علم الطاقة من المواد الغذائية: يين ويانغ للحيوية والصحة

علم الطاقة من المواد الغذائية: يين ويانغ للحيوية والصحة

كل واحد منا يظهر ماكياجنا الخاص ، وهذا يحدد التوازن بين الأطعمة التي تعزز حيوية والصحة مع الأطعمة التي تزيل السموم والقضاء على العوامل السرطانية. كما أن ديناميكيات اليين واليانغ من الأطعمة المختلفة وكيفية ارتباطها بكل شخص وشبكات الطاقة الخمسة في الطب الصيني التقليدي - وهي أمراض الكلى والطحال والكبد والرئة والقلب - هي أيضا ذات أهمية.

سواء كان لدينا نقص أو كان لدينا فائض في أي من هذه الشبكات هو أيضا مهم جدا. على سبيل المثال، فإن الشخص الذي هو نقص الدم يحتاج الكلى والطحال الأطعمة لبناء الدم، وينبغي أن يأكل البيض والجمبري والعسل الأسود، واللحوم البرية مثل البيسون، جنبا إلى جنب مع الأطعمة بالدم واللمف تنقية مثل البنجر والجرجير، والخضر نبات القراص و الهندباء.

ما لم تكن تعاني من نقص شديد في الدم ، واللحوم ، واللحوم الحمراء على وجه الخصوص ، لديها العديد من العوائق فيما يتعلق بسلوك الجينات والسرطان والأمراض المزمنة الأخرى. إن تناول كميات قليلة من اللحم البارد أو العضوي لا يمثل مشكلة في حد ذاته ، ولكن تناول كميات كبيرة من اللحوم التجارية (أكثر من ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع) يمكن أن يكون مشكلة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يمكن أن يؤدي تناول اللحوم المطبوخة جيدا والمعدّة في درجات حرارة عالية ، والتي تحتوي على مستويات عالية من المطفرات بشكل مؤكد ، إلى الإصابة بالسرطان وتعزيزه بالإضافة إلى تقدم عملية الشيخوخة. عموما ، تم الإبلاغ عن استهلاك اللحوم فيما يتعلق بمخاطر السرطان في أكثر من مائة دراسة وبائية من العديد من البلدان ذات الأنظمة الغذائية المتنوعة.

قد يحتاج شخص آخر إلى التأكيد على الأطعمة التي تقوي وتطهر الكلى ، مثل الكرفس ، الخضر الهندباء ، والهليون في الربيع ، أو البطيخ خلال فصل الصيف. عندما يكبر الشخص ، كجزء من عملية الشيخوخة الطبيعية ، يتم استنزاف احتياطيات الطاقة في الكليتين. ويمكن استعادة هذه الطاقة من خلال اتخاذ العلاجات العشبية (صيغ adaptogen * بالإضافة إلى الكلى تشى * - عشب الأعشاب) التي tonify الكلى. يمكن أن يكون للأغذية أيضًا تأثير إيجابي على صحة الكليتين.

[*الكلمة ادابتوغن يشير إلى غير محددة ، وتنظيم الغدد الصماء ، والآثار تعديل الجهاز المناعي لبعض النباتات التي تزيد من قدرة الشخص على الحفاظ على التوازن الأمثل في مواجهة الإجهاد الجسدي أو العاطفي. توفر هذه العوامل النباتية ترياقًا مثاليًا لأوجه القصور في الحياة التي تسببها متطلبات الحياة العصرية.

[* Qi (aka Chi، Life Force): الطاقة التوجيهية في جميع الكائنات الحية التي تعتبر حيوية للتكيف والبقاء. إن قوة الحياة هي أنفاس ومصدر كل الطاقة والذكاء الفطري الذي يوجه الطاقة ، دائمًا بقصد الحماية والاستجابة والبقاء ، بالإضافة إلى الشفاء والتعافي.]


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الأطعمة التي تدعم شبكة الكلى تشى

تتضمن شبكة Kidney Qi جميع الإجراءات الفيزيولوجية للجهاز البولي والكلى بالإضافة إلى أنظمة الغدد الصم العصبية والغدد الصماء. تعتبر شبكة Kidney Qi وشبكة Spleen Qi مركزية في تعزيز الحيوية الأساسية ، نقطة البداية والنهاية المركزية في علاج السرطان والوقاية منه بالإضافة إلى الأمراض المزمنة الأخرى. الكلى ، مثل جميع أعضاء الجسم ، تخزن الطاقة ، أو الجوهر.

