صعود الواعي الواعي

صعود الواعي الواعي

انها موسم الشواء ، والوقت من العام الذي عادة ما يجعل صناعة اللحوم سعيدة. لكن عددا متزايدا من الكنديين ، لا سيما أولئك الذين يعيشون تحت 35 ، يقطعون اللحوم عن وجباتهم الغذائية - وهو اتجاه ينبغي أن يسبب إنذارا خطيرا لمنتجي اللحوم. (صراع الأسهم)

تقترب عطلة نهاية الأسبوع الطويلة في شهر أغسطس ، وسوف يحتفل العديد من الكنديين بالنزهات وحفلات الشواء. غالباً ما تلعب اللحوم دوراً مركزياً عند اختيار القائمة للتجمعات بين العائلة والأصدقاء. ولكن يبدو أن تناول اللحوم أصبح مثيرًا للجدل بشكل متزايد ، مثل بيعه.

في فرنسا الصديقة للوزراء ، على سبيل المثال ، كان هناك عدد متزايد من ذكرت حوادث مكافحة اللحوم. في الأسابيع الأخيرة ، تم رش العديد من محلات الجزارة والمجازر بدم مزيف. يختار محتجون آخرون استخدام الكلمات ، معربًا عن مخاوفهم بشأن استهلاك اللحوم. لا توجد مثل هذه التقارير في كندا حتى الآن ، ولكن هناك شيء واضح على قدم وساق.

لسنوات ، كان الالتزام الاختياري بنظام غذائي خاص اختيارًا ضمنيًا. هذه الخيارات تسمح الآن لمجموعة متزايدة من الاستمرار في الهجوم. تقديرات من حديث واسع النطاق دراسة جامعة دالهوزي تشير إلى أن كندا تأوي أكثر من 2.3 مليون نباتي ، وأكثر من 850,000 vegans.

يكاد عدد النباتيين في كندا يكافئ عدد سكان مونتريال ، واحدة من أكبر المدن في كندا.

معظم النباتيين والنباتيين يكونون تحت 35

ولكن ما هو أكثر إثارة للقلق بالنسبة لصناعة اللحوم هو أن 52 في المائة من جميع النباتيين هم دون سن 35. أما بالنسبة للنباتيين ، فإن هذا العدد هو 51 في المائة.

جيل الشباب يؤثر على اقتصادنا الغذائي بشكل أكبر بكثير من الأجيال الأكبر سنا. ذلك لأن هذه الأرقام يمكن أن ترتفع في الوقت المناسب.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


في هذه الأيام ، أصبح التحول إلى نباتات نباتية أو حتى نباتية ، أو أنواع أخرى من الأنظمة الغذائية الخاصة التي تفرض نفسها ، يشير إلى حركة مسيسة للغاية ضد صناعة اللحوم. رواية النظام الغذائي النباتي تعتمد على كل شيء تقريباً. وهناك عدد متزايد من محلات البقالة والمعالجات وسلاسل المطاعم تقدم الآن خيارات قائمة على النباتات.

ما قد يزيد الأمور سوءًا بالنسبة لصناعة اللحوم هو ما سيحدث في هذا الخريف. الصحة الكندية ومن المقرر ان تنشر دليل الغذاء الجديد الذي طال انتظاره في نوفمبر. يعتقد الكثيرون أن دليل الطعام التالي سيكون مختلفًا جدًا عن الدليل الحالي. وسيتم تشجيع الخيارات المستندة إلى النباتات بشدة ، وسوف يتم إهمال تناول المزيد من البروتينات الحيوانية.

سويسرا صدر للتو دليل الطعام الجديد في يوليوتشجيع المستهلكين على تقليل استهلاكهم من اللحوم بنسبة 70 في المائة. إنه يحدث في كل مكان.

صحيح أن العديد من الكنديين يرون أن دليل الغذاء سياسة لا طائل من ورائها ، لكن المشترين المؤسساتيين ينظرون إليها ، وكذلك الحال بالنسبة للمدارس. من المرجح أن يتم تعديل برامج التدريب لأخصائيي التغذية والتغذية كذلك. على مدى جيل ، سيغير الدليل الغذائي في النهاية علاقتنا مع الطعام.

