Exercice Snacking est la voie à suivre pour Fitness

Au cours de la saison des fêtes, beaucoup d'entre nous mangeront et boirons beaucoup plus que nous le ferions habituellement - il a été estimé que la personne moyenne au Royaume-Uni consomme Calories 6,000 le jour de Noël seul. Mais, alors que les derniers restes disparaissent et que nous nous approchons rapidement de la nouvelle année, nos pensées se tourneront probablement vers des résolutions pour perdre le poids supplémentaire que nous avons gagné.

Le choix parfait pour changer de look en quelques minutes. NHS recommande que nous fassions au moins 150 minutes d'exercice aérobique d'intensité modérée par semaine, plus un peu de musculation. Les gymnases ont à la fois l'équipement (aérobie et musculation) et la commodité (vous pouvez adapter une session pendant votre pause déjeuner) pour les faire apparaître comme le choix évident pour atteindre cette cible NHS. Ce que beaucoup de gens ne réalisent pas, c'est de prendre une ou deux séances d'exercice par semaine ne peut pas compenser les dégâts causés en s'asseyant beaucoup entre.

Au Royaume-Uni, les gens dépensent près de £ 3 milliards sur l'équipement de conditionnement physique et les adhésions au gymnase en janvier. Mais avons-nous vraiment besoin de dépenser tout cet argent, ou y a-t-il des moyens plus simples et plus intelligents de se mettre en forme?

De nouvelles façons d'exercer

L'idée que rejoindre un gymnase est la meilleure façon de se mettre en forme est contestée par des scientifiques qui ont étudié les avantages d'un éventail de régimes d'exercices non traditionnels. Ceux-ci comprennent des exercices tels que l'entraînement par intervalles à haute intensité (HIIT), qui peut offrir effets similaires ou même supérieurs sur la santé que la formation traditionnelle basée sur l'endurance mais dans des temps d'exercice beaucoup plus courts.

Une autre forme d'exercice non traditionnelle qui a émergé récemment est le grignotage. On a montré que cette forme de multiples accès de portions d'exercice brèves, de la taille d'une collation, permettait de mieux contrôler la glycémie qu'une seule séance d'entraînement continue. Dans un étude examinant les bienfaits du grignotage, les chercheurs ont comparé la glycémie chez des participants qui ont fait de l'exercice pendant 30 minutes consécutives et, dans le même groupe, en trois petites portions effectuées peu de temps avant le petit déjeuner, le déjeuner et le dîner. Ce «snacking d'exercice» a abaissé la glycémie pendant environ 24 heures et a fait tellement mieux que l'exercice 30-minute.

Le contrôle de la glycémie est très important pour les personnes à risque de développer un diabète de type 2. Le diabète de type 2 affecte plus de personnes 4m au Royaume-Uni et coûte environ 10% du budget total du NHS. On pense que des millions de personnes au Royaume-Uni sont à risque élevé de développer le diabète de type 2Il est donc essentiel de trouver des moyens d'améliorer le contrôle de la glycémie.

L'exercice autour des repas semble également être bénéfique pour les personnes atteintes de diabète. Une étude a montré prendre un 10-minute de marche après chaque repas peut améliorer considérablement le contrôle de la glycémie chez les personnes atteintes de diabète de type 2 par rapport à une seule marche 30-minute chaque jour. Ces études soulignent collectivement l'importance de s'assurer que nous restons actifs tout au long de la journée et que nous augmentons la quantité d'énergie que nous consommons dans les activités non physiques que nous faisons normalement au cours de la vie quotidienne, de monter les escaliers pour jouer des instruments de musique.

Alors, comment devrions-nous commencer nos résolutions de santé 2017? Adhérer à un gymnase est certainement une option, mais avant de signer ce contrat, pensez à des alternatives plus simples et moins chères qui pourraient avoir un impact plus important sur le risque de développer une maladie chronique, comme le diabète de type 2. Exercice snacking devrait probablement être sur votre liste des résolutions du Nouvel An.


Obtenez les dernières nouvelles d'InnerSelf


La Conversation

A propos de l'auteur

James Brown, professeur de biologie et de sciences biomédicales, Aston University

Cet article a été publié initialement le La Conversation. Lis le article original.

