تغذية أنفسنا وأطفالنا: الآثار البيئية للأغذية العضوية

تغذية أنفسنا وأطفالنا: الآثار البيئية للأغذية العضوية

في 2005 ، صاغ جيسيكا برنتيس الكلمة وكافوري، التي تم التصويت عليها 2007 "كلمة العام" من قبل مطبعة جامعة أكسفورد. وكافوري وقد صاغ لوصف وتشجيع ممارسة اتباع نظام غذائي يتكون من المواد الغذائية التي تحصد من داخل المنطقة المحصورة دائرة نصف قطرها ميل مائة. كان برنتيس مدير التعليم في العبارة سوق بلازا المزارعين في سان فرانسيسكو في ذلك الوقت وتريد تشجيع عشاق الطعام التمتع ما يأكلون في حين لا يزال تقدير تأثيرها على البيئة.

تشرع Locavorism في اعتبارات إيجابية: (1) الملذات التقليدية لتناول الأطعمة الحقيقية والطازجة التي يتم إعدادها وإعدادها في سياق المجتمع (2) مما يقلل من المسافة التي يتم فيها نقل الطعام باستخدام الوقود الأحفوري ، والذي أصبح الآن في المتوسط ​​1,500 miles من المزرعة إلى الجدول (3) الذي يوفر بديلاً لمزارع المصانع التي تستغل العمال والأرض ، والحيوانات المسيئة ، والمساهمة في مجتمع أصبحت فيه الأغذية المصنعة في المصنع مواد أساسية ، مما أدى إلى تكوين مجتمع يعاني من الإفراط في التغذية ونقص التغذية ، (4) إنشاء أنظمة غذائية محلية قوية تدعم الاستدامة البيئية والأمن الغذائي والعدالة الاجتماعية والحيوية الاقتصادية للمجتمعات المزدهرة.

لا مكان أكثر المحلية من الفناء الخلفي الخاص بك

إذا انضممت إلى العديد من الأمريكيين الذين لجأوا إلى زراعة الطعام بعد سنة الركود الاقتصادي 2009 وزادوا طعامكم ، فستتحكمون في تركيبة التربة وحمول المبيدات وتأكدوا من أن المنتجات قد تم تداولها بأيد نظيفة. لا يوجد مكان محلي أكثر من الفناء الخلفي الخاص بك. المنتج الخاص بك هو طازج وكثيف من الناحية التغذوية كما يمكن أن يكون ، إذا تم استخدامه بعد فترة وجيزة من الحصاد.

مع البرنامج الوطني العضوي (NOP) الذي يحدد متطلبات الإنتاج العضوي ، قامت الشركات متعددة الجنسيات بتغيير أساليب الإنتاج الخاصة بها لتتوافق مع التعريف ، ولكنها لا تزال في نهاية المطاف تقوم بشحن المنتجات إلى العديد من الأميال لتصل إلى شوكتك. من خلال التسوق للمنتجات المحلية ، يمكن تقليل البصمة الكربونية لمشتريات المنتجات العضوية.

وبما أن معظمنا يعيشون في أمريكا يعيشون في مناخ معتدل ، فإن أسلوبًا آخر لضمان الحصول على منتجات عضوية صحية طوال العام سيتطلب أنظمة لحفظ الطعام. معظم خدمات تمديد المقاطعات لها نشرات يمكن تنزيلها تصف منهجيات التعليب والتجميد والحفظ الآخر.

على الرغم من حقيقة أن الفواكه والخضراوات الطازجة توفر عادة معظم المواد المغذية لكل وجبة ، خلال أشهر الشتاء حيث لا تتوفر إلا المنتجات التقليدية المستوردة الطازجة ، يجب أن يفكر المستهلكون في اختيار الفواكه والخضروات المعلبة أو المجمدة محليا. فالتفاح المُصنَّع ، والعنب ، والخوخ ، والكمثرى ، والفاصوليا الخضراء ، والبازلاء ، والطماطم (البندورة) تحتوي على كميات كبيرة من مبيدات الآفات مقارنة بالمنتجات الطازجة ، المستوردة ، التقليدية ، غير العضوية.

