الجلوس لفترة طويلة يمكن أن يزيد من خطر الموت حتى لو كنت تمارس

الجلوس لفترة طويلة يمكن أن يزيد من خطر الموت حتى لو كنت تمارسنتفليكس والبرد؟ يمكن أن يكون تقصير حياتك. شترستوك

هل تجلس؟ ثم قد ترغب في الوقوف لقراءة هذا ، كما بحث من الولايات المتحدة وجدت أن الجلوس لفترة طويلة قد يزيد من خطر الموت - حتى لو كنت تمارس الرياضة.

ووجدت الدراسة أن كل من الوقت المستقل الكامل والمدة المستقرة ارتبطت بزيادة خطر الوفاة. تم العثور على أكبر خطر في أولئك الذين قضوا أكثر من 12.5 ساعة في اليوم المستقرة وعندما استمرت نوبات لمدة أطول من عشر دقائق في كل مرة.

ولكن قبل أن تهرع لشراء مكتب دائم ، تجدر الإشارة إلى القيود المفروضة على هذه الدراسة. كبداية ، كان عمر جميع المشاركين في 8,000 من عمر 45 وأكبر سناً - لذا قد لا يكون ممثلاً للمجموعات العمرية الأخرى. أيضا ، تم جمع بيانات النشاط لمدة أسبوع واحد فقط ، لذلك قد لا يمثل ذلك مستويات النشاط للدراسة بأكملها (تم متابعة المشاركين لمدة أربع سنوات).

في هذه الدراسة ، تم استخدام مقياس التسارع المثبت على الورك - وهو جهاز يقيس حجم التسارع - لقياس النشاط البدني. في حين أن هذه الطريقة أقل انحيازا من مطالبة المشاركين بتذكر مقدار الجلوس أو النشاط الذي قاموا به في يوم واحد ، فإنه لا يزال يمثل مشكلة. هذا لأن بيانات مقياس التسارع لا يمكن التمييز بين المواقف مثل الجلوس مقابل الوقوف، على الرغم من كونها مختلفة من الناحية الفيزيولوجية ويحتمل أن تكون قيمة للصحة.

لكن على الرغم من هذه القيود ، تكشف هذه الدراسة عن حقيقة مفزعة: يمكننا أن نجتمع في نفس الوقت مع توصيات النشاط البدني ولكننا لا نزال مستقرين لمقدار كبير من اليوم. وهذا قد يزيد من خطر الموت.

يجلس المخاطر

في الواقع، بحث في البالغين الأستراليين اقترحوا أنه حتى عندما يكون الناس نشيطين بدنيًا لأكثر من دقيقة 300 في الأسبوع - ضعف التوصيات الحالية - لا يزال هناك خطر متزايد من الوفاة المرتبطة بالجلوس لفترات طويلة.

كان هذا النمط متسقًا عبر الجنسين ، والفئات العمرية ، وفئات مؤشر كتلة الجسم ، وعبر المشاركين الأصحاء مقارنةً بالمصابين بمرض القلب والأوعية الدموية والسكري الموجود مسبقًا. هذا يشير إلى أن الجلوس هو عامل خطر مستقل عن النشاط البدني.

الجلوس لفترة طويلة يمكن أن يزيد من خطر الموت حتى لو كنت تمارسيقول الخبراء أنه يجب أن تبدأ في العمل لمدة ساعتين على الأقل في اليوم - وأن تعمل في طريقك نحو أربعة أشخاص. شترستوك

على الرغم من أن هذه النتائج قد تبدو صادمة ، إلا أنه من الجدير بالذكر أنه يمكن بسهولة تفسير هذه النتائج. على سبيل المثال مراجعة تمت دراسة المقالات الصحفية الأسترالية التي نشرت بين 2000 و 2012 والتي تتضمن سلوكًا مستقلاً (الكثير من الجلوس) لتحديد كيفية تأطير النشاط البدني. من المقالات 36 التي ذكرت النشاط البدني ، اقترح 39٪ يتم التراجع عن فوائد النشاط البدني من قبل الكثير من الجلوس.

مثل هذه الرسائل من المرجح أن تنتج "ما هو الهدف من المحاولة؟" الاستجابة في كثير من الناس ، وبالتالي يمكن أن يكون لها تأثير سلبي في الواقع على سلوك النشاط البدني.

