كيف خلق التحضر العالمي الظروف لوباء فيروس كورونا الحالي

كيف خلق التحضر العالمي الظروف لوباء فيروس كورونا الحالي يعكس نمو المدن الحضرية الكبيرة مثل طوكيو ، اليابان ، كثافة مكثفة وانتشارًا. (تريفور دوبسون / فليكر), CC BY-NC

جلبت COVID-19 العلاقة بين البشر والحيوانات في صميم المناقشات الاجتماعية والعلمية. COVID-19 هو مرض حيواني: الفيروس التاجي الذي يجعله يتخطى حدود الأنواع من الحيوانات إلى البشر. قد يكون السوق الرطب في ووهان هو المكان الذي حدث فيه قفزة الأنواع الأصلية.

هناك أدلة متزايدة على أن البشر يرسلون الآن COVID-19 إلى أنواع الحيوانات الأخرى: الكلاب والقطط المستأنسة ، ولكن أيضًا النمور في الأسر و ربما القرود. كمقال أبريل 2020 في لوس أنجلوس تايمز تلاحظ ، أمراض مثل COVID-19 "هي نتيجة متوقعة لكيفية اختيارنا لعلاج الحيوانات وموائلها".

تساهم تجارة الحياة البرية ، وإزالة الغابات ، وتحويل الأراضي ، وتربية الحيوانات الصناعية وحرق الوقود الأحفوري في زيادة وتيرة الإصابة بأمراض حيوانية جديدة.

التحضر على حد سواء محرك الأمراض الحيوانية المنشأ و تأثير محدد على الطبيعة البشرية والعلاقات بين الإنسان والحيوان.

تعتبر البيئة السياسية الحضرية التحضر على أنه عملية سياسية واقتصادية واجتماعية وبيئية. إنه مجال الدراسة الذي يحقق العلاقات التي تدعم الحياة الحضرية ماديًا و العمليات التي تؤثر عليهم.

كيف خلق التحضر العالمي الظروف لوباء فيروس كورونا الحالي قطيع من الاوز الكندية في حديقة تورونتو. (صراع الأسهم)

مدى التحضر

التحضر هو عملية تنطوي على توسيع المدينة بقدر ما تنطوي على تركيز الأنشطة وتحركات الناس والأشياء. تقليديا، المحيط الحضري توصف بأنها إما ضواحي الطبقة الوسطى المصقولة ذات المروج المشذبة تمامًا أو أرض الإغراق غير المرئية: المصانع الملوثة ، والمصانع النووية ، ومقالب القمامة ومرافق إعادة التدوير ، فضلاً عن دور التقاعد.


الحصول على أحدث من InnerSelf


اليوم ، ومع ذلك ، يأخذ الحجم والأهمية المتزايدة للأطراف الحضرية أشكالًا متنوعة: المستوطنات غير الرسمية، مجتمعات مسورة ، عقارات البرج, القرى المحيطة بالمدن, الضواحي الكلاسيكية، مناطق المستودعات ، المدارات الهوائية (المناطق المحيطة بالمطار) وكذلك الترفيهية و مساحات البنية التحتية.

بقايا الصناعة - مثل المناجم المهجورة ، والمصانع المتوقفة عن العمل ، ومرافق الإنتاج الزراعي التي عفا عليها الزمن - يجري تنفيذها استصلاحها كمساحة في الضواحي. غالبًا ما تعتمد هذه التطورات القديمة والجديدة التعدي على حقوق الأراضي القديمة.

قيادة التحضر

يحدث التوسع الحضري الممتد في إطار رأسمالي من التفاوت الهائل. غالبًا ما يتم تغليف المواد الغذائية والغاز والكهرباء والمياه التي تجعل الحياة الحضرية ممكنة وتوصيلها بالأنابيب والكابلات والسمكرة في المدينة. يتم الحفاظ على أنماط الحياة الحضرية من خلال شبكات واسعة من البنية التحتية والصناعة التي تصل إلى بيئات أبعد بكثير.

تتشكل هذه العلاقات بعمق من الاستغلال والظلم والقمع التي تعتمد عليها الرأسمالية وتديمها. ال الطابع الاستعماري للتحضر بعنف يحول المناظر الطبيعية المادية ويدمر ويقلل ويحصر خيال الاختلاف والمقاومة والإمكانية.