بعض مجموعات الغذاء الرئيسية الأخرى

هناك أيضا المبادئ التوجيهية العضوية لإنتاج الدواجن والبيض ولحم الخنزير ومنتجات لحوم البقر. يشمل ذلك المعالجة الإنسانية للحيوانات في الأماكن التي يكون فيها للحيوانات مساحة للتمرين مع إمكانية الوصول إلى الفضاء الخارجي وحيث يتم الحفاظ على الصحة على الأنظمة الغذائية التي لا تعتمد على المضادات الحيوية من أجل البقاء. يجب استخدام المواد الأولية العضوية.

في السنوات العشر الماضية ، تم كتابة عدد من الكتب التي تقيم شرائح من نظم إنتاج الغذاء الأمريكية وتركز بشكل متزايد على رعاية الحيوانات التي توفر لحومنا. كما تم عرض فيلمين وثائقيين يركزان على نظام الغذاء الذي يوضح المشاكل ويقدم اقتراحات للتحسين. [الغذاء، وشركة و طازجة: تفكير جديد حول ما نأكله.]

وقد أدخلت تصنيع إنتاج اللحوم عمليات تغذية الحيوانات المحصورة التي قدمت اللحوم غير مكلفة بكميات كبيرة. هذه الكفاءة في الجهود المبذولة لإطعام أمة واسعة مع الغذاء منخفضة التكلفة لا تخلو من التكاليف ومخاوف بشأن healthfulness من المنتجات ولدت البيئية.

المضادات الحيوية وكولاي

ويتم نقل الماشية والذرة عدة أميال إلى عمليات تغذية الحيوانات تقتصر أنشئت لوضع الترتيبات النهائية "التشطيب". وخلال هذه الفترة عندما اعدت الماشية للذبح، فإن النظام الغذائي السائد من الذرة يعطي اللحوم الملمس الرخامي الذي tenderizes والنكهات اللحوم مع الدهون الودائع بين الألياف العضلية. لكن الأبقار مصممة بطبيعتها إلى العلف الأعشاب ويمكن البقاء على قيد الحياة فقط تتركز الذرة أو الحبوب النظام الغذائي مع مكملات من مستويات منخفضة من المضادات الحيوية. وهذا يخلق مشكلة صحية عامة كبرى، لأن البكتيريا (في المقام الأول E. كولاييمكن أن تتعرض المضادات الحيوية المستمرة على مستوى منخفض إلى المقاومة وقد تلوث منتجات اللحوم من خلال ملامستها للمادة البرازية أثناء عملية الذبح.

الجمعية الطبية الأمريكية ، والجمعية الأمريكية للصحة العامة ، والمعاهد القومية للصحة تصف المقاومة للمضادات الحيوية كقلق متزايد على الصحة العامة. تم الإبلاغ عن انخفاض في المقاومة في البلدان الأوروبية التي حظرت استخدام المضادات الحيوية في الإنتاج الحيواني. يتم تغذية سبعين بالمائة من جميع مضادات الميكروبات المستخدمة في الولايات المتحدة للماشية. هذا ينطوي على 25 مليون رطل من المضادات الحيوية سنويا ، أكثر من ثمانية أضعاف الكمية المستخدمة لعلاج المرض في البشر.

هرمونات النمو مرتبطة بالسرطان

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، مع موافقة إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية ووزارة الزراعة الأمريكية ، يتم حقن ثلثي كل الأبقار التي يتم تربيتها للذبح بهرمونات النمو. حظر الأوروبيون هرمونات النمو للحم البقر في 1988. عيّنت المفوضية الأوروبية لجنة لدراسة تأثير لحوم البشر التي تستهلك من الماشية المحسنة بالهرمونات على البشر ، وأفادت في 1999 أن بقايا اللحوم من الحيوانات المحقونة يمكن أن تؤثر على التوازن الهرموني للبشر ، مما يسبب مشاكل في الإنجاب وسرطان الثدي وسرطان البروستات أو القولون. .

