التوابل عيد الميلاد التي قد تساعد على خفض نسبة الكولسترول في الدم

التوابل عيد الميلاد التي قد تساعد على خفض نسبة الكولسترول في الدم

القرفة هي نوع من التوابل الشعبية في وقت عيد الميلاد ، وتستخدم لنكهة كل شيء من النبيذ الساخن لفطيرة اليقطين. وعلى عكس العديد من أطعمة عيد الميلاد ، قد يكون هذا جيدًا بالنسبة لك.

القرفة ، لحاء شجرة دائمة الخضرة صغيرة ، وقد استخدم كدواء لعدة قرون ، إن لم يكن آلاف السنين. يستخدم على نطاق واسع في الطب الصيني التقليدي لعلاج ، من بين أمور أخرى ، ألم رضوي حاد و "ضعف الهضم". في الطب الهندي القديم يستخدم لعلاج التهاب المفاصل والإسهال وعدم انتظام الدورة الشهرية.

في الطب الغربي ، كان معروفًا منذ عقود بأن القرفة تحتوي على مواد نشطة بيولوجيًا (polyphenals) تعمل بطريقة مشابهة للأنسولين. ونتيجة لذلك ، فقد اقترح أن التوابل قد تكون مفيدة لمرضى السكر. ومع ذلك ، مراجعة منهجية للأدلة ، نشرت في رعاية مرضى السكري في 2008 ، لم تدعم استخدام القرفة للتحكم في الجلوكوز في المرضى الذين يعانون من النوع 1 أو نوع مرض السكري 2.

تأثير على نسبة الكوليسترول في الدم

الدراسات الحديثة ، على الرغم من ذلك ، تشير إلى أن القرفة قد تكون مفيدة في خفض مستويات الكوليسترول في الدم. ارتفاع الكولسترول هو مشكلة صحية عامة كبيرة لأنه يزيد من مخاطر أمراض القلب والسكتة الدماغية. ال منظمة الصحة العالمية تشير التقديرات إلى أن وفاة 2.6m - 4.5 ٪ من جميع الوفيات ، في جميع أنحاء العالم - ترتبط ارتفاع نسبة الكوليسترول في الدم.

A الأخيرة مراجعة فحصت التجارب العشوائية ذات الشواهد 13 ما إذا كان هناك ارتباط بين مكملات القرفة وتركيزات الدهون في الدم. كان هناك 750 المشاركين في المجموع - معظمهم من مرضى السكري. تناول كل منهم من 1 إلى 6 غرامات من مسحوق القرفة يوميا ، ما يصل إلى أربعة أشهر.

وجد مؤلفو المراجعة أن مكملات القرفة قللت بشكل كبير من مستوى الدهون الثلاثية في الدم ومستويات الكوليسترول الكلية ، ولكن لم يكن لها تأثير على مستويات الكولسترول الدهني منخفض الكثافة (LDL) والكوليسترول عالي الكثافة (HDL) ، بشكل منفصل. ومع ذلك ، عندما تمت إزالة إحدى الدراسات في "تحليل الحساسية" ، وجد أن مكملات القرفة ترتبط بشكل كبير مع ارتفاع في الكولسترول HDL ، ما يسمى الكولسترول الجيد.

آخر دراسة حديثة مقارنة مع قرفة مقابل همي (كبسولة تحتوي على الطحين) على الهنود الآسيويين 116 مع متلازمة التمثيل الغذائي. ووجد الباحثون أن هؤلاء في المجموعة التجريبية (الذين تلقوا ثلاثة غرامات من القرفة لأسابيع 16) لديهم تخفيضات كبيرة في إجمالي الكولسترول ، LDL الكولسترول والدهون الثلاثية ، مقارنة مع مجموعة التحكم (الغفل). كما أظهرت المجموعة التجريبية زيادة كبيرة في الكولسترول الجيد (HDL).


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


لذا ، وباختصار ، فإن أفضل الأدلة المتاحة تظهر أن القرفة قد تكون قادرة على الحد من نسبة الدهون في الدم لدى مرضى السكري أو متلازمة الأيض. للأسف ، لا توجد بيانات كافية لإثبات فوائد الأشخاص غير المصابين بالسكري ، وتحديدًا تلك التي تحتوي على نسبة عالية من الكوليسترول.

لكن هل هي آمنة؟

يعتبر القرفة آمن بالنسبة لمعظم الناس ، عند استخدامها بكميات صغيرة. ومع ذلك ، يحتوي التوابل على مركب يسمى الكومارين ، يمكن أن يسبب أو يزيد من مرض الكبد. (يرتبط الكومارين أيضًا ارتباطًا كيميائيًا بالعقاقير المخففة للدم ، الوارفارين.)

من هذين النوعين الشائعين من القرفة: قرفة القرفة (الإندونيسية ، الفيتنامية ، الصينية) وما يسمى بالقرفة الحقيقية (قرفة سيلان) ، القرفة الحقيقية لديها مستويات أقل بكثير من الكومارين (0.04٪) مقارنة بقرفة القرفة (4-8٪) .

