الإعانات للأغذية الصحية هي قيمة يستحق دفعها لمعالجة السمنة

الإعانات للأغذية الصحية هي قيمة يستحق دفعها لمعالجة السمنة

التكاليف الباهظة للسكان الذين يعانون من السمنة بشكل متزايد معروفة جيدا. المشاكل البدنية المرتبطة مؤشر كتلة الجسم على 30 تشمل نوع 2 السكري ، والسكتات الدماغية ، وأنواع معينة من السرطان. وتشمل القضايا النفسية الاكتئاب وانخفاض احترام الذات. لكن هناك أيضا سعر مالي كبير يجب دفعه. المحادثة

البيانات من 2015 يظهر أن نسبة 57٪ من السكان في المملكة المتحدة يعانون من زيادة الوزن. أكثر إثارة للقلق من هذا العدد هو الاتجاه وراء ذلك. زادت نسبة الأشخاص الذين يعانون من زيادة الوزن إلى أكثر من الضعف منذ 1980 وهو متوقع لتصل إلى 69٪ بواسطة 2030 وفقًا لمنظمة الصحة العالمية.

أنه مقدر أن كل مريض من ذوي الوزن الزائد يكلف NHS حوالي £ 1,800 أكثر على مدى حياتهم مقارنة مع شخص غير بدين. كان جزء من ميزانية NHS تنفق على رعاية الناس يعانون من زيادة الوزن والسمنة محسوب ليكون حوالي 16٪ سنويًا - حوالي مليار جنيه إسترليني 6.

لذا ماذا نفعل حيال ذلك؟ تحاول الحكومات في جميع أنحاء العالم معالجة هذا الوباء بطرق متنوعة. بعض هذه العوامل مدفوعة مالياً ، مع فرض ضرائب على المنتجات غير الصحية مثل "ضريبة السكر"على المشروبات الغازية ، والإعانات المقدمة إلى وجبات صحية.

وهناك أيضا مناقشات حول نوع بديل من السياسة: الحوافز النقدية. هذا يعني دفع الناس لفقدان الوزن. في مثل هذا المخطط ، سيتم تقييم المشاركين ذوي الوزن الزائد وسيعطون جدولاً زمنيًا مستهدفًا لإنقاص الوزن يتناسب مع حافز مالي إذا تم تحقيق الهدف الموقوت.

إذا كان الهدف من ذلك هو أن يكونوا قد طوروا عادةً من الأكل الصحي الذي سيستمر حالما تنتهي المدفوعات وفحوصات منتظمة.

In ابحاثنا قمنا بتطوير نموذج رياضي يحاكي بدقة كيف لاحظ الناس كيف يتصرفون في استهلاك الغذاء ، سواء كان صحيًا أو غير صحي. كما يتنبأ كيف يستجيب الناس للتغيرات في ظروفهم والبيئة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


استخدمناها للتنبؤ برد فعل الأفراد على ثلاثة أحداث مختلفة: فرض ضريبة على الغذاء غير الصحي ، وإعانة الغذاء الصحي ، والحوافز النقدية مقابل تناول الطعام الصحي.

سمح لنا النموذج الرياضي بالتنبؤ ما إذا كانت كل من هذه السياسات الثلاث تؤثر على السلوك الفردي أم لا ، وإلى أي درجة. أردنا معرفة ما إذا كان كل من هذه السياسات سيقلل بالفعل عدد الأشخاص الذين يعانون من السمنة ، وإذا كان الأمر كذلك ، فكم بالحجم. الأهم من ذلك ، أردنا أيضا معرفة مقدار تكلفة كل من هذه السياسات.

يمكن أن تكون النماذج الرياضية أفضل من طرق جمع المعلومات الأخرى مثل الاستطلاعات ، لأنها تستخدم البيانات من السلوك المرصود ، بدلاً من الاعتماد على الإجابات الذاتية - وغالباً ما تكون خاطئة -.

