هل ملاحق زيت السمك مفيدة؟

هل ملاحق زيت السمك مفيدة؟
لقد تم اقتراح أن زيت السمك هو زيت الثعبان من جيلنا. exoimperator / فليكر, CC BY-SA

وتشير التقديرات إلى أن واحدًا من كل أربعة أستراليين يتناول حالياً مكملات زيت السمك يومياً بسبب فوائده المتصورة.

هناك اقتراحات بأن زيت السمك جيد لمجموعة من الحالات الصحية بما في ذلك التهاب المفاصل ومرض الزهايمر والسكري والصحة العقلية وأمراض القلب. حتى أنه تم اقتراح أن زيت السمك قد يجعل الناس أكثر ذكاءً ، لذا يجب علينا جميعًا تناول المكملات الغذائية؟

جيد للجميع؟

يحتوي زيت السمك عادة على DHA (حمض docosahexaenoic) و EPA (حمض eicosapentaenoic). في الدول الغربية ، يعتبر تناول كمية أقل من DHA و EPA الغذائية مصدر قلق لأنها ليست متوفرة على نطاق واسع في الأطعمة المعاصرة.

مشتقة من DHA و EPA من الأحماض الدهنية "الأساسية" في النظام الغذائي (هكذا سميت لأن البشر والثدييات الأخرى لا يمكن جعل هذه المواد نفسها). فهي موجودة على وجه الحصر تقريبا في الأسماك المائية الباردة الزيتية ، ملاحق زيت السمك ، حليب الثدي ، وحليب الأطفال.

تم إجراء معظم البحوث على هذه الأحماض الدهنية على هيئة الصحة بدبي. وهنا ما نعرفه.

ليس هناك شك في أن DHA وجدت في زيت السمك وتشارك في العديد من وظائف الدماغ الحرجة. على حد سواء البحوث المختبرية و دراسات وبائية بشرية وقد أثبتت أن نقص DHA يمكن أن يؤثر سلبا على الإدراك ، والمدخول من الأسماك الزيتية أثناء الحمل يمكن أن تفيد الأداء المعرفي للأطفال.

خاصة بالنسبة للأطفال؟

ومن المعروف DHA للعب دور حاسم في تطوير الدماغ البشري وهناك دليل على ذلك أهمية لنمو الدماغ في مرحلة الطفولة. ما هو أكثر من ذلك ، فإن العديد من الدراسات لديها أظهرت الجمعيات الإيجابية بين تركيزات دم الرضع من DHA والإدراك.

في الواقع ، تم اقتراح أن الأحماض الدهنية المتعددة غير المشبعة طويلة السلسلة بما في ذلك DHA هي من بين العوامل الرئيسية التي يمكن زيادة ذكاء الأفراد الذين يرضعون من الثدي.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ولكن ماذا عن مكملات الـ DHA في الأطفال الرضع والأطفال الذين يتم توصيلهم عن طريق زيت السمك؟

فكرة أن مكملات دي اتش ايه الغذائية تعزز الإدراك لدى الأطفال الصغار لا تزال مثيرة للجدل. اقترح البعض حتى أنه زيت الثعابين من جيلنا.

تظل التجارب المعشاة ذات الشواهد هي المعيار الذهبي في هذا المجال البحثي. والمحاكمات التي أجريت في هذا المجال لها تدار هيئة الصحة بدبي عموما عبر الحليب الاصطناعي بدلا من كبسولات زيت السمك.

ماذا يقول العلم

توفر النتائج أدلة متضاربة.

فشلت مراجعة رئيسية واحدة للأدب في تحديد تأثير كبير من مكملات دي إتش أيه على التنمية المعرفية في الرضع الناضجين. لكن واقترح آخر المكملات مع مستوى مماثل من DHA لالبان الثدي يؤدي إلى ارتفاع الأداء المعرفي في الأطفال الصغار الذين ولدوا في المدى الكامل.

ومع ذلك ، فإن غالبية التجارب في الرضع الرضع الأجل أظهروا القليل or لا مؤثر ، آثار مفيدة على النتائج المعرفية العصبية نتيجة لمكملات DHA الغذائية. على الرغم من ذلك ، فإن مكملات DHA الرضيع لم تؤد إلى آثار سلبية على النمو أو النمو أو الصحة.

لذا يبدو أنه لا توجد حجة مقنعة سواء لصالح أو ضد مكملات DHA عند الرضع الناضجين بغرض التحسين المعرفي.

تفسيرات محتملة

قد تكون النتائج غير المتسقة في هذه الدراسات بسبب عدم كفاية أحجام العينات ، والتغيرات في جرعات DHA المستخدمة ، ومصدر إدارة DHA (الطحالب أو مصادر الأسماك ، للحالات) ، والعمر الذي بدأ فيه التكميل ، ومدة المكملات ، و نوع من التقييمات المعرفية أو التطويرية المضطلع بها ، أو التباين في امتثال المشاركين عبر الدراسات ، أو مزيج من هذه العوامل.

الملف الوراثي يمكن أن تمثل أيضًا عاملًا محتملًا مؤثرًا يؤثر في نتائج الدراسة. و الاختلافات القائمة على الجنس في كيفية استقلاب الأحماض الدهنية غير المشبعة طويلة السلسلة تم الاستشهاد بها باعتبارها ذات صلة محتملة.

