الكولسترول الجيد قد يخفض خطر الخرف عند النساء

الكولسترول الجيد قد يخفض خطر الخرف عند النساء
تصوير: ماكس بيكسل

سلطت دراستان أخيرتان الضوء على النساء الأكثر عرضة لخطر الإصابة بالخرف ، وكيف يمكننا منع المرض أو تأخيره في وقت مبكر.

ثلثا الأشخاص المصابين بالخرف هم من النساء ، ويؤكد مكتب الإحصاءات الأسترالي أنها الآن السبب الرئيسي لوفاة النساء في البلاد. ومع ذلك ، هناك القليل من الدراسات حول كيفية تقدم مرض الخرف عند النساء.

وجاءت النتائج الجديدة في الوقت المناسب ، حيث تأتي الحكومة الأسترالية في اعتبارها أفضل الطرق لرعاية صحة المرأة في المستقبل ، ودعوات مقدمة إلى استراتيجيتها الوطنية لصحة المرأة من أجل 2020-2030.

علامات الإنذار المبكر

In دراسة in تصوير الدماغ والسلوكوجد الباحثون أن حجم المادة الرمادية للمرأة في الدماغ في عمر 60 يتنبأ بأداء الذاكرة في 70.

المادة الرمادية هي جزء من الدماغ تتحكم فيه أجسام الخلايا العصبية. حيث تحدث المعالجة الحقيقية ، بما في ذلك الكلام والسمع والمشاعر والرؤية والذاكرة. تسمح المادة البيضاء بالاتصال من وإلى مناطق المادة الرمادية ، وكذلك بين المادة الرمادية وأجزاء أخرى من الجسم.

A دراسة منفصلة يظهر ذلك في نفس المجلة ، تقارير تفيد بأن النساء اللواتي لديهن مستويات طبيعية من الكوليسترول "الجيد" ، المسمى HDL في 1992 كان لديهن تلف أقل في المادة البيضاء في دماغهن بعد عقد من الزمن عندما خضعن لفحوصات بالرنين المغناطيسي للدماغ في أواخر العمر وتقييمات معرفية في 2012 . HDL يحمل الكولسترول من أجزاء أخرى من جسمك إلى الكبد.

لذلك ، فإن الحفاظ على مستويات صحية من الكوليسترول يؤثر على بنية الدماغ بشكل مباشر.

يقول الباحث الرائد كاساندرا سزوكي ، الأستاذ بجامعة ملبورن الذي يدير مشروع الشيخوخة الصحية للنساء في الجامعة: "تظهر هذه النتائج مجتمعةً أن هناك مؤشرات حيوية مهمة للتصوير العصبي للتنبؤ بالتراجع المعرفي لدى النساء المسنات الأصحاء".

"إنهم يعتمدون على مجموعة متنامية من الأبحاث التي تساعدنا على التقاط علامات التحذير من الخرف في وقت سابق. في الواقع هذا العام فقط قام المعهد الوطني للشيخوخة بنشر معايير مقترحة لتشخيص الخرف والعاهات على المرقمات الحيوية ، مثل نتائج مسح الدماغ ومقاييس سوائل الجسم لمستويات البروتين ، يقول زويكي.

تتبع التغييرات مع مرور الوقت

يعرف الباحثون بالفعل أن انكماش الدماغ (أو ضمور) يرتبط بالخرف المشخص. تضيف هذه الدراسات إلى هذه المعرفة من خلال النظر في التعرض للمخاطر وعمل الدماغ خلال سنوات 20.

يقول Szoeke: "بما في ذلك المسح الدماغي في دراسة طولية كهذه أمر نادر جدًا". "لقد كان ذلك يعني أننا نستطيع قياس حالة أمراض النساء في المخ جنبا إلى جنب مع الإدراك على مدى عقود ، والقدرة على" رؤية "تأثير التغيرات في الدماغ الحي هي قفزة هائلة إلى الأمام في فهم كيفية تطور الخرف".

في الدراسة ، كانت النساء مع تغيرات المادة البيضاء أسوأ في اختبارات التخطيط والتنظيم ، وأولئك الذين لديهم فقدان حجم المادة الرمادية كان لديهم ذاكرة أسوأ مع تقدمهم في العمر.

"المحافظة على صحة الدماغ ليست مهمة فقط لأن الخرف يقصر حياتنا. "علينا أيضًا معالجة المزيد من المعلومات على أساس يومي أكثر من أي وقت مضى - ما عليك سوى التفكير في عدد المرات التي تحتاج فيها إلى النقر على زر" نسيت كلمة المرور "، كما يقول زويكي.

يقول زويكي: "نحن نعلم أن وجود أفراد العائلة الذين يعانون من الخرف يزيد من فرصنا في الإصابة بالمرض ، لكن لدينا الآن طرقًا أخرى للتنبؤ بكيفية احتمال تقدم العمر في أدمغتنا".

نمط حياة صحي وأدمغة صحية

يقول Szoeke إن أنماط الحياة الصحية مهمة ، ولا سيما الحفاظ على النشاط البدني اليومي.

"تبين دراستنا أن الأوعية الدموية الصحية تقلل من خطر التدهور المعرفي والمرض. وهذا يتوافق مع معرفتنا بأن النشاط البدني المنتظم ، وضغط الدم الطبيعي ، والحفاظ على المستويات الطبيعية من الكولسترول عالي الكثافة ، كلها مرتبطة بإدراك أفضل ، "كما تقول.

في هذه الدراسة ، ارتبطت مستويات منخفضة من الكوليسترول الحميد مع المزيد من تلف الأوعية الدموية في الدماغ في وقت لاحق ، وقد أظهرت دراسات كبيرة جدًا أن هذا النوع من الضرر ، المعروف باسم "فرط الحساسية للمادة البيضاء" ، يرتبط بزيادة خطر الإصابة بالخرف.

