نحن نعلم أن معارك التمارين الكساد ، ولكن ماذا لو كنت سعيدا؟

نحن نعلم أن معارك التمارين الكساد ، ولكن ماذا لو كنت سعيدا؟

مراجعة لدراسات حول ممارسة الرياضة والسعادة تتناول بعض الأسئلة العالقة حول تأثيرات النشاط البدني على الظروف الصحية الإيجابية.

إن تأثير النشاط البدني على الاكتئاب والقلق معروف جيدا - والتمارين هي وصفة شائعة للوقاية من أو علاج حالات الصحة العقلية السلبية.

"... حتى حدوث تغيير بسيط في النشاط البدني يحدث فرقا في السعادة."

أراد وييون تشين ، أستاذ مشارك في علم الحركة في جامعة ميشيغان ، معرفة ما إذا كانت التمارين الرياضية قد زادت من الصحة العقلية الإيجابية بنفس الطريقة التي أدت إلى خفض الصحة العقلية السلبية. وعلى وجه التحديد ، قام الباحثون بفحص جوانب النشاط البدني المرتبطة بالسعادة ، وأي المجموعات السكانية يستفيدون من التأثيرات.

تحقيقا لهذه الغاية ، قام تشن وشارك في تأليفه زانجيا تشانغ ، طالب الدكتوراه ، بمراجعة دراسات 23 عن السعادة والنشاط البدني. أظهرت دراسات 15 القائمة على الملاحظة وجود علاقة إيجابية أو غير مباشرة بين السعادة وممارسة الرياضة. أظهرت الدراسات التدخلية الثمانية نتائج غير متناسقة.

وشملت الدراسات معلومات صحية من آلاف البالغين ، وكبار السن ، والمراهقين ، والأطفال ، والناجين من السرطان من عدة بلدان. ظهرت عدة مواضيع.

ممارسة والسعادة

يقول تشن: "توحي نتائجنا بأن تواتر النشاط البدني والحجم هما عاملان أساسيان في العلاقة بين النشاط البدني والسعادة". "والأهم من ذلك ، حتى التغيير الطفيف في النشاط البدني يحدث فرقا في السعادة."

تشير النتائج إلى تأثير عتبة للعلاقة بين السعادة والنشاط البدني - وجدت العديد من الدراسات أن مستويات السعادة كانت هي نفسها سواء كان الأشخاص يمارسون 150-300 دقائق في الأسبوع ، أو أكثر من دقائق 300 في الأسبوع.

وجدت مراجعة الدراسات القائمة على الملاحظة أنه مقارنة بالأشخاص غير النشطين ، كانت نسبة الأرجحية السعيدة هي 20 ، 29 ، و 52 في المائة أعلى بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين كانوا غير نشطين بما فيه الكفاية ، أو نشطاء بما فيه الكفاية ، أو نشطين للغاية ، على التوالي.

استعرضت عدة دراسات العلاقة بين النشاط البدني والسعادة في الشباب. وجدت إحدى الدراسات أن الشباب الذين شاركوا في النشاط البدني مرة واحدة في الأسبوع مقارنة مع لا شيء كان 1.4 أضعاف احتمالات كونهم سعداء إذا كانوا وزن طبيعي ، و 1.5 أضعاف الصعاب إذا كان الوزن الزائد.

ووجدت دراسة أخرى أن المراهقين الذين كانوا نشيطين بدنيا مرتين على الأقل في الأسبوع كان لديهم سعادة أعلى بكثير من أولئك الذين كانوا نشطين مرة أو أقل في الأسبوع. وجدت دراسة إضافية أن طلاب الجامعات الذين شاركوا في النشاط البدني كان 1.3 أضعاف احتمالات كونهم سعداء من أقرانهم الذين لم يشاركوا.

درست ثلاث دراسات في السعادة والنشاط لدى كبار السن. وجدت واحدة أن التمارين كانت مرتبطة بسعادة أكبر. وجد آخر أن مجموع التدريبات في الأسبوع كانت مرتبطة بشكل إيجابي بالسعادة. ومع ذلك ، تشير النتائج إلى أن الوضع الصحي و / أو الأداء الاجتماعي يتوسطان السعادة.

نظرت ثلاث دراسات في مجموعات خاصة. بين الناجين من سرطان المبيض ، ارتبط محضر اجتماع 150 للنشاط البدني المعتدل إلى القوي بشكل كبير بمستوى السعادة. في الأطفال والمراهقين المصابين بالشلل الدماغي ، تنبأ النشاط البدني بمستوى السعادة ، وبين متعاطي المخدرات ، وعدد جلسات التمارين الأسبوعية ، بغض النظر عن شدتها ، المرتبطة بالسعادة بشكل طفيف.

