Conseils pour vous en tenir aux objectifs d'entraînement de votre nouvelle année

Conseils pour vous en tenir aux objectifs d'entraînement de votre nouvelle année

Fixer des objectifs d'entraînement pour la nouvelle année? L'augmentation de l'activité physique et l'amélioration de votre santé sont des objectifs louables, mais ils peuvent être difficiles.

Pour vous aider, Brandon Alderman, professeur agrégé et vice-président de l’éducation et de l’administration au département de kinésiologie et de santé de l’Université Rutgers, a quelques conseils pour vous fixer des objectifs réalistes d’exercice qui pourraient également avoir un impact positif sur votre santé mentale.

Pourquoi prendre la résolution de faire plus d'exercice?

«Il existe probablement de nombreux avantages à définir un objectif initial ou une résolution d'exercice, mais l'un des éléments essentiels à notre compréhension du comportement de l'exercice est l'impact de la résolution sur son intention de faire de l'exercice», explique Alderman.

«Un certain nombre de théories en psychologie de l’exercice, y compris celles en vogue depuis de nombreuses années, impliquent que les intentions de faire de l’exercice sont l’un des plus puissants prédicteurs de la probabilité d’une personne de s’engager réellement dans l’exercice. Il est donc possible que la résolution pourrait simplement augmenter l'intention d'exercer. "

En outre, Alderman affirme que les personnes de tous les horizons rencontrent également un certain nombre d'obstacles à l'exercice, et que la résolution d'un problème peut être une stratégie importante pour aider à reconnaître ou à sensibiliser à ces obstacles perçus.

«Bien que la fixation d'objectifs n'ait pas nécessairement un impact à long terme sur le comportement en matière d'exercice, les résolutions sur la décision initiale de devenir plus actif présentent probablement plusieurs avantages à court terme», dit-il.

Comment l'exercice affecte-t-il notre cerveau et notre santé mentale?

L’activité physique influence favorablement la santé mentale et les fonctions cognitives, allant du social et de l’environnement (soutien social, interactions sociales) au psychologique (estime de soi, sens du devoir accompli, distraction des facteurs de stress de la vie quotidienne), en passant par la neurobiologie (modifications des neurotransmetteurs cérébraux clés, les systèmes de réponse au stress et les changements structurels et fonctionnels du cerveau), dit Alderman.

«Dans mon laboratoire, nous étudions l'impact de l'exercice sur la cognition et les émotions, en particulier chez les personnes souffrant de troubles de la santé mentale», explique Alderman. "En général, nous avons constaté que l'exercice améliore certains aspects de la cognition tout en réduisant les symptômes de la dépression, bien que les améliorations observées dans la cognition ne modifient pas nécessairement les symptômes dépressifs."

Des conseils pour définir des résolutions efficaces?

"Je pense qu'une approche plus facile à gérer consisterait à nous fixer comme objectif de mettre vos vêtements d'entraînement après votre retour du travail au moins trois jours en dehors de la semaine de travail pour les trois prochains mois", suggère Alderman.

«Il s’agit d’un objectif spécifique et mesurable qui a un calendrier précis et qui pourrait améliorer le comportement de votre exercice au cours des trois premiers mois de l’année.»

Selon Alderman, plus les gens peuvent penser que l'exercice est une habitude, ou tout simplement une partie de leur quotidien, mieux c'est.

«J'ai un mot que je me dis souvent quand je vais au travail - sans excuse. Nous sommes tous occupés et dire ce mot silencieusement ou à voix haute m'aide à me rappeler que je devrais être autorisé à intégrer l'exercice à mon quotidien sans me sentir coupable ni m'excuser du temps que j'ai passé à faire de l'exercice. Cela semble être un petit geste, mais c'est vraiment libérateur », dit Alderman.

«Enfin, j’encourage vraiment les gens à faire de l’activité physique ou à faire de l’exercice physique. Vous avez beaucoup plus de chances d'atteindre un objectif lié à une activité que vous aimez. »

La source: Rutgers University

Livres connexes

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = objectifs d'entraînement; maxresults = 3}

Tips To Stick To Your New Year’s Workout Goals

Tips To Stick To Your New Year’s Workout Goals

Setting workout goals for the New Year? Increasing physical activity and aiming to improve your health are worthy goals, but can be challenging.

To help you out, Brandon Alderman, an associate professor and vice chair of education and administration in the kinesiology and health department at Rutgers University, has some tips for setting realistic exercise goals that could also have a positive impact on your mental health.

Why make a resolution to exercise more?

“There are probably numerous benefits of making an initial goal or resolution to exercise, but one that might be critical to our understanding of exercise behavior itself is the impact of the resolution on one’s intention to exercise,” Alderman says.

“A number of theories in exercise psychology, including those that have been in vogue for many years, imply that intentions to exercise are one of the strongest predictors of whether a person is likely to actually engage in exercise, so it is possible that the resolution might just increase one’s intention to exercise.”

In addition, Alderman says people from all walks of life also experience a number of barriers towards exercise, and setting a resolution may be an important strategy to help recognize or bring awareness to these perceived exercise barriers.

“While goal-setting may not necessarily have a long-term impact on exercise behavior, there are likely to be several short-term benefits of resolutions on the initial decision to become more active,” he says.

How does exercise affect our brains and mental health?

Exercise favorably influences mental health and cognitive function, ranging from the social and environmental (social support, social interactions), to psychological (self-esteem, sense of accomplishment, distraction from daily life stressors), to neurobiological (changes in key brain neurotransmitters, stress response systems, and structural and functional brain changes), Alderman says.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


“In my lab, we study the impact of exercise on cognition and emotion, particularly among individuals suffering from mental health disorders,” Alderman says. “In general, we have found that exercise improves select aspects of cognition while reducing symptoms of depression, although the observed improvements in cognition do not necessarily mediate or cause the improvements in depressive symptoms.”

Any tips for setting successful resolutions?

“I think a more manageable approach would be to set a goal of putting on your workout clothes after you get home from work at least three days out of the workweek for the next three months,” Alderman suggests.

“This is a specific and measurable goal that has a focused time frame and might increase your exercise behavior across the first three months of the year.”

The more people can think of exercise as a habit, or simply as a part of their daily routine, the better off they are, Alderman says.

“I have a word that I often say to myself when I go to work out—unapologetic. We are all busy, and saying this word either silently or aloud helps to remind me that I should be allowed to fit exercise into my daily routine without feeling guilty or without having to apologize for the amount of time I spend exercising. It seems like a small gesture, but it really is liberating,” Alderman says.

“Lastly, I would really just encourage people to do physical activities or exercise they enjoy the most. You are much more likely to accomplish a goal when it is tied to an activity that you enjoy.”

Source: Rutgers University

Related Books

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=workout goals;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

The Day Of Reckoning Has Come For The GOP
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
The Republican party is no longer a pro-America political party. It is an illegitimate pseudo-political party full of radicals and reactionaries whose stated goal is to disrupt, destabilize, and…
Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…