هل البيرة جيدة بالنسبة لك؟

هل البيرة جيدة بالنسبة لك؟و AstroStar / شترستوك

A الأخيرة المادة البريد اليومي أعلن أن: "البيرة جيدة لك بشكل رسمي". ادعى المقال أن البيرة "يقلل من مخاطر القلب" و "يحسن صحة الدماغ". حتى لو بدا "خطر القلب" غامضًا بعض الشيء ، فإن الأخبار تبدو جيدة.

ولكن دعونا نلقي نظرة فاحصة على الأدلة. تستشهد صحيفة ديلي ميل بمصدر البحث باسم المجلة الأمريكية للعلوم الطبية. حتى يقدم الصحفي اقتباس من دراسةالتي تم نشرها في 2000:

محتوى الجعة المضادة للأكسدة يعادل النبيذ ، ولكن مضادات الأكسدة المحددة مختلفة لأن الشعير والقفزات المستخدمة في إنتاج البيرة تحتوي على فلافونيدات مختلفة عن تلك الموجودة في العنب المستخدم في إنتاج النبيذ.

تمضي المقالة اليومية في القول بأن البيرة يمكن أن تساعد في الحد من خطر الإصابة بمرض السكري وأمراض القلب ، ويمكنها حماية الوظيفة الإدراكية ويمكنها تعزيز مستويات البروتين الدهني عالي الكثافة (ما يسمى الكولسترول الجيد) - رغم أنه غير واضح إذا كان الصحفي يستشهد بالدراسة في هذه المرحلة أو اختصاصي تغذية.

قبل أن ننظر إلى ما إذا كانت البيرة جيدة لصحتك أم لا ، نحتاج أولاً أن ننظر إلى ما يوجد في البيرة.

يصنع الجعة من أربعة مكونات أساسية: الحبوب (خاصة الشعير ، ولكن يمكن أن تكون حبات أخرى) ، والقفزات ، والخميرة ، والماء. يوفر الجدول 1 ملخصًا للمغذيات الموجودة في خدمة 330ml للبيرة.

هي البيرة جيدة بالنسبة لك 2 8 16جدول 1: معلومات التغذية من البيرة. مايور رانشورداس, مؤلف المنصوص


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


يحتوي البيرة أيضا على المغذيات الدقيقة تسمى بوليفينول. بعض من هذه البوليفينول ، مثل flavanoids, الفلافانول . أحماض الفينول، لديها فوائد صحية معروفة ، على الرغم من أن الكثير من البحوث ركزت على خمرلا بيرة

ولكن ماذا عن الادعاءات الصحية المحددة في المقال؟ هل تخفف البيرة فعلاً "خطر القلب"؟ معظم الدراسات على البيرة تشير إلى أن الاستهلاك المنخفض إلى المعتدل يمكن أن يقلل من خطر مرض القلب. الآثار المذكورة هي مماثلة لتلك الموجودة في النبيذ.

صحيفة ديلي ميل البند كما تدعي أن البيرة يمكن أن "تعزز صحة الدماغ" ، على الرغم من أن الأدلة على هذا هش إلى حد ما. حديثا دراسة التي تتبع الرجال والنساء 550 على مدى سنوات 30 ، خلص إلى أن استهلاك الكحول ، حتى في مستويات معتدلة ، يرتبط مع تغييرات سلبية في الدماغ.

الكحول والوفيات

أظهرت دراسات الكحول السابقة أ علاقة على شكل J بين استهلاك الكحول والوفيات ، مما يشير إلى ارتفاع معدل الوفيات بشكل طفيف بالنسبة لمضغيلي الفطريات ، وانخفاض معدل الوفيات بشكل طفيف بالنسبة للشارب الخفيف والمعتدل ، ثم زيادة في معدل الوفيات بالنسبة لأصحاب الشراب الثقيل. ومع ذلك ، فإن أحدث الأبحاث ، باستخدام بيانات أكثر اكتمالا ، تشير إلى أن العلاقة بين الكحول والوفيات هي في الواقع خطي - كلما شرب الكحول أكثر ، كلما زاد احتمال موتك قبل الأوان. والفئة العمرية الوحيدة التي يبدو أن استهلاك الكحول المعتدل فيها لا يزال مرتبطًا بخفض معدل الوفيات هي النساء فوق سن الـ 65.

