Является ли вы ешьте свой продовольственный бюджет?

Является ли вы ешьте свой продовольственный бюджет?

Если бы вы угадали, сколько вы тратите на еду в месяц, скорее всего, вы пропустите отметку совсем немного.

В недавнем исследовании, Я обнаружил, что взрослые склонны недооценивать, сколько они тратят на еду более чем в два раза больше, чем они фактически тратят.

Это значительный кусок денег. Итак, почему существует такой большой разрыв между тем, сколько мы думаем, что мы тратим и сколько мы фактически тратим? И как он мог быть перекрыт?

Когда «умственный учет» не складывается

Самоконтроль нелегкий, но один из способов, которым люди пытаются контролировать, сколько они тратят, - это использовать ментальные ограничения - или эмпирические правила - чтобы не тратить слишком много средств.

«Психический учет», концепция впервые предложенный лауреатом Нобелевской премии по экономике д-ром Ричардом Талером, описывает, как мы создаем ментальный бухгалтер для наших различных ежемесячных бюджетов, будь то еда (еда или покупка продуктов), транспорт (прогулка или взятие такси) или развлечения (переход к театр или смотреть фильм).

Учитывая огромные возможности мозга, вы ожидаете, что умственный учет будет довольно эффективным. К сожалению, это не всегда полезно для самоконтроля.

Его трудно устоять перед соблазном потреблять, особенно когда нас соблазняют так много. Подумайте о праздничных шопингах: вы находитесь в торговом центре, вы голодны, вы проходите фуд-корт и поймаете запах картофеля-фри. Конечно, у вас остались остатки дома. Но так быстро и легко купить еду прямо там и там. Сочетание экологической стимуляции и отсутствия самоконтроля может заставить людей действовать импульсивно.

Проблема больше не знает о

В своем исследовании я нашел доказательства, показывающие ограничения умственного учета.


Получите последние новости от InnerSelf


Сначала я попросил участников оценить их еженедельные бюджеты на питание. Несколько дней спустя я задал им тот же вопрос. Но в то же время я также сообщал им каждый день о том, ели они или нет, и как они чувствовали свое финансовое благополучие.

Заставляя их делать ежедневные заметки, он предупреждал их о том, как часто они ели. Поэтому, когда пришло время попросить их, опять же, оценить их еженедельный бюджет на питание, оценки были, в среднем, более чем в два раза выше, чем их первая оценка. Участники подумали, что они знают, сколько они тратят на еду вдали от дома, только чтобы потом увеличить их оценки.

В моем исследовании также было обнаружено, что те, кто имел тенденцию питаться в более общем плане, имели больший разрыв между их первым и вторым отчетными бюджетами. Другими словами, чем больше они ели, тем больше они недооценивали, сколько они тратили на еду.

Возможно, самое удивительное, что многие участники даже не знали, что между их первым и вторым бюджетами существует большая разница.

Восстановление контроля

Этот феномен имеет значение, потому что во всем мире люди едят больше, чем в любой момент современной человеческой истории. По большинству оценок, он составляет столько (или больше), чем 45 процентов расходов на продовольствие в Соединенных Штатах.

Важнее, исследования показали что те, кто зарабатывает меньше, тратят большую часть своих одноразовых доходов на питание вне дома. И в то время как еда вне еды не обязательно должна быть нездоровой, люди часто не знают, что находится в подготовленных блюдах, которые мы покупаем в ресторанах, на рынках и в кафетериях. Исследователи все еще изучают последствия для здоровья, связанные с питанием, но они знают, что выбор еды из меню немедленно ограничивает выбор продуктов питания, что может привести к принятию менее здоровых пищевых решений.

Что делать?

Опираясь меньше на умственный учет, это хороший первый шаг. Выписывание еженедельного или ежемесячного бюджета продуктов питания может изменить эти тенденции. (Это также Программы что может помочь в этом.)

Один из способов получить снимок вашего поведения в еде - это отслеживать его в течение недели или двух. Делайте заметку каждый раз, когда вы едите, документируете, сколько вы тратите, с кем вы едите и что заказываете. Понимание моделей вашего выбора и поведения сделает изменения образа жизни менее сложными, а самоконтроль более управляемым.

Конечно, проблемы самоконтроля не новы. Греческий философ Платон однажды сказано«Первая и лучшая победа - победить себя».