زيادة الوعي

كل هذا يحدث بسرعة ، ولعدة أسباب.

المستهلكون أكثر إدراكًا لبدائل البروتين النباتي. يمكننا أن نشكر وسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية لهذا ، حيث أصبحت المعلومات متاحة بسهولة أكبر للمستهلكين. هناك دراسات شحيحة جديدة متعلقة بالصحة تشجع المستهلكين على تناول المزيد من البروتينات الحيوانية. وإذا أضفنا المخاوف المتعلقة بالبيئة والحيوان إلى حجة الصحة ، فإن حالة تناول اللحوم تزداد ضعفاً يوماً بعد يوم.

ولكن ربما بنفس القدر من الأهمية ، بدأ المستهلكون يكتشفون أن النظم الغذائية النباتية أقل تكلفة. مصادر البروتينات النباتية مثل الحمص أو العدس أرخص بكثير من لحم البقر أو لحم الخنزير أو الدجاج.

الأميركيون هم أكبر مستهلك للحوم في العالم. يأكل الأمريكي العادي ما يقرب من كيلوجرام 100 من اللحم سنويًا. أستراليا والأرجنتين وفرنسا هي آكلة اللحوم الهامة الأخرى.

كندا في المرتبة التاسعة ، مع استهلاك سنوي للحوم للفرد عند حوالي 70 كيلو. كندا هي أيضا أكبر منتج للحوم في العالم ، وجميع السلع مجتمعة. هذه الأرقام لم تتحرك في غضون بضع سنوات ، ولكن الكثير يتوقعون أن نصيب الفرد من الاستهلاك لكل هذه البلدان ، بما في ذلك كندا ، في الانخفاض.

لا يزال الكثيرون في صناعة اللحوم في حالة إنكار ، ولكن يحدث تغير اجتماعي عميق في كيفية احتضاننا للحيوانات وربطها كمصدر للغذاء.

يريد المستهلكون الاختيار

ولا شك أن تقاليدنا الطهوية ، بما في ذلك حبنا للشوي ، ستبقى بلا شك. لكن الأمور تزداد تعقيدًا بعض الشيء. ونتيجة لذلك ، ستحتاج صناعة اللحوم إلى إقامة صداقة مع الحركة النباتية بطريقة ما.

لم يعد الأمر يتعلق باختيار واحد على الآخر ، بل اختيار المكونات التي يمكن أن تتعايش وتلقى التقدير من السوق. وكثيرا ما كان الريع في الزراعة هو السيطرة على السوق على السلع الأخرى. يتوقع المستهلكون اليوم الاختيار والاكتشاف والمرونة ، بالإضافة إلى الأسعار والراحة.

من المؤكد أن صناعة اللحوم يتم تحديها هذه الأيام من قبل المزيد من المجموعات الصوتية التي تنادي باستهلاك اللحوم. يقترح البعض أننا نحظر استهلاك اللحوم تماما.

المحادثةاللحوم تستحق مكانتها المستمرة في وجباتنا الغذائية. ولكن يجب أن تدرك صناعة اللحوم أيضًا أن التوازن ضروري. البيع إلى محبي اللحوم متوسط ​​يختلف كثيرا عن مغازلة آكلات اللحوم الواعية. ويتحدث عدد متزايد من المستهلكين ، وينبغي على صناعة اللحوم أن تستمع وتحاول أن تفهم أين تذهب السوق.

نبذة عن الكاتب

سيلفان شارلبويس ، أستاذ في توزيع الأغذية وسياستها ، جامعة دالهوزي

تم نشر هذه المقالة في الأصل المحادثة. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = النباتيين، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

The Rise Of The Conscious Carnivore

food

The Rise Of The Conscious Carnivore

It’s barbecue season, a time of year that usually makes the meat industry happy. But an increasing number of Canadians, especially those under 35, are cutting out meat from their diets – a trend that should be causing serious alarm for meat producers. (Shutterstock)

The August long weekend approaches, and many Canadians will celebrate with picnics and barbecues. Meat often plays a central role when choosing the menu for gatherings among family and friends. But it seems eating meat is becoming increasingly controversial, as is selling it.

