كيف تتحول سياسة الولايات المتحدة نحو التغذية من أجل صحة أفضل

كيف تتحول سياسة الولايات المتحدة نحو التغذية من أجل صحة أفضليستجيب صانعو السياسات إلى اعتراف متزايد بالأغذية كدواء. udra11 / Shutterstock.com

في هذه السنة الجديدة ، سيصدر ملايين الأمريكيين قرارات حول تناول طعام صحي. في 2019 ، هل يمكن لقادة الحكومة الأمريكية أن يقرروا تحسين طعامهم الصحي أيضاً ، لينضموا إلى خبراء الصحة العامة في رؤية أن الغذاء دواء؟

في 2018 ، شرع الكونجرس في سلسلة من الإجراءات التي تمثل تحولًا عن وضع المسؤولية الكاملة - وإلقاء اللوم - على الأفراد لاتخاذ خياراتهم الصحية الخاصة. وتظهر هذه الإجراءات أيضًا اعترافًا متناميًا بأن العديد من أصحاب المصلحة - بما في ذلك الحكومة - يخضعون للمساءلة عن نظام غذائي أكثر صحة وعدالة. يعكس هذا التحول في التفكير فهمًا يمكن للحكومة أن تلعبه في تحسين النظام الغذائي للأميركيين.

كأعضاء هيئة التدريس في جامعة Tufts ، تمتد خبرتنا في الطب السريري وعلوم التغذية والصحة العامة وتحليلات السياسة والكونغرس والوكالات الفيدرالية والبرامج الحكومية. من الواضح لنا أن الوقت مناسب لاتخاذ إجراءات سياسية هادفة من أجل الاستفادة من الغذاء كدواء.

لماذا الأكل الصحي هو أولوية وطنية

النظام الغذائي السيئ هو من بين أعظم التحديات الصحية والاجتماعية في عصرنا ، مما يتسبب في الوفاة والعجز ، وارتفاع الإنفاق على الرعاية الصحية ، وتحديات الميزانية للحكومات والشركات الخاصة ، وتقلص الاستعداد العسكري والفوارق السكانية.

وتستهلك الرعاية الطبية وبرنامج Medicaid ، وهي البرامج الحكومية التي تدفع تكاليف الرعاية الطبية للأشخاص فوق سن الـ 65 ، والأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض ، والمعوقين ، الآن 1 دولارًا أمريكيًا في 4 دولارًا في الميزانية الفيدرالية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تقريبا $ 1 في $ 5 في الاقتصاد الأمريكي بأكمله يتم إنفاقه على الرعاية الصحية ، وخلق تهديدات هائلة لصحة الاقتصاد الوطني.

الأمراض المرتبطة بالحمية هي المساهم الرئيسي في هذه النفقات. على سبيل المثال ، تقدر التكاليف الطبية والاقتصادية السنوية لمرض القلب والسكتة الدماغية في 316 مليار دولار. من مرض السكري ، 327 مليار دولار. وجميع الظروف المرتبطة بالسمنة ، 1.42 تريليون دولار. هذه التكاليف تخلق تحديات اقتصادية هائلة للحكومات الفيدرالية وحكومات الولايات ، وكذلك للشركات الأمريكية الخاصة والعائلات والأفراد من خلال ارتفاع أقساط الرعاية الصحية ، وتكاليف الجيب ، والعمل الضائع وانخفاض الإنتاجية.

الأعباء الصحية المرتبطة بالتغذية والتكاليف تؤثر أيضا على الاستعداد العسكري. ثلثي القوات العسكرية العاملة النشطة يعانون من زيادة الوزن أو السمنة ، في حين أن 71 في المئة من الشباب الأمريكيين هم غير قادر على الانضمام إلى الجيش لسبب واحد أو أكثر ، مع السمنة باعتبارها الرائدة في disqualifier الطبية.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


كما أن النظام الغذائي الأمريكي الشامل - بما في ذلك الزراعة والواردات ومحلات السوبر ماركت والبيع بالتجزئة والمطاعم والكافتيريات ومصانع الأغذية - يعكس ويسهم في التفاوتات العميقة ، خاصة بين الأطفال. الأقليات والفقراء غالبا ما يكون أسوأ الوجبات الغذائية، مما تسبب في حلقة مفرغة من حالة صحية سيئةانخفاض الأداء المدرسي ، وفقدان الإنتاجية ، وزيادة التكاليف الصحية والفقر.

