هل يحتاج الرياضيون حقا إلى ملاحق بروتينية؟

هل يحتاج الرياضيون حقا إلى ملاحق بروتينية؟
مكملات البروتين باهظة الثمن ، وقد لا تفعل الكثير بالنسبة لك.
صورة فوتوغرافية من www.shutterstock.com

وتباع حرفيا ملاحق البروتين للرياضيين من قبل bucketful. التسويق الذي يصاحبها يعزز باستمرار الحصول على العضلة ذات الرأسين بوف و abs حزمة ستة.

في 2014، و سوق ملحق البروتين في أستراليا تم تقييمه بمبلغ X $ 545 مليون دولار ، ومن المتوقع أن يستمر في النمو بنسبة 10٪ سنويًا. لكن هل يحتاج الرياضيون حقًا إليهم؟

أولاً ، لننظر إلى ما هو البروتين ولماذا نحتاجه. البروتين هو المغذيات الرئيسية الضرورية في النظام الغذائي. وهذا يعني أنه يوفر الطاقة لتزويد الجسم بالوقود ولكن له أيضًا خصائص هيكلية.

يتكون البروتين من وحدات أصغر تسمى الأحماض الأمينية. يتم استخدام الأحماض الأمينية من قبل الجسم لصنع العضلات وغيرها من بروتينات الجسم الأساسية التي تستخدم في الجهاز المناعي ، وأيضا لتنظيم العديد من العمليات في الجسم.

يؤثر البروتين والأحماض الأمينية بشكل غير مباشر على الأداء من خلال بناء العضلات لتحسين الأداء. هناك أدلة قليلة لاقتراح بروتين إضافي يساعد بشكل مباشر على الأداء البدني في التحمل أو تمارين المقاومة.

البروتين موجود في كل مكان في النظام الغذائي - يمكن أن يأتي من مصادر حيوانية (الأسماك واللحوم والأرز والبيض ومنتجات الألبان) ، وبكميات أقل من مصادر الخضراوات (الحبوب والبقوليات).

كم من البروتين نحتاجه؟

متطلبات البروتين للأستراليين تستند على مرحلة حياتنا والجنس. متوسط ​​الاحتياجات المقدرة للبالغين من العمر 19-70 هو 0.68g لكل كيلو من وزن الجسم بالنسبة للنساء و 0.75g لكل كيلو من وزن الجسم بالنسبة للرجال. وهذا يعني أن المرأة 65kg ستحتاج إلى 45g من البروتين يوميًا. سيحتاج 80kg رجل إلى 60g يوميًا.

يحتاج الرياضيون إلى المزيد من البروتين أثناء بناء و / أو إصلاح العضلات وكذلك النسيج الضام. متطلباتهم هي ضعفين إلى ثلاثة أضعاف كمية البروتين كالأشخاص العاديينأو بين 1.4-2g لكل كيلوغرام من وزن الجسم يوميًا.

هذه مجموعة كبيرة ، تسمح بالتنوع لهذا النوع من الرياضة التي تلعبها. قد يكون ذكر القدرة على التحمل من ذوات النخبة في النطاق الأدنى ، نظرًا لأن لديهم إطارًا صغيرًا للجسم وأقل عضلات. سيحتاج رياضي القوة ، مثل لاعب AFL ، أكثر من ذلك.

هل نحصل على ما يكفي؟

A مسح شنومكس-شنومكس وجد أن معظم الأستراليين كانوا يستهلكون ضعف الكمية الموصى بها من البروتين يوميًا. تقريبًا جميع (99٪) الأستراليين التقوا أو تجاوزوا الكمية المطلوبة.

تشير الأدلة أيضا معظم الرياضيين يستهلكون ما يكفي ، وبروتين أكثر من اللازم.

ولكن في الواقع ، فإن توقيت استهلاك البروتين هو الأهم لبناء العضلات. بعد أي نوع من التمارين أو نشاط الأداء الذي يؤدي إلى مقاومة العضلات ، يجب إعادة بناء العضلات. لتحقيق الحد الأقصى من التوليف يجب أن يكون هناك مستويات كافية من الأحماض الأمينية المتداولة في الدم. تم تحديد أنه لتحقيق هذا ، يجب استهلاك 20-30g من البروتين خلال 1-4 بعد التمرين.

هذا لا يعني أنك بحاجة إلى هزة بروتين بمجرد مغادرة صالة الألعاب الرياضية. إذا كنت تتناول الوجبة خلال هذا الإطار الزمني ، يمكنك أن تستهلك 20-30g في تلك الوجبة (التي سيستخدمها معظم الناس على أي حال). تتضمن هذه الكمية من البروتينات من المصادر الحيوانية ما يكفي من الأحماض الأمينية الحرجة ، ليسين ، اللازمة لإعادة تكوين العضلات.

