Pourquoi l'alcool après le sport et l'exercice est une mauvaise idée

Pourquoi l'alcool après le sport et l'exercice est une mauvaise idée
Après la dernière sirène du jeu d'état d'origine 1, la nation a regardé les joueurs remettre des canettes de bière; XXXX Gold pour le Queensland et Tooheys Nouveau pour la Nouvelle-Galles du Sud, avec la couleur de la canette parfaitement assortie au maillot respectif.
Capture d'écran de 9now

Boire de l'alcool après le sport est un rituel social ancré dans la culture australienne, et il semble que les athlètes professionnels ne font pas exception, bien qu'ils soient généreusement payés pour être en excellente forme physique.

En regardant de nombreux types de sport professionnel en Australie, nous verrons souvent des joueurs boire la marque d'alcool du sponsor sur la caméra après le match.

Mais étant donné l'état de nos corps après l'exercice, et ce que l'alcool fait à notre système, boire après le sport est une mauvaise idée.

Fatigue et récupération après le sport et l'exercice

Actions de haute intensité telles que courir, sauter, attaquer et changer de direction créer des lésions et des douleurs musculaires temporaires. Si l'exercice est de durée assez longue, le carburant stocké dans nos muscles pour l'énergie (glycogène) peut devenir épuisé aussi.

Dans un environnement chaud ou humide, le corps aussi perd une grande quantité de liquide de la transpiration, en réduisant le volume sanguin (ce qui est important pour l'oxygénation de tous nos muscles et organes) et les réserves d'électrolytes (importantes pour la contraction musculaire).

Le corps est dans un état de dysfonctionnement et de réparation après un sport vigoureux et de l'exercice. Les qualités athlétiques telles que la force, la puissance et l'endurance peuvent être épuisées pendant plusieurs jours après un entraînement intense. Cela peut être amélioré avec approprié et opportun nutrition et hydratation.

Pas la boisson des champions

L'ingestion d'alcool après le sport et l'exercice aggrave tous les aspects majeurs de la récupération post-exercice. De l'alcool ralentit le processus de réparation des dommages musculaires induits par l'exercice par inhiber les fonctions des hormones qui aident habituellement ce processus (comme la testostérone).

Pour les athlètes ayant une blessure aux tissus mous, c'est encore pire, comme l'alcool ouvre les vaisseaux sanguins et encourage le gonflement sur le site de la blessure.

On ne sait pas si l'alcool bloque le stockage d'énergie dans les muscles, mais quand les athlètes boivent de grandes quantités d'alcool, ils ont tendance à manger des aliments moins nutritifs (surtout s'ils sont malades le lendemain!).

Cela indirectement ralentit la restauration des réserves d'énergie dans le muscle. Pour ceux d'entre nous qui essaient de perdre quelques kilos, l'alcool est également un mauvais choix étant donné qu'il est très riche en énergie, avec peu de valeur nutritive.

Mais si les athlètes sont déshydratés, ne boit-il pas mieux que rien? L'alcool est en fait un diurétique favorise la perte de liquide et contribue à la déshydratation.

Dans une étude, lorsque des boissons contenant 4% d'alcool ont été ingérées après l'exercice, il y avait une augmentation de la production d'urine et un retard dans le taux de récupération du volume sanguin. Boire rien du tout serait mieux.

La consommation d'alcool est également connue pour diminuer la durée du sommeil lorsqu'il est consommé après un match de rugby, soit directement par l'intermédiaire de l'alcool influence négative sur l'endormissement et rester endormi, ou indirectement à la suite d'une nuit tardive sur la ville.

Avec un mauvais sommeil, une altération des muscles, une restauration de l'énergie et une réhydratation retardée, il n'est pas surprenant de boire de l'alcool immédiatement après l'exercice, ce qui nuit considérablement à la récupération des deux. force et la puissance dans les jours suivants. Et nous pouvons supposer que l'impact d'une gueule de bois sur une séance d'entraînement serait également désastreux.

Que devrions-nous boire après le sport et l'exercice?

Avec tous les effets négatifs sur la réhydratation et la récupération, il n'est pas surprenant l'American College of Sports Medicine recommande aux athlètes d'éviter l'alcool tout à fait.

Au lieu de cela, les athlètes sont recommandés ingérer un mélange de glucides, de protéines et d'électrolytes immédiatement après le sport et l'exercice pour accélérer le processus de récupération. Par exemple, les boissons pour sportifs et lait au chocolat ont tous deux été démontré pour aider la réparation musculaire et la réhydratation.