جائع للطعام الجيد

ومع إدراك صناع السياسة بشكل متزايد لعمق واتساع هذه التأثيرات ، فإنهم بدأوا في العمل. في يناير 2018 ، أنشأ المشرعون في مجلس النواب من الحزبين مجموعة عمل "الغذاء هو الطب"، مكرسة لالابتكارات في سياسة التغذية لتحسين الصحة وخفض التكاليف الصحية المرتبطة بالنظام الغذائي. إن مجرد وجود مجموعة في الكونغرس تركز على "الغذاء هو الطب" ، والذي يستضيف جلسات إحاطة متعددة لموظفي الكونغرس حول التشريعات الرئيسية لدمج التغذية في السياسة الفيدرالية ، هو تقدم.

في يونيو 7 ، 2018 ، أصدر الكونجرس تعليمات إلى مكتب محاسبة الحكومة الأمريكية لأداء تقييم شامل والمحاسبة من جميع السياسات الفدرالية المتعلقة بالأغذية والأمراض المزمنة وتكاليف الرعاية الصحية. مكتب محاسبة الحكومة هو "هيئة الرقابة" الحكومية ، ويقدم مراجعة مستقلة للوكالات والسياسات. وقد طلب GAO للتحقيق ستة أسئلة محددة عبر مختلف الوكالات والبرامج الفيدرالية ، بما في ذلك الأدلة التي تربط النظام الغذائي بالأمراض المزمنة ، وتكاليف الرعاية الصحية الوطنية والفيدرالية المقابلة ، والاستراتيجيات الحالية والفرص الضائعة للحد من هذه المخاطر والتكاليف. من المرجح أن تظهر سلسلة من تقارير مكتب المحاسبة العامة حول سياسة الأغذية في 2019 و 2020. ويمثل إطلاق هذا التحقيق علامة فارقة على المستوى الاتحادي لنطاقه والاعتراف بالفرص المتاحة في السياسات الغذائية.

الـ 2018 Farm Billوقد تم توقيع القانون في ديسمبر 20 ، 2018 ، وشملت العديد من الأحكام الهامة لتناول الطعام الصحي ، وخاصة في برنامج المساعدة الغذائية التكميلية (SNAP) ، والذي يدعم حوالي واحد من كل سبعة أمريكيين. وشمل ذلك توسيع برنامج دعم الفواكه والخضروات إلى 250 مليون دولار ، وبرنامج وصفات إنتاجية جديدة بقيمة 10 مليون دولار أمريكي وتقوية برنامج SNAP-Education ، وهو برنامج تعليمي للتغذية الغذائية بقيمة 25 مليون دولار سنوياً. وقد أوصى العديد من هذه السلف من قبل تقرير 2018 Bipartisan Policy Centre عن صحة SNAPويرأسها زعيم الأغلبية السابق في مجلس الشيوخ ، بيل فريست ، وأمينة وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية آن فينيمان ودان جليكمان.

في حين كان هناك تقدم في مشروع قانون مزرعة ، وهو التعديل المقترح لتشمل الاختبار التجريبي ل وجبات مصممة طبيا تم رفض. الوجبات المعدة طبيا هي وجبات مخصصة جاهزة للأكل يتم تقديمها في المنزل للمرضى ذوي الدخل المنخفض المصابين بأمراض طبية معقدة مثل السرطان وفيروس نقص المناعة البشرية ومرض السكري أو قصور القلب. عدة دراسات حديثة تبين أن تقديم وجبات مصممة خصيصًا للمرضى مرتبط بتخفيض عدد مرات الدخول إلى المستشفى ، والزيارات إلى غرف الطوارئ ، والإنفاق على الرعاية الصحية بشكل عام. في حين أن هذه فرصة ضائعة في مشروع قانون المزرعة ، فإن ولاية كاليفورنيا تختبر حاليًا تأثيرات الوجبات المصممة طبياً على النتائج والتكاليف الصحية في $ 6 مليون تدخل مديكيد عبر ست مقاطعات ، والتي ستوفر دليلاً جديدًا للتوسع الوطني المحتمل في المستقبل.

