Gut und billig: Wie man gut auf $ 4 pro Tag isst

Gut und billig: Wie man gut auf $ 4 pro Tag isst

Als Abschlussprojekt für ihren Masterstudiengang Food Studies an der New York University entschied Leanne Brown, ein Kochbuch für gesundes Essen an $ 4 pro Tag zu schreiben - die Menge an Geld, die SNAP (Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program alias "Essensmarken") erhielt muss weiterleben.

"Ich wollte eine Ressource schaffen, die die Freude am Kochen fördern und zeigen würde, wie köstlich und inspirierend eine billige Mahlzeit sein kann, wenn man sie selbst kocht", bemerkt sie. "Obwohl Lebensmittelmarken jeden Tag Millionen von Menschen in den Vereinigten Staaten helfen, wurden die Sozialleistungen im November trotz steigender Lebensmittelpreise reduziert. Es ist wichtiger denn je, das Beste aus dem zu machen, was Sie mit cleveren Einkaufstechniken und geschickter Kochkunst haben."

Und so wurde geboren Gut und günstig.

Mit echten, vollwertigen Lebensmitteln als Ausgangspunkt für ihre Rezepte bietet Brown Shopping-Tipps und Kochtechniken, die den Nutzern helfen, den Dollar- und Nährwert ihrer Mahlzeiten zu optimieren. Während das Kochbuch als ein Werkzeug für SNAP-Empfänger konzipiert wurde, wer würde nicht gerne billiger essen?

Aber das ist nicht alles. Durch sie Kickstarter-KampagneBietet Brown nicht nur einen kostenlosen PDF - Download von Gut und günstig, aber auch eine "Get-One-Give-One" Spendenstufe von $ 25, bei der Spender eine physische Kopie für sich selbst erhalten und eine Kopie an jemanden in Not geben.

Brown blies vorbei an ihrem ursprünglichen $ 10,000 Fundraising-Ziel und ist dabei, $ 85,000 in den Staub zu fallen. Je mehr Geld sie sammelt, desto mehr Kochbücher druckt, verkauft und spendet sie an gemeinnützige Organisationen, die unterprivilegierten Familien dienen. Also, graben Sie rein!


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Websites, die mit Leanne Brown und dem Good and Cheaply-Projekt verbunden sind: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/490865454/good-and-cheap und helfen Sie uns, unsere Wirkung zu steigern. http://www.leannebrown.ca/cookbooks

Dieser Artikel erschien ursprünglich auf Teilbar


Über den Autor

mccartney KellyKelly McCartney Nachdem ich renommierte Literaturwettbewerbe sowohl in der Grundschule als auch in der Junior High School gewonnen hatte, besuchte ich das College mit einem Stipendium der Scripps Howard Foundation, erwarb einen Bachelor in Journalismus und arbeitete als Internist bei Entertainment Tonight. Seit dieser Zeit habe ich in fast allen Bereichen der Musikindustrie gearbeitet - außer Künstler, und ich bin froh, dass ich mich da hinsetzen kann. Nachdem ich einige Jahre mit Künstlern in verschiedenen Funktionen gearbeitet habe, habe ich meinen Fokus wieder auf den Journalismus verlagert - hauptsächlich Musik, aber nicht ausschließlich. Ich trage derzeit dazu bei Teilbar, Velvetpark, No Depression, NoiseTrade, die VC Reporter, und Elmore Zeitschrift. Nebenbei arbeite ich mit einigen wunderbaren Musikern in einer multimedialen Theaterreihe zusammen und entwickle auch ein paar musikbezogene Videoprojekte.


Buchempfehlung:

Idiotenführer: Das Mittelmeer-Diät-Kochbuch
von Denise "DedeMed" Hazime.

Idioten-Führer: Das Mittelmeer-Diät-Kochbuch von Denise "DedeMed" Hazime.Die Mittelmeer-Diät gilt als eine der gesündesten Diäten der Welt und ist seit langem für Menschen mit schweren gesundheitlichen Problemen wie Diabetes und Herzerkrankungen akzeptabel. Mit mehr als 200-Rezepten und einfachen Anleitungen zum mediterranen Kochen ist dieses einfach zu befolgende Kochbuch ein Muss für jede Heimbibliothek. Vom herzhaften - und herzgesunden - Frühstück bis hin zu köstlichen Desserts - die Rezepte in diesem Buch werden allen, die nach einer besseren Art zu essen suchen, gute Gesundheit und lebendigen Geschmack bringen.

Klicken Sie hier (EN) für weitere Informationen und / oder dieses Buch auf Amazon zu bestellen.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Good and Cheap: How to Eat Well on $4 a Day

Good and Cheap: How to Eat Well on $4 a Day

As the final project for her Food Studies master's degree at New York University, Leanne Brown decided to write a cookbook for eating healthy on $4 a day -- the amount of money that SNAP (Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program aka "food stamps") recipients must live on.

"I wanted to create a resource that would promote the joy of cooking and show just how delicious and inspiring a cheap meal can be if you cook it yourself," she notes. "Even though food stamps help millions of people across the United States every day, benefits were reduced in November despite rising food prices. It's more important than ever to make the most of what you have with savvy shopping techniques and skillful cooking."

And so was born Good and Cheap

Using real, whole foods as the starting point for her recipes, Brown offers shopping tips and cooking techniques that help users optimize both the dollar and nutritional value of their meals. While the cookbook was conceived as a tool for SNAP recipients, who wouldn't like to eat better for cheaper?

But that's not all. Through her Kickstarter campaign, Brown is not only offering a free PDF download of Good and Cheap, but also a Get-One-Give-One donation level of $25 wherein donors get a physical copy for themselves and give a copy to someone in need.

Brown blew past her original $10,000 fundraising goal and is about to leave $85,000 in the dust. The more money she raises, the more cookbooks she will print, sell, and donate to nonprofits serving underprivileged families. So, dig in!


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Websites associated with Leanne Brown and the Good and Cheap project: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/490865454/good-and-cheap and http://www.leannebrown.ca/cookbooks

This article originally appeared on Shareable


About the Author

mccartney kellyKelly McCartney Having won prestigious literary competitions in both grade school and junior high, I attended college with a Scripps Howard Foundation scholarship, earned a BA in Journalism, and interned at Entertainment Tonight. Since that time, I have worked in pretty much every aspect of the music industry -- except artist, and I'm happy to sit that one out. After a number of years working with artists in various capacities, I have shifted my focus back to journalism -- mainly music, but not exclusively. I currently contribute to ShareableVelvetparkNo Depression, NoiseTrade, the VC Reporter, and Elmore magazine. On the side, I am collaborating with a few wonderful musicians on a multi-media theatre series while also developing a couple of music-related video projects.


Recommended book: 

Idiot's Guides: The Mediterranean Diet Cookbook
by Denise "DedeMed" Hazime.

Idiot's Guides: The Mediterranean Diet Cookbook by Denise "DedeMed" Hazime.The Mediterranean Diet is considered one of the healthiest diets in the world and has long been acceptable for people with serious health issues, such as diabetes and heart disease. With more than 200 recipes and simple guidance on cooking the Mediterranean way, this easy-to-follow cookbook is a must-have for any home library. From hearty — and heart-healthy — breakfasts to delicious desserts, the recipes in this book will help bring good health and vibrant flavor to anyone looking for a better way of eating.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…