هل يمكن أن تخفض أعراض الاكتئاب لدى كبار السن؟

هل يمكن أن تخفض أعراض الاكتئاب لدى كبار السن؟

هناك علاقة بين شرب الشاي بشكل متكرر ومتكرر وأعراض الاكتئاب أقل بكثير لدى كبار السن الصينيين ، وفقا لبحث جديد.

يعد الاكتئاب أحد أكثر الأمراض العقلية شيوعًا بين كبار السن ، حيث يصيب "اضطراب الاكتئاب الشديد" الآن حوالي 7٪ من البالغين فوق سن 60 عامًا في جميع أنحاء العالم.

اكتشف عدد متزايد من الأبحاث عوامل الخطر للاكتئاب المسنين ، بما في ذلك المؤشرات الحيوية ، وخصائص السلوك ، والوضع الاجتماعي والاقتصادي ، وهيكل الأسرة ، وترتيب المعيشة ، والبيئة المجتمعية.

من بين هذه العوامل ، فإن تناول الشاي ، وهو واحد من أكثر المشروبات غير الكحولية شهرة في العالم ، يجذب انتباه الباحثين.

الفوائد الاجتماعية أو البيوكيميائية لشرب الشاي؟

أحد النقاشات الرئيسية حول فائدة الشاي على الصحة العقلية هو ما إذا كان التأثير المحتمل يأتي من المكونات الكيميائية الحيوية للشاي أو السياق الاجتماعي لشرب الشاي. في الدراسة ، قام Feng Qiushi ، الأستاذ المشارك في جامعة سنغافورة الوطنية لعلم الاجتماع ، وفريقه بالتحكم في المتغيرات التي يمكن أن تكون لها ارتباطات كبيرة مع الاكتئاب المسنين.

لقد بحثوا في جميع أنحاء الصين البيانات من الصين ، وذلك باستخدام المسح طول العمر الصحي الصيني (CLHLS) تتراوح بين 2005-2014. قام الباحثون بتحليل البيانات من أكثر من 13,000 من كبار السن المشاركين.

من بين العوامل التي أخذوها في الاعتبار: العمر والجنس والسكن والتعليم والحالة الزواجية وحالة التقاعد. كما درسوا نمط الحياة والظروف الصحية عند حساب نتائجهم ، بما في ذلك ما إذا كان كبار السن يدخنون أو يشربون الخمر وأنشطتهم المعيشية اليومية ووظيفتهم المعرفية. أخيرًا ، درسوا كيف يمكن أن تؤثر المشاركة الاجتماعية على النتائج ، والتي شملت أنشطة مثل لعب الورق أو لعبة mahjong ، والمشاركة في الأنشطة المجتمعية ، والسفر.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


في جميع الحالات التي تم قياسها ، ظل شرب الشاي يوميًا عاملاً وقائيًا ضده أعراض الاكتئاب. الحياة الحضرية ، ومستوى التعليم ، والحالة الزواجية ، والكفاية الاقتصادية ، وتحسين الصحة ، والمشاركة في الأنشطة الاجتماعية ذات الصلة أيضا إلى أعراض الاكتئاب أقل.

عند تقسيم المجموعات حسب العمر والجنس ، وجد الباحثون أن الارتباط بين شرب الشاي وأعراض الاكتئاب أقل كان مهمًا فقط للذكور الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 65-79 عامًا.

من المحتمل أن تكون فائدة شرب الشاي أكثر وضوحًا في المرحلة المبكرة من تدهور الصحة. هناك حاجة ماسة إلى مزيد من الدراسات فيما يتعلق بهذه القضية ".

وهناك كلمة تحذير

ووجدت الدراسة أيضًا أن متوسط ​​العمر ونسب الرجال وسكان الحضر ونسب التعليم والحالة الزوجية وتلقي المعاش ، كان أعلى نسبيًا بين أولئك الذين يشربون الشاي بشكل متكرر وثابت. وفي الوقت نفسه ، يميل الذين يشربون الشاي إلى التدخين والشراب ، ولكن لديهم أداء بدني ومعرفي أفضل. وكانوا أكثر مشاركة اجتماعيا.

هذه العلاقة بين شرب الشاي وأعراض الاكتئاب ليست دليلاً على أن العلاقة سببية ، لكن فنغ يقول: "إن شرب الشاي بشكل متسق ومتكرر قد يقلل بشكل فعال من خطر حدوث أعراض اكتئابية للمسنين الصينيين. إن الترويج لأسلوب الحياة التقليدي لشرب الشاي يمكن أن يكون وسيلة فعالة من حيث التكلفة نحو شيخوخة صحية للصين ".