منتجك جاهز

من بين تغييرات قانون Farm ، نعتقد أن برنامج Produc Prescription الجديد يحمل وعدًا خاصًا. قدمت بالفعل من قبل البعض برامج التأمين غير الربحية والخاصةهذا البرنامج الفيدرالي الجديد سيسمح للأطباء بأن يصفوا ليس فقط الأدوية ولكن أيضا شراء الفواكه والخضروات المدعومة. في حين يمثل مبلغ الـ 25 مليون استثمارًا نسبيًا صغيرًا ، فإن هذا الالتزام الفيدرالي المباشر لتقييم الوصفات الغذائية في الرعاية الصحية لديه القدرة على تقديم الأدلة لدعم التوسع المستقبلي في جميع جوانب برنامج Medicaid و Medicare.

وتمثل أنشطة الكونغرس هذه في 2018 تطوراً نحو دمج ومعالجة التغذية والأمراض المرتبطة بالنظام الغذائي وتكاليف الرعاية الصحية في السياسة الفيدرالية. تستند هذه الإجراءات إلى زيادة الوعي العام بالدور الرئيسي للغذاء في الرفاه ؛ الطلب المتسارع للمستهلكين ، وتحولات الصناعة المقابلة نحو ، أغذية صحية ؛ والاعتراف المتزايد بأن المستهلكين الأفراد لا يمكن أن يكونوا وحدهم مسؤولين عن التحديات الحالية في النظام الغذائي.

إجراءات السياسة الموصى بها

تتزامن إجراءات الكونغرس الأخيرة تجاه عرض الطعام كدواء مع أدلة علمية جديدة حول كيفية ذلك سياسات حكومية محددة يمكن أن تحسن التغذية والرفاه ، وتخفيض تكاليف الرعاية الصحية وتقليل الفوارق.

إننا نؤمن بأن تحقيق تقدم ذي مغزى في هذه التحديات الوطنية سيتطلب تغييرات أكثر جوهرية في السياسة يمكن أن تجعل تناول الطعام الصحي أكثر سهولة ويسر. مرتكز على المراجعات الأخيرة من العلوم وكذلك بحثنا الجديد، ولا سيما استراتيجيات الحكومة الفيدرالية الواعدة للنظر فيها ما يلي:

* تقوية معايير التغذية in المدارسوبعد المدرسة ، وبرامج التعليم في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة وبرامج تغذية الأطفال ، وكذلك في الكافيتريات في مواقع العمل الاتحادية وغيرها من المرافق الفيدرالية ، مثل السجون ومستشفيات شؤون المحاربين القدامى.

* الحوافز الفيدرالية لدمج التغذية في برامج العافية في موقع العمل ، مثل الشخصية ، منصات التكنولوجيا التفاعلية ، والتحويل والحوافز الاقتصادية متوفرة بالفعل في شركات التأمين الخاصة وبرامج الشركات.

* ا الضريبة الفيدرالية on المشروبات المحلاة بالسكر والوجبات السريعة ، وخاصة إذا تم استخدام إيرادات الضرائب ل دعم الأطعمة الصحية، مما يجعل أسعار هذه الأخيرة أكثر بأسعار معقولة وأقرب إلى قيمتها الاجتماعية الحقيقية.

* دمج التغذية في الرعاية الصحيةبما في ذلك في السجل الصحي الإلكتروني ، ومعايير التعليم الطبي والترخيص ، وصفات الفواكه والخضراوات ، والوجبات المصممة طبيا ، وجودة مقدمي الخدمة ومبادئ السداد ، وترتيبات تقاسم المخاطر التي تحفز مقدمي الخدمات على تحسين صحة مجتمعاتهم.

* الاستفادة من برنامج SNNUMX مليار في السنة سناب ل تغذية أفضل للأسر ذات الدخل المنخفض، على سبيل المثال من خلال تعزيز مزيد من SNAP التعليمزيادة إعانات للفواكه والخضروات و الحوافز الغذائية / برنامج الحوافز لدفع الناس نحو خيارات صحية.

* الادارة الامريكية للطعام والمخدرات معايير وضع العلامات والقيود للإضافات مثل الملح والدهون غير المشبعة والسكر المضافة ؛ معايير التسويق لحماية الأطفال. المطالبات الصحية القائمة على الأدلة للمنتجات التي يمكن أن تساعد في تحقيق صحة أفضل.

* زيادة تمويل البحوث الفيدرالية ، بما في ذلك المعهد الوطني الجديد للتغذية في المعاهد الوطنية للصحة ؛ فضلا عن الحوافز الاقتصادية للشراكات الشفافة بين القطاعين العام والخاص من أجل الابتكار في مجال الأغذية وتنظيم المشاريع.