هذا هو ما يعادل 120g من لحم البقر أو الدجاج ، وثلاثة بيض كامل ، 70g من الجبن الشيدر منخفضة الدهون أو 600ml من الحليب الخالي من الدسم. ولكن إذا نظرنا إلى الأطعمة النباتية ، فستحتاج إلى ما يعادل سبع شرائح من الخبز ، أو 350g من الفاصولياء أو العدس ، أو 900ml من حليب الصويا.

فهل يحتاج أي شخص إلى مكملات البروتين؟

قد تكون هناك حالات يسافر فيها رياضي أو لا يستطيع الوصول إلى وجبة خلال ساعات قليلة من التدريب. حتى يتمكنوا من تناول وجبة خفيفة على أحد الأطعمة المذكورة أعلاه ، أو تناول مكملات البروتين. وعادةً ما تكون مكملات البروتين أقل في الكيلوجول ، لذلك إذا كان أحد الرياضيين يستخدم نظامًا غذائيًا مقيَّدًا بالكيلوجول ، فستحصل على المزيد من الدقّة مقابل مكملات البروتين.

ولكن بالطبع لا تحتوي مكملات البروتين على المغذيات الأخرى التي تحتويها الأطعمة الطبيعية ، مثل الحديد والزنك من اللحوم الحمراء ، والكالسيوم من منتجات الألبان ، أو أحماض أوميغا - 3 الدهنية من الأسماك.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يحتاج المرء إلى موازنة خطر التلوث المحتمل المواد المحظورة مثل المواد المنشطة والمنشطات ومدرات البول. قد يكون ذلك مقصودًا من قبل المنتج (حيث يبدو أن منتجه أكثر فعالية في بناء العضلات) أو عرضيًا بسبب خطأ في عملية التصنيع أو باستخدام مكونات قد تكون ملوثة.

وقد أظهرت الدراسات التحليلية أيضا أنه قد يكون هناك تلوث مع المعادن الثقيلة الرصاص والزئبق والزرنيخ. الاعتبار الآخر للرياضي هو التأثير على جيب الورك والبيئة.

هل هناك أي ضرر في أخذ بروتين إضافي؟

تعتمد مسألة "جرعة زائدة من البروتين" جزئيا على كمية البروتين الإضافي التي يتم استهلاكها. يمكننا الحصول على مستويات ثقة معقولة تصل إلى 2-3g لكل كيلو من وزن الجسم يوميًا (لذا حول 200g لشخص 75kg) لا يوجد خطر على الصحة. ولكن كان هناك دائما قلق من أن المستويات المرتفعة من البروتين قد تسرع من مرض الكلى الكامن (خاصة إذا كان هناك تاريخ عائلي) مما يؤدي إلى فقدان قدرة الكلية بشكل تدريجي.

المحادثةيجب على الرياضيين ومحاربي نهاية الأسبوع توخي الحذر إذا كانوا يدرسون تناول البروتينات بعد 2-3g لكل كيلو من وزن الجسم في اليوم الواحد. في هذه الحالات ، يجب على الرياضيين طلب المشورة من اختصاصي تغذية رياضي معتمد.

نبذة عن الكاتب

إيفانجيلين مانتزيور ، محاضر في التغذية ، مدير برنامج التغذية وعلوم الأغذية ، جامعة جنوب استراليا

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = protein myth؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

MSNBC's Climate Forum 2020 Day 1 and 2
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
ما هو الحب؟ أن تكون لطيفًا مع جارك ونفسك
ما هو الحب: لطف مع الآخرين ونفسك
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
ما الذي يجعلك بالغ ناضجة؟
ما الذي يجعلك بالغ ناضجة؟
by يزيت شويتميكر
هل كارثة المناخ أقرب مما نعتقد؟
هل كارثة المناخ أقرب مما نعتقد؟
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com

Do Athletes Really Need Protein Supplements?

Do Athletes Really Need Protein Supplements?
Protein supplements are expensive, and might not be doing much for you.
Photo from www.shutterstock.com 

Protein supplements for athletes are literally sold by the bucketful. The marketing that accompanies them persistently promotes the attainment of buff biceps and six-pack abs.

In 2014, the protein supplement market in Australia was valued at A$545 million dollars, and is predicted to keep growing by about 10% per year. But do athletes really need them?