بما أن الكليتين هما نظام عضلات يين ، فهما يدوران حول الرطوبة ، لذا اشرب الكثير من الماء. كل عنصر من العناصر الخمسة في الطب الصيني التقليدي (TCM) له نكهة منسوبة إليه ، والعنصر المائي الذي يحكم الكلى هو مالح. وتشمل الأطعمة المالحة الموصى بها ميسو وملح البحر ، والتاماري ، والسلوجروت الخام المملح أو الكيمتشي (الخضروات الكورية المستزرعة).

لدعم عنصر الماء ، أوصي بصحة كمية من الملح ، لأن الكثير سيكون له تأثير معاكس. تحقق للتأكد من أنك لا تحصل على الكثير ، وأنك محل محلول ملح الطعام التجاري مع ملح البحر غير المكرر. كما أن خضروات البحر (الأعشاب البحرية) والملح غير المكرر عالي الجودة مفيد أيضاً لنقص الكلى يانغ (انخفاض ضغط الدم ، التبول المتكرر ، جفاف الجلد ، إلخ).

لأن الفاصوليا هي على شكل الكلى وكذلك البذور مع احتمالات حياة جديدة ، منذ فترة طويلة تعتبر هذه الأطعمة خاصة مغذية للكلى. أنها تشمل الفاصوليا السوداء ، الفاصوليا ، ومعظم الفاصوليا بشكل عام. كذلك ، فإن الأطعمة الزرقاء والسوداء هي الأفضل ، بما في ذلك العنب البري ، والتوت ، والتوت ، والفاصوليا السوداء - الألوان الزرقاء والسوداء تتوافق مع عنصر الماء في الكليتين.

بين الخضار ، وتناول البطاطا الحلوة والبطاطا والكرفس ، والهليون ، والفاصوليا الخيطية - كل الأمثلة على الأطعمة الجيدة لأمراض الكلى. فالأسماك ، والروبيان ، والأعشاب البحرية جميعها تدعم عنصر الماء ، مثلما تفعل أنواع مختلفة من البذور ، بما في ذلك الكتان ، واليقطين ، وعباد الشمس ، والسمسم الأسود - وكلها مرتبطة بالخصوبة والنمو ، والذي يحكمه الكلى تشى. المكسرات هي البذور. يوصى بشكل خاص بالجوز والكستناء في Kidney Qi. وأخيرًا ، تعتبر كميات صغيرة من المنتجات الحيوانية مثل لحم الضأن والبيض والجبن ذات أهمية خاصة إذا كان دمك ناقصًا أيضًا.

الأطعمة التي تدعم شبكة الطحال تشى

علم الطاقة من المواد الغذائية: يين ويانغ للحيوية والصحةفي الطب الصيني التقليدي ، يتحمل سبلين تشى مسؤولية استخراج الغذاء من الغذاء وأيضاً من أجل دعم وي تشى أو الطاقة المناعية. الطحال هو أكبر الغدة اللمفاوية ويخضع للازدحام أو الركود.

الأطعمة التي تغذي وتقوي شبكة الطحال تشى هي الاحترار ، والمواءمة ، والاسترخاء ، والحلوى ، والترطيب. وتشمل بعض هذه البطاطا والبطاطا الحلوة والجزر (المطبوخ مع الزنجبيل) وجذر الكرفس والبنجر المطبوخ مع الملفوف (الأبيض والأرجواني ، أو الملفوف الصيني / نابا) ، وبازلاء السناغ البازلاء والبازلاء. من بين المأكولات البحرية ، يوصى بسلمون السلمون البري و / أو سمك الهلبوت من ألاسكا أو المياه النظيفة الأخرى. التوابل الجيدة للطحال تشى هي بذور الكراوية أو اليانسون (أو الشمر) والكزبرة. من بين أطعمة الحبوب ، الشعير (خصوصا الشعير المقوس) ، والدخن ، والشوفان ، والأرز ، والفاصوليا السوداء والبيضاء ، والحمص ، والفاصوليا ، كلها أطعمة مغذية للطحال. التين ممتازة كذلك.

