قاعدة قطب الغذاء الخمسة الثانية ليست بسيطة جدا

قاعدة قطب الغذاء الخمسة الثانية ليست بسيطة جدا

تعقِّد دراسة جديدة "القاعدة الخماسية" ، وهي الفكرة المقبولة على نطاق واسع بأنه من المقبول تناول طعام ساقط وتناوله إذا كنت سريعًا بما فيه الكفاية.

ووجد دونالد شافنر ، أستاذ وأخصائي الإرشاد في علوم الأغذية بجامعة روتجرز ، أن الرطوبة ونوع السطح ووقت الاتصال كلها عوامل تساهم في انتشار التلوث. في بعض الحالات ، يبدأ النقل في أقل من ثانية واحدة.

يقول شافنر: "الفكرة الشائعة للقاعدة الخماسية الثانية هي أن الطعام الذي يتم إسقاطه على الأرض ، ولكن يتم التقاطه بسرعة ، آمن للأكل لأن البكتيريا تحتاج إلى وقت لنقلها" ، مضيفًا أنه في حين أن "قاعدة" الثقافة الشعبية في برنامجين تلفزيونين على الأقل ، فإن الأبحاث في المجلات التي تخضع لاستعراض الأقران محدودة.

"قررنا النظر في هذا لأن الممارسة منتشرة على نطاق واسع. يقول شافنر ، الذي أجرى بحثًا مع روبين ميراندا ، طالب دراسات عليا في مختبره في كلية العلوم البيئية والبيولوجية بجامعة روتجرز في نيو برونزويك: "قد يبدو الموضوع خفيفًا ، لكننا أردنا أن تكون نتائجنا مدعومة بعلم صلب".

اختبر الباحثون أربعة أسطح ، من الفولاذ المقاوم للصدأ ، بلاط السيراميك ، والخشب ، والسجاد ، وأربعة أنواع مختلفة من الأطعمة (البطيخ ، والخبز ، والخبز ، والزبدة ، والحلوى الغامضة). نظروا أيضًا في أربعة أوقات اتصال مختلفة - أقل من ثانية واحدة وخمس ثوانٍ و 30 و 300 ثانية. استخدموا اثنين من وسائل الإعلام - مرق الصويا تريبتاك أو عازلة peptone - لتنمو المرياحة الأمعائية، "ابن عم" غير المسببة للأمراض السالمونيلا يحدث بشكل طبيعي في الجهاز الهضمي البشري.

تم تقييم سيناريوهات النقل لكل نوع سطح ونوع الطعام وزمن التلامس والإعداد البكتيري ؛ تم تلقيح الأسطح بالبكتيريا وسمح لها بالجفاف التام قبل أن يتم إسقاط عينات الطعام وتركها للبقاء لفترات محددة. تم نسخ جميع سيناريوهات 128 الإجمالية لكل 20 مرة ، مما أدى إلى الحصول على قياسات 2,560. تم تحليل عينات السطح والطعام بعد النقل للتلوث.

ليس من المستغرب ، كان البطيخ أكثر تلوث ، حلوى غائر على الأقل. يقول شافنر: "يبدو أن انتقال البكتيريا من السطوح إلى الطعام يتأثر أكثر بالرطوبة". "البكتيريا لا تملك أرجل ، تتحرك مع الرطوبة ، والأرض أكثر رطوبة ، وارتفاع مخاطر النقل. كما أن أوقات الاتصال الغذائي الأطول عادة ما تؤدي إلى نقل المزيد من البكتيريا من كل سطح إلى الغذاء ".


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ربما بشكل غير متوقع ، سجادة معدلات نقل منخفضة للغاية مقارنة مع تلك من البلاط والفولاذ المقاوم للصدأ ، في حين أن الانتقال من الخشب أكثر تنوعا. يقول شافنر: "يبدو أن تضاريس السطح والطعام تلعب دوراً مهماً في نقل البكتريا".

لذا ، في حين أظهر الباحثون أن القاعدة الخمس الثانية "حقيقية" بمعنى أن زمن التلامس الأطول ينتج عنه المزيد من الانتقال البكتيري ، فإنه يظهر أيضًا أن عوامل أخرى ، بما في ذلك طبيعة الطعام والسطح الذي يقع عليه ، متساوية أو أهمية أكبر.