تطور غير متساو تنتج إمكانات كوارث حتمية وغير متوقعة في بعض الأحيان. في عام 2019 ، دمرت الكوارث الطبيعية مناطق من أستراليا إلى كاليفورنيا إلى موزمبيق؛ تأثر الفقراء والطبقة العاملة والأقليات الأصلية والعرقية بشكل غير متناسب. وبعبارة أخرى ، تلك الموجودة على المحيط ، جسديا ومجازيا.

في كاليفورنيا ، عمل السجون - تدار بشكل متزايد من قبل الشركات الخاصة - يستخدم لمكافحة حرائق الغابات. وفي الوقت نفسه ، الحيوانات وغيرها من الحياة غير البشرية التي تحاول الهروب من المناظر الطبيعية المحروقة تغير علاقاتها مع البشر كما كان الحال خلال جحيم أسترالي بدأ في سبتمبر 2019.

تصورات مركزية الإنسان

يمكن للخيال العلمي ، الذي غالبًا ما يشغل نوعًا خاصًا به من المحيط الأدبي ، أن يساعدنا في فحص وتخيل العلاقات الجديدة بين الطبيعة البشرية.

في فيلم كريستوفر نولان 2014 بينجميتحاول الإنسانية الهروب من الطبيعة وطبيعتها من خلال أن تصبح إلوهية شبيهة بالله ، يمكن أن تتحكم في الثقوب السوداء والديدان. في المقابل ، في فيلم دينيس فيلنوف 2017 شفرة عداء 2049والاستدامة وكفاءة الغذاء تتحقق بطريقة ما بعد الرأسمالية: العالم مغطى بألواح شمسية ومزارع اصطناعية. ما يبقى هو كوكب منقسم بعمق ، والإيكولوجيات السياسية للتحضر الممتد مصنفة ، عنصرية وجندرية.

يُظهر هذا المشهد من "Blade Runner 2049" رحلة فوق لوس أنجلوس ، كاليفورنيا.

العوالم الغامضة لكوري دكتورو امش بعيدا، اوكتافيا بتلر مثل الزارع، أندريا هيرستون شركة مايند سكيب وصموئيل ديلاني مشكلة في تريتون: مغاير غامضةعلى سبيل المثال لا الحصر ، هي تذكير بأن البشر والطبيعة والتكنولوجيا والبيئات والعلاقات بينهما قابلة للطرق.

أنظمة متواطئة

إن الطريقة التي تتعامل بها الدول والمؤسسات الرأسمالية مع الأزمات مثل الحرائق والفيضانات ووباء COVID-19 توضح: تتصرف الحكومات مثل النعام بدفن رؤوسها مع استمرار التوسع الحضري وتوسيع رأس المال بلا هوادة.

لوم تدمير البيئة على البشرية جمعاء يحجب الدرجات المتغيرة التي يتحملها الأشخاص ؛ وهذا يعتمد على قوتهم الاقتصادية والسياسية وحصولهم على الموارد الطبيعية واستخدامها.

ليس التحضر وحده هو الذي تسبب في الوباء ، وليس الرأسمالية وحدها. إن البيئة السياسية للتحضر الممتد هي التي خلقت الظروف التي يمكن بموجبها أن تظهر COVID-19 وتنتشر وتذهب إلى العالمية.المحادثة

نبذة عن الكاتب

روجر كيل ، أستاذ الدراسات البيئية ، جامعة يورك ، كندا؛ ماريا كايكا ، أستاذة التخطيط الحضري والبيئي ، جامعة أمستردام؛ تيت ماندلر ، دكتوراه مرشح ، الأنثروبولوجيا والتخطيط الحضري ، جامعة أمستردام، ويانيس تزانينيس ، زميل ما بعد الدكتوراه ، علم الاجتماع ، جامعة أمستردام

