أدلة جديدة تظهر أن السمنة الصحية خرافة

أدلة جديدة تظهر أن السمنة الصحية خرافة
رصيد فني: ماكس بيكسل

لا يوجد شيء مثل "صحية في كل حجم". لنا الدراسة الاخيرة يظهر أنه إذا كنت سمينا ولكن صحي الأيض (ما يسمى ب "الدهون ولكن مناسبا") ، أنت لا تزال في خطر أكبر من أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية مقارنة مع الأشخاص الأصحاء الأيضية الذين هم من الوزن الطبيعي.

إن الجدل الداهم ، الذي كان مستعراً منذ أكثر من عقد من الزمن ، مهم جداً ، من منظور الصحة العامة. يمكن تركيز مزيد من الموارد على الأشخاص المعرضين لخطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية (مثل الأزمات القلبية وفشل القلب والسكتة الدماغية) ، في حين أن هناك حاجة إلى إنفاق موارد أقل على الأشخاص المعرضين لخطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية.

لذا ، إذا كنت بديناً ولكن ليس لديك نوع من مرض السكري 2 أو ارتفاع ضغط الدم أو ارتفاع الكوليسترول ، فيجب أن تعامل نفس الشخص الذي لديه وزن طبيعي وليس لديه أي من هذه التشوهات الأيضية. أو هكذا ذهب التفكير. لكن الدلائل المتزايدة تشير إلى أن البدانة هي عامل خطر للمرض في المستقبل ، بغض النظر عن الصحة الأيضية الحالية.

A الأخيرة دراسة مبنية على المشاهدة، مع المشاركين 18,000 من عشر دول أوروبية، وجدت أن الأشخاص البدناء لديهم مخاطر أكبر من مرض القلب التاجي من الناس الوزن الطبيعي صحية الأيضية. تضيف دراستنا إلى تلك الأدلة ، وتذهب أبعد من ذلك بكثير.

أكبر دراسة حول هذا الموضوع

لدينا هو أكبر دراسة الرصد المرتقبة على السمنة الأيضية حتى الآن. استخدمنا بيانات حول الأشخاص 3.5m ، الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 18 سنة أو أكثر ، من قاعدة بيانات الرعاية الأولية الكبيرة في المملكة المتحدة.

لم نكن مهتمين فقط بمعرفة ما إذا كان هناك ارتباط بين البدانة وسليمة الأيض وبعد ذلك تطوير مرض القلب التاجي ، أردنا أيضا معرفة ما إذا كان هناك ارتباط مع السكتة الدماغية, مصغرة السكتة الدماغية (المعروف أيضا باسم نوبة نقص تروية عابرة أو TIA) ، سكتة قلبية . أمراض الأوعية الدموية الطرفية. نحن أيضا تقييم ما إذا كان البالغين يعانون من السمنة صحية الحفاظ على ملفهم الغذائي الأيضية على مدى فترة المتابعة.

لتصنيفها على أنها "بدانة صحية استقلابية" ، لم يكن للمشاركين أي مرض سكري أو دهون دم غير طبيعية أو ارتفاع في ضغط الدم في بداية الدراسة.

من المشاركين 3.5m ، الذين كانوا في البداية خالية من الأمراض القلبية الوعائية ، تم تصنيف 15٪ كسمنة سليمة الأيضية. خلال فترة متابعة متوسطة لمدة خمس سنوات ، من الأشخاص الذين كانوا في بادئ الأمر أصحاء يعانون من السمنة المفرطة ، حوالي 6٪ طوروا مرض السكري ، 12٪ لديهم دهون دم غير طبيعية و 11٪ لديهم ضغط دم مرتفع.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


ومقارنة بالوزن الطبيعي للأشخاص الذين لا يعانون من تشوهات استقلابية ، فإن الأشخاص الذين يعانون من السمنة الأيضية يعانون من زيادة خطر الإصابة بأمراض القلب التاجية بنسبة 50٪ ، وزيادة خطر الإصابة بسكتة دماغية بنسبة 7٪ وحدوث خطر مضاعف في قصور القلب. لا يمكن تفسير هذه النتائج حسب العمر أو الجنس أو التدخين أو الوضع الاجتماعي-الاقتصادي كما أخذنا هذه العوامل في الاعتبار في حساباتنا.