يقول شافنر: "القاعدة الخمس الثانية هي تبسيط كبير لما يحدث بالفعل عندما تنتقل البكتيريا من سطح إلى آخر". "يمكن أن تتلوث البكتيريا على الفور".

تظهر النتائج على الإنترنت في المجلة التطبيقية وعلم الأحياء الدقيقة البيئي.

مصدر: جامعة روتجرز

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = keywords food، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

The Five Second Food Drop Rule Isn’t So Simple

The Five Second Food Drop Rule Isn’t So Simple

A new study complicates the “five-second rule,” the widely accepted idea that it’s okay to scoop up fallen food and eat it if you’re quick enough.

Donald Schaffner, professor and extension specialist in food science at Rutgers University, found that moisture, type of surface, and contact time all contribute to cross-contamination. In some instances, the transfer begins in less than one second.

“The popular notion of the ‘five-second rule’ is that food dropped on the floor, but picked up quickly, is safe to eat because bacteria need time to transfer,” Schaffner says, adding that while the pop culture “rule” has been featured by at least two TV programs, research in peer-reviewed journals is limited.

“We decided to look into this because the practice is so widespread. The topic might appear ‘light’ but we wanted our results backed by solid science,” says Schaffner, who conducted research with Robyn Miranda, a graduate student in his laboratory at the School of Environmental and Biological Sciences at Rutgers University-New Brunswick.

The researchers tested four surfaces—stainless steel, ceramic tile, wood, and carpet—and four different foods (watermelon, bread, bread and butter, and gummy candy). They also looked at four different contact times—less than one second, five, 30, and 300 seconds. They used two media—tryptic soy broth or peptone buffer—to grow Enterobacter aerogenes, a nonpathogenic “cousin” of Salmonella that naturally occurs in the human digestive system.

Transfer scenarios were evaluated for each surface type, food type, contact time, and bacterial prep; surfaces were inoculated with bacteria and allowed to completely dry before food samples were dropped and left to remain for specified periods. All totaled 128 scenarios were replicated 20 times each, yielding 2,560 measurements. Post-transfer surface and food samples were analyzed for contamination.

Not surprisingly, watermelon had the most contamination, gummy candy the least. “Transfer of bacteria from surfaces to food appears to be affected most by moisture,” Schaffner says. “Bacteria don’t have legs, they move with the moisture, and the wetter the food, the higher the risk of transfer. Also, longer food contact times usually result in the transfer of more bacteria from each surface to food.”


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Perhaps unexpectedly, carpet has very low transfer rates compared with those of tile and stainless steel, whereas transfer from wood is more variable. “The topography of the surface and food seem to play an important role in bacterial transfer,” Schaffner says.

So while the researchers demonstrate that the five-second rule is “real” in the sense that longer contact time results in more bacterial transfer, it also shows other factors, including the nature of the food and the surface it falls on, are of equal or greater importance.

“The five-second rule is a significant oversimplification of what actually happens when bacteria transfer from a surface to food,” Schaffner says. “Bacteria can contaminate instantaneously.”

The findings appear online in the journal Applied and Environmental Microbiology.

Source: Rutgers University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=food preparation;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: November 29, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we focus on seeing things differently... of looking from a different perspective, with an open mind and an open heart.
Why I Should Ignore COVID-19 and Why I Won't
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
My wife Marie and I are a mixed couple. She's Canadian and I am an American. For the past 15 years we have spent our winters in Florida and our summers in Nova Scotia.
InnerSelf Newsletter: November 15, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
This week, we reflect on the question: "where do we go from here?" Just as with any rite of passage, whether graduation, marriage, birth of a child, a pivotal election, or the loss (or finding) of a…
America: Hitching Our Wagon to the World and to the Stars
by Marie T Russell and Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Well, the US presidential election is now behind us and it's time to take stock. We must find common ground between young and old, Democrat and Republican, Liberal and Conservative to truly make…
InnerSelf Newsletter: October 25, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The "slogan" or sub-title for the InnerSelf website is "New Attitudes---New Possibilities", and that is exactly the theme of this week's newsletter. The purpose of our articles and authors is to…