In نتائجنا وجدنا أن الإعانات (خصم بنسبة 10٪) على الأطعمة الصحية (الفواكه والخضروات الطازجة والأسماك واللحوم الخالية من الدهون) كانت السياسة الأكثر فعالية ، مما قلل النسبة المئوية للأشخاص ذوي الوزن الزائد من 57٪ إلى حوالي 13٪. ولكن بتكلفة تبلغ حوالي £ 991m. ومع ذلك ، عند المحاسبة عن الادخار إلى هيئة الخدمات الصحية الوطنية لعدم الاضطرار إلى علاج أكبر عدد ممكن من حالات زيادة الوزن ، فإن الفائدة الصافية لهذه السياسة تعادل مليار جنيه إسترليني 6 على المدى الطويل.

فرض الضرائب على الأغنياء (الأطعمة)

كانت الحوافز النقدية ثاني أكثر السياسات فائدة ، حيث خفضت النسبة المئوية للأشخاص ذوي الوزن الزائد إلى حوالي 21٪. ومع ذلك ، كان هذا النظام حتى الآن أعلى التكاليف الجارية. قدرنا أن المبلغ النقدي الذي يجب تقديمه كان حوالي 10 جنيهًا إسترلينيًا للشخص الواحد في اليوم. كان التأثير الصافي للسياسة عند حساب المدخرات على الخدمة الصحية الوطنية سلبياً بالفعل - حيث سيكلف دافعي الضرائب حوالي 138m جنيه إسترليني.

كانت الضرائب (ضريبة 10٪ على جميع الأغذية غير الصحية) هي الطريقة الأقل فاعلية لتقليل النسبة المئوية للأشخاص ذوي الوزن الزائد - إلى حوالي 34٪ من السكان. لكن على الرغم من أن هذه كانت السياسة الأقل فعالية ، إلا أنها كانت الوحيدة التي من شأنها توليد أي عائد. يمكن للحكومة البريطانية أن تتوقع الحصول على حوالي 86M جنيه إسترليني من هذه الفكرة.

لذلك تفوق الدعم على السياسات الأخرى في كلا من الفعالية في خفض عدد الأشخاص الذين يعانون من زيادة الوزن ، وتوليد فائدة للحكومة.

الإعانات هي أيضا سهلة نسبيا لتنفيذ. لكنهم يعانون من نكسة رئيسية كبيرة - تأخر الإشباع. يدفع المجتمع سعرًا باهضًا مقدمًا ، ويستفيد فقط لاحقًا ، عندما يتم تخفيض عدد الأشخاص الذين يعانون من زيادة الوزن. لكن أي حكومة تنظر إلى الأمام يجب أن تلقي نظرة جدية على دعم الأغذية الصحية كاستثمار جدير بالاهتمام. يمكن أن يكون أفضل طريقة لتأمين مستقبل أكثر صحة.

نبذة عن الكاتب

خافيير ريفاس ، محاضر أول في الاقتصاد ، جامعة باث

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = how to to die؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

Subsidies For Healthy Foods Are A Price Worth Paying To Tackle Obesity

Subsidies For Healthy Foods Are A Price Worth Paying To Tackle Obesity

The heavy costs of an increasingly obese population are well known. Physical problems associated with a Body Mass Index over 30 include type 2 diabetes, strokes, and certain types of cancer. Psychological issues include depression and low self esteem. But there is also a significant financial price to pay. The Conversation

Data from 2015 shows that 57% of the population in the UK is overweight. Even more worrisome than this number is the trend behind it. The percentage of overweight people has more than doubled since 1980 and is expected to hit 69% by 2030 according to the WHO.

It is estimated that every overweight patient costs the NHS about £1,800 more over their lifetime compared to a non-overweight person. The portion of the NHS budget spent on caring for overweight and obese people has been calculated to be about 16% a year - around £6 billion.

So what do we do about it? Governments across the world are trying to tackle this epidemic in a variety of ways. Some of these are financially driven, with taxes on unhealthy products such as the “sugar tax” on soft drinks, and subsidies given to healthier meals.

There are also discussions about an alternative type of policy: cash incentives. This means paying people to lose weight. In such a scheme, overweight participants would be assessed and given a weight-loss target timeline matched with a financial incentive if the timed target is met.

