Est-ce que manger végétarien dans nos gènes?

Est-ce que manger végétarien dans nos gènes?

Notre étude est la première à connecter un allèle d'insertion avec des régimes végétariens, et l'allèle de délétion avec un régime marin,

Une variation génétique a évolué dans les populations qui ont mangé un régime à base de plantes sur des centaines de générations, comme en Inde, en Afrique et dans certaines parties de l'Asie de l'Est.

Une version différente de l'allèle adapté à un régime marin a été découverte chez les Inuits du Groenland, qui consomment principalement des fruits de mer.

L'adaptation permet à ces personnes de traiter efficacement les acides gras oméga-3 et oméga-6 et de les convertir en composés essentiels au développement précoce du cerveau et au contrôle de l'inflammation.

Dans les populations inuites du Groenland, une adaptation précédemment identifiée est opposée à celle trouvée dans les populations végétariennes de longue date: Alors que l'allèle végétarien a une insertion de bases 22 (une base est un bloc d'ADN) dans le gène, cette insertion a été trouvé pour être supprimé dans l'allèle de fruits de mer.

«L'allèle opposé est probablement le moteur de l'adaptation chez les Inuits», explique Kaixiong Ye, chercheur postdoctoral travaillant au laboratoire d'Alon Keinan, professeur agrégé de statistiques biologiques et de biologie computationnelle à l'Université Cornell.

"Notre étude est la première à connecter un allèle d'insertion avec des régimes végétariens, et l'allèle de délétion avec un régime marin," dit Ye.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


«C'est l'exemple le plus intéressant d'adaptation locale que j'ai eu la chance d'étudier», dit Keinan. "Plusieurs études ont montré une adaptation dans cette région du génome. Nos analyses se combinent pour montrer que l'adaptation est conduite par une insertion d'un petit morceau d'ADN dont nous connaissons la fonction. De plus, quand il a atteint les Inuits du Groenland, avec leur régime alimentaire riche en oméga-3, il aurait pu devenir préjudiciable.

FADS1 et FADS2 sont des enzymes essentielles à la transformation des acides gras oméga-3 et oméga-6 en produits en aval nécessaires au développement du cerveau et à la maîtrise de l'inflammation. Les mangeurs de viande et de fruits de mer ont moins besoin d'enzymes FADS1 et FADS2 pour obtenir une nutrition adéquate, car leur processus de conversion en acides gras oméga-3 et oméga-6 est plus simple et nécessite moins d'étapes.

Nutrition personnalisée

Publiée dans la revue Biologie moléculaire et évolution, la nouvelle étude est basée sur des travaux antérieurs du co-senior auteur Tom Brenna, professeur de nutrition humaine et de chimie, qui a montré que l'insertion peut réguler l'expression de FADS1 et FADS2 et a émis l'hypothèse qu'il pourrait s'agir d'une adaptation chez les végétariens.

Les chercheurs ont analysé les fréquences de l'allèle végétarien chez 234 principalement des Indiens végétariens et 311 US et ont trouvé l'allèle végétarien chez 68 pour cent des Indiens et chez seulement 18 pour cent des Américains. L'analyse utilisant les données du projet 1,000 Genomes a également trouvé l'allèle végétarien dans 70 pour cent des Asiatiques du Sud, 53 pour cent des Africains, 29 pour cent des Asiatiques et 17 pour cent des Européens.

«Les Européens du Nord ont une longue histoire de consommation de lait et ont absorbé suffisamment de produits finaux du lait pour le métabolisme des acides gras à longue chaîne. Ils n'ont donc pas besoin d'augmenter leur capacité à synthétiser ces acides gras précurseurs».

"Une implication de notre étude est que nous pouvons utiliser cette information génomique pour essayer d'adapter notre alimentation afin qu'elle corresponde à notre génome, ce que l'on appelle la nutrition personnalisée."

Les chercheurs ne sont pas encore sûrs de l'origine de l'adaptation, car les analyses des génomes de chimpanzés ou d'orangs-outans n'ont pas permis de découvrir l'allèle végétarien. Mais il existe des preuves de l'allèle dans les premiers génomes de Néandertal et de Denisovan.