كيف تتحول سياسة الولايات المتحدة نحو التغذية من أجل صحة أفضلتسبب النظام الغذائي السيئ في مشاكل صحية كبيرة وتسبب في حصة كبيرة من الميزانيات الفيدرالية والخاصة بالولاية. beats1 / Shutterstock.com

غالبًا ما لا يكون تغيير السياسة خطيًا. واستناداً إلى التأثيرات الهامة للتغذية على المرض والرعاية الصحية والاقتصاد والاستعداد العسكري والتباينات والبيئة ، وضعت الإجراءات الفيدرالية في 2018 الأساس للقيادة الفيدرالية غير الحزبية لخلق حلول مجدية ودائمة.المحادثة

عن المؤلفين

داريوش موزافريان ، عميد ، طبيب قلب ، أستاذ ، جامعة تافتس. جيرولد ماندي ، أستاذ التغذية ، جامعة تافتس، وريناتا ميخا ، أستاذ مشارك في البحوث ، جامعة تافتس

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = healthy diet؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

How US Policy Is Shifting Toward Nutrition For Better Health

How US Policy Is Shifting Toward Nutrition For Better HealthPolicymakers are responding to a growing recognition of food as medicine. udra11/Shutterstock.com

In this new year, millions of Americans will make resolutions about healthier eating. In 2019, could U.S. government leaders further resolve to improve healthier eating as well, joining public health experts in seeing that food is medicine?

In 2018, Congress initiated a series of actions that represent a shift away from placing the full responsibility – and blame – on individual people to make their own healthier choices. These actions also show a growing recognition that many stakeholders – including the government – are accountable for a healthier, more equitable food system. This shift in thinking reflects an understanding that government can and should play a role in improving the diet of Americans.

As faculty members at Tufts University, our expertise spans clinical medicine, nutrition science, public health, policy analyses, Congress, federal agencies and government programs. It’s clear to us that the time is right for meaningful policy action to leverage food as medicine.

Why healthier eating is a national priority

Poor diet is among the greatest health and societal challenges of our time, causing death and disability, soaring health care spending, budget challenges for governments and private business, diminished military readiness and population disparities.

Medicare and Medicaid, the government programs that pay for medical care for people over age 65, low-income families, and the disabled, now consume US$1 in $4 in the federal budget. In addition, nearly $1 in $5 in the entire U.S. economy is spent on health care, creating massive threats to the health of the national economy.

Diet-related diseases are major contributors to these expenses. For example, the annual medical and economic costs of heart disease and stroke are estimated at $316 billion; of diabetes, $327 billion; and of all obesity-related conditions, $1.42 trillion. These costs create enormous economic challenges for federal and state governments as well as for private American businesses, families, and individuals through rising health care premiums, out-pocket-costs, missed work and lower productivity.

Diet-related health burdens and costs also influence military readiness. Two-thirds of active duty military forces are overweight or obese, while 71 percent of young Americans are unable to join the military for one or more reasons, with obesity as the leading medical disqualifier.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The overall U.S. food system – including farming and imports, supermarkets and retail, restaurants and cafeterias, and food manufacturers – also reflects and contributes to profound disparities, especially among children. Minorities and the poor often have the worst diets, causing a vicious cycle of poor health, lower school performance, lost productivity, increased health costs and poverty.

Hungry for good food

As policymakers increasingly recognize the depth and breadth of these effects, they are beginning to act. In January 2018, House lawmakers created a bipartisan “Food is Medicine” working group, dedicated to innovations in nutrition policy to improve health and reduce diet-related health costs. Simply the existence of a group in Congress focused on “Food is Medicine,” which hosted multiple briefings for congressional staff on key legislation to integrate nutrition into federal policy, is an advance.

On June 7, 2018, Congress instructed the U.S. Government Accountability Office to perform a comprehensive assessment and accounting of all federal policies related to food, chronic diseases and health care costs. The GAO is the government “watchdog,” providing independent audits of agencies and policies. The GAO has been asked to investigate six specific questions across diverse federal agencies and programs, including the evidence linking diet to chronic diseases, the corresponding national and federal health care costs, and the current strategies and missed opportunities to reduce these risks and costs. A series of GAO reports on food policy will likely come out in 2019 and 2020. The launch of this investigation represents a federal milestone for its scope and recognition of the opportunities in food policy.