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

سرب الإنسان: كيف تنشأ مجتمعاتنا وتزدهر وتسقط

مارك دبليو موفيت
0465055680إذا غامر شمبانزي داخل إقليم مجموعة مختلفة ، فمن المؤكد أنه سيتم قتله. لكن بإمكان أحد سكان نيويوركر السفر إلى لوس أنجلوس - أو بورنيو - دون خوف كبير. لم يفعل علماء النفس الكثير لتفسير ذلك: لقد ظلوا لسنوات يؤكدون أن بيولوجيانا تضع حداً صعبًا للغاية - حوالي 150 من الناس - على حجم مجموعاتنا الاجتماعية. لكن المجتمعات البشرية هي في الواقع أكبر بكثير. كيف ندير - إلى حد كبير - لنتوافق مع بعضنا البعض؟ في هذا الكتاب المحطم للنماذج ، يعتمد عالم الأحياء مارك دبليو موفيت على النتائج في علم النفس وعلم الاجتماع والأنثروبولوجيا لشرح التعديلات الاجتماعية التي تربط المجتمعات. يستكشف كيف يحدد التوتر بين الهوية وعدم الكشف عن هويته كيف تتطور المجتمعات وتؤدي وظيفتها وتفشل. تجاوز البنادق والجراثيم والصلب و العاقل, سرب الإنسان يكشف كيف أن البشرية خلقت حضارات مترامية الأطراف من التعقيد الذي لا يضاهى - وما سوف تحتاجه للحفاظ عليها. متاح في أمازون

البيئة: العلم وراء القصص

بقلم جاي هـ. ويغوت ، ماثيو لابوساتا
0134204883البيئة: العلم وراء القصص هو أكثر الكتب مبيعًا لدورة العلوم البيئية التمهيدية المعروفة بأسلوب السرد الصديق للطالب وتكاملها مع القصص الحقيقية ودراسات الحالة وعرضها لأحدث العلوم والأبحاث. ال 6th الطبعة يتميز بفرص جديدة لمساعدة الطلاب على رؤية الروابط بين دراسات الحالة المتكاملة والعلوم في كل فصل ، ويوفر لهم فرصًا لتطبيق العملية العلمية على الاهتمامات البيئية. متاح في أمازون

Feasible Planet: دليل لحياة أكثر استدامة

كين كرويس
0995847045هل تشعر بالقلق إزاء حالة كوكبنا وتأمل أن تجد الحكومات والشركات وسيلة مستدامة لنا لنعيشها؟ إذا كنت لا تفكر في الأمر بشدة ، فهذا قد ينجح ، لكن هل سينجح؟ إذا تركناها بمفردها ، مع سائقي شعبية وأرباح ، لست مقتنعًا بذلك. الجزء المفقود من هذه المعادلة هو أنت وأنا. يمكن للأفراد الذين يعتقدون أن الشركات والحكومات القيام بعمل أفضل. الأفراد الذين يعتقدون أنه من خلال العمل ، يمكننا شراء المزيد من الوقت لتطوير وتنفيذ حلول لقضايانا الحرجة. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

al
enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

لماذا الأقنعة مسألة دينية
لماذا الأقنعة مسألة دينية
by ليزلي دوروف سميث
ما الذي تريده؟
ما الذي تريده؟
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف

من المحررين

النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أيلول 6 و 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
نرى الحياة من خلال عدسات إدراكنا. كتب ستيفن آر كوفي: "نحن نرى العالم ، ليس كما هو ، ولكن كما نحن ، أو كما نحن مشروطون برؤيته". لذلك هذا الأسبوع ، نلقي نظرة على بعض ...
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 30 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
الطرق التي نسلكها هذه الأيام قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها جديدة بالنسبة لنا. التجارب التي نمر بها قديمة قدم الزمن ، لكنها أيضًا جديدة بالنسبة لنا. الشيء نفسه ينطبق على ...
عندما تكون الحقيقة فظيعة للغاية ومؤلمة ، اتخذ إجراءً
by ماري T. راسل، InnerSelf.com
وسط كل الأهوال التي تحدث هذه الأيام ، ألهمني شعاع الأمل الذي يسطع من خلاله. الناس العاديون يدافعون عن الصواب (وضد ما هو خطأ). لاعبي البيسبول،…
عندما يكون ظهرك مقابل الحائط
by ماري ت. راسل ، إنيرسيلف
احب الانترنت. الآن أعرف أن الكثير من الناس لديهم الكثير من الأشياء السيئة ليقولوها عن ذلك ، لكني أحب ذلك. مثلما أحب الناس في حياتي - فهم ليسوا مثاليين ، لكني أحبهم على أي حال.
النشرة الإخبارية InnerSelf: أغسطس 23 ، 2020
by InnerSelf الموظفين
ربما يتفق الجميع على أننا نعيش في أوقات غريبة ... تجارب جديدة ، مواقف جديدة ، تحديات جديدة. ولكن يمكن أن نشجع على تذكر أن كل شيء في حالة تغير مستمر ، ...

