كيف يمكن للأشياء الموجودة في الفطر السحري أن تعالج الاكتئاب الشديد

كيف يمكن للأشياء الموجودة في الفطر السحري أن تعالج الاكتئاب الشديد
الصورة عن طريق Tumisu (تم تلوينه بواسطة InnerSelf.com)

أفاد باحثون أن جرعتين من مادة السيلوسيبين المخدرة ، مع العلاج النفسي الداعم ، أدت إلى انخفاض سريع وكبير في أعراض الاكتئاب في دراسة صغيرة على البالغين المصابين بالاكتئاب الشديد.

وفقًا للدراسة ، أظهر معظم المشاركين تحسنًا وحقق نصف المشاركين في الدراسة مغفرة من خلال متابعة استمرت أربعة أسابيع.

مركب موجود في ما يسمى بالفطر السحري ، ينتج السيلوسيبين هلوسة بصرية وسمعية وتغيرات عميقة في الوعي على مدى بضع ساعات بعد الابتلاع. في 2016 الدراسة، أفاد باحثو جونز هوبكنز ميديسن لأول مرة أن العلاج باستخدام السيلوسيبين في ظل ظروف مدعومة نفسياً خفف بشكل كبير من القلق الوجودي والاكتئاب لدى الأشخاص الذين يعانون من تشخيص السرطان الذي يهدد حياتهم.

بشكل عام ، بعد أربعة أسابيع من العلاج ، تم اعتبار 54 ٪ من المشاركين في حالة مغفرة - مما يعني أنهم لم يعودوا مؤهلين للاكتئاب.

الآن ، النتائج من الدراسة الجديدة في JAMA الطب النفسي، يقترح أن السيلوسيبين قد يكون فعالًا في شريحة أكبر بكثير من المرضى الذين يعانون من اكتئاب شديد أكثر مما كان متوقعًا في السابق

كان حجم التأثير الذي رأيناه أكبر بنحو أربع مرات مما أظهرته التجارب السريرية على التجارب التقليدية مضادات الاكتئاب يقول ألان ديفيس ، أستاذ مساعد في الطب النفسي والعلوم السلوكية في كلية الطب بجامعة جونز هوبكنز.


 الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


"نظرًا لأن معظم علاجات الاكتئاب الأخرى تستغرق أسابيع أو شهورًا حتى تعمل وقد يكون لها تأثيرات غير مرغوب فيها ، فقد يغير هذا قواعد اللعبة إذا صمدت هذه النتائج في التجارب السريرية التي يتم التحكم فيها باستخدام العلاج الوهمي" المعياري الذهبي "في المستقبل."

تغطي النتائج الجديدة فقط متابعة لمدة أربعة أسابيع في 24 مشاركًا ، خضعوا جميعًا لجلستين من السيلوسيبين لمدة خمس ساعات تحت إشراف الباحثين.

يقول رولاند جريفيث ، أستاذ علم الأدوية النفسية والعصبية للوعي: "نظرًا لوجود عدة أنواع من الاضطرابات الاكتئابية الرئيسية التي قد تؤدي إلى تباين في كيفية استجابة الأشخاص للعلاج ، فقد فوجئت بأن معظم المشاركين في الدراسة وجدوا أن علاج السيلوسيبين فعال". في كلية الطب بجامعة جونز هوبكنز ومدير مركز جونز هوبكنز لأبحاث المخدر والوعي.

ويقول إن الاكتئاب الرئيسي الذي عولج في الدراسة الجديدة ربما كان مختلفًا عن الشكل "التفاعلي" للاكتئاب لدى المرضى الذين درسوا في تجربة السرطان لعام 2016. يقول غريفيث إن مسؤولي الصحة العامة شجعوا فريقه على استكشاف تأثيرات السيلوسيبين على شريحة أوسع من المصابين بالاكتئاب الشديد. اضطراب بسبب التأثير المحتمل الأكبر على الصحة العامة.