ما تستطيع فعله؟

من المهم أن نشير إلى أن الأدلة التي تشير إلى أن الجلوس مفرطًا سيئًا ، ليس هو نفسه الذي يشير إلى أن النشاط البدني ليس مفيدًا. على العكس من ذلك ، أ التحليل التلوي وجدت دراسات 16 مؤخرًا أن المستويات المرتفعة من النشاط البدني - دقائق 60-75 في اليوم - تقلل من خطر الموت المرتبط بزيادة وقت الجلوس. توصي الإرشادات الحالية في المملكة المتحدة بـ 150 دقائق من النشاط في الأسبوع ، ويتم تفسيرها عادةً على أنها دقائق 30 في خمسة أيام كل أسبوع.

الرسالة واضحة ، وتلبية إرشادات النشاط البدني ، وتفتيت فترات الجلوس الطويلة. للقيام بذلك ، قد تحتاج إلى إجراء بعض التغييرات في نمط الحياة. يمكنك البدء بالمشي أو ركوب الدراجات إلى العمل - لجعل تنقلك نشطًا. عندما تكون في العمل ، تحتاج أيضًا إلى فترات راحة مهنية دورية - قد تكون بسيطة مثل الوقوف والمشي. من المهم أيضًا استعادة استراحة الغداء - اخرج للخارج ، واذهب للتنزه لزيادة نشاط العضلات.

يمكن أن تكون الاجتماعات الدائمة أو المشي طريقة رائعة للحصول على المزيد من الحركة في يومك. كما يمكن المشي إلى مكتب أحد الزملاء للتحدث بدلاً من إرساله بالبريد الإلكتروني. يمكنك أيضًا استخدام محطة عمل قابلة لضبط الارتفاع بحيث يمكنك الوقوف على مكتبك والتحرك بدلاً من الجلوس طوال اليوم.

ثم هناك اختراقات الحياة البسيطة مثل أخذ الدرج بشكل أكثر انتظاماً ، وتجاهل المصاعد. إذا كنت في وقت قصير ، قم بإجراء تمرينات أرضية لتقسيم وقت مشاهدة التلفزيون ، وليس هناك سبب يمنعك من مشاركة الأطفال في ممارسة التمارين الرياضية إذا كان هناك وقت منفصل يمثل تحديًا.

الجلوس لفترة طويلة يمكن أن يزيد من خطر الموت حتى لو كنت تمارسيجب أن تهدف إلى الوقوف لدقائق 15 كل ساعة. شترستوك

إن تقليل استخدامك للأثاث لتجنب وضع الجسم السلبي (حيث يكون جسمك مدعومًا بالكامل من كرسيك) ، هو أمر جيد أيضًا. ليس عليك التخلص من جميع الأرائك والكراسي الخاصة بك - فقط الجلوس على الأرض يمكن أن يساعدك. يمكنك أيضًا استخدام التكنولوجيا لصالحك عن طريق استخدام التطبيقات لمراقبة نشاطك. حتى يومًا بعد يوم ، تساعد بعض الأمور مثل التنظيف والتنظيم على إضافة حركة إلى يومك - ويمكنك محاولة القيام بذلك بشكل أكثر قوة.

بالطبع ، ليست كل هذه الأفكار متاحة للجميع. ذاهب خالية من الأثاث قد يبدو متطرفًا ، لكنه يؤكد أهمية إجراء تغييرات صغيرة لتغيير أنماط الإنفاق على الطاقة. في النهاية ، فإن أهم شيء هو تجنب قطع كبيرة من وقت الجلوس. لذلك ، اعرف ما هو الأفضل لك وحاول أن تمزج بين حركتك ونشاطك كل يوم - وسوف يشكرك جسدك على ذلك.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

ماثيو هاينز ، رئيس قسم الرياضة والرياضة والتغذية بالنيابة ، جامعة هيدرسفيلد

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = standing for fitness؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

الخوف والرهاب: كيف نواجههم وننتشرهم
الخوف والرهاب: كيف نواجههم وننتشرهم
by روبرت تي. لندن ، دكتوراه في الطب

Sitting For Too Long Could Increase Your Risk Of Dying Even If You Exercise

Sitting For Too Long Could Increase Your Risk Of Dying Even If You ExerciseNetflix and chill? It could well be shortening your life. Shutterstock

Are you sitting down? Then you may want to stand up to read this, as research from the US has found that sitting for too long could increase your risk of dying – even if you exercise.