The 2018 Farm Bill, signed into law on Dec. 20, 2018, included several important provisions for healthier eating, especially in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), which supports about one in seven Americans. This included expansion of the fruit and vegetable subsidy program to $250 million, a new $25 million Produce Prescription Program and strengthening of SNAP-Education, a $400 million/year nutrition education program. Several of these advances were recommended by the 2018 Bipartisan Policy Center report on healthier SNAP, chaired by former Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist, M.D., and USDA Secretaries Ann Veneman and Dan Glickman.

While there were advances in the Farm Bill, a proposed amendment to include pilot testing for medically tailored meals was rejected. Medically tailored meals are ready-to-eat, personalized meals provided at home to low-income patients with complex medical illnesses like cancer, HIV, diabetes or heart failure. Several recent studies show that providing medically tailored meals to patients is associated with reduced hospitalizations, emergency room visits and overall health care spending. While this is a missed opportunity in the Farm Bill, the state of California is currently testing the effects of medically tailored meals on health outcomes and costs in a $6 million Medicaid intervention across six counties, which will provide new evidence for possible future national expansion.

Your produce is ready

Among the Farm Bill changes, we believe that the new Produce Prescription Program holds special promise. Already offered by some nonprofit and private insurance programs, this new federal program will allow doctors to prescribe not just medications but also subsidized purchases of fruits and vegetables. While the $25 million represents a small relative investment, this direct federal commitment to evaluate produce prescriptions in health care has the potential to provide evidence to support future expansion throughout Medicaid and Medicare.

Together, these congressional activities in 2018 represent an evolution toward incorporating and addressing nutrition, diet-related diseases and their health care costs in federal policy. These actions build upon mounting public awareness of the central role of food in well-being; the accelerating consumer demand for, and corresponding industry shifts toward, healthier foods; and the growing recognition that individual consumers cannot be solely responsible for the current challenges in the food system.

Recommended policy actions

The recent congressional actions toward viewing food as medicine coincide with new scientific evidence on how specific government policies can improve nutrition and well-being, reduce health care costs and reduce disparities.

We believe that meaningful progress on these national challenges will require far more substantive policy changes that can make healthier eating the easy, accessible, less expensive option. Based on recent reviews of the science as well as our new research, particularly promising federal government strategies for consideration include:

* Strengthening of nutrition standards in schools, after school, early childhood education programs and child feeding programs, as well as in cafeterias at federal worksites and other federal facilities, such as prisons and Veterans Affairs hospitals.

* Federal incentives to incorporate nutrition into corporate worksite wellness programs, such as personalized, interactive technology platforms, gameification and economic incentives already available in private insurance and corporate programs.

* A federal excise tax on sugar-sweetened beverages and junk food, especially if tax revenues are used to subsidize healthier foods, making the latter’s prices both more affordable and closer to their true societal value.

* Integrating nutrition into health care, including in the electronic health record, medical education and licensing standards, fruit and vegetable prescriptions, medically tailored meals, provider quality and reimbursement guidelines, and risk-sharing arrangements that incentivize providers to improve the health of their communities.

* Leveraging the $70 billion per year SNAP program for better nutrition for low-income families, for example through further strengthening of SNAP-Education, increased subsidies for fruits and vegetables and a combined food incentive/disincentive program to nudge people toward healthier choices.

* U.S. Food and Drug Administration labeling standards and limits for additives such as salt, trans fat and added sugar; marketing standards to protect children; and evidence-based health claims for products that can help achieve better health.

* Increased federal research funding, including a new National Institute of Nutrition at the National Institutes of Health; as well as economic incentives for transparent public-private partnerships for health-focused food innovation and entrepreneurship.

How US Policy Is Shifting Toward Nutrition For Better HealthPoor diet has caused major health problems and claimed an outsized share of federal and state budgets. beats1/Shutterstock.com

Policy change is often not linear. Based on the significant impacts of nutrition on disease, health care, the economy, military readiness, disparities and the environment, federal actions in 2018 laid the foundation for nonpartisan federal leadership to create meaningful and lasting solutions.The Conversation

About The Authors

Dariush Mozaffarian, Dean, cardiologist, professor, Tufts University; Jerold Mande, Professor of Nutrition, Tufts University, and Renata Micha, Associate research professor, Tufts University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=healthy diet;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}