بالنسبة للدراسة الجديدة ، قام الباحثون بتجنيد 24 شخصًا لديهم تاريخ موثق طويل الأمد من الاكتئاب ، وقد عانى معظمهم من أعراض مستمرة لمدة عامين تقريبًا قبل التسجيل في الدراسة. كان متوسط ​​عمر المشاركين 39 ؛ 16 من النساء ؛ وعرّف 22 شخصًا عن أنفسهم بأنهم من البيض ، وشخص واحد تم تحديده على أنه آسيوي ، وشخص آخر على أنه أمريكي من أصل أفريقي. كان على المشاركين أن يتناقصوا تدريجياً مضادات الاكتئاب قبل الدراسة بمساعدة طبيبهم الشخصي لضمان التعرض الآمن لهذا العلاج التجريبي.

تلقى ثلاثة عشر مشاركًا العلاج بالسيلوسيبين مباشرة بعد التوظيف وبعد جلسات الإعداد ، وتلقى 11 مشاركًا نفس الإعداد والعلاج بعد تأخير لمدة ثمانية أسابيع.

يتكون العلاج من جرعتين من psilocybin أعطيت من قبل اثنين من المراقبين السريريين الذين قدموا التوجيه والطمأنينة. تم إعطاء الجرعات أسبوعين بين أغسطس 2017 وأبريل 2019 في مبنى أبحاث علم الأحياء السلوكية بمركز جونز هوبكنز بايفيو الطبي. استغرقت كل جلسة علاجية قرابة خمس ساعات ، حيث استلقى المشارك على أريكة مرتديًا أغطية عيون وسماعات تعمل بالموسيقى ، في وجود الشاشات.

تم إعطاء جميع المشاركين مقياس تصنيف GRID-Hamilton للاكتئاب - وهو أداة قياسية لتقييم الاكتئاب - عند التسجيل ، وفي أسبوع وأربعة أسابيع بعد الانتهاء من علاجهم. على المقياس ، تشير الدرجة 24 أو أكثر إلى اكتئاب حاد ، 17-23 اكتئاب متوسط ​​، 8-16 اكتئاب خفيف ، و 7 أو أقل عدم اكتئاب. عند التسجيل ، كان متوسط ​​تصنيف المشاركين للاكتئاب 23 ، ولكن بعد أسبوع وأربعة أسابيع من العلاج ، كان متوسط ​​درجات مقياس الاكتئاب لديهم 8.

بعد العلاج ، أظهر معظم المشاركين انخفاضًا كبيرًا في أعراضهم ، وكان نصفهم تقريبًا في حالة مغفرة من الاكتئاب أثناء المتابعة. لم يظهر المشاركون في المجموعة المتأخرة انخفاضًا في أعراضهم قبل تلقي العلاج بالسيلوسيبين.

بالنسبة للمجموعة الكاملة المكونة من 24 مشاركًا ، أظهر 67٪ انخفاضًا بنسبة تزيد عن 50٪ في أعراض الاكتئاب في المتابعة لمدة أسبوع واحد و 71٪ في المتابعة التي استمرت أربعة أسابيع. بشكل عام ، بعد أربعة أسابيع من العلاج ، تم اعتبار 54 ٪ من المشاركين في حالة مغفرة - مما يعني أنهم لم يعودوا مؤهلين للاكتئاب.

يقول الباحثون إنهم سيتابعون المشاركين لمدة عام بعد الدراسة لمعرفة المدة التي تستغرقها التأثيرات المضادة للاكتئاب للعلاج بالسيلوسيبين ، وسيقدمون تقريرًا بالنتائج التي توصلوا إليها في منشور لاحق.

وفقًا للمعهد الوطني للصحة العقلية ، عانى أكثر من 17 مليون شخص في الولايات المتحدة و 300 مليون شخص في جميع أنحاء العالم من اكتئاب شديد.

حول المؤلف

دراسة الأصلية

جاء الدعم للدراسة من مؤسسة ستيفن وألكسندرا كوهين ، وتيم فيريس ، ومات مولينويج ، وكريغ نيرينبرج ، وبليك ميكوسكي ؛ وكذلك من خلال المنح المقدمة من مؤسسة Riverstyx والمعهد الوطني لتعاطي المخدرات.