The study found that both total sedentary time and sedentary duration were associated with a higher risk of death. The greatest risk was found in those who spent more than 12.5 hours a day being sedentary and when bouts persisted for longer than ten minutes at a time.

But before you rush out to buy a standing desk, it’s worth pointing out the limitations to this study. For a start, all the 8,000 participants were aged 45 years and older – so may not be representative of other age groups. Also, activity data was only collected for one week, so this might not be representative of activity levels for the entire study (participants were followed for four years).

In the study, a hip mounted accelerometer – a device that measures the magnitude of accelerations – was used to measure physical activity. While this is a less biased method than asking participants to recall how much sitting or activity they did in a day, it is still problematic. This is because accelerometer data cannot distinguish between postures such as sitting versus standing, despite being different physiologically and potentially valuable to health.

But despite these limitations, this study reveals an alarming truth: we can simultaneously meet physical activity recommendations but remain sedentary for a significant amount of the day. And this might increase our risk of death.

Sitting risks

Indeed, research in Australian adults suggested that even when people are physically active for more than 300 minutes per week – double current recommendations – there is still an increased risk of dying associated with prolonged sitting.

This pattern was consistent across sexes, age groups, body mass index categories, and across healthy participants compared to those with pre-existing cardiovascular disease and diabetes. This suggests that sitting is a risk factor independent of physical activity.

Sitting For Too Long Could Increase Your Risk Of Dying Even If You ExerciseExperts say you should start standing up at work for at least two hours a day – and work your way toward four. Shutterstock

While these findings may sound shocking, it’s worth pointing out that such results can easily be misconstrued. For example a review of Australian newspaper articles published between 2000 and 2012 featuring sedentary behaviour (too much sitting) were examined to determine how physical activity was framed. Of the 36 articles that mentioned physical activity, 39% suggested the benefits of physical activity are undone by too much sitting.

Such messages are likely to produce a “what’s the point of trying?” response in many people and so could actually have a negative influence on physical activity behaviour.

What you can do?

It’s important to point out then that evidence indicating too much sitting is bad, is not the same as suggesting that physical activity is not beneficial. On the contrary, a meta-analysis of 16 studies recently found that higher levels of physical activity – 60-75 minutes per day – eliminated the increased risk of death associated with high sitting time. Current UK guidelines recommend 150 minutes of activity per week, usually interpreted as 30 minutes on five days each week.

The message then is clear, meet physical activity guidelines and break up long periods of sitting. To do this, you might need to make some lifestyle changes. You can start by walking or cycling to work – to make your commute active. When you’re at work you also need to have periodic occupational breaks – this could be as simple as standing and walking around. It’s also important to reclaim your lunch break – get outside, go for a walk to increase muscle activity.

Standing or walking meetings can also be a great way to get more movement into your day. As can walking to a colleague’s office to talk rather than emailing. You could also use a height adjustable workstation so you can stand at your desk and move around rather than sit down all day.

Then there’s the simple life hacks like taking the stairs more regularly, and ignoring the lifts. If you’re short on time, perform floor based exercises to break up television watching time, and there’s no reason why you can’t include children in exercise if separate time is challenging.

Sitting For Too Long Could Increase Your Risk Of Dying Even If You ExerciseYou should aim to stand up for 15 minutes every hour. Shutterstock

Decreasing your use of furniture to avoid a passive body position (where your body is fully supported by your a chair), is also good. You don’t have to throw out all your sofa and chairs either – just sitting on the floor can help. You can also use technology to your advantage by using apps to monitor your activity. Even the day to day things like cleaning and tidying help to add movement to your day – and you could try doing these more vigorously.

Of course, not all of these ideas are for everyone. Going furniture-free may seem extreme, but it emphasises the importance of making small changes to alter patterns of energy expenditure. Ultimately, the most important thing is to avoid large chunks of sitting time. So find out what works best for you and try and mix up your movement and activity every day – your body will thank you for it.The Conversation

About The Author

Matthew Haines, Acting Head of Division for Sport, Exercise & Nutrition Sciences, University of Huddersfield

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=standing for fitness;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}