الأطعمة التي تدعم شبكة الكبد تشى

من وجهة نظر الطب الغربي الحديث ، فإن الكبد هو أكبر عضو داخلي في الجسم. يختلف وزنه من حوالي 2 ونصف إلى خمسة أرطال عند البالغين الأصحاء ، وقد يصل إلى نسبة 25 في الدم في الكبد في أي وقت. يعتبر الكبد عضوًا معقدًا من حيث أنه يلعب دورًا حيويًا في تنظيم العمليات التي تبقيك على قيد الحياة وتؤدي الكثير من المهام المعقدة التي تعتبر ضرورية لأداء وظائف الجسم بكاملها.

فقط عن كل ما تبتلعه وتستوعب في مجرى الدم سوف تمر في نهاية المطاف من خلال الكبد. يعمل 24 ساعة في اليوم ويؤدي مجموعة واسعة من الأنشطة التي تنطوي على التنظيم ، والتمثيل الغذائي ، والتوليف ، وإزالة السموم. بعض من هذا يحدث خلال النهار ، عندما يعمل الكبد في عمليات تقويضية (الانهيار) ، ولكن الكثير مما يفعله الكبد في طريقة إزالة السموم يحدث أثناء نومنا ، لأنه يعيد البناء ، عملية الابتنائية. هذا هو السبب في أن النوم ضروري لوظيفة الكبد المثلى. في TCM ، يرتبط الكبد Qi بعنصر الخشب ، مع الحامض ، والغضب.

الأطعمة التي تبرد وتدعم وظائف الكبد هي عادة خضار داكنة خضراء ، مثل الكرنب ، والكرنب ، والسبانخ ، وقمم اللفت ، قمم البنجر ، الهندباء والخس ، والخس والخس ، endive ، radicchio ، والجرجير. تحتوي الأطعمة المرة على العديد من المغذيات النباتية المهمة ، وإذا كان بإمكاننا تناول نصف كوب على الأقل في اليوم ، أعتقد أن هذا سيقلل من الإصابة بالعديد من الأمراض المزمنة. الأطعمة الأخرى التي تساعد في صحة الكبد تشمل التفاح والخرشوف والتوت والخيار والليمون والكمثرى (خاصة للمرارة) والفجل.

الأطعمة التي تدعم شبكة الرئة تشى

يمكن أن تساعد بعض الأطعمة على شفاء شبكة Lung Qi. على سبيل المثال ، الكمثرى المطبوخة مع العسل والزنجبيل مفيدة جدا ، وكذلك الفطر الأبيض وجذور اللوتس (متوفرة في المتاجر الآسيوية). عموما ، جميع الخضر الطازجة جيدة للرئتين لأن الطعام الأخضر غني بالكلوروفيل ، مما يحسن امتصاص الأكسجين الخلوي. نبات القراصقراص dioica) هي غذائي الأخضر المفضل في العالم ، وهي الأفضل لجميع الأطعمة لتقوية الرئتين. ألفريد فوغل ، الطبيب السويسري الشهير ورائد في مجال الصحة الطبيعية ، كان جميع مرضاه الذين يعانون من ضعف الرئتين يستهلكون نباتات القراص في الربيع عندما يكونون صغارًا وأفضلهم للطهي وتناول الطعام ، وقد شمل القراص في الشاي وفي شكل مستخلص السائل. الثوم والبصل والخضروات الجذرية والخضراوات الخضراء في الحساء هي أيضا رائعة للرئتين.

الأطعمة الغنية بالكاروتينات أيضا تحسين شبكة الرئة تشى. الفاكهه هي واحدة من هذه المواد الغذائية ، وهي لا تحتوي على وفرة من الكاروتينات فحسب ، بل أيضا ترطّب الرئتين. الكاروتينات لوتين وزيكسانثين يعزز وظيفة الرئة. يبدو أن تناول كمية كبيرة من الكاروتينات يقلل من علامات شيخوخة الرئة بنحو سنة إلى سنتين ، وفقاً لدراسة سكانية واحدة. وأظهرت دراسة أخرى أن مستويات المصل عالية الكاروتينات ألفا كاروتين ، بيتا كاروتين ، واللايكوبين كانت مرتبطة بشكل إيجابي مع وظائف الرئة في كبار السن.