الهيئة الأوروبية للسلامة الغذائية أوصى المدخول اليومي المسموح به الكومارين هو 0.1 mg لكل كيلوغرام من وزن الجسم. ومع ذلك ، لم تضع أي دراسات تجريبية طويلة الأمد سلامة إضافة القرفة ، ولا تناول القرفة مع الستاتين.

المحادثةإذا كنت ترغب في خفض مستويات الكوليسترول الكلي أو LDL ، هناك طرق فعالة وآمنة معروفة للقيام بذلك. وتشمل هذه العوامل فقدان الوزن ، والنشاط البدني ، وتناول نظام غذائي متوازن ومتنوع منخفض الدهون المشبعة وغير المشبعة.

نبذة عن الكاتب

Preethy D'Souza ، باحث مشارك ، وحدة أبحاث العلوم الاجتماعية (SSRU) ، قسم العلوم الاجتماعية (DSS) ، UCL Institute of Education ، UCL

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = القرفة، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

أصوات INNERSELF

الأكثر قراءة

البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
البحث عن حياة أكثر معنى وهدف
by فرانك باسكيوتي ، دكتوراه
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
كيف تهدد الخصوصية والأمن في هذه الخيارات اليومية
by آري تراختنبرغ وجيانلوكا سترينجيني وران كانيتي

A Christmas Spice That May Help Reduce Your Blood Cholesterol

A Christmas Spice That May Help Reduce Your Blood Cholesterol

Cinnamon is a popular spice at Christmas time, used to flavour everything from mulled wine to pumpkin pie. And, unlike many Christmas foods, this one might actually be good for you.

Cinnamon, the bark of a small evergreen tree, has been used as a medicine for centuries, if not millennia. It is widely used in traditional Chinese medicine for treating, among other things, acute traumatic pain and “weak digestion”. In Ayurvedic medicine it is used to treat arthritis, diarrhoea and menstrual irregularities.

In Western medicine, it has been known for decades that cinnamon contains biologically active substances (polyphenals) that act in a similar manner to insulin. As a result, it has been proposed that the spice might be beneficial for diabetics. However, a systematic review of the evidence, published in Diabetes Care in 2008, didn’t support using cinnamon for glucose control in patients with type 1 or type 2 diabetes.

Effect on blood cholesterol

Recent studies, though, suggest that cinnamon might be useful in lowering blood cholesterol levels. Raised cholesterol is a huge public health problem as it increases the risks of heart disease and stroke. The World Health Organisation estimates that 2.6m deaths – 4.5% of all deaths, worldwide – are related to high cholesterol.

A recent review of 13 randomised controlled trials investigated whether there was a link between cinnamon supplementation and blood lipid concentrations. There were 750 participants in total – most of them were diabetic. They each took one to six grams of cinnamon powder daily, up to four months.

The authors of the review found that cinnamon supplementation significantly reduced blood triglycerides and total cholesterol levels, but it had no effect on levels of low-density lipoprotein (LDL) cholesterol and high-density lipoprotein (HDL) cholesterol levels, separately. However, when one of the studies was removed in a “sensitivity analysis”, cinnamon supplementation was found to be significantly associated with an elevation in HDL cholesterol, so-called good cholesterol.

Another recent study compared supplementation with cinnamon versus a placebo (a capsule containing flour) on 116 Asian Indians with metabolic syndrome. The researchers found that those in the experimental group (the ones who received three grams of cinnamon for 16 weeks) had significant reductions in total cholesterol, LDL cholesterol and triglycerides, compared with the control group (placebo). The experimental group also showed a significant increase in HDL (good) cholesterol.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


So, in summary, the best available evidence shows that cinnamon may be able to reduce blood lipids in people with diabetes or metabolic syndrome. Unfortunately, there isn’t enough data to demonstrate benefits in non-diabetic people, specifically those with high cholesterol.

But is it safe?

Cinnamon is considered safe for most people, when used in small amounts. However, the spice contains a compound, called coumarin, that can cause or worsen liver disease. (Coumarin is also chemically related to the blood-thinning drug, warfarin.)

Of the two common types of cinnamon: cassia cinnamon (Indonesian, Vietnamese, Chinese) and so-called true cinnamon (Ceylon cinnamon), true cinnamon has much lower levels of coumarin (0.04%) compared with cassia cinnamon (4-8%).

The European Food Safety Authority’s recommended tolerable daily intake of coumarin is 0.1 mg per kilogram of body weight. However, no long-term experimental studies have established the safety of cinnamon supplementation, nor of taking cinnamon with statins.

The ConversationIf you want to lower your total or LDL cholesterol levels, there are known effective, safe ways of doing so. These include losing weight, being physically active and eating a balanced, varied diet that is low in saturated and trans fats.

About The Author

Preethy D'Souza, Research Associate, Social Science Research Unit (SSRU), Department of Social Science (DSS), UCL Institute of Education, UCL

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Cinnamon;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)