Comment le thé vert peut aider à traiter les troubles de la moelle osseuse

Comment le thé vert peut aider à traiter les troubles de la moelle osseuse

Les scientifiques étudient un composé présent dans le thé vert pour des complications médicales souvent mortelles associées à des troubles de la moelle osseuse.

Jan Bieschke de l'Université de Washington à St. Louis étudie comment les protéines se plient et se forment, et comment ces processus peuvent contribuer à une variété de maladies. Il dit que le composé épigallocatéchine-3-gallate (EGCG), un polyphénol présent dans les feuilles de thé vert, peut être particulièrement bénéfique pour les patients aux prises avec le myélome multiple et l'amylose.

Ces patients sont sujets à une maladie souvent fatale appelée amylose à chaînes légères, dans laquelle certaines parties des propres anticorps du corps se déforment et peuvent s'accumuler dans divers organes, y compris le cœur et les reins.

«L'idée ici est double: nous voulions mieux comprendre comment fonctionne l'amylose à chaînes légères, et comment le composé du thé vert affecte cette protéine spécifique», explique Bieschke, professeur adjoint de génie biomédical à la School of Engineering & Applied Science.

L'équipe de Bieschke a d'abord isolé des chaînes légères individuelles de neuf patients présentant des troubles de la moelle osseuse responsables de myélome multiple ou d'amylose, puis a mené des expériences en laboratoire pour déterminer comment le composé du thé vert affectait la protéine de la chaîne légère.

"Nous voulons tous que ce composé fonctionne chez un patient."

Bieschke a déjà examiné l'effet de EGCG dans la maladie de Parkinson et la maladie d'Alzheimer, et a constaté qu'il empêchait les accumulations dangereuses de protéines présentes dans les deux maladies. Son équipe a tiré une conclusion similaire dans cette étude: dans le laboratoire utilisant des échantillons de patients atteints de moelle osseuse, l'EGCG a transformé l'amyloïde à chaîne légère, empêchant la forme difforme de se répliquer et de s'accumuler dangereusement.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


"En présence de thé vert, les chaînes ont une structure interne différente", explique Bieschke. "L'ECGC a tiré la chaîne légère dans un autre type d'agrégat qui n'était pas toxique et qui ne formait pas de structures de fibrilles", comme cela arrive aux organes affectés par l'amylose.

Alors que Bieschke acquiert une meilleure compréhension des processus intracellulaires impliqués, ses partenaires à l'Université de Heidelberg travaillent en tandem avec lui, en menant des essais cliniques.

"Mon groupe étudie le mécanisme de la protéine dans un tube à essai; nous étudions comment cela fonctionne à un niveau fondamental. Dans le même temps, des essais cliniques menés au centre Amyloidosis de Heidelberg, à Alzheimer à Berlin et à la maladie de Parkinson en Chine, examinent le processus chez les personnes. Nous voulons tous que ce composé fonctionne chez un patient. "

La recherche apparaît dans le Journal of Biological Chemistry.

La source: Université de Washington à St. Louis

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = santé du thé vert; maxresults = 4}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

suivez InnerSelf sur

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Recevez le dernier par courriel

{Emailcloak = off}

How Green Tea Can Help Treat Bone Marrow Disorders

How Green Tea Can Help Treat Bone Marrow Disorders

Scientists are investigating a compound found in green tea for often-fatal medical complications associated with bone-marrow disorders.

Jan Bieschke of Washington University in St. Louis studies how proteins fold and shape themselves, and how these processes can contribute to a variety of diseases. He says the compound epigallocatechine-3-gallate (EGCG), a polyphenol found in green tea leaves, may be of particular benefit to patients struggling with multiple myeloma and amyloidosis.

These patients are susceptible to a frequently fatal condition called light chain amyloidosis, in which parts of the body’s own antibodies become misshapen and can accumulate in various organs, including the heart and kidneys.

“The idea here is twofold: We wanted to better understand how light chain amyloidosis works, and how the green tea compound affects this specific protein,” says Bieschke, assistant professor of biomedical engineering at the School of Engineering & Applied Science.

Bieschke’s team first isolated individual light chains from nine patients with bone marrow disorders that caused multiple myeloma or amyloidosis, then ran lab experiments to determine how the green tea compound affected the light chain protein.

“We all want this compound to work in a patient.”

Bieschke previously examined EGCG’s effect in both Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s disease, and found it prevented dangerous buildups of protein present in both diseases. His team had a similar conclusion in this study: In the lab using samples from bone marrow patients, the EGCG transformed light chain amyloid, preventing the misshapen form from replicating and accumulating dangerously.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“In the presence of green tea, the chains have a different internal structure,” Bieschke says. “The ECGC pulled the light chain into a different type of aggregate that wasn’t toxic and didn’t form fibril structures,” as happens to organs affected by amyloidosis.

While Bieschke is gaining a greater understanding at the intracellular processes involved, his partners at the University of Heidelberg are working in tandem with him, running clinical trials.

“My group is looking at the mechanism of the protein in a test tube; we are studying how it works on a foundational level. At the same time, clinical trials at the Amyloidosis Center in Heidelberg, with Alzheimer’s in Berlin and with Parkinson’s in China examine the process in people. We all want this compound to work in a patient.”

The research appears in the Journal of Biological Chemistry.

Source: Washington University in St. Louis

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=green tea health;maxresults=4}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)