لذلك ، فإن الحفاظ على مستويات جيدة من الكولسترول ، وضغط الدم الصحي ، واتباع نظام غذائي صحي ، إلى جانب مستويات جيدة من النشاط البدني وفحوصات صحية سنوية مهمة للحفاظ على صحة الدماغ.

"هذه النتائج تشير إلى أن استراتيجيات لاستهداف عوامل الخطر الرئيسية في القلب والأوعية الدموية في منتصف العمر قد تكون فعالة أيضا في الحد من تطور آفات الدماغ والتراجع المعرفي في أواخر الحياة" ، ويقول Szoeke. "وبينما ترتبط النتائج التي توصلنا إليها بالنساء ، فإننا نعلم أن أنماط الحياة الصحية مهمة للرجال للحفاظ على صحة الدماغ لديهم أيضًا.

"يجب على الناس أن يتأكدوا من أن أي تغييرات يقومون بها لتبني نمط حياة أكثر صحةً تلبي احتياجاتهم كفرد ، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار ما الذي يناسبهم. وقال زويكي إن الممارس العام المحلي الخاص بهم هو مكان رائع لبدء البحث عن النصيحة.

مصدر: جامعة ملبورن

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = good cholesterol؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Good Cholesterol May Cut Women’s Dementia Risk

healing diet

Good Cholesterol May Cut Women’s Dementia Risk
Photo Credit: Max Pixel

Two recent studies shed light on which women are most at risk of developing dementia, and how we can prevent or delay the disease early.

Two thirds of people living with dementia are women, and the Australian Bureau of Statistics confirms it is now the leading cause of death for women in the country. Yet, there are few studies of how dementia progresses in women.

The new results are timely, coming as the Australian Government considers the best ways to look after women’s health in the future, inviting submissions to its National Women’s Health Strategy for 2020-2030.

Early warning signs

In a study in Brain Imaging and Behavior, researchers found that a woman’s volume of grey matter in their brain at the age of 60 predicts their memory performance at 70.

Grey matter is the part of the brain that nerve cell bodies control. It’s where the real processing happens, including speech, hearing, feelings, seeing, and memory. White matter allows communication to and from grey matter areas, as well as between grey matter and other parts of the body.

A separate study that appears in the same journal, reports that women who had normal levels of the “good” cholesterol, called HDL in 1992 had less white matter damage in their brain a decade later when they underwent late-life brain MRI scans and cognitive assessments in 2012. HDL carries cholesterol from other parts of your body back to your liver.

So, maintaining healthy levels of cholesterol affects the structure of the brain directly.

“Taken together, these findings show there are useful neuroimaging biomarkers for the prediction of cognitive decline in healthy older women,” says lead researcher Cassandra Szoeke, a professor at the University of Melbourne who directs the university’s Women’s Healthy Ageing Project.

“They build on a growing body of research helping us pick up the warning signs of dementia earlier. In fact just this year the National Institute of Ageing published proposed criteria to diagnose dementia and predementia on biomarkers, like brain scan results and body fluid measures of protein levels,” Szoeke says.

Tracking changes over time

Researchers already knew that brain shrinkage (or atrophy) is associated with diagnosed dementia. These studies add to this knowledge by looking at risk-exposures and brain functioning over 20 years.

“Including brain scanning in a longitudinal study like this is very rare,” says Szoeke. “It meant we could measure women’s brain pathology alongside cognition over decades, and being able to ‘see’ the impact of changes in the living brain is a huge leap forward in understanding how dementia develops.”

In the study, women with white matter changes were worse at planning and organization tests, and those with grey matter volume loss had worse memory as they aged.

“Maintaining brain health isn’t just important because dementia shortens our lives; we also have to process more information on a daily basis now than ever before—just consider how many times you need to click the ‘forgot my password’ button,” says Szoeke.

“We know that having family members who had dementia increases our chance of the disease, but now we have other ways of predicting how our brains are likely to age,” Szoeke says.

Healthy lifestyle, healthy brains

Szoeke says healthy lifestyles are important, in particular maintaining daily physical activity.

“Our study shows that healthy blood vessels reduce our risk of cognitive decline and disease. This aligns with our knowledge that regular physical activity, normal blood pressure, and maintaining normal levels of HDL cholesterol are all associated with better cognition,” she says.

In this study, low levels of HDL cholesterol were associated with more vascular brain damage decades later and very large studies have already shown this kind of damage, known as “white matter hyperintensities,” are associated with increased risk of dementia.

So, maintaining good cholesterol levels, healthy blood pressure, and a healthy diet, along with good levels of physical activity and annual health checks are important for maintaining good brain health.

“These findings suggest strategies to target major cardiovascular risk factors at midlife might also be effective in reducing the development of brain lesions and late life cognitive decline,” says Szoeke. “And while our findings relate to women, we know healthy lifestyles are important for men to maintain their brain health, too.

“Importantly people need to make sure any changes they’re making to adopt a healthier lifestyle meet their needs as an individual, considering what works for them. Their local GP is great place to start looking for advice,” Szoeke says.

Source: University of Melbourne

Related Books

Good Cholesterol, Bad Cholesterol: An Indispensable Guide to the Facts about Cholesterol
healing dietAuthor: Anita Hirsch
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Da Capo Lifelong Books
List Price: $10.99

Buy Now

Fat and Cholesterol are Good for You
healing dietAuthor: Uffe Ravnskov
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: GB Publishing
List Price: $29.00

Buy Now

Lower Cholesterol (Cholesterol: The Good and The Bad Book 1)
healing dietAuthor: C.D. Shelton
Binding: Kindle Edition
Format: Kindle eBook
Publisher: Choice PH

Buy Now

healing diet
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}