حوالي 22 في المئة من جميع الأبقار الحلوب في الولايات المتحدة و 54 في المئة من القطعان الكبيرة تستخدم هرمون النمو البقري المؤتلف (rBGH) للحصول على زيادة بنسبة 8 - 17 في إنتاج الحليب. وقد زاد استخدامه من عدوى الضرع البكتيري في الأبقار بنسبة 25 في المئة ، مما استلزم استخدام المضادات الحيوية لعلاج الالتهابات. يحتوي حليب الأبقار المحقونة بالـ rBGH على مستويات أعلى من هرمون آخر يسمى عامل النمو الشبيه بالأنسولين - 1 ، والذي يرتبط عند الإنسان بالقولون وسرطان الثدي.

تحظر اللوائح استخدام الهرمونات في الخنازير والدواجن ، ولكن يتم استخدام المضادات الحيوية بشكل روتيني. فالحجز الضيق للخنازير والدجاج يشجع على استخدام مستويات منخفضة من المضادات الحيوية الاتقائية لتعزيز النمو ، ولضمان الصحة ، وللحد من انتشار الأمراض المعدية داخل مجموعات الدجاج والخنازير المزدحمة. هذا الاستخدام الدائم للمضادات الحيوية يمكن أن يؤثر ليس فقط على المستهلكين من البيض واللحوم ، ولكن من المرجح أيضًا أن يكتسب العاملون برعاية الحيوانات مقاومة متعددة للأدوية. كولاي.

لا يسمح الإنتاج العضوي للمنتجات الحيوانية باستخدام هرمونات النمو أو الاستخدام الوقائي للمضادات الحيوية. الحليب من الأبقار الحلوب في المزارع العضوية ، ولا سيما عمليات المراعي ، يحتوي على مستويات أعلى بكثير من الأحماض اللينوليك المترافق (CLAs). هذه المستويات في الحليب العضوي غالباً ما تكون أعلى بـ 30 في المئة أو أكثر من الحليب التقليدي ، ولكن هذه الميزة من CLA تتشكل بحلول الوقت من العام ، ونوعية المراعي ، ومستويات الإنتاج ، وصحة القطيع والإدارة. تتضمن فوائد صحة الإنسان من CLAs تقليل الميل إلى تخزين الدهون (وخاصة الدهون في البطن) ، وتثبيط نمو الورم ، وتعزيز الحساسية الخلوية للأنسولين ، وزيادة الاستجابة المناعية ضد المستضدات الفيروسية ، وتشكيل العمليات الالتهابية.

الاعتماد على مزارعي لحم البقر العضوي على المراعي وأعشاب العلف يزيد من مستوى CLA في اللحوم كذلك. اللحوم هي مصدر غذائي ممتاز للحديد وفيتامين ب12. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يحتوي اللحم والبيض والحليب من الحيوانات المرطبة على مستويات أعلى من الأحماض الدهنية الأساسية أوميجا 3 التي لا غنى عنها للصحة العصبية البشرية.

تغذية أنفسنا وأطفالنا بشكل غير قانوني

الآن بعد أن علمنا بحالة الأطعمة المتاحة ، هناك فرص لزيادة جودة الأطعمة التي نستهلكها. من خلال الاختيار الدقيق وشراء مذهل ، يمكن تحسين نوعية الأطعمة.

هناك أيضًا فرص لبعض العائلات للمشاركة في إنتاج الخضروات الصحية عن طريق زراعة الخضروات في الأواني في الفناء ، عن طريق تحويل مساحة الحديقة إلى حديقة موسمية ، أو من خلال المشاركة في مشروع حديقة المجتمع. خيار آخر هو تحديد المزارعين داخل مسافة بالسيارة الذين يمارسون الزراعة العضوية التي يمكن أن توفر هذه المواد الغذائية بالنسبة لك.

لنبدأ برحلة إلى متجر البقالة المحلي. إنه لأمر رائع أن نرى العديد من محلات البقالة الكبيرة التي تقدم الآن المنتجات العضوية. لكن اختيار شراء الخضار والفاكهة العضوية مقابل الخضار التقليدية يتطلب النظر في التكاليف والفوائد للعديد من الأسر. استخدمت مجموعة العمل البيئي بيانات PDP الخاصة بوزارة الزراعة الأمريكية من 2000 إلى 2007 والمنتجات المصنفة باستخدام ستة معايير للتلوث. ويستند الترتيب إلى احتمال تلوثها باستمرار بأكبر عدد من مبيدات الآفات على أعلى المستويات. باستخدام الترتيب ، يقترح دليل المتسوق لمبيدات الآفات. يتم تحديث هذه القائمة سنويا.