كشف تضارب المصالح ل JAMA الطب النفسي تشمل ما يلي: يعمل جونسون كمستشار و / أو عضو مجلس استشاري لشركة AWAKN Life Sciences Inc. شركة بيكلي ساسيديليكس المحدودة ؛ شركة Entheogen Biomedical Corp ؛ شركة Field Trip Psychedelics Inc. ؛ Mind Medicine، Inc.؛ Otsuka Pharmaceutical Development & Commercialization، Inc .؛ و Silo Pharma، Inc.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

 احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أحصل على القليل من المساعدة من أصدقائي

الأكثر قراءة

hnob2t7o
لماذا يجب أن أتجاهل COVID-19 ولماذا لا أفعل
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
خذ نفسك وقم بالعمل
خذ نفسك وقم بالعمل
by مالكولم ستيرن

من المحررين

لماذا يجب أن أتجاهل COVID-19 ولماذا لا أفعل
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
أنا وزوجتي ماري زوجان مختلطان. هي كندية وأنا أميركية. على مدار الخمسة عشر عامًا الماضية ، أمضينا فصول الشتاء في فلوريدا وصيفنا في نوفا سكوشا.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: نوفمبر 15 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
هذا الأسبوع ، نفكر في السؤال: "إلى أين نتجه من هنا؟" تمامًا كما هو الحال مع أي طقوس مرور ، سواء كان التخرج ، أو الزواج ، أو ولادة طفل ، أو انتخابات محورية ، أو فقدان (أو اكتشاف) ...
أمريكا: توصيل عربتنا بالعالم والنجوم
by ماري تي راسل وروبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
حسنًا ، أصبحت الانتخابات الرئاسية الأمريكية وراءنا الآن وحان وقت التقييم. يجب أن نجد أرضية مشتركة بين الشباب والكبار ، الديموقراطيين والجمهوريين ، الليبراليين والمحافظين لنجعل ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 25 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
إن "الشعار" أو العنوان الفرعي لموقع InnerSelf على الويب هو "اتجاهات جديدة - إمكانيات جديدة" ، وهذا هو بالضبط موضوع النشرة الإخبارية لهذا الأسبوع. الغرض من مقالاتنا ومؤلفينا هو ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أكتوبر 18 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نحن نعيش هذه الأيام في فقاعات صغيرة ... في منازلنا وفي العمل وفي الأماكن العامة ، وربما في أذهاننا ومع مشاعرنا. ومع ذلك ، نعيش في فقاعة ، أو نشعر وكأننا ...

How The Stuff In Magic Mushrooms Could Treat Major Depression

How The Stuff In Magic Mushrooms Could Treat Major Depression
Image by Tumisu (colorized by InnerSelf.com)

Two doses of the psychedelic substance psilocybin, given with supportive psychotherapy, produced rapid and large reductions in depressive symptoms in a small study of adults with major depression, researchers report.

According to the study, most participants showed improvement and half of study participants achieved remission through the four-week follow-up.

A compound found in so-called magic mushrooms, psilocybin produces visual and auditory hallucinations and profound changes in consciousness over a few hours after ingestion. In a 2016 study, Johns Hopkins Medicine researchers first reported that treatment with psilocybin under psychologically supported conditions significantly relieved existential anxiety and depression in people with a life-threatening cancer diagnosis.

Overall, four weeks post-treatment, 54% of participants were considered in remission—meaning they no longer qualified as being depressed.

Now, the findings from the new study in JAMA Psychiatry, suggest that psilocybin may be effective in the much wider population of patients who suffer from major depression than previously appreciated.

“The magnitude of the effect we saw was about four times larger than what clinical trials have shown for traditional antidepressants on the market,” says Alan Davis, adjunct assistant professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“Because most other depression treatments take weeks or months to work and may have undesirable effects, this could be a game changer if these findings hold up in future ‘gold-standard’ placebo-controlled clinical trials.”

The new findings cover only a four-week follow-up in 24 participants, all of whom underwent two five-hour psilocybin sessions under the direction of the researchers.

