La bière est-elle bonne pour vous?

La bière est-elle bonne pour vous?AstroStar / Shutterstock

Une Article de Daily Mail a annoncé que: "La bière est officiellement bonne pour vous". L'article affirmait que la bière "réduit le risque cardiaque" et "améliore la santé du cerveau". Même si le "risque cardiaque" semble un peu vague, les nouvelles semblent bonnes.

Mais regardons de plus près les preuves. Le Daily Mail cite la source de la recherche sous le nom de American Journal of the Medical Sciences. Le journaliste fournit même une citation du étude, qui a été publié dans 2000:

La teneur en antioxydants de la bière est équivalente à celle du vin, mais les antioxydants spécifiques sont différents car l'orge et le houblon utilisés dans la production de la bière contiennent des flavonoïdes différents de ceux utilisés dans la production du vin.

L'article du Daily Mail poursuit en disant que la bière peut aider à réduire le risque de développer le diabète et les maladies cardiaques, qu'elle peut protéger les fonctions cognitives et augmenter les taux de lipoprotéines de haute densité (appelés bon cholestérol). si le journaliste cite l'étude à ce stade ou un nutritionniste.

Avant de voir si la bière est bonne pour la santé, nous devons d’abord examiner ce que contient la bière.

La bière est composée de quatre ingrédients principaux: le grain (principalement l'orge, mais il pourrait s'agir d'autres grains), le houblon, la levure et l'eau. Le tableau 1 fournit un résumé des nutriments présents dans une portion de bière 330ml.

la bière est bonne pour vous2 8 16Tableau 1: L'information nutritionnelle de la bière. Maya Ranchordas, Auteur fourni

La bière contient également des micronutriments appelés polyphénols. Certains de ces polyphénols, tels que flavonoïdes, flavanols et acides phénoliques, ont des avantages connus pour la santé, bien que beaucoup de recherches se soient concentrées sur du vin, pas de bière.

Mais qu'en est-il des allégations de santé spécifiques faites dans l'article? La bière réduit-elle vraiment le "risque cardiaque"? La plupart des études sur la bière suggèrent qu'une consommation faible à modérée pourrait réduire le risque de maladies du cœur. Les effets rapportés sont similaires à ceux trouvés dans le vin.

Le Daily Mail article affirme également que la bière peut "stimuler la santé du cerveau", bien que les preuves soient quelque peu précaires. Une récente étude qui ont suivi les hommes et les femmes 550 au cours des années 30, ont conclu que la consommation d'alcool, même à des niveaux modérés, est associée à des changements négatifs dans le cerveau.

Alcool et mortalité

Les études antérieures sur l'alcool ont montré Relation en forme de J entre la consommation d'alcool et la mortalité, suggérant une mortalité légèrement plus élevée chez les sujets tolérants, une légère diminution de la mortalité chez les buveurs légers et modérés, puis une augmentation de la mortalité chez les gros buveurs. Cependant, les dernières recherches, utilisant des données plus complètes, suggèrent que la relation entre l’alcool et la linéaire - plus vous buvez d'alcool, plus vous risquez de mourir prématurément. Les femmes âgées de plus de 65 constituent le seul groupe d'âge pour lequel une consommation modérée d'alcool semble toujours associée à une réduction de la mortalité.

Il convient de noter que la directive britannique pour la consommation d'alcool est unités 14 pour les hommes et les femmes, ce qui équivaut à environ cinq pintes de bière alcoolisée 5% par semaine.

En fin de compte, les propriétés saines de la bière telles que les flavonoïdes, les flavanols et les acides phénoliques peuvent également être obtenues à partir d'aliments et de boissons non alcoolisés à base de plantes. Alors ne vous laissez pas berner par les gros titres qui attirent l’attention; La bière peut avoir des effets bénéfiques sur la santé, mais cela ne signifie pas que c'est la façon la plus saine d'obtenir ces avantages.

La ConversationIl convient également de noter que l’étude citée par le Daily Mail concluait:

A propos de l'auteur

Mayur Ranchordas, maître de conférences et consultant en nutrition sportive, Sheffield Hallam University

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = bière saine; maxresults = 3}

Is Beer Good For You?

Is Beer Good For You?AstroStar/Shutterstock

A recent Daily Mail article announced that: “Beer is officially good for you”. The article claimed that beer “reduces heart risk” and “improves brain health”. Even if “heart risk” sounds a bit vague, the news sounds good.

But let’s take a closer look at the evidence. The Daily Mail cites the source of the research as The American Journal of the Medical Sciences. The journalist even provides a quote from the study, which was published in 2000:

The antioxidant content of beer is equivalent to that of wine, but the specific antioxidants are different because the barley and hops used in the production of beer contain flavonoids different from those in the grapes used in the production of wine.

The Daily Mail article goes on to say that beer can help to reduce the risk of developing diabetes and heart disease, it can protect cognitive function and it can boost levels of high-density lipoprotein (so-called good cholesterol) – although it’s not clear if the journalist is citing the study at this point or a nutritionist.

Before we look at whether or not beer is good for your health, we first need to look at what’s in beer.

Beer is made from four primary ingredients: grain (mainly barley, but it could be other grains), hops, yeast and water. Table 1 provides a summary of the nutrients found in a 330ml serving of beer.

is beer good for you2 8 16Table 1: The nutrition information of beer. Mayur Ranchordas, Author provided


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Beer also contains micronutrients called polyphenols. Some of these polyphenols, such as flavanoids, flavanols and phenolic acids, have known health benefits, although a lot of the research has focused on wine, not beer.

But what about the specific health claims made in the article? Does beer really reduce “heart risk”? Most studies on beer suggest that low to moderate consumption could reduce the risk of heart disease. The reported effects are similar to those found in wine.

The Daily Mail article also claims that beer can “boost brain health”, although the evidence for this is somewhat shaky. A recent study that tracked 550 men and women over the course of 30 years, concluded that alcohol consumption, even at moderate levels, is associated with negative changes in the brain.

Alcohol and mortality

Previous alcohol studies showed a J-shaped relationship between alcohol consumption and mortality, suggesting slightly higher mortality for teetotallers, slightly reduced mortality for light and moderate drinkers, then an increase in mortality for heavy drinkers. However, the latest research, using more complete data, suggests that the relationship between alcohol and mortality is actually linear – the more alcohol you drink, the more likely you are to die prematurely. The only age group for whom moderate alcohol consumption still seems to be associated with reduced mortality are women over the age of 65.

It should be noted that the UK guideline for alcohol intake is 14 units for men and women, which equals about five pints of a 5% alcohol beer per week.

Ultimately, the healthy properties found in beer such as flavanoids, flavanols and phenolic acids can also be obtained from non-alcoholic plant-based food and drinks. So don’t be fooled by the eye-catching headlines; beer may have some health benefits, but that doesn’t mean it’s the healthiest way to obtain those benefits.

The ConversationIt should also be noted that the study quoted by the Daily Mail concluded: “There is no evidence to support endorsement of one type of alcoholic beverage over another.”

About The Author

Mayur Ranchordas, Senior Lecturer and Sport Nutrition Consultant, Sheffield Hallam University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=healthy beer;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)