How Global Urbanization Created The Conditions For The Current Coronavirus Pandemic

How Global Urbanization Created The Conditions For The Current Coronavirus Pandemic The growth of large urban metropolises like Tokyo, Japan, reflects intense densification and sprawl. (Trevor Dobson/flickr), CC BY-NC

COVID-19 brought the relation between humans and animals to the core of social and scientific debates. COVID-19 is a zoonotic disease: the coronavirus that causes it crossed species boundaries from animals to humans. A wet market in Wuhan may be the place where that original species-jump happened.

There is mounting evidence that humans now transmit COVID-19 back to other animal species: domesticated dogs and cats, but also tigers in captivity and possibly apes. As an April 2020 article in the Los Angeles Times notes, diseases like COVID-19 “are an expected consequence of how we’re choosing to treat animals and their habitats.”

Wildlife trade, deforestation, land conversion, industrial animal farming and burning fossil fuels are contributing to the increasing frequency of novel zoonotic diseases.

Urbanization is both a driver of zoonosis and a determining influence on human-nature and human-animal relationships.

Urban political ecology considers urbanization as a political, economic, social and ecological process. It is a field of study that investigates the relationships that physically sustain urban life and the processes that affect them.

How Global Urbanization Created The Conditions For The Current Coronavirus Pandemic A flock of Canadian geese in a Toronto park. (Shutterstock)

The reach of urbanization

Urbanization is a process that involves extending the city as much as it involves the concentration of activities and movements of people and stuff. Traditionally, the urban periphery is described as either polished middle-class suburbia with perfectly manicured lawns or invisible dumping ground: polluting factories, nuclear plants, garbage dumps and recycling facilities as well as retirement homes.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Today, however, the ever-extending size and importance of the urban periphery takes a variety of forms: informal settlements, gated communities, tower estates, peri-urban villages, classical suburbs, warehouse districts, aerotropolises (areas surrounding an airport) as well as recreational and infrastructural spaces.

Remnants of industrialism — such as abandoned mines, decommissioned factories and outdated agricultural production facilities — are being reclaimed as suburban space. These old and new developments often rely on infringements of ancient land rights.

Driving urbanization

Extended urbanization happens within a capitalist framework of massive inequality. The food, gas, electricity and water that make urban life possible are often packaged, piped, cabled and plumbed into the city. Urban lifestyles are sustained by vast networks of infrastructure and industry that reach into environments well beyond.

These relationships are profoundly shaped by the exploitation, injustice and oppression that capitalism relies on and perpetuates. The colonial character of urbanization violently transforms material landscapes and destroys, diminishes and confines imaginaries of difference, resistance and possibility.

Uneven development produces the potential for inevitable and sometimes unpredictable catastrophes. In 2019, natural disasters devastated regions from Australia to California to Mozambique; the poor, working class, Indigenous and ethnic minorities were disproportionately affected. In other words, those on the periphery, physically and metaphorically.

In California, prison labour — increasingly managed by private companies — is used to fight wildfires. Meanwhile, animals and other non-human life trying to escape scorched landscapes change their relationships with humans as was the case during the Australian inferno that began in September 2019.

Anthropocentric imaginings

Science fiction, which often occupies its own kind of literary periphery, can help us examine and imagine new human-nature relationships.

In Christopher Nolan’s 2014 movie Interstellar, humanity attempts to escape nature — and its own nature — by becoming a God-like, post-human divinity that can control black holes and wormholes. In contrast, in Denis Villeneuve’s 2017 film Blade Runner 2049, sustainability and food efficiency are achieved in a post-capitalist manner: the globe is covered in solar panels and synthetic farms. What remains is a deeply divided planet, and the political ecologies of extended urbanization are classed, racialized and gendered.

This scene from ‘Blade Runner 2049’ shows a flight over a futuristic Los Angeles, Calif.