“Because there are several types of major depressive disorders that may result in variation in how people respond to treatment, I was surprised that most of our study participants found the psilocybin treatment to be effective,” says Roland Griffiths, professor in the neuropsychopharmacology of consciousness at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Psychedelic and Consciousness Research.

He says the major depression treated in the new study may have been different than the “reactive” form of depression in patients they studied in the 2016 cancer trial. Griffiths says his team was encouraged by public health officials to explore psilocybin’s effects in the broader population of those with major depressive disorder because of the much larger potential public health impact.

For the new study, the researchers recruited 24 people with a long-term documented history of depression, most of whom experienced persisting symptoms for approximately two years before enrolling in the study. The average age of participants was 39; 16 were women; and 22 identified themselves as white, one person identified as Asian, and one person identified as African American. Participants had to taper off any antidepressants prior to the study with the help of their personal physician to ensure safe exposure to this experimental treatment.

Thirteen participants received the psilocybin treatment immediately after recruitment and after preparation sessions, and 11 participants received the same preparation and treatment after an eight-week delay.

Treatment consisted of two psilocybin doses given by two clinical monitors who provided guidance and reassurance. The doses were given two weeks apart between August 2017 and April 2019 at the Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center Behavioral Biology Research Building. Each treatment session lasted approximately five hours, with the participant lying on a couch wearing eyeshades and headphones that played music, in the presence of the monitors.

All participants were given the GRID-Hamilton Depression Rating Scale—a standard depression assessment tool—upon enrollment, and at one and four weeks following completion of their treatment. On the scale, a score of 24 or more indicates severe depression, 17–23 moderate depression, 8–16 mild depression, and 7 or less no depression. At enrollment, participants had an average depression scale rating of 23, but one week and four weeks after treatment, they had an average depression scale score of 8.

After treatment, most participants showed a substantial decrease in their symptoms, and almost half were in remission from depression at the follow-up. Participants in the delayed group didn’t show decreases in their symptoms before receiving the psilocybin treatment.

For the entire group of 24 participants, 67% showed a more than 50% reduction in depression symptoms at the one-week follow-up and 71% at the four-week follow-up. Overall, four weeks post-treatment, 54% of participants were considered in remission—meaning they no longer qualified as being depressed.

The researchers say they will follow the participants for a year after the study to see how long the antidepressant effects of the psilocybin treatment last, and will report their findings in a later publication.

According to the National Institute of Mental Health, more than 17 million people in the US and 300 million people worldwide have experienced major depression.

About the Authors

Original Study

Support for the study came from the Steven and Alexandra Cohen Foundation, Tim Ferriss, Matt Mullenweg, Craig Nerenberg, and Blake Mycoskie; as well as by grants from the Riverstyx Foundation and the National Institute on Drug Abuse.

Conflicts of interest disclosed to JAMA Psychiatry include the following: Johnson serves as a consultant and/or advisory board member for AWAKN Life Sciences Inc.; Beckley Psychedelics Ltd.; Entheogen Biomedical Corp.; Field Trip Psychedelics Inc.; Mind Medicine, Inc.; Otsuka Pharmaceutical Development & Commercialization, Inc.; and Silo Pharma, Inc.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: November 29, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we focus on seeing things differently... of looking from a different perspective, with an open mind and an open heart.
Why I Should Ignore COVID-19 and Why I Won't
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
My wife Marie and I are a mixed couple. She's Canadian and I am an American. For the past 15 years we have spent our winters in Florida and our summers in Nova Scotia.
InnerSelf Newsletter: November 15, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we reflect on the question: "where do we go from here?" Just as with any rite of passage, whether graduation, marriage, birth of a child, a pivotal election, or the loss (or finding) of a…
America: Hitching Our Wagon to the World and to the Stars
by Marie T Russell and Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Well, the US presidential election is now behind us and it's time to take stock. We must find common ground between young and old, Democrat and Republican, Liberal and Conservative to truly make…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 25, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The "slogan" or sub-title for the InnerSelf website is "New Attitudes---New Possibilities", and that is exactly the theme of this week's newsletter. The purpose of our articles and authors is to…