لماذا قد يكون من الخطر ممارسة الرياضة باستخدام قناع الوجه

لماذا قد يكون من الخطر ممارسة الرياضة باستخدام قناع الوجه دانيال كاربيو / شاترستوك

بدأ الفيروس التاجي في التأثير على الأحداث الرياضية في وقت مبكر من 30 يناير ، عندما اتحاد كرة القدم الصيني أعلنت عن تأجيل بدء موسم كرة القدم. بعد شهرين تم الكشف عن أن ألعاب طوكيو الأولمبية سيتم تأجيله حتى صيف 2021 - التأجيل الأول في التاريخ الأولمبي الحديث.

يستكشف المسؤولون الرياضيون الآن طرقًا للتمكين من العودة إلى التدريب والمنافسة على المستويين المهني والهواة. في غياب اللقاح ، هناك العديد من التحديات. واحد منهم حول التنفس.

عند ممارسة الرياضة ، يكون التنفس أسرع وأصعب من الراحة يزيد من خطر انتقال المرض. كنتيجة ل، الدوري الممتاز لكرة القدم تدرس إدخال أقنعة الوجه. قد يحذو الآخرون حذوه.

ومع ذلك ، فإن القناع يجعل من الصعب استنشاق كمية الهواء اللازمة لأداء أعلى المستويات. نحن نعلم أن ارتداء قناع جراحي يمكن أن تزيد من مقاومة تدفق الهواء. تؤدي ممارسة الرياضة دائمًا إلى التنفس بشكل أسرع وأكثر صعوبة ، لذا فإن ارتداء قناع أثناء التمرين يضع ضغطًا إضافيًا على تدفق الهواء.

في التمارين منخفضة إلى متوسطة الشدة ، سيبدو الجهد أصعب قليلاً من المعتاد باستخدام القناع ، ولكن لا يزال بإمكانك المشي بشكل مريح. يبدو أن التحدي يكون أكثر أثناء ممارسة التمارين الثقيلة (مثل الرجبي أو كرة القدم) في الهواء بمعدلات حوالي 40-100 لتر في الدقيقة.

عندما نقوم بتمارين ثقيلة ، فإن عضلاتنا تنتج حمض اللبنيكالذي يسبب الإحساس بالحرقان. ثم يتم تحويله إلى ثاني أكسيد الكربون والزفير. ولكن ماذا يحدث إذا حاصر القناع ثاني أكسيد الكربون؟ أثناء انتقالك من التمارين المعتدلة إلى التمارين الرياضية الشديدة ، قد تعيد تنفس ثاني أكسيد الكربون ، مما قد يقلل الوظيفة الإدراكية ويزيد من معدل التنفس.

قد يكون هناك أيضًا كمية أقل من الأكسجين في الهواء المعاد تدويره ، مما قد يقلد التمرين على ارتفاعات أعلى. لذا من المهم أن نكتسب فهماً أفضل لقيود التمرين الثقيل مع قناع الوجه.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


الحاجة إلى هذا الفهم آخذ في الازدياد ، بالنظر إلى القصة المذكورة على قناة نيوز الاسترالية يموت اثنان من المراهقين في الصين في غضون أسبوع من بعضهم البعض أثناء امتحانات التربية البدنية الإلزامية أثناء ارتداء أقنعة الوجه. لم يتم إجراء عمليات التشريح ، لذلك من المستحيل معرفة ما إذا كانت الأقنعة لعبت دورًا في وفاة الأولاد. لكنه يثير السؤال ، هل من الآمن ممارسة الرياضة مع قناع الوجه أثناء COVID-19؟

اقترب أحد موردي معدات المبارزة من جامعة هيرتفوردشاير بهذا السؤال فقط.

اختبار جهاز المشي

لاكتساب فهم تقريبي للمشكلة ، جربت على نفسي. ركضت على جهاز المشي بسرعة 10 كم / ساعة لمدة ثلاث دقائق لتعكس شدة ومدة المبارزة. لقد فعلت ذلك مع مجموعة كاملة من المبارزة ، مع وبدون قناع وجه من القماش تحت قناع المبارزة. استخدمت محلل غاز محمول وقمت بتكييفه لقياس تركيز الغازات التي يتم استنشاقها وإخراجها.

لماذا قد يكون من الخطر ممارسة الرياضة باستخدام قناع الوجه المؤلف يرتدي محلل غاز مكيف.