القيود

في دراسات التدخل ، اشتمل النشاط البدني على فصول تمارين رياضية ، مختلطة النشاط المدرسي ، وتمارين التمدد والتمارين أو 30 إلى 75 دقيقة من خمس إلى خمس مرات أسبوعيًا لمدة من الأسابيع إلى السنة 7. أظهرت أربعة من دراسات التدخل اختلافًا كبيرًا في تغيير السعادة بين مجموعة التدخل ومجموعة المراقبة ، ولم تفعل ثلاثة منها.

نظرت المراجعة فقط إلى المقالات في المجلات التي استعرضتها الأقران في اللغة الإنجليزية ، والتي يمكن أن تؤدي إلى تحيز النشر وتبالغ في تقدير العلاقة الإيجابية بين النشاط البدني والسعادة. نظرًا لتعدد تجارب التحكم العشوائية ، لم يتمكن الباحثون من إنشاء علاقة سببية بين السعادة والنشاط البدني.

تظهر دراسة في مجلة دراسات السعادة.

مصدر: جامعة ميشيغان

كتب ذات صلة

{amazonWS: searchindex = كتب، كلمات = السعادة، maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

We Know Exercise Fights Depression, But What If You’re Happy?

We Know Exercise Fights Depression, But What If You’re Happy?

A review of studies on exercise and happiness addresses some lingering questions about the effects of physical activity on positive health conditions.

The impact of physical activity on depression and anxiety is well known—and exercise is a common prescription for preventing or treating negative mental health conditions.

“…even a small change of physical activity makes a difference in happiness.”

Weiyun Chen, associate professor in kinesiology at the University of Michigan, wanted to know if exercise increased positive mental health in the same way it reduced negative mental health. Specifically, researchers examined which aspects of physical activity were associated with happiness, and which populations were likely to benefit from the effects.

To that end, Chen and coauthor Zhanjia Zhang, a doctoral student, reviewed 23 studies on happiness and physical activity. The 15 observational studies all showed a positive direct or indirect association between happiness and exercise. The eight interventional studies showed inconsistent results.

The studies included health information from thousands of adults, seniors, adolescents, children, and cancer survivors from several countries. Several themes emerged.

Exercise and happiness

“Our findings suggest the physical activity frequency and volume are essential factors in the relationship between physical activity and happiness,” Chen says. “More importantly, even a small change of physical activity makes a difference in happiness.”

Findings suggest a threshold effect for the relationship of happiness and physical activity—several studies found that happiness levels were the same whether people exercised 150-300 minutes a week, or more than 300 minutes a week.

The review of observational studies found that compared to inactive people, the odds ratio of being happy was 20, 29, and 52 percent higher for people who were insufficiently active, sufficiently active, or very active, respectively.

Several studies reviewed the relationship between physical activity and happiness in youth. One study found that young people who engaged in physical activity once a week compared to none had 1.4 times the odds of being happy if they were normal weight, and 1.5 times the odds if overweight.

Another study found that adolescents who were physically active at least twice a week had significantly higher happiness than those who were active once or less a week. An additional study found that college students who participated in physical activity had 1.3 times the odds of being happy than peers who didn’t participate.

Three studies looked at happiness and activity in older adults. One found that exercise was associated with happier adults. Another found that total minutes of exercise per week were positively related to happiness. However, the findings suggest that health status and/or social functioning mediate happiness.

Three studies looked at special populations. Among ovarian cancer survivors, meeting the 150 minutes of moderate to vigorous physical activity was significantly associated with happiness level. In children and adolescents with cerebral palsy, physical activity predicted happiness level, and among drug abusers, the number of weekly exercise sessions, regardless of intensity, slightly associated with happiness.

Limitations

In the intervention studies, physical activity included aerobic, mixed school activity classes, and stretching and balance exercises or 30 to 75 minutes from one to five times a week for 7 weeks to a year. Four of the intervention studies showed a significant difference in change of happiness between intervention group and control group, and three did not.

The review only looked at articles in peer-reviewed journals in English, which could lead to publication bias and overestimating the positive relationship between physical activity and happiness. Because there were limited randomized control trials, the researchers could not establish causation between happiness and physical activity.

The study appears in the Journal of Happiness Studies.

Source: University of Michigan

Related Books

Happiness: A Memoir: The Crooked Little Road to Semi-Ever After
happinessAuthor: Heather Harpham
Binding: Hardcover
Format: Deckle Edge
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
List Price: $27.00

Buy Now

Happiness: A Novel
happinessAuthor: Aminatta Forna
Binding: Hardcover
Publisher: Atlantic Monthly Press
List Price: $26.00

Buy Now

Happiness: A Guide to Developing Life's Most Important Skill
happinessAuthor: Matthieu Ricard
Binding: Paperback
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
List Price: $16.00

Buy Now

enarzh-CNtlfrdehiidrues

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

follow InnerSelf on

google-plus-iconfacebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}