"Il est possible que dans l'histoire de l'évolution humaine, lorsque les gens migraient vers différents environnements, ils mangeaient parfois un régime végétal et parfois ils mangeaient un régime marin, et à différents moments, ces différents allèles étaient adaptatifs". les allèles ont tendance à évoluer sous les pressions alimentaires.

Les National Institutes of Health et le US Department of Agriculture ont financé le travail.

La source: L'Université Cornell

Livre connexe:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = régimes végétariens; maxresults = 3}

Is Eating Vegetarian In Our Genes?

Is Eating Vegetarian In Our Genes?

Our study is the first to connect an insertion allele with vegetarian diets, and the deletion allele with a marine diet,

A genetic variation has evolved in populations that have eaten a plant-based diet over hundreds of generations, such as in India, Africa, and parts of East Asia.

A different version of the allele adapted to a marine diet was discovered among the Inuit people in Greenland, who mainly consume seafood.

The adaptation allows these people to efficiently process omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids and convert them into compounds essential for early brain development and controlling inflammation.

In Inuit populations of Greenland, a previously identified adaptation is opposite to the one found in the long-standing vegetarian populations: While the vegetarian allele has an insertion of 22 bases (a base is a building block of DNA) within the gene, this insertion was found to be deleted in the seafood allele.

“The opposite allele is likely driving adaptation in Inuit,” says Kaixiong Ye, a postdoctoral researcher working in the lab of Alon Keinan, associate professor of biological statistics and computational biology at Cornell University.

“Our study is the first to connect an insertion allele with vegetarian diets, and the deletion allele with a marine diet,” Ye says.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“It is the most interesting example of local adaptation that I have been fortunate to help study,” Keinan says. “Several studies have pointed to adaptation in this region of the genome. Our analyses combine to show that the adaptation is driven by an insertion of a small piece of DNA that we know its function. Moreover, when it reached the Greenlandic Inuit, with their marine-based diet rich in omega-3, it might have become detrimental.”

FADS1 and FADS2 are enzymes that are essential for converting omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids into downstream products needed for brain development and controlling inflammation. Meat and seafood eaters have less need for increased FADS1 and FADS2 enzymes to get proper nutrition because their omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acid conversion process is simpler and requires fewer steps.

Personalized nutrition

Published in the journal Molecular Biology and Evolution, the new study is based on previous work by co-senior author Tom Brenna, professor of human nutrition and of chemistry, who showed the insertion can regulate the expression of FADS1 and FADS2 and hypothesized it could be an adaptation in vegetarian populations.

Researchers analyzed frequencies of the vegetarian allele in 234 primarily vegetarian Indians and 311 US individuals and found the vegetarian allele in 68 percent of the Indians and in just 18 percent of Americans. Analysis using data from the 1,000 Genomes Project similarly found the vegetarian allele in 70 percent of South Asians, 53 percent of Africans, 29 percent of East Asians, and 17 percent of Europeans.

“Northern Europeans have a long history of drinking milk and they absorbed enough end products from milk for long-chain fatty acid metabolism so they don’t have to increase capacity to synthesize those fatty acids from precursors,” Ye says.

“One implication from our study is that we can use this genomic information to try to tailor our diet so it is matched to our genome, which is called personalized nutrition.”

The researchers are not sure yet when the adaptation first occurred, as analyses of chimpanzee or orangutan genomes did not uncover the vegetarian allele. But there is evidence for the allele in early hominid Neanderthal and Denisovan genomes.

“It is possible that in the history of human evolution, when people migrated to different environments, sometimes they ate a plant-based diet and sometimes they ate a marine-based diet, and in different time periods these different alleles were adaptive,” meaning the alleles have a tendency to evolve under dietary pressures.

The National Institutes of Health and the US Department of Agriculture funded the work.

Source: Cornell University

Related Book:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=vegetarian diets;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…