БеседаНо в культуре, которая побуждает людей «отпустить» и «немного жить», самоконтроль не следует приравнивать к самонаказанию. Я хотел бы указать на принцип знаменитого шеф-повара Джулии Ребенка: «У вас должна быть дисциплина, чтобы повеселиться».

Об авторе

Амит Шарма, профессор, Hospitality Finance, директор исследовательской лаборатории пищевых решений, Университет штата Пенсильвания

Эта статья изначально была опубликована в Беседа, Прочтите оригинал статьи.

Похожие книги:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Книги; ключевые слова = бюджет на питание; maxresults = 3}

enafarZH-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ВНУТРЕННИЕ ГОЛОСЫ

САМОЕ ЧИТАЕМОЕ

Is Eating Out Devouring Your Food Budget?

Is Eating Out Devouring Your Food Budget?

If you were to guess how much you spend on eating out per month, chances are you’ll miss the mark by a quite a bit.

In a recent study, I found that adults tend to underestimate how much they spend on eating out by more than twice what they’re actually spending.

This is a significant chunk of cash. So why is there such a big gap between how much we think we spend and how much we actually spend? And how could it be bridged?

When ‘mental accounting’ doesn’t add up

Self-control isn’t easy, but one way that people try to control how much they spend is by using mental constraints – or rules of thumb – to prevent themselves from spending too much.

“Mental accounting,” a concept first proposed by Nobel Laureate in Economics Dr. Richard Thaler, describes how we create a mental ledger for our various monthly budgets, whether it’s food (eating out or buying groceries), transportation (walking or taking a cab) or entertainment (going to the theater or staying in to watch a movie).

Given the brain’s enormous capabilities, you’d expect mental accounting to be pretty effective. Unfortunately, it’s not always helpful in self-control.

Its difficult to resist the temptation to consume, particularly when we’re enticed in so many ways. Think about holiday shopping: You’re at the mall, you’re hungry, you pass the food court – and catch a whiff of french fries. Sure, you have leftovers back home. But it’s so quick and easy to buy a meal right then and there. A combination of environmental stimulation and a lack of self-control can cause people to act impulsively.

A problem most aren’t aware of

In my study, I found evidence to show the limitations of mental accounting.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


First I asked participants to estimate their weekly budgets for eating out. Several days later, I asked them the same question. But during the interim, I also had them report, each day, whether they ate out or not, and how they felt about their financial well-being.

By having them make daily notes, it alerted to them to how often they were eating out. So when it came time to ask them, again, to estimate their weekly budget for eating out, the estimates were, on average, more than two times higher than their first estimate. The participants thought they knew how much they were spending on food away from the home, only to later increase their estimates.

My study also found that those who tended to eat out more overall had a bigger gap between their first and second reported budgets. In other words, the more they ate out, the more they underestimated how much they were spending on eating out.

Perhaps most surprisingly, many of the participants weren’t even aware that there was a big difference between their first and second budgets.

Regaining control

This phenomenon matters because around the world, people are eating out more than at any point in modern human history. According to most estimates, it constitutes as much (or more) than 45 percent of food expenditures in the United States.

More importantly, studies have shown that those earning less tend to spend a greater proportion of their disposable incomes on eating out. And while eating out doesn’t necessarily need to be unhealthy, people often aren’t aware what’s in the prepared meals we’re buying from restaurants, markets and cafeterias. Researchers are still studying the health consequences of eating out, but they do know that selecting a meal from a menu immediately limits food choices, which could lead to less healthy food decisions.

What to do?

Relying less on mental accounting is a good first step. Writing out a weekly or monthly food budget can reverse these trends. (There are also apps that can help with this.)

One way to get a snapshot of your eating out behavior is to track it over the course of a week or two. Make a note every time you eat out, documenting how much you spend, who you eat with and what you order. Understanding the patterns of your choices and behaviors will make lifestyle changes seem less daunting, and self-control more manageable.

The challenges of self-control aren’t new, of course. The Greek philosopher Plato once said, “The first and best victory is to conquer self.”

The ConversationBut in a culture that implores people to “let loose” and “live a little,” self-control shouldn’t be equated with self-punishment. I like to point to a maxim of celebrated chef Julia Child: “You must have discipline to have fun.”

About the Author

Amit Sharma, Professor, Hospitality Finance, Director, Food Decisions Research Laboratory, Pennsylvania State University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=eating-out budget;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…