لماذا القرنبيط والكرنب مريرة جدا

لماذا القرنبيط والكرنب مريرة جدا

قام الباحثون بتخطيط التركيب البلوري للبروتين الرئيسي الذي يجعل المستقلبات مسؤولة عن الذوق المر الكرنب الخضروات مثل الخردل والبروكليس والملفوف.

الخضروات في الجنس الكرنب مشاركة طعم متميز ومرير. يعتبر البعض أن نكهة النباتات الصليبية هي أقوى سماتها. ولكن حتى في الهند والصين ، حيث تمت زراعة هذه "البراسيكا" لأكثر من 4,000 ، سعى العلماء إلى تخفيف المركبات الكيميائية المسؤولة عن نكهتها اللاذعة. تبين ، نفس المركبات التي تجعلها مريرة تجعلها سامة أيضًا في بعض المستويات.

الدراسة الجديدة هي أول لقطة عن كيفية تطور البروتين وتوصل هذه المنتجات الثانوية المتنوعة في هذه المجموعة من النباتات ذات الأهمية الزراعية. يمكن استخدام النتائج جنبًا إلى جنب مع استراتيجيات التربية المستمرة لمعالجة نباتات المحاصيل للحصول على فوائد غذائية ومذاق.

Brassicas قتال مرة أخرى

"جميع البراسيكا - سواء كان الخردل الهندي ، ل arabidopsisيقول جوزيف جيز أستاذ علم الأحياء بجامعة واشنطن في سانت لويس: "إنها براعم أو قرنبيط أو بروسيل - كلها تصنع هذه المركبات النفاذة ذات الرائحة الكبريتية ، الجلوكوزينات". لطالما تم التعرف على المركبات كدفاع طبيعي ضد الآفات.

يقول جيز: "تحتاج النباتات للقتال". "لا يمكنهم فعل أي شيء ، لكن يمكنهم صنع الأشياء".

"هناك ملامح مختلفة من الجلوكوزينات في النباتات المختلفة" ، كما يقول. "لقد كان السؤال دائمًا ما إذا كان يمكنك تعديل أنماطها لجعل شيء جديد. إذا كانت الحشرات تأكل النباتات الخاصة بك ، فهل يمكنك تغيير ملف التعريف والحصول على شيء يمكن أن يمنع فقد المحاصيل؟ "

ولكن هناك عددًا مخيفًا من الجلوكوزينات: أنواع 130 المختلفة تقريبًا معروفة في الجنس الكرنب. كل نوع من النباتات داخل الجنس يصنع "مجموعة" من عدة أنواع مختلفة من الجلوكوزينات - مزيج النكهة الخاص بها - وكلها عبارة عن مستقلبات ثانوية لبروتين معين.

لقد عرف الباحثون عن الدور الرئيسي لهذا البروتين منذ عقود. لكن قبل هذه الدراسة ، لم يكن أحد قادرًا على إكمال دراسة البلورات بالأشعة السينية اللازمة لرسم خريطة لها بالتفصيل.

المحاصيل ألذ؟

يستخدم العمل الجديد ، بقيادة روشان كومار ، زميل ما بعد الدكتوراة في مختبر جيز ، الوراثة والكيمياء الحيوية والبيولوجيا الهيكلية للمساعدة في كشف الأساس الجزيئي لتطور وتنويع الجلوكوزينات.

يقول كومار: "الجلوكوزينات مشتقة من الأحماض الأمينية". "استطالة الجينات هي واحدة من الخطوات المهمة التي توفر معظم التنوع في ملفات تعريف الجلوكوزينات في جميع أنحاء brassicas في. تقرر أي نوع من الجلوكوزينات (المصنع) سوف يتشكل ".

تعتبر البصيرة المكتسبة في الدراسة الجديدة خطوة مهمة نحو حشد الخردل المعتدل أو بناء القرنبيط الخالي من المر.

ولكن هل سيساعدنا ذلك على تناول الخضر؟

يمكن. يهتم معظم الباحثين بإمكانية تعديل الجلوكوزينات في البذور ، وليس في السيقان أو الأجزاء المورقة الكرنب النباتات ، كما يقول كومار.

المحصول الرئيسي للبذور الزيتية براسيكا juncea وتستخدم بذور اللفت ذات الصلة لصنع زيت الطهي في المناطق المعتدلة وشبه الاستوائية في العالم. وقد سعى مربي النباتات إلى ضبط مستويات الجلوكوزينات في هذه المحاصيل حتى يمكن استخدام بقايا كعكة البذور الغنية بالبروتين كملحق غذائي للماشية والدواجن.

