Comment la crise de l'eau de silex a-t-elle repoussé les élèves?

Comment la crise de l'eau de silex a-t-elle repoussé les élèves?Mona Hanna-Attisha, experte en santé publique et pédiatre, a écrit une livre sur la crise de l'eau à Flint, Michigan. Carlos Osorio / AP

Quand le Flint crise de l'eau a eu lieu à 2014 et 2015, une de mes étudiantes en sciences infirmières a décidé de s’impliquer.

Ayant déjà travaillé avec moi dans la région du Grand Tolède pour dépister les enfants présentant un risque d'intoxication par le plomb, mon élève m'a aidé à effectuer des dépistages du niveau de plomb sanguin chez les enfants exposés à l'eau. Les résultats des tests ont montré par la suite que le nombre d’enfants empoisonnés au plomb à Flint avait Doublé après la crise.

Depuis ce temps, certains craignent que les enfants de Flint souffrent échecs académiques en raison de son exposition à des niveaux élevés de plomb dans l’approvisionnement en eau de Flint.

Les représentants de l'État ont indiqué que autant que d'enfants 9,000 les personnes âgées de moins de 6 dans Flint doivent être traitées comme ayant été exposées à de fortes concentrations de plomb après que le système d’alimentation en eau potable de la ville a été remplacé dans 2014 de l’eau du lac Huron à l’eau de la Flint.

D’autres, cependant, ont reculé, affirmant que la crise de l’eau de Flint est pas le coupable derrière des pertes académiques. Le plomb était certainement un problème pour les enfants de Flint bien avant les problèmes d'eau.

Mais en tant que professeur d'infirmière et parent éducateur qui spécialise dans le traitement des enfants avec des niveaux élevés de plomb, je crois que, tout comme à Détroit - où des enfants empoisonnés au plomb ont a subi des revers académiques après avoir été exposé au plomb, principalement de la peinture au plomb dans leurs maisons - des retombées académiques similaires ont probablement lieu à Flint.

Cependant, mon expérience montre que les niveaux de plomb chez les enfants peuvent être réduits en éduquant les parents sur des choses simples qu'ils peuvent faire pour réduire l'exposition au plomb chez eux.

Effets malsains

Plomb affecte le développement du cerveau des enfants et aboutit à un «quotient intellectuel» réduit, ou QI. Cela conduit également à des changements de comportement, tels que le raccourcissement de la durée de l'attention, l'agitation, les troubles de la conduite, l'agressivité et la réduction du niveau d'instruction, comme indiqué dans «Ce que les yeux ne voient pas, "Un livre de Mona Hanna-Attisha, une médecin qui a aidé exposer la crise de l'eau Flint.

L'exposition au plomb peut nuire aux enfants même avant leur naissance. Les Centers for Disease Control estiment qu’environ un demi million Aux États-Unis, les enfants âgés de 1 et 5 ont un taux de plomb dans le sang élevé.

L’empoisonnement au plomb est évitable, on pense que les effets neurologiques et comportementaux du plomb sont irréversible. Non niveau de plomb is sans danger pour les enfants.

Dépistage des enfants

La plupart de mes activités auprès d'enfants empoisonnés au plomb ont eu lieu dans la région du Grand Tolède. Mes étudiants en sciences infirmières et moi avons collectivement examiné plus d'un millier d'étudiants aux écoles publiques de Toledo. Parmi les enfants testés, 577 - 38.9% - avait une plombémie supérieure à 4 microgrammes par décilitre. Le CDC dit l'intervention est justifiée en microgrammes 5 par décilitre, mais je préfère intervenir en microgrammes 4 pour me concentrer sur les problèmes avant qu’ils n’atteignent un niveau supérieur.

Dans les écoles individuelles de Toledo, la part des élèves égale ou supérieure à 4 microgrammes par décilitre variait de 21% à 73%. Beaucoup d'enfants que nous avons sélectionnés étaient déjà dans des classes d'éducation spéciale en raison de leur exposition au plomb.

Quelles actions sont nécessaires

Chaque fois que mes étudiants diplômés et moi-même détectons le plomb chez les enfants, nous renseignons leurs parents ou leurs gardiens sur les origines du plomb. Nous discutons de ce que le plomb fait au cerveau et au corps des enfants une fois qu'il pénètre dans leur circulation sanguine. Nous proposons également des conseils pratiques sur la manière de réduire l'exposition au plomb chez eux.