The Dirty Dirty and The Cleanest Sixteen

من بين أكثر اثني عشر ملوثة (القذرة دزينة) كانت سبع ثمار (خوخ ، تفاح ، نكتارين ، فراولة ، كرز ، عنب مستورد ، كمثرى) وخمسة خضروات (فلفل حلو ، كرفس ، كرنب ، خس ، جزر). تقترح هذه الدراسة أنه من خلال استبدال المنتجات من قائمة الفواكه والخضروات الأقل تلويثًا ، يمكن للمشترين تقليل استهلاكهم لمبيدات الآفات بنسبة 80 بالمائة.

ومن بين البنود إنتاج ستة عشر الأقل الملوثة كان سبعة الفواكه (الأفوكادو والأناناس والمانجو والكيوي والبابايا والبطيخ، والجريب فروت) وتسعة الخضروات (البصل والذرة الحلوة والهليون، والبازلاء الحلوة المجمدة، والملفوف والباذنجان والقرنبيط، والطماطم، و البطاطا الحلوة).

تقترح هذه الدراسة أيضًا أن شراء Dirty Dozen عضويًا من شأنه القضاء على معظم بقايا المبيدات. ومن المؤكد أن شراء المنتجات الستة عشر الأقل إنتاجًا الملوثة من شأنه أن يقلل من حمولة المبيدات إلى الحد الأدنى فقط.

للمنتجات المدرجة بين أكبر وأقل الملوثة، واختيار العضوية أو التقليدية سيكون التكلفة مقابل المنفعة الاعتبار. ان الوضع في الاختيار أن يكون توافر التحديدات العضوية على مدار السنة المنتجات.

مصادر بديلة لإنتاج اللحوم الموسمية واللحوم

على نحو متزايد ، تتطلع الأسر إلى مصادر بديلة للمنتجات واللحوم الموسمية. لا يوجد أي منتج طازج وكثيف من الناحية التغذوية مثل ما يتم حصاده من حديقة المطبخ العضوية ويتم استهلاكه خلال دقائق من الحصاد. خلال الحرب العالمية الثانية ، أنتجت "حدائق الانتصار" المنزلية ، التي دافعت عنها السيدة الأولى إليانور روزفلت ، نسبة 40 من المنتجات التي يستهلكها الأمريكيون.

ولكن يمكن أيضًا شراء المنتجات الطازجة المزروعة محليًا في أسواق المزارعين المحليين. يمكنك تحديد موقع واحد في منطقتك على www.localharvest.org or www.eatwellguide.com. كما يتم سردها في المزارع العائلية والمصادر الأخرى للمنتجات المزروعة على نحو مستدام واللحوم العشبية.

توجد فرص أيضا للحفاظ بواسطة التعليب والتجميد والتجفيف، أو غيرها من أساليب الحفاظ على المنتجات المحلية عندما يكون في الموسم لتمديد توافر رئيس الوزراء، من الناحية التغذوية المنتجات كثيفة الاستهلاك على مدار العام. الأطعمة المحلية ستكون أعذب من الفواكه والخضروات الطازجة نقل آلاف الأميال، حتى لو نمت عضويا في بلد المنشأ.

هناك وعي متزايد باستمرار بأخلاقيات الطعام. الحدائق ، وخاصة الحدائق العضوية ، يمكن أن تذكرنا بأن علاقتنا بكوكبنا يمكن أن تكون مستدامة. ما دامت الشمس تشرق وتزرع بذور الناس ، يمكننا إيجاد طرق لتوفير احتياجاتنا الغذائية دون التأثير سلبًا على العالم.

© 2013 من قبل فينلي Eversole. كل الحقوق محفوظة.
أعيد طبعها بإذن من التقاليد الداخلية، وشركة
www.innertraditions.com

المادة المصدر

تم اقتباس هذه المقالة من الفصل 9 من الكتاب:

طب الطاقة تكنولوجيا: شفاء الأوزون، Microcrystals، العلاج التردد، ومستقبل الصحة التعديل الأخير تم بواسطة فينلي Eversole دكتوراهتقنيات طب الطاقة: شفاء الأوزون ، Microcrystals ، علاج التردد ، ومستقبل الصحة
حرره فينلي Eversole دكتوراه.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات و / أو لطلب هذا الكتاب على الأمازون.