يقول كومار: "إذا قمت بتخفيض نسبة الجلوكوز في جميع أنحاء النبات ، يصبح عرضة للآفات ومسببات الأمراض". "لهذا السبب هناك حاجة إلى هندسة ذكية للجلوكوزينات."

تظهر الدراسة في المجلة الخلية النباتية. باحثون آخرون يساهمون في هذا العمل هم من المعهد الوطني لبحوث الجينوم النباتي في نيودلهي بالهند ومعهد ماكس بلانك للبيئة البيئية في يينا بألمانيا.

مصدر: جامعة واشنطن في سانت لويس

وأوصت كتب:

دليل كلية الطب بجامعة هارفارد لتاي تشي: أسابيع 12 إلى جسم صحي وقلب قوي وعقل حاد بيتر وين.

دليل كلية الطب بجامعة هارفارد إلى Tai Chi: 12 Weeks to a هيئة صحية وقلب قوي و Sharp Mind - بقلم بيتر واين.تدعم الأبحاث المتطورة من كلية هارفارد الطبية الادعاءات القديمة بأن تاي تشي لها تأثير مفيد على صحة القلب والعظام والأعصاب والعضلات والجهاز المناعي والعقل. قام الدكتور بيتر إم واين ، وهو مدرس تاي تشي لفترة طويلة وباحث في كلية هارفارد الطبية ، بتطوير واختبار بروتوكولات مشابهة للبرنامج المبسط الذي يتضمنه في هذا الكتاب ، والذي يناسب الناس من جميع الأعمار ، ويمكن القيام به في بضع دقائق في اليوم.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


تصفح ممرات الطبيعة: عام من البحث عن الطعام البري في الضواحي
بواسطة ويندي وإريك براون.

تصفح ممرات الطبيعة: عام من البحث عن طعام بري في الضواحي من قبل ويندي وإريك براون.كجزء من التزامهم بالاعتماد على الذات والمرونة ، قرر ويندي وإيريك براون قضاء سنة في دمج الأغذية البرية كجزء منتظم من نظامهم الغذائي. مع معلومات حول جمع ، إعداد ، والحفاظ على المواد الغذائية البرية التي يمكن التعرف عليها بسهولة في معظم المناظر الطبيعية في الضواحي ، هذا الدليل الفريد والملهم هو لا بد من قراءته لكل من يريد تعزيز الأمن الغذائي لعائلتهم من خلال الاستفادة من الوفرة على عتبة دارهم.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


Food Inc .: دليل مشارك: كيف تجعلنا المواد الغذائية الصناعية مرضية وأكثر سمنة وأكثر فقراً وما يمكنك القيام به حيال ذلك - حرره كارل ويبر.

Food Inc .: دليل مشارك: كيف تجعلنا المواد الغذائية الصناعية مرضية وأكثر سمنة وفقرا وما يمكنك القيام به حيال ذلكمن أين أتى طعامي ، ومن قام بمعالجته؟ ما هي الأعمال التجارية الزراعية العملاقة وما هي الحصة التي تمتلكها في الحفاظ على الوضع الراهن لإنتاج الأغذية واستهلاكها؟ كيف يمكنني إطعام عائلتي الأطعمة الصحية بتكلفة معقولة؟ التوسع في مواضيع الفيلم ، الكتاب أغذية، وشركة سوف يجيب على هذه الأسئلة من خلال سلسلة من المقالات الصعبة من قبل كبار الخبراء والمفكرين. سيشجع هذا الكتاب أولئك المستوحين من الفلم لمعرفة المزيد عن القضايا ، والعمل على تغيير العالم.

انقر هنا لمزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.


enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Why Broccoli And Cabbage Are So Bitter

Why Broccoli And Cabbage Are So Bitter

Researchers have mapped the crystal structure of a key protein that makes the metabolites responsible for the bitter taste in Brassica vegetables like mustards, broccolis, and cabbages.

Vegetables in the genus Brassica share a distinct and bitter taste. Some consider the flavor of cruciferous plants their strongest attribute. But even in India and China, where these “brassicas” have been cultivated for more than 4,000 years, scientists have sought to tone down the chemical compounds responsible for their pungent flavor. Turns out, the same compounds that make them bitter also make them toxic at some levels.

The new study is the first snapshot of how the protein evolved and came to churn out such diverse byproducts in this agriculturally significant group of plants. The results could be used along with ongoing breeding strategies to manipulate crop plants for nutritional and taste benefits.

