التفكير في الأكل: الاتجاه الذي يمكن أن يساعدك على فقدان الوزن وتحويل صحتك

التفكير في الأكل: الاتجاه الذي يمكن أن يساعدك على فقدان الوزن وتحويل صحتك
شترستوك

في السنوات الأخيرة ، الذهن - يعرف بأنه "أصبحت الحالة العقلية أو الموقف الذي يركز فيه المرء على وعيه في اللحظة الراهنة" جزءا لا يتجزأ من لغتنا اليومية. وقد ساعد اليقظه الكثير من الناس على تطوير المهارات اللازمة لإدارة الألم المزمن ، الاكتئاب, القلق والتوتر و اضطرابات النوم. كما أصبح وسيلة شائعة لتغيير سلوكيات تناول الطعام تحت مصطلح "تناول الطعام الذهن".

الأكل الواعي يشجع الناس على الاهتمام بالغذاء بكل حواسهم ، مع ملاحظة الاستجابات الجسدية والعاطفية التي تحدث قبل وأثناء وبعد تجربة تناول الطعام. يعلم الأكل الحريص الناس على استخدام الحكمة لتوجيه قرارات تناول الطعام ، والاعتراف بتفضيلات الطعام غير القضائي والتعرف على إشارات الجوع البدنية.

على الرغم من أن هدفه ليس فقدان الوزن ، إلا أن الأكل الواعي يمكن أن يساعد أولئك الذين يكافحون على اتباع حمية طويلة الأمد عن طريق تصحيح مواقفهم تجاه الأطعمة "الجيدة" و "السيئة". ويقال أيضا الأكل إلى الذهن تساعد على تقليل، وتناول الطعام العاطفي ويعزز استهلاك أجزاء أصغر وعدد السعرات الحرارية أقل.

على الرغم من شعبيته الحالية بين علماء النفس وخبراء التغذية وأخصائيي التغذية ، إلا أن تناول الطعام في الذهن ليس بالأمر الجديد. في الواقع ، يمكن إرجاعه إلى أواخر العصر الفيكتوري وعمل الغذاء الأمريكي المتحمّس لهوراس فليتشر.

مضغ للصحة

أطلق عليها اسم "masticator العظيم" ، جادل فليتشر أن "رئيس الهضملعبت (حالة الشخص العاطفية عند تناول الطعام) دورا هاما في اختياراتهم الغذائية. وبالتالي ، كان من المستحسن مضغ كل مرة من الطعام 32 مرات (واحد لكل سن) من أجل تحسين الرفاهية البدنية والعقلية.

في 1913 ، نشر فليتشر كتابه الأول حول الموضوع: فليتشر: ما هو أو كيف أصبحت شابة في الستين. له نصيحة يحمل تشابهًا لافتًا مع إرشادات تناول الطعام الواعي اليوم:

أولاً: انتظر شهية حقيقية مكتسبة.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ثانيًا: اختر من الطعام المتوفر أكثر من الشهية ، وبالترتيب الذي تطلبه الشهية.

ثالثًا: الحصول على كل الذوق السليم الموجود في الطعام في الفم ، وابتلاعه فقط عندما "يبتلع نفسه".

رابعاً: تمتع بالطعم الجيد لكل ما يستحق ، ولا تسمح لأي فكر محبط أو انحراف عن التدخل في الحفل.
خامسا: انتظر اتخاذ والتمتع قدر الإمكان بالموافقة على الشهية ؛ الطبيعة ستفعل الباقي.

ادعى فليتشر أن أكل الراحة تسبب عسر الهضم. على هذا النحو ، نصح القراء بالتوقف والتوقف لحظة لملاحظة مشاعرهم قبل الوصول إلى الطعام تلقائيا. وبالمثل ، حافظ فليتشر على أن الوعي بالطعام في الفم أدى إلى "عجائب الأحاسيس الجديدة والممتعة ، والمذاقات الجديدة من الذوق والميول الجديدة للشهية". هذه التوصيات لتناول الطعام عمدا وتذوق كل لدغة لا تزال تشكل مكونات مركزية الأكل المعقول المعاصر.

فن الأكل

تماشيا مع بعض الادعاءات الحالية من تناول الطعام ، ذكر فليتشر ممارسة منتظمة لما أصبح يعرف باسم "fletcherising". هذا من شأنه أن يؤدي إلى وضوح الرأس وزيادة قوة الجسم والقدرة على التحمل ، وسوف يقاوم المرض والتعب. لإثبات هذه التأكيدات ، هو شخصيا تحدى أبرز الرياضيين في ييل لمنافسة من القوة والتحمل ، والتي ، في 60 سنوات من العمر ، هو المعروف أن فاز.