حول المؤلف من هذا المقتطف

ميلفين ديMelvin D. Epp كان عالما بحثيا يعمل على المشاكل النباتية والإنتاجية. وهو متقاعد ويملك مزرعة الأجداد التي اشتراها جده من سكة حديد سانتا في في 1876. يستمر ملفين في الحديقة حيث بدأت جدته في البستنة في 1893. حاصل على شهادات من كلية ويتون - بكالوريوس في علم الأحياء. جامعة كونيتيكت - ماجستير في علم النبات. وجامعة كورنيل - دكتوراه في علم الوراثة. لا يزال يرشد نادي Wichita Organic Garden و Frederic Remington Area Historical Society ، وهو ملحق رئيسي للبستانيين في مقاطعة سيدجويك بولاية كانساس. قام ميلفن بنشر كتاب يحتوي على شعر أمه: بتلات من كانساس عباد الشمس: A Mennonite Diaspora

حول محرر

فينلي Eversole، دكتوراهفينلي إيفرسول ، دكتوراه ، هو فيلسوف ومعلم وناشط ودافع عن دور الفنون في تطور الوعي. في 1960s كان نشطًا في الحركات المدنية والحقوق المدنية وشارك في تنظيم يوم الأرض الأول في مدينة نيويورك في 1970. لقد خطط وحرر خمسة المجلدات القادمة معالجة الحلول لمجموعة من المشاكل العالمية ؛ تكنولوجيا الطب اللانهائي هو كتاب واحد في هذه السلسلة.

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

Feeding Ourselves and Our Children: Environmental Implications of Organic Foods

Feeding Ourselves and Our Children: Environmental Implications of 
Organic Foods

In 2005, Jessica Prentice coined the word locavore, which was voted the 2007 “Word of the Year” by Oxford University Press. Locavore was coined to describe and promote the practice of eating a diet consisting of food harvested from within an area bounded by a one-hundred-mile radius. Prentice was the director of education at the Ferry Plaza Farmers Market in San Francisco at the time and wanted to encourage food lovers to enjoy what they eat while still appreciating the impact they have on the environment.

Locavorism projects positive considerations: (1) the traditional pleasures of eating real, fresh foods grown and prepared in the context of community, (2) reducing the distance that food is transported using fossil fuels, which now on average is 1,500 miles from farm to table, (3) providing an alternative to factory farms that exploit workers and the Earth, abuse animals, and contribute to a society in which factory-processed foods have become staples, creating a population that is simultaneously overfed and undernourished, and (4) creating strong local food systems that support environmental sustainability, food security, social equity, and the economic vitality of thriving communities.

No Place More Local Than Your Own Backyard

If you join the many Americans who turned to food gardening after the 2009 economic recessionary year and grow your own food, you would control the soil composition and the pesticide load and insure that the produce was handled with clean hands. There is no place more local than your own backyard. Your produce is as fresh and nutritionally dense as it can be, if used shortly after harvesting.

With the National Organic Program (NOP) defining the requirements for organic production, multinational corporations have changed their production methods to conform to the definition, but still end up shipping the produce many, many miles to reach your fork. By shopping for local produce, the carbon footprint of organic produce procurement can be reduced.

Since most of us living in America are living in a temperate climate, another technique to insure wholesome organic produce year round will require systems of food preservation. Most county extension services have bulletins that can be downloaded that describe methodologies for canning, freezing, and other preservation.

In spite of the fact that fresh whole fruits and vegetables usually deliver the most nutrients per serving, during the winter months when only imported, conventional, fresh produce is available, consumers should consider choosing canned or frozen domestically grown fruits and vegetables. Processed apples, grapes, peaches, pears, green beans, peas, and tomatoes have a substantially reduced pesticide load compared with fresh, imported, conventional, nonorganic produce.

Some Other Major 
Food Groups

There are also organic guidelines for the production of poultry, eggs, pork, and beef products. Included is the humane treatment of animals in settings where the animals have room to exercise with access to outdoor space and where health is maintained on diets that do not rely on antibiotics for survival. Organic feedstocks must be used.