The ambiguous worlds of Cory Doctorow’s Walkaway, Octavia Butler’s Parable of the Sower, Andrea Hairston’s Mindscape and Samuel Delany’s Trouble on Triton: An Ambiguous Heterotopia, to name a few, are reminders that humans, nature, technology, environments and the relationships between are them are malleable.

Complicit systems

The way in which capitalist states and enterprises address crises like fires, floods and the COVID-19 pandemic are illustrative: governments behave like ostriches by burying their heads as extended urbanization and capital expansion continue unabated.

Blaming environmental destruction on all of humanity obscures the variable degrees to which people are responsible; this depends both on their economic and political power and their access to and use of natural resources.

It isn’t urbanization alone that caused the pandemic, and it isn’t capitalism alone either. It is the political ecology of extended urbanization that created the conditions under which COVID-19 could emerge, proliferate and go global.The Conversation

About The Author

Roger Keil, Professor, Environmental Studies, York University, Canada; Maria Kaika, Professor of Urban and Environmental Planning, University of Amsterdam; Tait Mandler, PhD Candidate, Anthropology and Urban Planning, University of Amsterdam, and Yannis Tzaninis, Postdoctoral fellow, Sociology, University of Amsterdam

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Human Swarm: How Our Societies Arise, Thrive, and Fall

by Mark W. Moffett
0465055680If a chimpanzee ventures into the territory of a different group, it will almost certainly be killed. But a New Yorker can fly to Los Angeles--or Borneo--with very little fear. Psychologists have done little to explain this: for years, they have held that our biology puts a hard upper limit--about 150 people--on the size of our social groups. But human societies are in fact vastly larger. How do we manage--by and large--to get along with each other? In this paradigm-shattering book, biologist Mark W. Moffett draws on findings in psychology, sociology and anthropology to explain the social adaptations that bind societies. He explores how the tension between identity and anonymity defines how societies develop, function, and fail. Surpassing Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, The Human Swarm reveals how mankind created sprawling civilizations of unrivaled complexity--and what it will take to sustain them.   Available On Amazon

Environment: The Science Behind the Stories

by Jay H. Withgott, Matthew Laposata
0134204883Environment: The Science behind the Stories is a best seller for the introductory environmental science course known for its student-friendly narrative style, its integration of real stories and case studies, and its presentation of the latest science and research. The 6th Edition features new opportunities to help students see connections between integrated case studies and the science in each chapter, and provides them with opportunities to apply the scientific process to environmental concerns. Available On Amazon

Feasible Planet: A guide to more sustainable living

by Ken Kroes
0995847045Are you concerned about the state of our planet and hope that governments and corporations will find a sustainable way for us to live? If you do not think about it too hard, that may work, but will it? Left on their own, with drivers of popularity and profits, I am not too convinced that it will. The missing part of this equation is you and me. Individuals who believe that corporations and governments can do better. Individuals who believe that through action, we can buy a bit more time to develop and implement solutions to our critical issues. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

al
enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}

FROM THE EDITORS

Why Donald Trump Could Be History's Biggest Loser
by Robert Jennings, InnerSelf.com
Updated July 2, 20020 - This whole coronavirus pandemic is costing a fortune, maybe 2 or 3 or 4 fortunes, all of unknown size. Oh yeah, and, hundreds of thousands, maybe a million, of people will die…
Blue-Eyes vs Brown Eyes: How Racism is Taught
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
In this 1992 Oprah Show episode, award-winning anti-racism activist and educator Jane Elliott taught the audience a tough lesson about racism by demonstrating just how easy it is to learn prejudice.
A Change Is Gonna Come...
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
(May 30, 2020) As I watch the news on the events in Philadephia and other cities in the country, my heart aches for what is transpiring. I know that this is part of the greater change that is taking…
A Song Can Uplift the Heart and Soul
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I have several ways that I use to clear the darkness from my mind when I find it has crept in. One is gardening, or spending time in nature. The other is silence. Another way is reading. And one that…
Mascot for the Pandemic and Theme Song for Social Distancing and Isolation
by Marie T. Russell, InnerSelf
I came across a song recently and as I listened to the lyrics, I thought it would be a perfect song as a "theme song" for these times of social isolation. (Lyrics below the video.)