Brassicas fight back

“All of the brassicas—be it Indian mustard, Arabidopsis, broccoli, or brussel sprouts—they all make these pungent, sulphur-smelling compounds, the glucosinolates,” says Joseph Jez, professor of biology at Washington University in St. Louis. The compounds have long been recognized as a natural defense against pests.

“Plants need to fight back,” Jez says. “They can’t really do anything, but they can make stuff.”

“There’s different profiles of glucosinolates in different plants,” he says. “The question has always been if you could modify their patterns to make something new. If insects are eating your plants, could you change the profile and get something that could prevent crop loss?”

But there are a daunting number of glucosinolates: almost 130 different kinds recognized within the genus Brassica. Each plant species within the genus makes a “collection” of several different kinds of glucosinolates—its own flavor mix—all of which are secondary metabolites of a particular protein.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Researchers have known about the central role of this protein for decades. But prior to this study, no one had ever been able to complete the x-ray crystallography necessary to map it in detail.

Tastier crops?

The new work, co-led by Roshan Kumar, a postdoctoral fellow in the Jez laboratory, uses genetics, biochemistry, and structural biology to help unravel the molecular basis for the evolution and diversification of glucosinolates.

“Glucosinolates are derived from amino acids,” Kumar says. “Gene elongation is one of the important steps that provides most of the diversity in the glucosinolate profiles across all of the brassicas. It decides which type of glucosinolates (the plant) is going to form.”

The insight gained in the new study is important step toward mustering a milder mustard, or building a bitter-free broccoli.

But will it help us to eat our greens?

Maybe. Mostly researchers are interested in the potential for modifying glucosinolates in seeds, not in the stems or leafy parts of Brassica plants, Kumar says.

The major oilseed crop Brassica juncea and related rapeseeds are used to make cooking oil in temperate and subtropical areas of the world. Plant breeders have sought to adjust the levels of glucosinolates in these crops so that the protein-rich seed cake leftovers can be used as a feed supplement for cattle and poultry.

“If you decrease glucosinolates from all over the plant, it becomes susceptible to pests and pathogens,” Kumar says. “That is why there is a need for smart engineering of glucosinolates.”

The study appears in the journal The Plant Cell. Additional researchers contributing to the work are from the National Institute of Plant Genome Research in New Delhi, India and the the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology in Jena, Germany.

Source: Washington University in St. Louis

Recommended Books:

The Harvard Medical School Guide to Tai Chi: 12 Weeks to a Healthy Body, Strong Heart, and Sharp Mind -- by Peter Wayne.

The Harvard Medical School Guide to Tai Chi: 12 Weeks to a Healthy Body, Strong Heart, and Sharp Mind -- by Peter Wayne.Cutting-edge research from Harvard Medical School supports the long-standing claims that Tai Chi has a beneficial impact on the health of the heart, bones, nerves and muscles, immune system, and the mind. Dr. Peter M. Wayne, a longtime Tai Chi teacher and a researcher at Harvard Medical School, developed and tested protocols similar to the simplified program he includes in this book, which is suited to people of all ages, and can be done in just a few minutes a day.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Browsing Nature's Aisles: A Year of Foraging for Wild Food in the Suburbs
by Wendy and Eric Brown.

Browsing Nature's Aisles: A Year of Foraging for Wild Food in the Suburbs by Wendy and Eric Brown.As part of their commitment to self-reliance and resiliency, Wendy and Eric Brown decided to spend a year incorporating wild foods as a regular part of their diet. With information on collecting, preparing, and preserving easily identifiable wild edibles found in most suburban landscapes, this unique and inspiring guide is a must-read for anyone who wants to enhance their family's food security by availing themselves of the cornucopia on their doorstep.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


Food Inc.: A Participant Guide: How Industrial Food is Making Us Sicker, Fatter, and Poorer-And What You Can Do About It -- edited by Karl Weber.

Food Inc.: A Participant Guide: How Industrial Food is Making Us Sicker, Fatter, and Poorer-And What You Can Do About ItWhere has my food come from, and who has processed it? What are the giant agribusinesses and what stake do they have in maintaining the status quo of food production and consumption? How can I feed my family healthy foods affordably? Expanding on the film’s themes, the book Food, Inc. will answer those questions through a series of challenging essays by leading experts and thinkers. This book will encourage those inspired by the film to learn more about the issues, and act to change the world.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.


enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}