هناك اعتبار آخر يتعلق بتأثيرات السقف المحتملة: إذا كان شخص ما يعمل بالفعل بأقصى أو قريب من الكفاءة القصوى ، فإن استكمال النظام الغذائي باستخدام DHA لن يؤدي على الأرجح إلى فوائد كبيرة.

ولكن عند الرضع الخدج - الذين يوجد لديهم عجز محتمل في حالة DHA - قد تكون تأثيرات مكملات DHA أكثر إيجابية.

على الرغم من عدم وجود إجماع علمي فيما يتعلق بأي منافع للرضع على المدى الكامل ، فإن العديد من الشركات المصنعة لحليب الأطفال الرضع تشمل DHA في منتجات معينة وتسويقها باعتبارها منتجات متفوقة توفر مزايا معرفية متميزة. هذا أمر مثير للجدل ، نظرا لعدم وجود أدلة علمية ملموسة لدعم مطالبهم. المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

جوناثان فوستر ، كبير زملاء Curtin ، أستاذ وعلم النفس العصبي الإكلينيكي ، جامعة كيرتن

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books ؛ الكلمات الرئيسية = فوائد مكملات الأسماك ؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

تكريم دورات الزمن والطبيعة والفضاء
تكريم دورات الزمن والطبيعة والفضاء
by غابرييلا يوروش لاندا
يظهر الطقس اليومي الآن بصمات تغير المناخ
يظهر الطقس اليومي الآن بصمات تغير المناخ
by ريتو كنوتي وسيباستيان سيبل
أفضل طريقة للتخلي عن العادات السيئة
أفضل طريقة للتخلي عن العادات السيئة
by إيان هاميلتونك وسالي مارلو

Are Fish Oil Supplements Beneficial?

Are Fish Oil Supplements Beneficial?
It’s been suggested that fish oil is the snake oil of our generation. exoimperator/Flickr, CC BY-SA

An estimated one in four Australians currently take fish oil supplements daily because of its perceived benefits.

There are suggestions that fish oil is good for a range of health conditions including arthritis, Alzheimer’s disease, diabetes, mental health and heart disease. It’s even been suggested that fish oil might make people smarter, so should we all be taking supplements?

Good for everyone?

Fish oil typically contains DHA (docosahexaenoic acid) and EPA (eicosapentaenoic acid). In Western nations, low dietary intake of DHA and EPA is a concern as they are not widely available in contemporary foods.

DHA and EPA are derived from “essential” fatty acids in the diet (so named because humans and other mammals cannot make these substances themselves). They’re found almost exclusively in oily cold-water fish, fish oil supplements, breast milk, and supplemented infant formula.

The majority of research on these fatty acids have been done on DHA. And here’s what we know.

There’s no doubt that DHA found in fish oil is involved in several critical brain functions. Both laboratory research and human epidemiological studies have demonstrated that a shortage of DHA can adversely affect cognition, and intake of oily fish during pregnancy can benefit children’s cognitive functioning.

Especially for kids?

DHA is known to play a critical role in the developing human brain and there’s evidence of its importance for brain development in infancy. What’s more, several studies have demonstrated positive associations between infant blood concentrations of DHA and cognition.

Indeed, long-chain polyunsaturated fatty acids including DHA have been suggested as being among the principal factors that can increase the intelligence of breastfed individuals.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


But what about DHA supplementation in babies and children delivered via fish oil?

The notion that dietary DHA supplementation enhances cognition in young children remains controversial. Some have even suggested that it’s the snake oil of our generation.

Randomised controlled trials remain the gold standard in this area of research. And the trials undertaken in this field have generally administered DHA via formula milk rather than via fish oil capsules.

What the science says

The findings provide conflicting evidence.

One major review of the literature failed to identify a significant effect of DHA supplementation on cognitive development in full-term infants. But another suggested supplementation with a similar level of DHA to breast milk results in higher cognitive performance in young children born at full term.

Still, the majority of trials in healthy term infants have shown little or no consistent, beneficial effects on neurocognitive outcomes as a result of dietary DHA supplementation. Importantly though, infant DHA supplementation has resulted in no negative effects on growth, development or health.

So it appears there’s no compelling argument either for or against DHA supplementation in full-term infants for the purpose of cognitive enhancement.

Possible explanations

Inconsistent findings within this literature may be due to inadequate sample sizes, variations in the doses of DHA used, the source of DHA administered (algal or fish sources, for instances), the age at which supplementation was initiated, the duration of supplementation, the type of cognitive or developmental assessments undertaken, the variability in participant compliance across studies, or a combination of these factors.

Genetic profile could also represent a potentially relevant factor affecting study outcomes. And gender-based differences in how long-chain polyunsaturated fatty acids are metabolised have been cited as being potentially relevant.

Another consideration concerns potential ceiling effects: if someone is already functioning at maximal or close to maximal efficiency, then supplementing the diet with DHA is unlikely to yield significant benefits.

But in preterm infants – in whom there’s a possible deficit in DHA status – the effects of DHA supplementation may be more positive.

Despite the absence of scientific consensus regarding any benefits in full-term infants, many manufacturers of infant formula milk include DHA in certain products and market them as superior products offering distinct cognitive advantages. This is controversial, given the lack of concrete scientific evidence to support their claims. The Conversation

About The Author

Jonathan Foster, Curtin Senior Fellow, Professor & Clinical Neuropsychologist, Curtin University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=benefits fish supplements;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)