In foie gras-friendly France, for example, there’s been an increasing number of reported anti-meat incidents. In recent weeks, several butcher shops and slaughterhouses were sprayed with fake blood. Other protesters choose to use words, voicing concerns about meat consumption. There are no such reports in Canada yet, but something is clearly afoot.

For years, voluntarily committing to a special diet was a tacit choice. These choices are now allowing a growing collective to go on the offensive. Estimates from a recent wide-ranging Dalhousie University study suggest that Canada harbours more than 2.3 million vegetarians, and upwards of 850,000 vegans.

The number of vegetarians in Canada is almost equivalent to the population of Montréal, one of Canada’s largest cities.

Vegetarians and vegans are mostly under 35

But what is more worrisome for the meat industry is that 52 per cent of all vegetarians are under the age of 35. As for vegans, that number is 51 per cent.

The younger generation influences our food economy much more significantly than older generations. That’s because these numbers can only go up in time.

These days, becoming a vegetarian or even a vegan, or other types of self-imposed special diets, points to a much-politicized movement against the meat industry. The plant-based diet narrative is overpowering almost everything else. A growing number of grocers, processors and restaurant chains are offering plant-based options now.

What may make matters worse for the meat industry is what’s coming up this fall. Health Canada is due to publish its long-awaited new food guide in November. Many believe the next food guide will be very different than the current one. Plant-based choices will be strongly encouraged and eating more animal proteins will be frowned upon.

Switzerland just released its new food guide in July, encouraging consumers to reduce their meat consumption by 70 per cent. It’s happening everywhere.

It’s true that many Canadians see the food guide as pointless policy, but institutional buyers do look at it, and so do schools. Training programs for dietitians and nutritionists will likely be modified as well. Over a generation, the food guide will ultimately change our relationship with food.

Awareness has increased

All of this is happening quickly, and for several reasons.

Consumers are more aware of vegetable protein alternatives. We can thank social media for this, as information has become more readily available to consumers. There are scant new health-related studies encouraging consumers to take in more animal proteins. And if we add environmental and animal welfare concerns to the health argument, the case for eating meat is getting weaker by the day.

But perhaps just as important, consumers are starting to figure out that plant-based diets are less expensive. Sources of vegetable proteins like chickpeas or lentils are much cheaper than beef, pork or chicken.

Americans are by far the biggest consumers of meat in the world. The average American eats almost 100 kilograms of meat per year. Australia, Argentina and France are the other significant meat eaters.

Canada is ranked ninth, with yearly meat consumption per capita at about 70 kilos. Canada is also the 10th largest producer of meat in the world, all commodities combined. These figures have not moved in a few years, but many expect consumption per capita for all of these countries, including Canada, to decrease.

Many in the meat industry are still in denial, but a profound societal change is happening in how we embrace and relate to animals as a food source.

Consumers want choice

Our culinary traditions, including our love for barbecuing, will no doubt remain. But things are getting a little more complicated. As a result, the meat industry will need to befriend the plant-based movement in some way.

It’s no longer about one choice over another, but rather selecting ingredients that can co-exist and be appreciated by the marketplace. The refrain in agriculture has often been to dominate the market over other commodities. Consumers today expect choice, discovery and flexibility in addition, of course, to good prices and convenience.

The meat industry is certainly being challenged these days by more vocal groups advocating against meat consumption. Some are suggesting we ban meat consumption altogether.

The ConversationMeat deserves its continued place in our diets. But the meat industry should also recognize that balance is necessary. Selling to the average meat-lover is very different from courting a conscious carnivore. An increasing number of consumers are speaking out, and the meat industry should listen and try to understand where the market is going.

About The Author

Sylvain Charlebois, Professor in Food Distribution and Policy, Dalhousie University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Vegetarian
foodAuthor: Han Kang
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Hogarth
List Price: $15.00

Buy Now

Love Real Food: More Than 100 Feel-Good Vegetarian Favorites to Delight the Senses and Nourish the Body
foodAuthor: Kathryne Taylor
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Rodale Books
List Price: $27.50

Buy Now

The Runner's World Vegetarian Cookbook: 150 Delicious and Nutritious Meatless Recipes to Fuel Your Every Step
foodAuthor: Heather Mayer Irvine
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Rodale Books
List Price: $26.99

Buy Now

food
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

Support A Good Job!