Une combinaison d'eau pure et d'aliments contenant ces nutriments ferait également l'affaire, mais l'ingestion de grandes quantités d'eau pure ne facilite pas la réparation musculaire, et sans l'ajout d'électrolytes, une grande partie de cette eau ne peut pas être stocké dans le corps.

Compte tenu de l'argent consacré au personnel dédié à la nutrition, aux sciences du sport et à la médecine dans le sport professionnel, il est difficile de croire que ces messages ne parviennent pas aux athlètes. La santé des athlètes devrait venir avant les demandes des sponsors de l'alcool.

A propos de l'auteur

Christopher Stevens, maître de conférences en sciences du sport et de l'exercice, Université Southern Cross

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots clés = alcool négatif; maxresults = 3}

Why Alcohol After Sport And Exercise Is A Bad Idea

Why Alcohol After Sport And Exercise Is A Bad Idea
After the final siren of the state of origin game 1, the nation watched as the players were handed cans of beer; XXXX Gold for Queensland and Tooheys New for New South Wales, with the colour of the can matched perfectly to the respective jersey.
Screenshot from 9now

Drinking alcohol after sport is a social ritual that has become ingrained in Australian culture, and it seems professional athletes are no exception, despite being paid generously to be in peak physical condition.

Watching many types of professional sport in Australia, we’ll often see players drinking the sponsor’s brand of alcohol on camera after the match.

But given the state our bodies are in after exercise, and what alcohol does to our system, drinking after sport is a bad idea.

Fatigue and recovery following sport and exercise

High intensity actions such as running, jumping, tackling and changing direction create temporary muscle damage and soreness. If the exercise is of long enough duration, the fuel stored in our muscles for energy (glycogen) can become depleted too.

In a hot or humid environment, the body also loses a large amount of fluid from sweating, reducing the blood volume (which is important for getting oxygen around to all our muscles and organs), and electrolyte stores (important for muscle contraction).

The body is in a state of dysfunction and repair after vigorous sport and exercise. Athletic qualities such as strength, power and endurance can be depleted for several days after an intense workout. This can be improved with appropriate and timely nutrition and hydration.

Not the drink of champions

Alcohol ingestion after sport and exercise worsens all major aspects of post-exercise recovery. Alcohol slows down the repair process of exercise-induced muscle damage by inhibiting the functions of hormones that usually aid this process (such as testosterone).

For athletes with a soft tissue injury, it’s even worse, as alcohol opens up the blood vessels and encourages swelling at the injury site.

It’s unclear if alcohol blocks energy storage in the muscles, but when athletes drink large quantities of alcohol, they tend to eat less nutritious foods (especially if they are sick the next day!).


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


This indirectly slows down the restoration of energy stores in muscle. For those of us trying to shed a few kilos, alcohol is also a bad choice considering it’s highly energy-dense, with little nutritional value.

But if athletes are dehydrated, isn’t drinking something better than nothing? Alcohol is actually a diuretic that promotes fluid loss and contributes to dehydration.

In one study, when drinks containing 4% alcohol were ingested following exercise, there was an increase in urine output and a delay in the recovery rate of blood volume. Drinking nothing at all would be better.

Alcohol consumption is also known to decrease sleep duration when consumed after a rugby match, either directly through alcohol’s negative influence on falling asleep and staying asleep, or indirectly as a result of a late night on the town.

With poor sleep, impaired muscle repair, energy restoration and delayed rehydration, it’s not surprising drinking alcohol immediately after exercise significantly impairs recovery of both strength and power in the following days. And we can assume the impact of a hangover on a training session would also be dire.

What should we drink after sport and exercise?

With all the negative effects on rehydration and recovery, it’s not surprising the American College of Sports Medicine recommends athletes should avoid alcohol altogether.

Instead, athletes are recommended to ingest a mixture of carbohydrate, protein and electrolyte immediately after sport and exercise to speed up the recovery process. For example, sports drinks and chocolate milk have both been demonstrated to assist muscle repair and rehydration.

A combination of plain water and foods containing these nutrients would also do the trick, but ingestion of large amounts of plain water on its own does not aid muscle repair, and without the addition of electrolytes, much of this water can not be stored in the body.

Given the money spent on staff dedicated to nutrition, sports science and medicine within professional sport, it’s hard to believe these messages are not getting through to the athletes. The athletes’ health should come before the demands of alcohol sponsors.

About The Author

Christopher Stevens, Lecturer in Sport and Exercise Science, Southern Cross University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=negative alcohol;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…