Wie nur mehr zu stehen verbrennt mehr Kalorien

Gewichtsverlust

Stehpult 2 10

Stehen anstatt zu sitzen verbrennt im Durchschnitt eine zusätzliche 0.15 Kalorien pro Minute - ein kleiner Anstieg, der zu einem Gewichtsverlust von fast 6 Pfund pro Jahr führen könnte.

Sitzt das neue Rauchen? Es gibt viel Forschung, die Verbindungen zwischen behauptet sitzendes Verhalten und Mortalität, aber die Ergebnisse dieser Studien neigen dazu, zu variieren.

Eine aktuelle Studie veröffentlicht in der Europäische Zeitschrift für Präventive Kardiologie rezensierten 46-Studien, die aus einem Pool von 658 ausgewählt wurden und die Auswirkungen des Stehens statt des Sitzens auf den Energieverbrauch untersuchten, um zu verstehen, wie vorteilhaft es ist, von diesem Drehstuhl aufzustehen. Insgesamt waren mehr als 1,100-Teilnehmer an diesen 46-Studien beteiligt.

Die Überprüfung ergab, dass im Durchschnitt Stehen erhöht Kalorien verbrannt, die den Gewichtsverlust fördern könnte.

Ein Team von Forschern unter der Leitung von Dr. Farzane Saeidifard von der Abteilung für Herz-Kreislauf-Medizin der Mayo Clinic fand heraus, dass Teilnehmer, die am Stand waren, durchschnittlich 0.15 Kilokalorien pro Minute mehr verbrannten als diejenigen, die saßen. Während diese Zahl "weniger als erwartet und allgemein wahrgenommen wurde", berechnen sie, dass sie 54 zusätzliche Kalorien verbrennt, die pro Tag für ein 145-Pfund-Individuum verbraucht werden, das ungefähr sechs zusätzliche Stunden im Stehen verbringt. Obwohl dies ein mäßiges tägliches Defizit ist, würde die Kalorienzufuhr im Laufe eines Jahres zu einem 5.5-Pfund-Gewichtsverlust führen.

Als Referenz eine Studie, in der Teilnehmer in den Vereinigten Staaten verfolgt ihre Aktivität Für einen Durchschnitt von 14 Stunden pro Tag fanden die Teilnehmer etwa die Hälfte der Zeit sesshaft.

Die Autoren fanden auch heraus, dass Männer im Durchschnitt mehr Kalorien verbrannten als Frauen. Die Forscher führen dies auf die Tatsache zurück, dass Männerkörper eine größere Muskelmasse haben und der Energieverbrauch direkt mit diesem Element der Körperzusammensetzung verbunden ist.

Stehen wird als eine Form der "Nicht-Bewegungsaktivitäts-Thermogenese (NEAT)" betrachtet. NEAT besteht aus Aktivitäten mit niedriger Energie, die die über dem Ausgangswert verbrannten Kalorien erhöhen, welches die Energiemenge ist, die der Körper in Ruhe verbraucht.

Über den Autor

Zitat: Saidifard, Farzane; et al. "Unterschiede zwischen den Energieausgaben im Sitzen und im Vergleich zu Standing: Eine systematische Überprüfung und Meta-Analyse" Europäische Zeitschrift für Präventive Kardiologie, Januar 2018, doi: 10.1177 / 2047487317752186.

Bücher zum Thema

Gewichtsverlust
enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidjaptrues

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Google-Plus-Symbolfacebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Google-Plus-Symbolfacebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

How Just Standing More Burns More Calories

standing desk 2 10

Standing rather than sitting burns, on average, an additional 0.15 calories per minute — a small increase that could add up to a weight loss of nearly 6 pounds per year.

Is sitting the new smoking? There’s plenty of research that claims associations between sedentary behaviors and mortality, but the findings of these studies tend to vary.

A recent study published in the European Journal of Preventive Cardiology reviewed 46 studies, selected out of a pool of 658, that looked at the effects of standing, rather than sitting, on energy expenditure in an attempt to understand how beneficial it really is to get up from that swivel chair. A total of more than 1,100 participants were involved in these 46 studies.

The review found that, on average, standing increases calories burned, which could promote weight loss.

A team of researchers led by Dr. Farzane Saeidifard of the Mayo Clinic’s department of cardiovascular medicine found that, on average, participants who stood burned 0.15 kilocalories per minute more than those who sat. While this number was “less than expected and generally perceived,” they calculate that it translates to 54 extra calories burned per day for a 145-pound individual who spends about six additional hours standing. Though this is a modest daily deficit, if calorie intake remains the same, over the course of a year, it would result in a 5.5-pound weight loss.

For reference, a study in which participants in the United States tracked their activity for an average of 14 hours a day found that participants spent about half that time sedentary.

The authors also found that, on average, men burned more calories standing than women. The researchers attribute this to the fact that men’s bodies tend to have greater muscle mass, and energy expenditure is directly linked to this element of body composition.

Standing is considered a form of “non-exercise activity thermogenesis (NEAT).” NEAT consists of low energy activities that elevate calories burned above baseline, which is the level of energy the body expends at rest.

About The Author

Citation: Saeidifard, Farzane; et al. "Differences of Energy Expenditure While Sitting Versus Standing: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis," European Journal of Preventive Cardiology, January 2018, doi: 10.1177/2047487317752186.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=Standing Desk;maxresults=3}

follow InnerSelf on

 

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

Get The Latest By Email

enafarzh-CNzh-TWtlfrdehiiditjamsptrues

HOME & GARDEN

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Chemical Or Natural: What's The Best Way To Repel Mosquitoes?

Cameron Webb
Mosquitoes aren’t just annoying. Every year around 5,000 Australians get sick following a mosquito bite.

LEISURE & CREATIVITY

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

The Real Women Of 'The Favourite' Included An 18th-century Warren Buffett

Amy Froide
One of the challengers at this year’s Oscars is “The Favourite,” a film set in the early 18th-century court of British monarch Queen Anne.

SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY

How Reading And Writing Evolved?

How Did Reading And Writing Evolve?

Derek Hodgson
The part of the brain that processes visual information, the visual cortex, evolved over the course of millions of years in a world where reading and writing didn’t exist.

HEALTH & WELLNESS

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Having One Mental Health Disorder Increases Your Risks Of Getting Another

Christine Bear, et al
New studies reveal that most psychiatric illnesses are related to one another. Tracing these connections, like the mapping of a river system, promises to help define the main cause of these disorders and the drugs that could alleviate their symptoms.

FINANCE & CAREER

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Savers Aren’t More Patient, Just More Focused

Alison Jones
When facing a choice between a smaller dollar amount now or more money weeks later, “patient savers” focus immediately on the two dollar amounts, quickly screening out other factors as irrelevant, according to a new study.