Livres connexes:

{amazonWS: searchindex = Livres; mots-clés = 161628384X; maxresults = 3}

Exercise Snacking Is The Way Forward To Fitness

Over the festive season, many of us will eat and drink much more than we usually would – it has been estimated that the average person in the UK consumes around 6,000 calories on Christmas day alone. But, as the last of the leftovers disappear and we rapidly approach the New Year, our thoughts will probably turn to making resolutions to lose the extra weight we’ve gained.

The NHS recommends that we do at least 150 minutes of moderate intensity aerobic exercise a week, plus some strength training. Gyms have both the equipment (aerobic and weight training) and the convenience (you can fit a session in during your lunch break) to make them seem like the obvious choice for reaching that NHS target. What many people don’t realise is that taking one or two sessions of exercise a week can’t make up for the damage done by sitting down a lot in between.

In the UK, people spend almost £3 billion on fitness equipment and gym memberships in January. But do we really need to spend all that money, or are there simpler and smarter ways to get in shape?

New ways of exercising

The idea that joining a gym is a best way to get fit is being challenged by scientists who have studied the benefits of a range of non-traditional exercise regimes. These include exercises such as high-intensity interval training (HIIT), which may offer similar or even superior effects on health as traditional endurance-based training but in much shorter exercise times.

Another nontraditional form of exercise that has recently emerged is exercise snacking. This form of multiple bouts of brief, “snack-sized” portions of exercise has been shown to control blood sugar better than a single, continuous workout. In a study examining the benefits of exercise snacking, researchers compared blood sugar in participants who exercised for 30 continuous minutes and, in the same group, when they broke their exercise up into three small portions performed shortly before breakfast, lunch and dinner. This “exercise snacking” lowered blood sugar for about 24 hours and did so much better than the 30-minute exercise.

Controlling blood sugar is very important for people who are at risk of developing type 2 diabetes. Type 2 diabetes affects more than 4m people in the UK and costs around 10% of the entire NHS budget. It is thought that millions of people in the UK are at high risk of developing type 2 diabetes, so identifying ways to improve blood sugar control is vital.

Exercising around mealtimes also appears to be beneficial for people with diabetes. A study showed taking a 10-minute walk after each meal can significantly improve control of blood sugar in people with type 2 diabetes compared with a single 30-minute walk each day. These studies collectively highlight the importance of making sure we keep active throughout the day and increasing the amount of energy we use up in non-exercise activities that we normally do during everyday life, from walking up stairs to playing musical instruments.

So how should we start our 2017 health kick resolutions? Joining a gym is certainly one option but, before you sign that contract, think about whether there are simpler, cheaper alternatives that might have more impact on your risk of developing chronic disease, such as type 2 diabetes. Exercise snacking should probably be on your list of New Year’s resolutions.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


The Conversation

About The Author

James Brown, Lecturer in Biology and Biomedical Science, Aston University

This article was originally published on The Conversation. Read the original article.

Related Books:

{amazonWS:searchindex=Books;keywords=161628384X;maxresults=3}

enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

InnerSelf Newsletter: September 20, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The theme of the newsletter this week can be summed up as "you can do it" or more specifically "we can do it!". This is another way of saying "you/we have the power to make a change". The image of…
What Works For Me: "I Can Do It!"
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
The reason I share "what works for me" is that it may work for you as well. If not exactly the way I do it, since we are all unique, some variance of the attitude or method may very well be something…
InnerSelf Newsletter: September 6, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
We see life through the lenses of our perception. Stephen R. Covey wrote: “We see the world, not as it is, but as we are──or, as we are conditioned to see it.” So this week, we take a look at some…
InnerSelf Newsletter: August 30, 2020
by InnerSelf Staff
The roads we are travelling these days are as old as the times, yet are new for us. The experiences we are having are as old as the times, yet they also are new for us. The same goes for the…
When The Truth Is So Terrible It Hurts, Take Action
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf.com
Amidst all the horrors taking place these days, I am inspired by the rays of hope that shine through. Ordinary people standing up for what is right (and against what is wrong). Baseball players,…