سرعان ما أصبح كتاب فليتشر أكثر الكتب مبيعاً ، وتمت الاستعانة بأساليبه من قبل شخصيات بارزة مثل آرثر كونان دويل وفرانز كافكا وثيودور روزفلت ومارك توين. كما قام منتج الحبوب جون هارفي كيلوغ أيضًا بتنفيذ الفليتشر في كتابه Battle Creek Sanitarium في ميشيغان ، بالولايات المتحدة ، واستأجر أيضًا رباعيًا ليكتب "The Chewing Song" - كما ورد في الطريق إلى Wellville - فيلم عن Kellogg للترويج لفوائده.

سرعان ما تمت الدعوة إلى الفليتشر للأطفال كطريقة لتعليمهم أن يكونوا مدركين لأجسادهم وعقولهم. وبفضل الحملات الطموحة من الإصلاحي الصحي ، برنارد ماكفادان ، تمت إضافتها إلى كتب النظافة المدرسية من قبل 1914. كما اعتبرت الفليتريه مفيدة للسجناء والجنود ، مع مجرم واحد ادعاء أنها مكنته من كسر العادات السيئة في حياته ، حيث تعلم أن "البر الغذائي يسير جنبا إلى جنب مع الرفاهية الروحية".

خلال النصف الأول من القرن 20th ، ظهرت "أندية مضغية" في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة وبريطانيا ، مع "Fletcherites" يجتمعون لتناول الطعام في الاعتبار في ما يمكن اعتباره شكلا مبكرا من الذهن الجماعي. ومع ذلك ، بعد وفاة فليتشر في 1919 ، فقدت هذه الممارسة زخمها ببطء ، وبدلاً من ذلك تم استبدال الأكل العقلاني بنهج غير صحي أكثر في الغذاء - وهكذا ولدت عد السعرات الحرارية حمية. واستند هذا إلى حد كبير على استهلاك حبوب الحمية والعلكة والملينات وسجائر لاكي سترايك.

نهضة مدروسة

الاتجاه الأخير للأكل الذهن قد دفع الفليتشر مرة أخرى إلى دائرة الضوء. وأدت التشابه بين الأكل العقلاني و Fletcherism الباحثين لاختبار فعالية 35 مقابل عشر يمضغ لكل جرعة من الطعام.

واكتشف الباحثون أن ارتفاع عدد مضغ الطعام يقلل من تناول الطعام ، حيث يؤدي إلى انخفاض مستويات هرمون جريلين الذي يحفز الشهية. هذا يمكن أن يجعل الشخص أكثر استيقاظًا لاختياراته الغذائية ويشعر بمزيد من التحكم في تناول الطعام.

ومع ذلك ، لا تزال التغذية اليوم قلقة للغاية بشأن الأطعمة التي يجب تناولها والأطعمة التي يجب تقييدها. سواء أكنت تسميها الفليتشر أو الأكل الذهن ، فإن هذه الممارسة تدل على أن تعلم كيفية تناول الطعام لا يقل أهمية عن تعلم ما تأكله.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

لورين أليكس أو هاغان ، باحث في مدرسة اللغة الإنجليزية ، الاتصالات والفلسفة ، جامعة كارديف

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = mindful eating؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…
عندما يكون ظهرك مقابل الحائط
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
احب الانترنت. الآن أعرف أن الكثير من الناس لديهم الكثير من الأشياء السيئة ليقولوها عن ذلك ، لكني أحب ذلك. مثلما أحب الناس في حياتي - فهم ليسوا مثاليين ، لكني أحبهم على أي حال.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 23 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
ربما يتفق الجميع على أننا نعيش في أوقات غريبة ... تجارب جديدة ، مواقف جديدة ، تحديات جديدة. ولكن يمكن أن نشجع على تذكر أن كل شيء في حالة تغير مستمر ، ...

Mindful Eating: Trend That Could Help You Lose Weight And Transform Your Health

Mindful Eating: Trend That Could Help You Lose Weight And Transform Your Health
shutterstock

In recent years, mindfulness – defined as “a mental state or attitude in which one focuses one’s awareness on the present moment” – has become embedded into our everyday language. Mindfulness has helped many people to develop the skills necessary to manage chronic pain, depression, anxiety, stress and sleeping disorders. It has also become a popular way to change eating behaviours under the term “mindful eating”.