الرابطة قابلة للتطبيق على السنغافوريين أيضًا. في يونيو 2017 ، كان فينج لي ، أستاذ مساعد في قسم الطب النفسي ، وفريقه لديه ورقة في ال مجلة الوقاية من مرض الزهايمر فحص السنغافوريين على وجه التحديد باستخدام بيانات من دراسة الدايت والشيخوخة الصحية (DaHA). كشفت النتائج أن استهلاك الشاي على المدى الطويل يرتبط مع انخفاض أعراض الاكتئاب والقلق بين السنغافوريين. تضيف النتائج الجديدة من فنغ وفريقه المزيد من المصداقية إلى هذه النتائج السابقة.

التطلع إلى المستقبل ، يجمع فنغ وفريقه الآن بيانات جديدة من CLHLS حول شرب الشاي.

"لقد ميزت هذه الجولة الجديدة من جمع البيانات أنواعًا مختلفة من الشاي مثل الشاي الأخضر والشاي الأسود والشاي الصيني الاسود ، حتى نتمكن من رؤية أي نوع من الشاي يعمل بالفعل لتخفيف أعراض الاكتئاب" ، كما يقول.

نتائجها تظهر في BMC طب الشيخوخة.

دراسة الأصلية

حول كتاب المؤلف

فنغ كيوشي ، أستاذ مشارك في جامعة سنغافورة الوطنية لعلم الاجتماع وفريقه

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

لا تسمح لـ Covid19 بإصابة عقلك
لا تسمح لـ Covid19 بإصابة عقلك
by دكتور جو لوسياني

Can Tea Cut Depression Symptoms In Older People?

Can Tea Cut Depression Symptoms In Older People?

There’s an association between consistent and frequent tea-drinking and significantly fewer depression symptoms in Chinese older adults, according to new research.

Depression is one of the most common mental disorders for the elderly, with “major depressive disorder” now affecting about 7% of adults over the age of 60 worldwide.

A growing body of research has explored risk factors for elderly depression, including biomarkers, behavior characteristics, socioeconomic status, family structure, living arrangement, and community environment.

Among these factors, drinking tea, one of the most popular non-alcoholic beverages in the world, is drawing researchers’ attention.

Social or biochemical benefits to tea drinking?

One key debate on the benefit of tea over mental health is whether the potential impact comes from the biochemical components of tea or the social context of tea drinking. In the study, Feng Qiushi, associate professor at National University of Singapore Sociology, and his team controlled for covariates that could have significant associations with elderly depression.

They looked at nationwide data from China, using the Chinese Longitudinal Healthy Longevity Survey (CLHLS) ranging from 2005-2014. Researchers analyzed data from over 13,000 elderly participants.

The factors they took into account included: age, gender, residence, education, marital status, and pension status. They also considered lifestyle and health conditions when calculating their results, including whether the seniors currently smoked or drank alcohol, their daily living activities, and cognitive function. Lastly, they examined how social engagement could affect the results, which included activities such as playing cards or mahjong, participating in community activities, and travel.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


In all cases measured for, consistent daily tea drinking remained a significant preventive factor against depressive symptoms. Urban living, education level, marital status, economic adequacy, better health, and engagement in social activities also related to less depressive symptoms.

When dividing the groups by age and gender, researchers found that the association between tea-drinking and less depressive symptoms was significant only for males between 65-79 years old.

“It is likely that the benefit of tea-drinking is more evident for the early stage of heath deterioration. More studies are surely needed in regard to this issue,” Feng explains.

A word of caution

The study also finds that the mean age, proportions of men and urban residents, and proportions of education, marital status, and receiving pension, were relatively higher among those who frequently and consistently drink tea. Meanwhile, tea drinkers tended to smoke and drink, but had better physical and cognitive functioning. And they were more socially involved.

This correlation between drinking tea and depressive symptoms isn’t proof the link is causative, but Feng says, “Consistent and frequent tea-drinking may effectively reduce the risk of depressive symptoms for the Chinese elderly. The promotion of the traditional lifestyle of tea drinking could be a cost-effective way towards healthy aging for China.”

The association is applicable to Singaporeans too. In June 2017, Feng Lei, an assistant professor in the psychological medicine department, and his team had a paper in the Journal of Prevention of Alzheimer’s Disease specifically examining Singaporeans using data from the Diet and Healthy Aging Study (DaHA). The results revealed that long-term tea consumption associated with reduced depressive and anxiety symptoms among Singaporeans. The new results from Feng and his team add further credence to these earlier findings.

Looking to the future, Feng and his team are now collecting new data from the CLHLS about tea-drinking.

“This new round of data collection has distinguished different types of tea such as green tea, black tea, and oolong tea, so that we could see which type of tea really works for alleviating depressive symptoms,” he says.

Their results appear in BMC Geriatrics.

Original Study

About the Study's Authors

Feng Qiushi, associate professor at National University of Singapore Sociology, and his team

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}