تركيز الأكسجين في الغلاف الجوي حوالي 21٪ عند مستوى سطح البحر. عند تشغيل جهاز المشي باستخدام قناع المبارزة فقط ، كان تركيز الأكسجين حوالي 19.5٪. هذا سيكون مساويا لممارسة الرياضة في 600 م فوق مستوى سطح البحر.

لكن ارتداء قناع للوجه تحت قناع السياج قلل من مستوى الأكسجين إلى حوالي 17٪ - وهو ما يعادل ممارسة الرياضة عند 1,500 متر. أي انخفاضات أخرى في تركيز الأكسجين - من خلال ممارسة الرياضة لفترة أطول أو أصعب - سيكون لها تأثير كبير على الاستجابات الفسيولوجية للتمرين ، مما يتسبب في أعراض دوار الارتفاع مثل الدوخة أو الصداع.

هناك مستويات لا تذكر من ثاني أكسيد الكربون في الهواء الجوي ، وعند ممارسة الرياضة باستخدام قناع المبارزة فقط ، يبقى هذا أقل من 1٪. مع تشغيل قناع الوجه ، تضاعف ثلاث مرات إلى 3 ٪. ضع في اعتبارك أن السلطة التنفيذية للصحة والسلامة في المملكة المتحدة - الوكالة الحكومية المسؤولة عن تنظيم وإنفاذ السلامة في مكان العمل - ينصح أن لا يتعرض الموظفون لثاني أكسيد الكربون بنسبة 1.5٪ لأكثر من 15 دقيقة.

سياج كان جزءًا من الألعاب الأولمبية منذ عام 1896 وهو فريد من نوعه لأنه لدينا بالفعل قناع عند ممارسة الرياضة. لذا ، قبل تقديم أي توصيات لارتداء قناع الوجه للمبارزة ، من المهم إجراء المزيد من البحوث على أكثر من شخص واحد لاستكشاف مستويات ثاني أكسيد الكربون المرتفعة ومستويات الأكسجين المنخفضة. يمكن أن تكون هناك مشاكل مماثلة في ارتداء قناع الوجه مع الرياضات الأخرى عالية الكثافة.

مع وجود صالات رياضية تتطلع إلى إعادة فتح الأندية الرياضية وتريد استئنافها ، قبل أن يوصي أي شخص بارتداء قناع وجه ، يجب إجراء بحث عاجل لضمان سلامة المجتمع الرياضي ، بغض النظر عن أي ظروف أساسية.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

Lindsay Bottoms ، قارئ في ممارسة وعلم وظائف الأعضاء الصحية ، جامعة هيرتفوردشاير

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

books_fitness

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

من المحررين

لقد حان يوم الحساب لل GOP
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
لم يعد الحزب الجمهوري حزبا سياسيا مواليا لأمريكا. إنه حزب سياسي زائف غير شرعي ومليء بالراديكاليين والرجعيين هدفه المعلن هو زعزعة الاستقرار وزعزعة الاستقرار و ...
لماذا يمكن أن يكون دونالد ترامب أكبر الخاسرين في التاريخ
by روبرت جينينغز ، InnerSelf.com
تحديث 2 يوليو ، 20020 - يكلف جائحة فيروس كورونا هذا ثروة ، ربما 2 أو 3 أو 4 ثروات ، كلها ذات حجم غير معروف. أوه نعم ، ومئات الآلاف ، وربما مليون شخص سيموتون ...
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: كيف يتم تدريس العنصرية
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
في حلقة أوبرا شو عام 1992 ، علّمت الناشطة والمناهضة للعنصرية جين إيليوت الحائزة على جوائز الجمهور درساً قاسياً حول العنصرية من خلال إظهار مدى سهولة تعلم التحيز.
تغير سوف يأتي...
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
(30 مايو 2020) بينما أشاهد الأخبار عن الأحداث في فيلادلفيا والمدن الأخرى في البلاد ، فإن قلبي يتألم لما يحدث. أعلم أن هذا جزء من التغيير الأكبر الذي يحدث ...
أغنية يمكن أن ترفع القلب والروح
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
لدي العديد من الطرق التي أستخدمها لمسح الظلام من ذهني عندما أجد أنه تسلل إلى الداخل. أحدهما هو البستنة ، أو قضاء الوقت في الطبيعة. والآخر هو الصمت. طريقة أخرى هي القراءة. وواحد ...