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن توجيه المملكة المتحدة لتناول الكحول هو وحدات 14 للرجال والنساء ، والتي تساوي حوالي خمسة مكاييل من بيرة كحولية 5٪ في الأسبوع.

في نهاية المطاف ، يمكن أيضا الحصول على الخصائص الصحية الموجودة في البيرة مثل flavanoids ، flavanols والأحماض الفينولية من الأغذية والمشروبات غير الكحولية القائمة على النباتات. لذلك لا تنخدع بالعناوين الرئيسية اللافتة للنظر ؛ قد يكون للجعة بعض الفوائد الصحية ، ولكن هذا لا يعني أنها الطريقة الأكثر صحة للحصول على هذه الفوائد.

المحادثةوتجدر الإشارة أيضًا إلى أن الدراسة التي نقلتها ديلي ميل خلصت إلى أنه: "لا يوجد دليل يدعم المصادقة على نوع واحد من المشروبات الكحولية على نوع آخر".

نبذة عن الكاتب

مايور رانشورداس ، كبير المحاضرين ومستشار التغذية الرياضية ، جامعة شيفيلد هالام

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = healthy beer؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Is Beer Good For You?

Is Beer Good For You?AstroStar/Shutterstock

A recent Daily Mail article announced that: “Beer is officially good for you”. The article claimed that beer “reduces heart risk” and “improves brain health”. Even if “heart risk” sounds a bit vague, the news sounds good.

But let’s take a closer look at the evidence. The Daily Mail cites the source of the research as The American Journal of the Medical Sciences. The journalist even provides a quote from the study, which was published in 2000:

The antioxidant content of beer is equivalent to that of wine, but the specific antioxidants are different because the barley and hops used in the production of beer contain flavonoids different from those in the grapes used in the production of wine.

The Daily Mail article goes on to say that beer can help to reduce the risk of developing diabetes and heart disease, it can protect cognitive function and it can boost levels of high-density lipoprotein (so-called good cholesterol) – although it’s not clear if the journalist is citing the study at this point or a nutritionist.

Before we look at whether or not beer is good for your health, we first need to look at what’s in beer.

Beer is made from four primary ingredients: grain (mainly barley, but it could be other grains), hops, yeast and water. Table 1 provides a summary of the nutrients found in a 330ml serving of beer.

is beer good for you2 8 16Table 1: The nutrition information of beer. Mayur Ranchordas, Author provided


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Beer also contains micronutrients called polyphenols. Some of these polyphenols, such as flavanoids, flavanols and phenolic acids, have known health benefits, although a lot of the research has focused on wine, not beer.

But what about the specific health claims made in the article? Does beer really reduce “heart risk”? Most studies on beer suggest that low to moderate consumption could reduce the risk of heart disease. The reported effects are similar to those found in wine.

The Daily Mail article also claims that beer can “boost brain health”, although the evidence for this is somewhat shaky. A recent study that tracked 550 men and women over the course of 30 years, concluded that alcohol consumption, even at moderate levels, is associated with negative changes in the brain.

Alcohol and mortality

Previous alcohol studies showed a J-shaped relationship between alcohol consumption and mortality, suggesting slightly higher mortality for teetotallers, slightly reduced mortality for light and moderate drinkers, then an increase in mortality for heavy drinkers. However, the latest research, using more complete data, suggests that the relationship between alcohol and mortality is actually linear – the more alcohol you drink, the more likely you are to die prematurely. The only age group for whom moderate alcohol consumption still seems to be associated with reduced mortality are women over the age of 65.

It should be noted that the UK guideline for alcohol intake is 14 units for men and women, which equals about five pints of a 5% alcohol beer per week.

Ultimately, the healthy properties found in beer such as flavanoids, flavanols and phenolic acids can also be obtained from non-alcoholic plant-based food and drinks. So don’t be fooled by the eye-catching headlines; beer may have some health benefits, but that doesn’t mean it’s the healthiest way to obtain those benefits.

The ConversationIt should also be noted that the study quoted by the Daily Mail concluded: “There is no evidence to support endorsement of one type of alcoholic beverage over another.”

About The Author

Mayur Ranchordas, Senior Lecturer and Sport Nutrition Consultant, Sheffield Hallam University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=healthy beer;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)