Neue Beweise zeigen, dass gesunde Adipositas ein Mythos ist

Neue Beweise zeigen, dass gesunde Adipositas ein Mythos ist
Kunstkredit: Max. Pixel

Es gibt keine "gesund in jeder Größe". Unser neueste Studie zeigt, dass wenn Sie übergewichtig, aber metabolisch gesund sind (sogenannte "dick aber fit"), Sie haben immer noch ein höheres Risiko für Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen im Vergleich zu metabolisch gesunden Menschen, die ein normales Gewicht haben.

Die seit über einem Jahrzehnt taktende Debatte über Fettleibigkeit ist aus Sicht der öffentlichen Gesundheit wichtig. Mehr Ressourcen können auf diejenigen konzentriert werden, die ein hohes Risiko für Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen haben (wie Herzinfarkt, Herzversagen und Schlaganfall), während weniger Ressourcen für diejenigen ausgegeben werden müssen, die ein geringes Risiko haben, an Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen zu erkranken.

Also, wenn Sie übergewichtig sind, aber nicht Typ 2 Diabetes, Bluthochdruck oder hohe Cholesterinwerte haben, sollten Sie vielleicht genauso behandelt werden wie jemand, der normales Gewicht hat und keine dieser metabolischen Anomalien hat. So ging das Denken. Aber zunehmende Beweise deuten darauf hin, dass Fettleibigkeit ein Risikofaktor für zukünftige Gesundheit ist, unabhängig von der aktuellen metabolischen Gesundheit.

Eine kürzlich Beobachtungsstudie, mit 18,000 Teilnehmern aus zehn europäischen Ländern, festgestellt, dass übergewichtige Menschen ein höheres Risiko hatten koronare Herzkrankheit als metabolisch gesunde normalgewichtige Menschen. Unsere Studie ergänzt diese Beweise und geht viel weiter.

Größte Studie zum Thema

Unsere Studie ist die bisher größte prospektive Beobachtungsstudie zu metabolisch gesunden Adipösen. Wir verwendeten Daten zu 3.5m-Personen im Alter von 18 Jahren oder älter aus einer großen Datenbank für Primärversorgung in Großbritannien.

Wir waren nicht nur daran interessiert zu wissen, ob es einen Zusammenhang zwischen übergewichtigen und metabolisch gesunden und später sich entwickelnden koronaren Herzerkrankungen gab, wir wollten auch wissen, ob es eine Assoziation mit Schlaganfall, Mini-Schlaganfall (auch bekannt als transitorische ischämische Attacke oder TIA), Herzinsuffizienz und periphere Gefäßerkrankung. Wir haben auch untersucht, ob gesunde adipöse Erwachsene ihr metabolisch gesundes Profil über einen Nachbeobachtungszeitraum beibehalten.

Um als "metabolisch gesund übergewichtig" eingestuft zu werden, mussten die Teilnehmer zu Beginn der Studie keinen Diabetes, abnormale Blutfette oder Bluthochdruck haben.

Von den 3.5m-Teilnehmern, die ursprünglich frei von Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen waren, wurden etwa 15% als metabolisch gesund übergewichtig eingestuft. Während einer durchschnittlichen Nachbeobachtungszeit von fünf Jahren entwickelten die Menschen, die ursprünglich metabolisch gesund übergewichtig waren, etwa 6% Diabetes, 12% hatten abnormale Blutfette und 11% entwickelten Bluthochdruck.

Im Vergleich zu normalgewichtigen Menschen ohne metabolische Anomalien hatten Personen, die metabolisch gesund übergewichtig waren, ein 50% erhöhtes Risiko für eine koronare Herzerkrankung, ein 7% erhöhtes Schlaganfallrisiko und ein doppeltes Risiko für Herzinsuffizienz. Diese Ergebnisse konnten nicht durch Alter, Geschlecht, Rauchen oder sozioökonomischen Status erklärt werden, da wir diese Faktoren in unseren Berechnungen berücksichtigt haben.

