Diese Qualitätsdiäten können gesundes Altern bei Frauen fördern

Diese Qualitätsdiäten können gesundes Altern bei Frauen fördern

Eine Ernährung, die reich an Obst, Gemüse, Vollkornprodukten und wenig Zucker, Natrium und verarbeitetem Fleisch ist, könnte laut einer neuen Studie zur Förderung einer gesunden Zellalterung bei Frauen beitragen.

"Der Schlüssel zum Erfolg ist, dass eine gesunde Ernährung uns helfen kann, gesunde Zellen zu erhalten und bestimmte chronische Krankheiten zu vermeiden", sagt Hauptautorin Cindy Leung, Assistenzprofessorin für Ernährungswissenschaften an der School of Public Health der University of Michigan. "Der Schwerpunkt sollte auf die Verbesserung der Gesamtqualität Ihrer Ernährung gelegt werden, anstatt einzelne Lebensmittel oder Nährstoffe hervorzuheben."

"... Männer hatten tendenziell niedrigere Werte bei der Diätqualität als Frauen."

Wie in der gemeldete American Journal of EpidemiologyForscher verwendeten Telomerlänge, um die Zellalterung zu messen.

Telomere sind DNA-Protein-Strukturen, die sich an den Enden der Chromosomen befinden und die Stabilität fördern und die DNA schützen. Das Alter ist der stärkste Prädiktor der Telomerlänge - Telomere verkürzen sich während jedes Zellzyklus.

Jüngste Studien haben jedoch gezeigt, dass sich Telomere auch aufgrund von Verhaltens-, Umwelt- und psychologischen Faktoren verkürzen können. Kürzere Telomere wurden mit einem erhöhten Risiko für Herzerkrankungen, Typ-2-Diabetes und einige Krebsarten in Verbindung gebracht.

4 evidenzbasierte Diäten

Leung und seine Kollegen untersuchten die Ernährung einer landesweit repräsentativen Stichprobe von nahezu gesunden 5,000-Erwachsenen und bewerteten, wie gut sie anhand von vier auf Fakten basierenden Ernährungsqualitätsindizes einschließlich der Mittelmeerdiät, der DASH-Diät und zwei häufig verwendeten Maßen der Ernährungsqualität aus den USA punkten konnten Department of Agriculture und der Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health.


Holen Sie sich das Neueste von InnerSelf


Bei Frauen waren höhere Werte für jeden der Indizes signifikant mit einer längeren Telomerlänge assoziiert.

"Wir waren überrascht, dass die Ergebnisse konsistent waren, unabhängig von dem von uns verwendeten Diätqualitätsindex", sagt Leung. "Alle vier Diäten betonen den Verzehr von viel Obst, Gemüse, Vollkornprodukten und pflanzlichem Protein sowie die Begrenzung des Verzehrs von Zucker, Natrium, rotem und verarbeitetem Fleisch.

"Insgesamt deuten die Ergebnisse darauf hin, dass die Einhaltung dieser Leitlinien mit einer längeren Telomerlänge einhergeht und das Risiko einer schweren chronischen Erkrankung verringert."

Co-Autor Elissa Epel, Professorin für Psychiatrie an der Universität von Kalifornien, San Francisco, sagt: "Die Gemeinsamkeit aller gesunden Ernährungsmuster ist, dass sie antioxidative und entzündungshemmende Diäten sind. Sie schaffen eine biochemische Umgebung, die für Telomere günstig ist. "

Was ist mit Jungs?

Bei Männern waren die Befunde in die gleiche Richtung, aber nicht statistisch signifikant.

"Wir haben in früheren Studien über Ernährung und Telomere einige geschlechtsspezifische Unterschiede gesehen", sagt Leung. "In unserer Studie sowie in früheren Studien hatten Männer tendenziell niedrigere Werte für die Ernährungsqualität als Frauen. Männer hatten auch eine höhere Aufnahme von zuckerhaltigen Getränken und verarbeitetem Fleisch, die beide in früheren Studien mit kürzeren Telomeren in Verbindung gebracht wurden.

"Es ist möglich, dass nicht alle Nahrungsmittel die Telomerlänge gleichmäßig beeinflussen und Sie höhere Mengen an protektiven Nahrungsmitteln benötigen, um die schädlichen Auswirkungen anderer zu negieren. Es bedarf jedoch weiterer Forschung, um dies weiter zu erforschen. "

Leung hat während seiner Arbeit an der UC San Francisco einige dieser Forschungen abgeschlossen. Weitere Koautoren kommen vom Simmons College und der Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health; das Institut für globale Ernährungssicherheit an der Queen's University Belfast; und die UC San Francisco Abteilung für Biochemie und Biophysik.

Quelle: University of Michigan

Bücher zum Thema

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Diät für das Älterwerden; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

These Quality Diets May Promote Healthy Aging In Women

These Quality Diets May Promote Healthy Aging In Women

Eating a diet that is rich in fruits, vegetables, and whole grains and low in added sugar, sodium, and processed meats could help promote healthy cellular aging in women, according to a new study.

“The key takeaway is that following a healthy diet can help us maintain healthy cells and avoid certain chronic diseases,” says lead author Cindy Leung, assistant professor of nutritional sciences at the University of Michigan School of Public Health. “Emphasis should be placed on improving the overall quality of your diet rather than emphasizing individual foods or nutrients.”

“…men tended to have lower diet quality scores than women.”

As reported in the American Journal of Epidemiology, researchers used telomere length to measure cellular aging.

Telomeres are DNA-protein structures located on the ends of chromosomes that promote stability and protect DNA. Age is the strongest predictor of telomere length—telomeres shorten in length during each cell cycle.

However, recent studies have shown that telomeres can also shorten due to behavioral, environmental, and psychological factors. Shorter telomeres have been associated with an increased risk for heart disease, type 2 diabetes, and some cancers.

4 evidence-based diets

Leung and colleagues examined the diets of a nationally representative sample of nearly 5,000 healthy adults and how well they scored on four evidence-based diet quality indices, including the Mediterranean diet, the DASH diet, and two commonly used measures of diet quality from the US Department of Agriculture and the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


For women, higher scores on each of the indices were significantly associated with longer telomere length.

“We were surprised that the findings were consistent regardless of the diet quality index we used,” Leung says. “All four diets emphasize eating plenty of fruits, vegetables, whole grains, and plant-based protein and limiting consumption of sugar, sodium, and red and processed meat.

“Overall, the findings suggest that following these guidelines is associated with longer telomere length and reduces the risk of major chronic disease.”

Coauthor Elissa Epel, professor of psychiatry at the University of California, San Francisco, says “the commonality to all of the healthy diet patterns is that they are antioxidant and anti-inflammatory diets. They create a biochemical environment favorable to telomeres.”

What about guys?

In men, the findings were in the same direction, but not statistically significant.

“We have seen some gender differences in previous nutrition and telomere studies,” Leung says. “In our study, as well as in previous studies, men tended to have lower diet quality scores than women. Men also had higher intakes of sugary beverages and processed meats, both of which have been associated with shorter telomeres in prior studies.

“It’s possible that not all foods affect telomere length equally and you need higher amounts of protective foods in order to negate the harmful effects of others. However, more research is needed to explore this further.”

Leung completed some of this research while working at UC San Francisco. Additional coauthors are from Simmons College and the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health; the Institute of Global Food Security at Queen’s University Belfast; and the UC San Francisco department of biochemistry and biophysics.

Source: University of Michigan

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=diet for the aging;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…