كيفية خفض الملح دون خسارة نكهة لذيذة

كيفية خفض الملح دون خسارة نكهة لذيذة
judoman / شترستوك

أحد أهداف حكومة المملكة المتحدة استراتيجية صحية جديدة هو الملح. يحتاج جسمك إلى الملح ليعمل بشكل طبيعي ، ولكن يؤدي وجود فائض إلى ارتفاع ضغط الدم وزيادة في خطر الإصابة السكتة الدماغية وأمراض القلب. وبما أن الوقاية خير من العلاج ، فإن لدى الحكومة خطط طموحة لجعل الجمهور يستهلك كميات أقل من الملح.

التوصية بالملح هو الحد من 6g في اليوم فقط (حول ملعقة صغيرة). ومع ذلك ، فإن متوسط ​​المتحصل أقرب إلى 8g في اليوم. ال الاحصائيات تشير أنه إذا تم تحقيق الهدف يوم 6g ، فإنه سيتم منع وفاة 8,000 المبكرة كل عام وحفظ NHS أكثر من 570m ، سنوياً.

لكن الطعام بدون ملح غير لطيف ، وغالبًا ما تكون المنتجات قليلة الملح مقارنةً بنظيراتها القياسية. يمنحنا الملح في الطعام مذاق الشفاه المرغوب فيه للغاية على اللسان الذي يجعل الطعام ممتعًا وممتعًا. كما أنه يعزز نكهة الطعام ، وهو ما نشعر به عندما نمزج الأذواق من اللسان مع العبير الذي نكتشفه مع أنوفنا.

لذا ، هل يمكننا تقليل الملح في نظامنا الغذائي مع الاحتفاظ بجميع النكهات اللذيذة التي نتوق إليها؟ هذه مشكلة ظلت الصناعة الغذائية تعمل لسنوات.

خلال السنوات الأخيرة من 15 ، شهدت الجهود المتضافرة من قبل الصناعة وحملات الصحة العامة انخفاض متوسط ​​استهلاك الملح في البلاد بنسبة 10٪. جزء من هذا الانخفاض يرجع إلى حقيقة أننا أصبحنا أكثر اعتياداً ببطء على الطعام مع كمية أقل من الملح ، وجزء منه بسبب الأبحاث لفهم المزيد عن مفهوم الملوحة.

كيفية خفض الملح دون خسارة نكهة لذيذة
مجموعة متنوعة من التوابل والأعشاب (Pixabay)

الحيل للتجارة

أحد المقاربات التي اتخذتها صناعة الأغذية هو تغيير حجم وشكل جسيمات الملح بحيث يصل المزيد منها إلى المستقبلات على براعم التذوق على اللسان. هذا يعالج نقص الطعم المالح عندما يتم تقليل كمية الملح في الطعام المعالج. ولكن هناك حاجة إلى نهج مختلف لمعالجة عدم وجود نكهة شاملة.

في الداخل ، يمكن التغلب على هذا عن طريق إضافة المزيد من الأعشاب والتوابل. حيلة أخرى هي إضافة الأطعمة التي تحتوي على محسنات النكهة الطبيعية ، مثل الطماطم أو جبنة البارميزان ، ودمجها مع صلصة الصويا منخفضة الملح أو كميات ضئيلة من الصلصات القائمة على السمك ، مثل صلصة وورسيستر ، التي تحتوي على سمك الأنشوجة. هذا يعمل بشكل جيد لأن النيوكليوتيدات الموجودة في الأسماك وفي صلصة الصويا تعمل مع حمض الغلوتاميك الموجود في الطماطم أو الجبن لإعطاء نكهة لذيذة أكثر قوة.

يمكننا زيادة تعزيز مفهوم الملوحة عن طريق إضافة مستويات منخفضة من الروائح التي نربطها بالأطعمة المالحة. هذه هي النسخة اللذيذة من إضافة الفانيلا إلى منتجات منخفضة السكر لإعطاء الانطباع بأنهم أحلى.

قام الباحثون باختبار المنكهات المعقدة بالإضافة إلى مركبات عطرية واحدة لقدرتها على جعلنا نؤمن بوجودها مزيد من الملح في الغذاء مما هو عليه في الواقع. الروائح التي تم اختبارها رائحة مثل اللحوم والسردين والجبن أو الأنشوجة. ولأننا نربط هذه الأطعمة بالملوحة ، فإننا نعتبر المنتج أكثر ملوحة ، على الرغم من عدم إضافة أي ملح. وبعبارة أخرى ، يمكننا خداع الدماغ إلى الاعتقاد بأننا نتذوق الملح.