Kein gutartiger Zustand

Das GesprächKannst du fett, aber fit sein? Wenn fit zu kardiovaskulären Gesundheit entspricht, dann nein. Unter Berücksichtigung der genetischen Unterschiede im Zusammenhang mit Fettleibigkeit bei Menschen können wir uns vielleicht vorstellen, dass es in der Bevölkerung übergewichtiger Menschen solche gibt, die möglicherweise kein erhöhtes Risiko für mit Fettleibigkeit in Zusammenhang stehende Komplikationen wie Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen haben. Aber genug Beweise haben sich inzwischen angesammelt, um zu akzeptieren, dass auf der Ebene der Bevölkerung metabolisch gesunde Übergewichtige kein gutartiger Zustand sind. Zukünftige Forschungsarbeiten sollten sich daher darauf konzentrieren, die effektivsten Strategien zur Prävention und Kontrolle von Fettleibigkeit in der gesamten Bevölkerung zu finden.

Über den Autor

Rishi Caleyachetty, Epidemiologe, Universität von Birmingham

Bücher zum Thema:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Bücher; Schlüsselwörter = Fettleibigkeit; maxresults = 3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

Folge InnerSelf weiter

facebook-icontwitter-iconRSS-Symbol

Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

{Emailcloak = off}

New Evidence Shows That Healthy Obesity Is A Myth

New Evidence Shows That Healthy Obesity Is A Myth
Art Credit: Max Pixel

There is no such thing as being “healthy at every size”. Our latest study shows that if you’re obese but metabolically healthy (so-called “fat but fit”), you are still at a greater risk of cardiovascular disease compared with metabolically healthy people who are a normal weight.

The fat-but-fit debate – which has been raging for more than a decade – is important, from a public health perspective. More resources can be focused on those at a high risk of cardiovascular disease (such as heart attacks, heart failure and stroke), while fewer resources need to be expended on those who are at low risk of developing cardiovascular disease.

So, if you’re obese but don’t have type 2 diabetes, high blood pressure or high cholesterol, perhaps you should be treated the same as someone who has normal weight and doesn’t have any of these metabolic abnormalities. Or so the thinking went. But mounting evidence suggests that being obese is a risk factor for future ill health, regardless of current metabolic health.

A recent observational study, with 18,000 participants from ten European countries, found that obese people had a higher risk of coronary heart disease than metabolically healthy normal weight people. Our study adds to that evidence, and goes much further.

Largest study on the topic

Ours is the largest prospective observational study on the metabolically healthy obese so far. We used data on 3.5m people, aged 18 years or older, from a large primary care database in the UK.

We were not only interested to know if there was an association between being obese and metabolically healthy and later developing coronary heart disease, we also wanted to know if there was an association with stroke, mini-stroke (also known as a transient ischaemic attack or TIA), heart failure and peripheral vascular disease. We also assessed whether healthy obese adults maintain their metabolically healthy profile over a follow-up period.

To be classified as “metabolically healthy obese”, participants had to have no diabetes, abnormal blood fats or high blood pressure at the start of the study.

Out of the 3.5m participants, who were initially free from cardiovascular disease, about 15% were classified as metabolically healthy obese. During an average follow-up period of five years, of the people who were initially metabolically healthy obese, about 6% developed diabetes, 12% had abnormal blood fats and 11% developed high blood pressure.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Compared with normal weight people with no metabolic abnormalities, people who were metabolically healthy obese had a 50% increased risk of coronary heart disease, a 7% increased risk of stroke and a double risk of heart failure. These results couldn’t be explained by age, sex, smoking or socio-economic status as we took these factors into account in our calculations.

Not a benign condition

The ConversationSo can you be fat but fit? If being fit equates to cardiovascular health, then no. Taking into account the genetic differences related to obesity among people, we can perhaps imagine that within the population of obese people there are those who may not face an increased risk of obesity-related complications, such as cardiovascular disease. But enough evidence has now accumulated to accept that, at the population level, metabolically healthy obese is not a benign condition. Future research work should therefore focus on finding the most effective population-wide obesity prevention and control strategies.

About The Author

Rishi Caleyachetty, Epidemiologist, University of Birmingham

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=obesity exercise;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…
When Your Back Is Against The Wall
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I love the internet. Now I know a lot of people have a lot of bad things to say about it, but I love it. Just like I love the people in my life -- they are not perfect, but I love them anyway.
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 23, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
Everyone probably can agree that we are living in strange times... new experiences, new attitudes, new challenges. But we can be encouraged in remembering that everything is always in flux,…