تم العثور على الكاروتينات في الخضار الورقية الخضراء ، وبيتا كاروتين هو الكاروتينويد السائد. بين الفواكه والخضار ذات اللون البرتقالي مثل الجزر والمشمش والمانجو واليام والاسكواش الشتاء ، وتركيزات بيتا كاروتين عالية. الخضراوات الصفراء لها تركيزات أعلى من الكاروتينات الصفراء (xanthophylls) ، وبالتالي نشاط أقل من فيتامين (أ) من بيتا كاروتين. ومع ذلك ، فإن بعض هذه المركبات ، مثل اللوتين ، لها فوائد صحية كبيرة ، يحتمل أن تكون بسبب آثارها المضادة للأكسدة. تحتوي الخضراوات والفواكه الحمراء والأرجوانية مثل الطماطم ، والملفوف الأحمر ، والتوت ، والخوخ على جزء كبير من الكاروتينات غير النشطة بفيتامين أ.

تعتبر البقوليات والحبوب والبذور مصادر مهمة من الكاروتينات. كما توجد الكاروتينات في الأطعمة الحيوانية المختلفة مثل صفار البيض والسلمون والمحار ، بالإضافة إلى التوابل مثل البابريكا والزعفران.

الأطعمة التي تدعم شبكة القلب تشى

وفقا ل TCM ، فصل الصيف هو الفصل المرتبط بالقلب Qi ، الذي يمثله عنصر النار ولون أحمر. الأطعمة المريرة والتبريد تغذي القلب تشى. جرب هندباء الخضر ، سلطة arugula مع الفجل ، وبعض السردين مع الليمون وزيت الزيتون. وتشمل الأطعمة الشافية الأخرى لشبكة Heart Qi السمك الغني بالأوميجا 3 والعدس الأحمر والراوند والخوخ الطازج والتمور.

النظام الغذائي الأمثل للوقاية من أمراض القلب المزمنة يجب أن يأخذ في الحسبان عاملين مهمين (إجهاد):

1. نوع العمل الذي تقوم به. العمل البدني أو النشاط في العمل (بالمقارنة مع العمل في مكتب أو في عمل مستقر) يغير كمية البروتين الذي يجب أن تتناوله.

2. السموم التي تتعرض لها. الشخص الذي يعمل في صالون للتجميل ، أو الذي يدير آلة تصوير ، أو يضع سجادة أو يقوم بتثبيت دريوال ، أو يعيش أو يعمل في مدينة مزدحمة ملوثة ، يتعرض لتعرض متزايد للسموم البيئية. مثل هذا الشخص يحتاج إلى نظام غذائي غني بمضادات السموم - أغذية واقية ومركبات نباتية مثل مركبات الفلافونويد وغيرها من الفينولات والكاروتينات والمركبات الكبريتية المعروفة باسم isothiocynanates ، الموجودة في براعم بروكسل ، الجرجير ، والفجل.

مقتبسة وطبعها بإذن من الناشر،
شفاء فنون الصحافة، وبصمة من شركة التقاليد الداخلية
© 2013 by Donald R. Yance. www.InnerTraditions.com


ويتم تكييف هذا المقال بإذن من كتاب:

Adaptogens in Medical Herbalism: Elite Herbs and Natural Compounds for Mastering Stress، Aging، and Chronic Disease ... by Donald R. Yance، CN، MH، RH (AHG)

Adaptogens in Medical Herbalism: Elite Herbs and Natural Compounds for Mastering Stress، Aging، and Chronic Disease ... by Donald R. Yance، CN، MH، RH (AHG)من خلال نسج الحكمة القديمة للأعشاب الطبية وأحدث الأبحاث العلمية حول السرطان والشيخوخة والتغذية ، تكشف عالمة الأعشاب الطبية الشهيرة وأخصائية التغذية السريرية دونالد يانس عن كيفية السيطرة على الإجهاد وتحسين مستويات الطاقة ومنع الأمراض التنكسية والعمر بأمان مع أعشاب النخبة المعروفة باسم adaptogens. التأكيد على القيم الروحية، وممارسة الرياضة، واتباع نظام غذائي بالإضافة إلى العلاجات العشبية والمكملات الغذائية، ويستكشف برنامج لايف ستايل الكامل المؤلف كيفية تعزيز إنتاج الطاقة في الجسم، وإخضاع proinflammatory الدولة التي تضع الأساس لكل الأمراض التنكسية تقريبا، تأخذك من مجرد قيد الحياة لتزدهر.