If this works the aim is that they would have also developed a habit of healthy eating that will continue once the payments and regular check-ups ended.

In our research we developed a mathematical model that accurately mimics observed how people behave with respect to food consumption, both healthy and unhealthy. It also predicts how people respond to changes in their circumstances and the environment.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


We used it to predict the reaction of individuals to three different events: a tax on unhealthy food, a subsidy for healthy foods, and cash incentives in return for eating healthy.

The mathematical model allowed us to predict whether or not, and to what degree, each of these three policies would affect individual behaviour. We wanted to find out whether each of these polices would actually reduce the number of overweight people and, if so, by how much. Importantly, we also wanted to know how much each of these policies would cost.

Mathematical models can be superior to other information gathering methods such as surveys, because they use data from observed behaviour, rather than relying on self-reported – and often wrong – answers.

In our results we found that subsidies (a 10% discount) on healthy foods (fresh fruit and vegetables, fish and lean meats) was the most effective policy, reducing the percentage of overweight people from 57% to about 13%. But at a cost of about £991m. However, when accounting for the saving to the NHS of not having to treat as many overweight related conditions, the net benefit of the policy equated to £6 billion in the long run.

Taxing the rich (foods)

Cash incentives were the second most useful policy, reducing the percentage of overweight people to about 21%. However, this scheme had by far the highest running costs. We estimated that the amount of cash that needed to be given was about £10 per person per day. The net effect of the policy when counting the savings to the NHS was actually negative – it would cost taxpayers about £138m.

Taxes (a 10% tax on all unhealthy food) were the least effective way of reducing the percentage of overweight people – to about 34% of the population. But even though this was the least effective policy, it was the only one which would generate any revenue. The British government could expect to make around £86m from this idea.

So subsidies outperformed the other two policies in both effectiveness at reducing the number of overweight people, and generating a benefit to the government.

Subsidies are also relatively straightforward to implement. But they suffer one major modern setback – delayed gratification. Society would pay an expensive price up front, and only benefit later on, when the number of overweight people has been reduced. But any forward looking government should take a serious look at subsidising healthy foods as a worthwhile investment. It could be the best way of securing a healthier future.

About The Author

Javier Rivas, Senior Lecturer in Economics, University of Bath

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=how not to die;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Physicist and The Inner Self
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I just read a wonderful article by Alan Lightman, a writer and physicist who teaches at MIT. Alan is the author of "In Praise of Wasting Time". I find it inspiring to find scientists and physicists…
The Hand Washing Song
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
We all heard it many times in the past few weeks... wash your hands for at least 20 seconds. OK, one and two and three... For those of us who are timing-challenged, or perhaps slightly ADD, we've…
Pluto Service Announcement
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Now that everybody has the time to be creative, there's no telling what you will find to entertain your inner self.
Ghost Town: Flyovers of Cities on COVID-19 Lockdown
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
We sent drones out in New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco and Seattle to see how the cities have changed since the COVID-19 lockdown.
We're All Being Home-Schooled... on Planet Earth
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
During challenging times, and probably mostly during challenging times, we need to remember that "this too shall pass" and that in every problem or crisis, there is something to be learned, another…
Monitoring Health In Real Time
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Seems to me this process is very important going forward. Coupled with other devices we are now able to distantly monitor people's health in real time.
Game Changing Cheap Antibody Test Sent For Validation In Coronavirus Fight
by Alistair Smout and Andrew MacAskill
LONDON (Reuters) - A British company behind a 10-minute coronavirus antibody test, which will cost about a $1, has begun sending prototypes to laboratories for validation, which could be a…
How To Counteract The Epidemic of Fear
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
Sharing a message sent by Barry Vissell about the epidemic of fear that has infected many people...
What Real Leadership Looks And Sounds Like
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Lt. Gen. Todd Semonite, Chief of Engineers and commanding general of the Army Corps of Engineers, talks with Rachel Maddow about how the Army Corps of Engineers works with other federal agencies and…
What Works For Me: Listening To My Body
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The human body is an amazing creation. It works without needing our input as to what to do. The heart beats, the lungs pump, the lymph nodes do their thing, the evacuation process works. The body…