Why It Could Be Dangerous To Exercise With A Face Mask On

Why It Could Be Dangerous To Exercise With A Face Mask On Daniel Carpio/Shutterstock

The coronavirus began to affect sporting events as early as January 30, when the Chinese Football Association announced it was delaying the start of the football season. Two months later it was revealed that the Tokyo Olympic Games would be postponed until the summer of 2021 – the first postponement in modern Olympic history.

Sporting administrators are only now exploring ways to enable a return to training and competition at both professional and amateur levels. In the absence of a vaccine, though, there are several challenges. One of them is around breathing.

When playing sport, breathing is faster and harder than at rest, which increases the risk of passing the disease on. As a result, premier league football is considering introducing face masks. Others may follow suit.

Yet a mask makes it harder to inhale the quantity of air needed to perform at the highest levels. We know that wearing a surgical mask can increase the resistance to airflow. Exercise invariably leads to faster and harder breaths, so wearing a mask during exercise places a further strain on airflow.

At low to moderate-intensity exercise, effort will feel slightly harder than normal with a mask, but you can still walk comfortably. The challenge appears to be more during heavy exercise (say, rugby or football) taking in air at rates of about 40-100 litres per minute.

When we do heavy exercise, our muscles produce lactic acid, which causes that burning sensation. It is then converted to carbon dioxide and exhaled. But what happens if the carbon dioxide is trapped by the mask? As you move from moderate to heavy exercise, you may be re-breathing carbon dioxide, which can reduce cognitive function and increase breathing rate.

There may also be less oxygen in the recycled air, which could imitate exercising at higher altitudes. So it is important we gain a better understanding of the limitations of heavy exercise with a face mask.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The need for this understanding is growing, given the story reported on an Australian News Channel of two teenage boys in China dying within a week of each other during compulsory physical education examinations while wearing face masks. Autopsies have not been performed, so it’s impossible to know whether the masks played a role in the boys’ deaths. But it raises the question, is it safe to exercise with a face mask on during COVID-19?

A supplier of fencing equipment approached the University of Hertfordshire with just this question.

Treadmill test

To gain a rough understanding of the problem, I experimented on myself. I ran on a treadmill at 10kph for three minutes to reflect the intensity and duration of fencing. I did this with full fencing kit, with and without a cloth face mask under my fencing mask. I used a portable gas analyser and adapted it to measure the concentration of gases being breathed in and out.

Why It Could Be Dangerous To Exercise With A Face Mask On The author wearing an adapted gas analyser.

The concentration of oxygen in the atmosphere is around 21% at sea level. When running on the treadmill with only the fencing mask, the concentration of oxygen was around 19.5%. This would be equivalent to exercising at 600m above sea level.

But wearing a face mask under the fencing mask reduced my oxygen level to around 17% – the equivalent of exercising at 1,500m. Any further decreases in oxygen concentration – by exercising longer or harder – would have a large effect on the physiological responses to exercise, causing altitude-sickness symptoms such as dizziness or headache.

There are negligible levels of carbon dioxide in atmospheric air, and when exercising with only the fencing mask this remains below 1%. With the face mask on, it trebled to 3%. Bear in mind that the UK Health and Safety Executive – the government agency responsible for regulation and enforcement of workplace safety – advises that employees should not be exposed to 1.5% carbon dioxide for more than 15 minutes.

Fencing has been part of the Olympics since 1896 and is unique in that we already have a mask on when exercising. So, before any recommendations are made for wearing a face mask for fencing, it is important that further research is undertaken on more than one person to explore the high carbon dioxide levels and low oxygen levels. There could be similar issues of wearing a face mask with other high-intensity sports.

With gyms looking to reopen and sports clubs wanting to resume, before anyone recommends wearing a face mask, research urgently needs to be undertaken to ensure the safety of the sporting community, regardless of any underlying conditions.The Conversation

About The Author

Lindsay Bottoms, Reader in Exercise and Health Physiology, University of Hertfordshire

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

books_fitness

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 27, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
One of the great strength of the human race is our ability to be flexible, to be creative, and to think outside the box. To be someone other than we were yesterday or the day before. We can change...…
What Works For Me: "For The Highest Good"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
Were You Part Of The Problem Last Time? Will You Be Part Of The Solution This Time?
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Have you registered to vote? Have you voted? If you are not going to vote, you will be part of the problem.
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…