In the past ten years, a number of books have been written that evaluate segments of the American food production systems and focus increasingly on the care of the animals that provide our meat. There have also been two documentaries released that focus on the food system that clarify the problems and make suggestions for improvements. [Food, Inc. and Fresh: New Thinking About What We're Eating.]

The industrialization of meat production has introduced confined animal feeding operations that have provided inexpensive meat in vast quantities. This efficiency in efforts to feed a vast nation with low-cost food is not without environmental costs and concerns about the healthfulness of the products generated.

Antibiotics and E. Coli

Cattle and corn are transported many miles to established confined animal feeding operations for the final “finishing.” During this period when the cattle are readied for slaughter, the predominant diet of corn gives the meat the marbling texture that tenderizes and flavors the meat with fat deposits between the muscle fibers. But bovines are designed by nature to forage grasses and can only survive a concentrated corn or grain diet with the supplementation of low levels of antibiotics. This creates a major public health concern, because bacteria (primarily E. coli) exposed to continuous, low-level antibiotics can become resistant and may contaminate meat products through contact with fecal matter during the slaughtering process.

The American Medical Association, American Public Health Association, and the National Institutes of Health all describe antibiotic resistance as a growing public health concern. A decrease in resistance has been reported in European countries that have banned the use of antibiotics in animal production. Seventy percent of all antimicrobials used in the United States are fed to livestock. This involves 25 million pounds of antibiotics annually, more than eight times the amount used to treat disease in humans.

Growth Hormones Linked to Cancer

Additionally, with FDA and USDA approval, two-thirds of all U.S. cattle raised for slaughter are injected with growth hormones. The Europeans banned growth hormones for beef in 1988. The European Commission appointed a committee to study the impact on humans of meat consumed from hormone-enhanced cattle and in 1999 reported that residues in meat from injected animals could affect the hormonal balance of humans, causing reproductive issues and breast, prostate, or colon cancer.

Approximately 22 percent of all dairy cows in the United States and 54 percent of large herds use recombinant bovine growth hormone (rBGH) to get an 8–17 percent increase in milk production. Its use has increased bacterial udder infections in cows by 25 percent, necessitating the use of antibiotics to treat the infections. The milk of cows injected with rBGH has higher levels of another hormone called insulin-like growth factor-1, which in humans is linked to colon and breast cancer.

Regulations prohibit the use of hormones in pigs and poultry, but antibiotics are used routinely. The tight confinement of pigs and chickens encourages the use of prophylactic low levels of antibiotics to promote growth, to insure health, and to minimize the spread of infectious diseases within the populations of crowded chickens and pigs. This perpetual use of antibiotics can impact not only the consumers of eggs and meats, but the animal caretakers also are more likely to acquire multi-drug-resistant E. coli.

Organic production of animal products does not permit the use of growth hormones or the prophylactic use of antibiotics. Milk from dairy cows on organic farms, particularly pasture-based operations, contains significantly higher levels of conjugated linoleic acids (CLAs). These levels in organic milk are often 30 percent higher or more than in conventional milk, but this CLA advantage is modulated by the time of year, quality of pasture, levels of production, and herd health and management. The human health benefits of CLAs include reducing the propensity to store fat (especially abdominal fat), inhibiting tumor development, promoting cellular sensitivity to insulin, increasing immune response against viral antigens, and modulating inflammatory processes.

The reliance of organic beef farmers on pasture and forage grasses increases the CLA level in meat as well. Meat is an excellent dietary source of iron and vitamin B12; additionally, meat, eggs, and milk from pastured animals also contain higher levels of omega-3 essential fatty acids that are indispensable for human neurological health.

Feeding Ourselves 
and Our Children Wholesomely

Now that we are aware of the state of the foods available, there are opportunities to maximize the quality of the foods we consume. Through careful selection and astute buying, the quality of foods can be improved.

There are also opportunities for some families to become involved in the production of wholesome vegetables by growing vegetables in pots on a patio, by converting some lawn space into a seasonal garden, or by participating in a community garden project. Another option is to locate farmers within driving distance who practice organic farming that can provide these food items for you.