معلومات / ترتيب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


عن المؤلف

دونالد ر Yance، مؤلف كتاب: Adaptogens في أعشاب طبية الطبيةدونالد ر. يانس الابن ، CN ، MH ، RH (AHG) ، هو خبير الأعشاب الرئيسي السريرية وأخصائي التغذية المعتمدة. لقد كرس حياته لتطوير نهج فريد من نوعه للصحة والشفاء يجمع بين شغفه بأحدث الأبحاث العلمية وحكمة التقاليد القديمة للشفاء. اهتمامات دوني الطويلة في الطب النباتي ، والموسيقى ، والمسيحية الشرقية ، واللاهوت الفرنسيسكاني ينشط عمله ، مما أدى إلى نهج للشفاء الذي هو رحيمة ومبدعة وذكية وملهمة. وهو مؤسس مركز ميديري للشفاء الطبيعي في آشلاند ، أوريجون ، رئيس وصانع منتجات ناتورا الصحية ، ومؤسس ورئيس مؤسسة Mederi. زيارة موقعه على الانترنت في http://www.donnieyance.com

اقرأ أكثر. مقالات من هذا المؤلف.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

The Energetics of Food: The Yin & Yang of Vitality & Health

The Energetics of Food: The Yin & Yang of Vitality & Health

Each of us manifests our own energetic makeup, and this determines the balance of foods that promote vitality And Health with the foods that detoxify and eliminate cancerous agents. The dynamics of the yin and yang aspects of different foods and how they relate to each person and the five energy networks in traditional Chinese medicine — that of the Kidneys, Spleen, Liver, Lung, and Heart — are also significant.

Whether or not we are deficient or have an excess in any of these networks is also very important. For example, a person who is blood deficient needs blood-building Kidney and Spleen foods, and should eat eggs, shrimp, blackstrap molasses, and wild meat like bison, along with blood- and lymph-purifying foods like beets, watercress, nettle greens, and chicory.

Unless you are extremely blood deficient, meat, and red meat in particular, has many drawbacks with regard to gene behavior and cancer as well as other chronic diseases. Moderate intake of wild or organic grass-fed meat really isn’t a problem, but high intake (more than three times a week) of commercial meat can be problematic.

In addition, consuming well-done meat cooked at high temperatures, which contains high mutagen levels for sure, can cause and promote cancer as well as advance the aging process. Overall, meat consumption in relation to cancer risk has been reported in over a hundred epidemiological studies from many countries with diverse diets.

Another person may need to emphasize foods that strengthen and cleanse the kidneys, such as celery, dandelion greens, and asparagus in the spring, or watermelon during the summer. As a person gets older, as part of the natural aging process, the energy reserves of the kidneys are depleted. This energy can be restored by taking herbal remedies (adaptogen* formulas plus Kidney Qi*–enhancing herbs) that tonify the kidneys. Food can also have a positive impact on the health of the kidneys.

[*The word adaptogen refers to the nonspecific, endocrine-regulating, immune-modulating effects of certain plants that increase a person's ability to maintain optimal balance in the face of physical or emotional stress. These botanical agents provide the perfect antidote for the life-robbing deficiencies in vitality created by the demands of modern life.]

[*Qi (a.k.a. Chi, Life Force): The directive energy within all living beings that is vital to adaptation and survival. The life force is the breath and source of all energy and the innate intelligence that directs energy, always with the intent to protect, respond, and survive, as well as heal and recover.]


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Foods That Support the 
Kidney Qi Network

The Kidney Qi network involves all physiological actions of the kidney-urinary system plus the neuroendocrine and endocrine systems. The Kidney Qi network and the Spleen Qi network are central to the enhancement of core vitality, the central starting and ending point in treating and preventing cancer as well as other chronic diseases. The kidneys, like all the body’s organs, store energy, or essence.

Since the kidneys are a yin organ system, they are all about moisture, so drink plenty of water. Each of the five elements in TCM (Traditional Chinese Medicine) has a flavor attributed to it, and the water element that governs Kidney Qi is salty. Recommended salty foods include miso, sea salt, tamari, and salted raw sauerkraut or kimchi (Korean cultured vegetables).