ليست حالة حميدة

المحادثةهل يمكن أن تكون سمينة ولكنها مناسبة؟ إذا كان لائقا يساوي صحة القلب والأوعية الدموية ، ثم لا. مع الأخذ بعين الاعتبار الاختلافات الجينية المتعلقة بالبدانة بين الناس ، يمكننا أن نتخيل أنه ضمن السكان من الأشخاص البدناء هناك أولئك الذين قد لا يواجهون مخاطر متزايدة من المضاعفات المرتبطة بالبدانة ، مثل أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية. لكن هناك أدلة كافية تراكمت الآن لقبول أنه على المستوى السكاني ، فإن السمنة الأيضية ليست حالة حميدة. ولذلك ينبغي أن يركز البحث المستقبلي على إيجاد أكثر استراتيجيات الوقاية من السمنة ومكافحتها على نطاق السكان.

نبذة عن الكاتب

ريشي Caleyachetty ، علم الأوبئة ، جامعة برمنغهام

كتب ذات صلة:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Books؛ keywords = obsity exercise؛ maxresults = 3}

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

New Evidence Shows That Healthy Obesity Is A Myth

New Evidence Shows That Healthy Obesity Is A Myth
Art Credit: Max Pixel

There is no such thing as being “healthy at every size”. Our latest study shows that if you’re obese but metabolically healthy (so-called “fat but fit”), you are still at a greater risk of cardiovascular disease compared with metabolically healthy people who are a normal weight.

The fat-but-fit debate – which has been raging for more than a decade – is important, from a public health perspective. More resources can be focused on those at a high risk of cardiovascular disease (such as heart attacks, heart failure and stroke), while fewer resources need to be expended on those who are at low risk of developing cardiovascular disease.

So, if you’re obese but don’t have type 2 diabetes, high blood pressure or high cholesterol, perhaps you should be treated the same as someone who has normal weight and doesn’t have any of these metabolic abnormalities. Or so the thinking went. But mounting evidence suggests that being obese is a risk factor for future ill health, regardless of current metabolic health.

A recent observational study, with 18,000 participants from ten European countries, found that obese people had a higher risk of coronary heart disease than metabolically healthy normal weight people. Our study adds to that evidence, and goes much further.

Largest study on the topic

Ours is the largest prospective observational study on the metabolically healthy obese so far. We used data on 3.5m people, aged 18 years or older, from a large primary care database in the UK.

We were not only interested to know if there was an association between being obese and metabolically healthy and later developing coronary heart disease, we also wanted to know if there was an association with stroke, mini-stroke (also known as a transient ischaemic attack or TIA), heart failure and peripheral vascular disease. We also assessed whether healthy obese adults maintain their metabolically healthy profile over a follow-up period.

To be classified as “metabolically healthy obese”, participants had to have no diabetes, abnormal blood fats or high blood pressure at the start of the study.

Out of the 3.5m participants, who were initially free from cardiovascular disease, about 15% were classified as metabolically healthy obese. During an average follow-up period of five years, of the people who were initially metabolically healthy obese, about 6% developed diabetes, 12% had abnormal blood fats and 11% developed high blood pressure.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Compared with normal weight people with no metabolic abnormalities, people who were metabolically healthy obese had a 50% increased risk of coronary heart disease, a 7% increased risk of stroke and a double risk of heart failure. These results couldn’t be explained by age, sex, smoking or socio-economic status as we took these factors into account in our calculations.

Not a benign condition

The ConversationSo can you be fat but fit? If being fit equates to cardiovascular health, then no. Taking into account the genetic differences related to obesity among people, we can perhaps imagine that within the population of obese people there are those who may not face an increased risk of obesity-related complications, such as cardiovascular disease. But enough evidence has now accumulated to accept that, at the population level, metabolically healthy obese is not a benign condition. Future research work should therefore focus on finding the most effective population-wide obesity prevention and control strategies.

About The Author

Rishi Caleyachetty, Epidemiologist, University of Birmingham

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=obesity exercise;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…