that in John’s mind, there is a period of conflict where he grapples with both the statements. He weighs the pros and cons and finally arrives at a decision.

Behavioral psychologist B.J. Fogg has described behavior change as a mathematical relationship that depends on motivation, ability and trigger. Motivation levels can be high or low; our ability to perform or do something can be high or low; but a trigger, an external stimulus, can often provide that vital nudge to make us act and perform the needed action or behavior.

Presenting tailored information can help increase motivation and ability. In my lab’s research, my colleagues and I have found that triggers on which the user can act, called “actionable triggers,” can influence behavior change. We are increasingly seeing that such persuasive technology can be tailored based on racial disparity, cultural aspects and even language issues. Students from my lab along with few undergraduate students from USC are currently working with Cigna Corporation to test tailored text messaging and its impact on diabetes self-management.

We have also found in our studies that in spite of nudges and reminders, we might get short-term changes in behaviors but after a while relapse. How can we achieve sustainable behavior change into something that becomes a habit?

Transforming short-term changes into long-term habits

My graduate student, Ala Alluhaidan, my colleague, David Drew, and I studied this problem and recently came out with a theory of empowerment. We concluded that patients need to feel empowered, and things such as messages aligned with their goals, and social and community support, can play an important role in helping achieve their desired outcome. The challenge is to program these constructs into software implementations.

The heart-failure study at Loma Linda led to a small pilot trial with eight patients where we saw a remarkable result: Not one patient was readmitted back in 30 days. Their quality of life also improved. Since then we have conducted other trials by spinning off a startup company called DCL Health that works with clinics and cardiac physicians to provide their patients with remote home-monitoring technologies.

Today we are developing an artificial intelligence system that can learn from the remote home-monitoring data and, based on certain combinations of vital and symptoms variables, can predict the risk of hospital readmission or likelihood of severe chest pain. We are now entering an exciting phase of digital health technologies where we can predict with certain levels of accuracy what might be happening to a patient and then take precautions and plan interventions ahead of time.

The technology behind MyHeart is now finding its way to other chronic diseases such as diabetes and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease. Each disease requires specific vitals and symptoms to be measured and has different rules to filter them but can be applied to help patients.

Digital technologies in this space are emerging. Risks can include battery malfunction, network transmission issues and sustainable usage of such technology. I believe those things will improve with time, but for now, these digital health tools are actually saving lives.The Conversation

About The Author

Samir Chatterjee, Professor of Technology Design & Management , Claremont Graduate University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Books by this Author

Indian Music Guide Book : Music of India
healthAuthor: Samir Chatterjee
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Chhandayan, Inc.
List Price: $35.00

Buy Now

Tabla : A Study of Tabla
healthAuthor: Samir Chatterjee
Binding: Board book
Publisher: Chhandayan, Inc.
List Price: $100.00

Buy Now

Design Research in Information Systems: Theory and Practice (Integrated Series in Information Systems)
healthAuthor: Alan Hevner
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Springer
List Price: $99.99

Buy Now

health
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}