هناك أيضا خطة احتياطية. الباحثون في جامعة ريدينغ لقد أظهرنا أنه كلما استهلكنا حساءًا غير ملح ، كلما كان أفضل الأذواق. لم يعجب المشاركون في هذه الدراسة بشكل خاص الحساء الذي لا يحتوي على الملح ، ولكن بعد تناوله مرة واحدة في اليوم لمدة أسبوع ، كان المشاركون يحبون المذاق أكثر من تذوقه لأول مرة. لذلك يمكنك دائمًا تدريب دماغك على الاستمتاع بنظام غذائي قليل الملح. انها فقط تأخذ الممارسة.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

جين باركر ، أستاذ مشارك ، جامعة ريدينغ

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = low salt nutrition؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How To Cut Back On Salt Without Losing That Delicious Flavor

healing diet

How To Cut Back On Salt Without Losing That Delicious Flavor
judoman/Shutterstock

One of the targets of the UK government’s new health strategy is salt. Your body needs salt to function normally, but an excess leads to raised blood pressure and an increase in the risk of stroke and heart disease. Since prevention is better than cure, the government has ambitious plans to get the public to consume less salt.

The recommendation for salt intake is to limit it to only 6g a day (about a heaped teaspoon). However, the average intake is closer to 8g a day. The statistics suggest that if the 6g a day target is achieved, it will prevent over 8,000 premature deaths each year and save the NHS over £570m, annually.

But food without salt is bland, and low-salt products are often bland compared with their standard counterparts. Salt in food gives us that highly desirable lip-licking taste on the tongue that makes food interesting and enjoyable. It also boosts the flavour of food, which is what we experience when we combine the tastes from the tongue with the aromas we detect with our nose.

So, can we reduce the salt in our diet yet keep all the delicious flavours we crave? This is a problem the food industry has been working on for years.

Over the last 15 years, a concerted effort by industry and public health campaigns has seen the nation’s average salt intake decrease by 10%. Part of this decrease is down to the fact that we are slowly becoming more accustomed to food with less salt, and part of it because of research to understand more about the perception of saltiness.

How To Cut Back On Salt Without Losing That Delicious Flavor
Variety of spices and herbs (Pixabay)

Tricks of the trade

One approach the food industry has taken is to change the size and shape of the salt particles so that more of them reach the receptors on the taste buds on the tongue. This addresses the lack of salty taste when the amount of salt in processed food is reduced. But a different approach is needed to address the lack of overall flavour.

At home, this can be overcome by adding more herbs and spices. Another trick is to add foods that contain natural flavour enhancers, such as tomatoes or parmesan cheese, and combine these with low-salt soy sauce or tiny amounts of fish-based sauces, such as Worcester sauce, which contains anchovies. This works well because the nucleotides found in the fish and in the soy sauce work together with glutamic acid found in tomatoes or in cheese to give a more powerful savoury flavour.

We can further enhance the perception of saltiness by adding low levels of aromas that we associate with salty foods. This is the savoury version of adding vanilla to low-sugar products to give the impression that they are sweeter.

Researchers have tested complex flavourings as well as single aroma compounds for their ability to make us believe there is more salt in food than there actually is. The aromas that have been tested smell like meat, sardines, cheese or anchovy. And because we associate these foods with saltiness, we perceive the product as saltier, even though no salt has been added. In other words, we can trick the brain into thinking we are tasting salt.

There is also a backup plan. Researchers at the University of Reading have shown that the more we consume no-salt soup, the better it tastes. The participants in this study did not particularly like the no-salt soup, but after consuming it once a day for a week, participants liked the taste more than when they first tasted it. So you can always train your brain to enjoy a low-salt diet. It just takes practice.The Conversation

About The Author

Jane Parker, Associate Professor, University of Reading

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

American Heart Association Eat Less Salt: An Easy Action Plan for Finding and Reducing the Sodium Hidden in Your Diet
healing dietAuthor: American Heart Association
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Harmony
List Price: $16.00

Buy Now

Renal Diet Cookbook: The Low Sodium, Low Potassium, Healthy Kidney Cookbook
healing dietAuthor: Susan Zogheib
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Rockridge Press
List Price: $16.99

Buy Now

American Heart Association Healthy Slow Cooker Cookbook: 200 Low-Fuss, Good-for-You Recipes
healing dietAuthor: American Heart Association
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Harmony
List Price: $17.99

Buy Now

healing diet
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}