To support the water element, I recommend a healthy amount of salt, as too much will have the opposite effect. Check to make sure you are not getting too much, and that you replace commercial table salt with unrefined sea salt. Sea vegetables (seaweeds) and high-quality unrefined salt are also good for Kidney yang deficiency (low blood pressure, frequent urination, dry skin, etc.).

Because beans are kidney-shaped as well as seeds with potential for new life, these foods have long been considered especially nourishing to the kidneys; they include black beans, kidney beans, and most beans in general. As well, blue and black foods are best, including blueberries, blackberries, mulberries, and black beans — the colors blue and black correspond to the water element of the kidneys.

Among vegetables, eat sweet potatoes and yams, celery, asparagus, and string beans — all examples of good Kidney Qi foods. Fish, shrimp, and seaweeds all support the water element, as do various seeds, including flax, pumpkin, sunflower, and black sesame — all related to fertility and growth, which is governed by Kidney Qi. Nuts are seeds. Walnuts and chestnuts are particularly recommended for Kidney Qi. Finally, small amounts of animal products such as lamb, eggs, and cheese are especially important if your blood is also deficient.

Foods That Support the 
Spleen Qi Network

The Energetics of Food: The Yin & Yang of Vitality & HealthIn TCM, Spleen Qi is responsible for extracting nourishment from food and also for supporting Wei Qi, or immune energy. The spleen is the largest lymph gland and subject to congestion or stagnation.

Foods that nourish and strengthen the Spleen Qi network are warming, harmonizing, relaxing, sweet, and moistening. Some of these include sweet potatoes and yams, carrots (cooked with ginger), celery root, beets cooked with cabbage (white, purple, or Chinese/Napa cabbage), sugar snap peas, and peas. Among seafood, wild salmon and/or halibut from Alaska or other clean waters is recommended. Good spices for Spleen Qi are caraway seed, anise (or fennel), and coriander. Among the grain foods, barley (especially pearled barley), millet, oats, rice, black and white beans, chickpeas, and fava beans are all Spleen-nourishing foods. Figs are excellent as well.

Foods That Support the 
Liver Qi Network

From the perspective of modern Western medicine, the liver is the largest internal organ in the body. Its weight varies from roughly two and a half to five pounds in a healthy adult, and up to 25 percent of the blood may be in the liver at any given time. The liver is a complex organ in that it plays a vital role in regulating the processes that keep you alive and performs many complicated tasks that are essential to the proper functioning of the entire body.

Just about everything you swallow and absorb into the bloodstream will eventually pass through the liver. It works twenty-four hours a day and performs a wide range of activities involving regulation, metabolism, synthesis, and detoxification. Some of this occurs during the day, when the liver functions in catabolic processes (breaking down), but much of what the liver does in the way of detoxification occurs while we are sleeping, as it rebuilds, an anabolic process. This is why sleep is essential for optimal liver function. In TCM, Liver Qi is associated with the wood element, with sourness, and with anger.

Foods that cool and support liver function are generally dark green vegetables that are bitter, such as kale, collards, spinach, turnip tops, beet tops, dandelion greens, romaine lettuce, endive, radicchio, and arugula. Bitter foods contain many important phytonutrients, and if we could eat at least a half cup a day, I believe this would lower the incidence of many chronic diseases. Other foods that aid in liver health include apples, artichokes, berries, cucumbers, lemons, pears (specific for the gall bladder), and radishes.

Foods That Support the 
Lung Qi Network

Certain foods can help heal the Lung Qi network. For instance, pears cooked with honey and ginger are very beneficial, as are white mushrooms and lotus root (available at Asian stores). Generally, all fresh greens are good for the lungs because green food is rich in chlorophyll, which improves cellular oxygen uptake. Nettle greens (Urtica dioica) are my favorite green food in the world, and they are the best of all foods for strengthening the lungs. Alfred Vogel, the famous Swiss doctor and pioneer in natural health, had all his patients with weak lungs consume nettle greens in the spring when they are young and best for cooking and eating, and he included nettles in tea and in fluid extract form. Garlic and onions, root vegetables, and green vegetables in soups also are wonderful for the lungs.