Let’s begin with a trip to the local grocery store. It is wonderful to see many large grocery stores now offering organic produce. But the choice to purchase organic versus conventional vegetables and fruits involves a consideration of costs and benefits for many families. The Environmental Working Group has used the USDA’s PDP data from 2000 to 2007 and ranked produce using six measures of contamination. The ranking is based on the likelihood of being consistently contaminated with the greatest number of pesticides at the highest levels. Using the rankings, a shopper’s guide to pesticides is suggested. This list is updated annually.

The Dirty Dozen and The Cleanest Sixteen

Among the twelve most contaminated (the Dirty Dozen) were seven fruits (peaches, apples, nectarines, strawberries, cherries, imported grapes, and pears) and five vegetables (sweet bell peppers, celery, kale, lettuce, and carrots). This study suggests that by substituting produce from the list of least contaminated fruits and vegetables the buyers can reduce their consumption of pesticides by 80 percent.

Among the sixteen least contaminated produce items were seven fruits (avocados, pineapples, mangos, kiwi, papayas, watermelon, and grapefruit) and nine vegetables (onions, sweet corn, asparagus, frozen sweet peas, cabbage, eggplant, broccoli, tomatoes, and sweet potatoes).

This study also suggests that purchasing the Dirty Dozen organically would eliminate most pesticide residues. Purchasing the sixteen least contaminated produce items organically would reduce the pesticide load only minimally.

For the produce listed between the most and least contaminated, the choice of organic or conventional would be a cost versus benefit consideration. The situation of choice would be the availability of organic selections of all produce year round.

Alternative Sources for Seasonal Produce and Meats

Increasingly, families are looking to alternative sources for seasonal produce and meats. There is no produce as fresh and nutritionally dense as that which is harvested from an organic kitchen garden and consumed within minutes of harvest. During World War II, home-based “victory gardens,” which were championed by First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt, produced 40 percent of the produce consumed by Americans.

But fresh produce grown locally can also be procured at local farmers markets. You can locate one in your area at www.localharvest.org or www.eatwellguide.com. Also listed are family farms and other sources of sustainably-grown produce and grass-fed meats.

Opportunities also exist to preserve by canning, freezing, drying, or other methods of preservation of local produce when it is in season to extend the availability of prime, nutritionally dense produce for year-round consumption. Local foods will be fresher than fresh produce transported thousands of miles, even if it is grown organically in its country of origin.

There is an ever-increasing awareness of the ethics of food. Gardens, particularly organic gardens, can remind us that our relationship to our planet can be sustainable. As long as the sun shines and people plant seeds we can find ways to provide for our nutritional needs without adversely impacting the world.

©2013 by Finley Eversole. All Rights Reserved.
Reprinted with permission of Inner Traditions, Inc.
 www.innertraditions.com

Article Source

This article was adapted from Chapter 9 of the book:

Energy Medicine Technologies: Ozone Healing, Microcrystals, Frequency Therapy, and the Future of Health edited by Finley Eversole Ph.D.Energy Medicine Technologies: Ozone Healing, Microcrystals, Frequency Therapy, and the Future of Health
edited by Finley Eversole Ph.D.

Click here for more info and/or to order this book on Amazon.

About the Author of this excerpt

Melvin D. EppMelvin D. Epp was a research scientist working on botanical and production problems. He is retired and owns the ancestral farm his great-grandfather purchased from the Santa Fe Railroad in 1876. Melvin continues to garden where his grandmother began gardening in 1893. He holds degrees from Wheaton College - B.S. in biology; University of Connecticut - M.S. in botany; and Cornell University - Ph.D. in genetics. He continues to guide the Wichita Organic Garden Club and the Frederic Remington Area Historical Society and is an Extension Master Gardener of Sedgwick County, Kansas. Melvin has published a book featuring his mother's poetry: The Petals of a Kansas Sunflower: A Mennonite Diaspora

About the Editor

Finley Eversole, Ph.D.Finley Eversole, Ph.D., is a philosopher, educator, activist, and advocate for the role of the arts in the evolution of consciousness. In the 1960s he was active in the civil rights and women's movements and participated in organizing the first Earth Day in New York City in 1970. He has planned and edited five forthcoming volumes addressing solutions to a range of global problems; Infinite Medicine Technologies is one book in the series.

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}