Mindful eating encourages people to pay attention to food with all of their senses, noticing the physical and emotional responses that take place before, during and after an eating experience. Mindful eating teaches people to use wisdom to guide eating decisions, acknowledge food preferences non-judgementally and recognise physical hunger cues.

Although its purpose is not to lose weight, mindful eating can help those struggling to follow long-term diets by correcting their attitudes towards “good” and “bad” foods. Eating mindfully is also said to help reduce, emotional eating and promotes the consumption of smaller portions and fewer calories.

Despite its current popularity among psychologists, nutritionists and dietitians, mindful eating is nothing new. In fact, it can be traced back to the late Victorian era and the work of the US health food enthusiast Horace Fletcher.

Chewing for health

Dubbed the “great masticator”, Fletcher argued that “head digestion” (a person’s emotional state when eating) played a significant role in their food choices. Consequently, it was advisable to chew each mouthful of food 32 times (one for each tooth) in order to improve one’s physical and mental well-being.

In 1913, Fletcher published his first book on the topic: Fletcherism: What It Is or How I Became Young at Sixty. His advice bears a striking similarity to mindful eating guidelines today:

First: wait for a true, earned appetite.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Second: select from the food available that appeals most to appetite, and in the order called for by appetite.

Third: get all the good taste there is in food out of it in the mouth, and swallow only when it practically “swallows itself”.

Fourth: enjoy the good taste for all it is worth, and do not allow any depressing or diverting thought to intrude upon the ceremony.
Fifth: wait; take and enjoy as much as possible what appetite approves; nature will do the rest.

Fletcher claimed that comfort eating caused indigestion. As such, he advised readers to stop and take a moment to notice their feelings before reaching for food automatically. Likewise, Fletcher maintained that an awareness of the food in the mouth led to “wonders of new and pleasant sensations, new delights of taste and new leanings of appetite”. These recommendations to eat intentionally and savour every bite still form central components of contemporary mindful eating.

The art of eating

In line with some of the current claims of mindful eating, Fletcher stated regular practice of what became known as “fletcherising”. This would result in head clarity and increased body strength and stamina, and would fend off illness and tiredness. To demonstrate these assertions, he personally challenged Yale’s top athletes to a competition of strength and endurance, which, at 60 years of age, he is reputed to have won.

Fletcher’s book quickly became a bestseller and his methods were taken up by such eminent figures as Arthur Conan Doyle, Franz Kafka, Theodore Roosevelt and Mark Twain. The cereal producer John Harvey Kellogg also implemented Fletcherism in his Battle Creek Sanitarium in Michigan, US and even hired a quartet to write “The Chewing Song” – as featured in The Road to Wellville – a film about Kellogg to promote its benefits.

Soon, Fletcherism was being advocated for children as a way to teach them to be aware of their bodies and minds. Thanks to avid campaigning from the health reformer, Bernard MacFaddan, it was added to school hygiene textbooks by 1914. Fletcherism was also considered beneficial to prisoners and soldiers, with one criminal claiming that it had enabled him to break the bad habits of a lifetime, as he learnt that “dietary righteousness went hand-in-hand with spiritual well-being”.

Throughout the first half of the 20th century, “munching clubs” emerged across the US and Britain, with “Fletcherites” getting together to eat mindfully in what can be considered an early form of group mindfulness. However, after Fletcher’s death in 1919, the practice slowly lost momentum, and mindful eating was instead replaced with a more unhealthy approach to food – and so was born the calorie counting diet. This was based largely on the consumption of diet pills, chewing gum, laxatives and Lucky Strike cigarettes.

A mindful resurgence

The recent trend of mindful eating has once again thrust Fletcherism into the spotlight. And the similarities between mindful eating and Fletcherism have led researchers to test the effectiveness of 35 versus ten chews per mouthful of food.

They discovered that higher chewing counts reduce food intake, as they result in the production of lower levels of the hormone ghrelin which stimulates appetite. This can make a person more wakeful to their food choices and feel more in control of their eating.

And yet, nutrition today still remains too concerned with which foods to eat and which foods to limit. Whether you call it Fletcherism or mindful eating, this practice demonstrates that learning how to eat is just as important as learning what to eat.The Conversation

About The Author

Lauren Alex O' Hagan, Researcher in the School of English, Communication and Philosophy, Cardiff University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=mindful eating;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…