Foods rich in carotenoids also improve the Lung Qi network. Persimmons are one such food, and they not only contain an abundance of carotenoids, but also moisten the lungs. The carotenoids lutein and zeaxanthin enhance lung function. High carotenoid intake appears to reduce the signs of lung aging by about one to two years, according to one population-based study. Another study showed that high serum levels of the carotenoids alpha-carotene, beta-carotene, and lycopene were positively associated with lung function in the elderly.

Carotenoids are found in green leafy vegetables, and beta-carotene is the predominant carotenoid. Among orange-colored fruits and vegetables such as carrots, apricots, mangoes, yams, and winter squash, beta-carotene concentrations are high. Yellow vegetables have higher concentrations of yellow carotenoids (xanthophylls), hence a lower pro–vitamin A activity than beta-carotene. However, some of these compounds, such as lutein, have significant health benefits, potentially due to their antioxidant effects. The red and purple vegetables and fruits such as tomatoes, red cabbage, berries, and plums contain a large portion of non-vitamin A–active carotenoids.

Legumes, grains, and seeds also are significant sources of carotenoids. Carotenoids are also found in various animal foods such as egg yolks, salmon, and shellfish, in addition to such spices as paprika and saffron.

Foods That Support the 
Heart Qi Network

According to TCM, summer is the season linked to Heart Qi, which is represented by the element fire and the color red. Bitter and cooling foods are nourishing to Heart Qi. Try dandelion greens, an arugula salad with radishes, and some sardines with lemon and olive oil. Other healing foods for the Heart Qi network include omega-3-rich fish, red lentils, rhubarb, and fresh plums and dates.

The optimal diet for the prevention of chronic heart disease would also need to take into account two important exogenous (stress) factors:

1. The type of work you do. Physical labor or being active on the job (as compared to working in an office or in a sedentary job) changes the amount of protein you should be eating.

2. The toxins you are exposed to. The person who works in a beauty salon, or who runs a photocopier, or who lays carpet or installs drywall, or who lives or works in a crowded, polluted city experiences an increased exposure to environmental toxins. Such a person would need a diet rich in antitoxins — protective foods and plant compounds such as flavonoids and other phenols, carotenoids, and sulfur compounds known as isothiocynanates, found in Brussels sprouts, watercress, and horseradish.

Excerpted and reprinted with permission of the publisher,
Healing Arts Press, an imprint of Inner Traditions Inc.
©2013 by Donald R. Yance. www.InnerTraditions.com


This article is adapted with permission from the book:

Adaptogens in Medical Herbalism: Elite Herbs and Natural Compounds for Mastering Stress, Aging, and Chronic Disease... by Donald R. Yance, CN, MH, RH(AHG)

Adaptogens in Medical Herbalism: Elite Herbs and Natural Compounds for Mastering Stress, Aging, and Chronic Disease... by Donald R. Yance, CN, MH, RH(AHG)Weaving together the ancient wisdom of herbalism and the most up-to-date scientific research on cancer, aging, and nutrition, renowned medical herbalist and clinical nutritionist Donald Yance reveals how to master stress, improve energy levels, prevent degenerative disease, and age gracefully with the elite herbs known as adaptogens. Emphasizing spirituality, exercise, and diet in addition to herbal treatments and nutritional supplements, the author's complete lifestyle program explores how to enhance energy production in the body and subdue the proinflammatory state that lays the groundwork for nearly every degenerative disease, taking you from merely surviving to thriving.

Info/Order this book on Amazon.


About the Author

Donald R. Yance, author of the book: Adaptogens in Medical HerbalismDonald R. Yance Jr., CN, MH, RH(AHG), is a clinical master herbalist and certified nutritionist. He has devoted his life to developing a unique approach to health and healing that elegantly combines his passion for the latest scientific research with the wisdom of ancient healing traditions. Donnie’s longstanding interests in botanical medicine, music, and Eastern Christian, Franciscan theology infuse his work, resulting in an approach to healing that is compassionate, creative, intelligent, and inspiring. He is the founder of the Mederi Centre for Natural Healing in Ashland, Oregon, the president and formulator of Natura Health Products, and founder and president of the Mederi Foundation. Visit his website at http://www.donnieyance.com

Read more articles by this author.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}