Comment vous ne devez pas toujours payer plus pour une alimentation saine

Comment vous ne devez pas toujours payer plus pour une alimentation saine

L'idée selon laquelle les aliments sains sont universellement plus chers peut amener les consommateurs à faire des choix qui ne sont pas toujours nécessaires, suggère une nouvelle étude.

Parce que les ingrédients biologiques et les aliments sans gluten ont souvent un prix plus élevé, les consommateurs peuvent sauter l'achat de certains aliments en raison d'une croyance erronée selon laquelle des prix similaires s'appliquent à d'autres produits.

"Dans cinq études, nous constatons que les consommateurs souscrivent à une théorie générale laïque" saine "= coûteuse malgré le fait que cette relation soit improbable dans toutes les catégories de produits et tous les contextes", explique Kelly Haws, professeur agrégé de marketing à l'Université Vanderbilt. . "En conséquence, cette théorie laïque est sur-appliquée au-delà des catégories où elle est objectivement vraie."

Les résultats d'une paire d'études montrent que lorsqu'un article est plus cher, les consommateurs en déduisent qu'il est plus sain sur la base du seul prix. De même, les consommateurs supposent que les aliments identifiés comme étant plus sains coûteront plus cher.

De plus, les consommateurs se rabattront souvent sur les prix lorsqu'il n'y a pas de différences claires dans les avantages nutritionnels des diverses options. Par exemple, les participants à l'étude ont été invités à choisir entre deux articles pour un ami qui essayait de manger sainement. Quand un «sandwich au poulet rôti» coûte 8.95 par rapport à un «balsamique au poulet» pour 6.95 dans le même restaurant (fictif), les gens préfèrent le balsamique rôti. Mais quand les prix ont été retournés, les choix l'étaient aussi.

La théorie saine = coûteuse amène également les consommateurs à croire qu'un ingrédient «sain» particulier est plus important lorsqu'un article le contenant a un prix plus élevé.

Enfin, les consommateurs ont tenu les aliments à bas prix à un niveau de preuve plus sévère pour toute allégation santé faite. On a dit aux participants que le prix moyen d'une barre protéinée était de 2. Quand une barre de protéine a été évaluée au cents de 99, les consommateurs ont examiné une moyenne de trois revues de produit. Mais lorsque le coût de la barre est passé à $ 4, ils ont regardé en moyenne deux revues de produits.

Prises ensemble, ces études indiquent que l'intuition «saine = coûteuse» agit comme un biais dans la façon dont les consommateurs traitent l'information sur la santé et les prix.

"Si l'on opère avec un budget illimité tout en essayant de cuisiner et de servir des repas sains, alors ce n'est peut-être pas un problème", écrivent les chercheurs dans l'étude, qui sera publiée dans le Journal of Consumer Research.

"Cependant, quiconque essaie de gérer ses budgets alimentaires et se sent bien sur la salubrité de ses repas en famille peut bien payer trop pour sa nutrition. Cela peut se produire malgré la disponibilité immédiate des prix et des informations nutritionnelles, en raison du consommateur occupé et souvent pressé sacrifiant la santé tout en essayant d'équilibrer les budgets. "

À propos des auteurs

D'autres coauteurs de l'étude proviennent de l'Ohio State University et de l'Université de Géorgie.

La source: L'Université Vanderbilt

Livres connexes:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = recettes santé peu coûteuses; maxresults = 3}

How You Don’t Always Have To Pay More For Healthy Food

How You Don’t Always Have To Pay More For Healthy Food

The idea that healthy foods are universally more expensive can lead consumers to make choices that aren’t always necessary, a new study suggests.

Because organic ingredients and gluten-free foods are often priced higher, consumers may skip buying certain foods because of a misplaced belief that similar pricing applies to other products.

“Across five studies, we find that consumers do subscribe to a general lay theory that healthy = expensive despite the fact that this relationship is unlikely to be true in all product categories and contexts,” says Kelly Haws, associate professor of marketing at Vanderbilt University. “As a result, this lay theory is over-applied beyond the categories where it is objectively true.”

The findings of a pair of studies show that when an item is more expensive, consumers infer that it is healthier based on price alone. Similarly, consumers assume that foods identified as being healthier will cost more.

Further, consumers will often fall back on prices when there are not clear differences in the nutritional benefits of various options. For example, study participants were asked to choose between two items for a friend who was trying to eat healthy. When a “Roasted Chicken Wrap” was priced at $8.95 versus a “Chicken Balsamic Wrap” for $6.95 at the same (fictional) restaurant, people choose roasted over balsamic. But when the prices were flipped, so were the choices.

The healthy = expensive theory also leads consumers to believe that a particular “healthy” ingredient is more important when an item containing it has a higher price.

Finally, consumers held lower-priced foods to a tougher standard of evidence for any health claims being made. Participants were told that the average price of a protein bar was $2. When a protein bar was priced at 99 cents, consumers examined an average of three product reviews. But when the cost of the bar rose to $4, they looked at an average of two product reviews.

Taken together, these studies indicate that the “healthy = expensive” intuition acts as a bias in shaping how consumers process information about health and price.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“If one is operating with an unlimited budget while trying to cook and serve healthy meals, then perhaps this isn’t a problem,” the researchers write in the study, which will be published in the Journal of Consumer Research.

“However, anyone trying to manage their food budgets and feel good about the healthiness of their family meals may well pay too much for their nutrition. This can occur despite ready availability of both pricing and nutritional information, due to the busy and often hurried consumer sacrificing health while attempting to balance budgets.”

About the Authors

Other coauthors of the study are from Ohio State University and the University of Georgia.

Source: Vanderbilt University

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=inexpensive healthy recipes;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)