First, let’s consider what protein is and why we need it. Protein is an essential macronutrient in the diet. This means it provides energy to fuel the body but also has structural properties.

Protein is formed by smaller units called amino acids. Amino acids are used by the body to make muscle and other essential body proteins that are used in the immune system, and also to regulate many of the processes in the body.

Protein and amino acids indirectly affect performance by building muscle to improve performance. There is little evidence to suggest consuming extra protein directly aids physical performance in either endurance or resistance exercise.

Protein is fairly ubiquitous in the diet – it can come from animal sources (fish, meat, offal, eggs and dairy), and in smaller amounts from vegetable sources (cereals and legumes).

How much protein do we need?

Protein requirements for Australians are based on our life stage and gender. The estimated average requirement for an adult aged 19-70 is 0.68g per kilo of body weight for women and 0.75g per kilo of body weight for men. This means a 65kg woman will need about 45g of protein per day. An 80kg man will need about 60g a day.

Athletes need more protein as they are building and/or repairing muscle as well as connective tissue. Their requirements are two to three times the amount of protein as normal people, or between 1.4-2g per kilo of body weight per day.

This is a large range, allowing variation for the sort of sport they play. An elite endurance male may be in the lower range, as they have a smaller body frame and less musculature. A power sportsman, such as an AFL player, would require more.

Are we getting enough?

A 2011-12 survey found most Australians were consuming about double the recommended intake of protein per day. Almost all (99%) Australians met or surpassed the required intake.

Evidence also indicates most athletes consume enough, and often more, protein than they require.

But actually it’s the timing of consuming the protein that is most important to building muscle. After any sort of exercise or performance activity that results in muscle resistance, the muscle has to be rebuilt. For maximal synthesis to occur there needs to be adequate levels of amino acids circulating in the blood. It’s been determined that, to achieve this, around 20-30g of protein must be consumed within 1-4 hours after exercise.

This doesn’t mean you need to down a protein shake as soon as you leave the gym. If you’re having a meal within this time frame, you can consume the 20-30g in that meal (which most people would anyway). This amount of protein from animal sources includes enough of the critical amino acid, leucine, that is needed for muscle resynthesis.

This is the equivalent of 120g of beef or chicken, three whole eggs, 70g of reduced fat cheddar cheese or 600ml of skim milk. However if we look at plant-based foods, you would need the equivalent of seven slices of bread, 350g of kidney beans or lentils, or 900ml of soya milk.

So does anyone need protein supplements?

There may be situations where an athlete is travelling or can’t access a meal within a few hours of their training session. So they could either snack on one of the foods listed above, or take a protein supplement. Protein supplements will usually be lower in kilojoules, so if an athlete is on a kilojoule-restricted diet they’ll get more bang for their buck from a protein supplement.

But of course protein supplements don’t have the other nutrients that natural foods contain, such as iron and zinc from red meat, calcium from dairy, or omega-3 fatty acids from fish.

Additionally, one needs to weigh up the risk of potential contamination with banned substances like anabolic agents, stimulants, and diuretics. This may be intentional by the producer (as their product will appear to be more effective in building muscle) or accidental due to an error in the manufacturing process or using ingredients that may have been contaminated.

Analytical studies have also shown there may be contamination with the heavy metals lead, mercury and arsenic. The other consideration for the athlete is the impact on the hip pocket and environment.

Is there any harm in taking extra protein?

The question of “protein overdose” partially depends on exactly how much extra protein is being consumed. We can be reasonably confident levels up to 2-3g per kilo of body weight per day (so around 200g for a 75kg person) have no health risk. But there has always been concern higher levels of protein may accelerate underlying kidney disease (particularly if there is a family history) leading to a progressive loss of kidney capacity.

The ConversationAthletes and weekend warriors should exercise caution if they’re considering intakes of protein beyond 2-3g per kilo of body weight per day. In these situations, athletes should seek advice from an accredited sports dietitian.

About The Author

Evangeline Mantzioris, Lecturer in Nutrition, Program Director of Nutrition and Food Sciences, University of South Australia

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

Proteinaholic: How Our Obsession with Meat Is Killing Us and What We Can Do About It
healthAuthor: Garth Davis M.D.
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: HarperOne
List Price: $15.99

Buy Now

The Protein Myth: Significantly reducing the Risk of Cancer, Heart Disease, Stoke and Diabetes while Saving the Animals and the Planet
healthAuthor: David Gerow Irving
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Earth Books
List Price: $19.95

Buy Now

The Protein Myth: Discover The Truth About Protein
healthAuthor: Zeeshan Hanif
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook

Buy Now

enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}