Par exemple, nous recommandons aux soignants de passer une vadrouille humide et de nettoyer. Pourquoi? Parce que plus de 80, plus de% des enfants que j'ai sélectionnés pour le plomb dans la région de Toledo vivent dans des immeubles en location. C’est important car beaucoup de ces maisons et appartements ont été construits avant 1978, l’année aux États-Unis. peinture à base de plomb interdite dans les logementset sont les plus susceptibles d’avoir de la peinture au plomb. Au fur et à mesure que différentes familles entrent et sortent de ces propriétés, de nombreux enfants sont exposés au plomb dans le même logement locatif au fil des ans.

Il est essentiel que les ministères de la santé locaux et les autres agences gouvernementales certifient que ces immeubles locatifs et maisons familiales sont «sans danger pour le plomb». Cependant, tout comme il existe des menaces de plomb à l'intérieur de la maison, il existe également des menaces à l'extérieur de la maison. Ces menaces extérieures proviennent des enfants qui jouent dans un sol taché de plomb autour de la maison et qui la surveillent à l'intérieur.

Se défendant

Lorsque 18 de mes étudiants en soins infirmiers de troisième cycle et moi-même avons suivi les familles de Toledo ayant des enfants empoisonnés au plomb entre 2016 et 2018, nous avons constaté que 11 des enfants 577 présentait une baisse significative de leur plombémie et une performance scolaire améliorée.

Par exemple, une fillette âgée de 8 a vu son taux de plomb dans le sang chuter de 22.6 microgrammes par décilitre il y a deux ans à 6.1 microgrammes par décilitre.

La mère de la fille s'est appliquée avec diligence à suivre les recommandations que nous avions formulées pour réduire l'absorption de plomb chez sa fille, telles que l'augmentation de l'apport nutritionnel en vitamine C, en fer et en calcium. En outre, la jeune fille a commencé à prendre quotidiennement des multivitamines et à manger des collations pendant la journée pour éviter d'avoir l'estomac vide, car les aliments réduisent l'absorption gastrique du plomb. Des chaussures ont été laissées à la porte de leur maison pour éviter de traquer des sols contaminés par le plomb de l’extérieur. La mère a également nettoyé la vadrouille humide et épousseté pour réduire l'exposition au plomb de l'air. La fille a également été encouragée à se laver les mains fréquemment. Des références ont été adressées au service de santé local pour une évaluation plus approfondie du cadre de vie et un soutien financier éventuel pour assurer un foyer «sans danger pour la famille».

Avenir de silex

Cinq ans après la crise de l’eau à Flint, les gens sont toujours méfiant de l'eau locale. Les efforts pour responsabiliser les fonctionnaires semblent aller et retour. Les résidents tentent de poursuivre en justice fonctionnaires de la ville et le gouvernement fédéral pour la contamination par le plomb dans l'eau. Les accusations criminelles ont été abandonnées juin 13 contre plusieurs fonctionnaires inculpés dans le cadre de la crise, mais qui pourraient être réédités.

Les circonstances dans lesquelles les enfants ont été exposés à de fortes concentrations de plomb à Flint et à Toledo peuvent être différentes. Mais en tant que personne ayant travaillé directement avec des enfants empoisonnés au plomb, je sais que les impacts seront probablement similaires. Dans les écoles de Toledo, les enfants empoisonnés par le plomb ont eu du mal à rester sur la tâche, à éviter les ennuis, à apprendre la lecture, à maîtriser les mathématiques et à suivre leurs camarades sur les plans académique et social. Il n'y a aucune raison de penser que les enfants empoisonnés par le plomb à Flint ne subissent pas la même chose.

A propos de l'auteur

Marilynne R Wood, professeure, Université de Toledo

Cet article est republié de La Conversation sous une licence Creative Commons. Lis le article original.

livres_environnement

How The Flint Water Crisis Set Students Back

How The Flint Water Crisis Set Students BackMona Hanna-Attisha, a public health expert and pediatrician, wrote a book about the water crisis of Flint, Michigan. Carlos Osorio/AP

When the Flint water crisis took place in 2014 and 2015, one of my graduate nursing students decided to get involved.

Having already worked with me in the Greater Toledo area to screen children at risk for lead poisoning, my student helped conduct blood lead level screenings of the children exposed to the water. Test results later showed that the number of lead poisoned children in Flint had doubled after the crisis.

Since that time, some have worried that children in Flint are suffering academic setbacks as a result of being exposed to high levels of lead in Flint’s water supply.

State officials advised that as many as 9,000 children under the age of 6 in Flint be treated as having been exposed to high levels of lead after the city’s drinking water supply was switched in 2014 from water from Lake Huron to water from the Flint River.

Others, however, have pushed back, arguing that Flint’s water crisis is not the culprit behind any academic losses. Certainly lead was a problem for children in Flint long before the water problems.

But as a nursing professor and parent educator who specializes in treating children with elevated lead levels, I believe that just like in Detroit – where lead poisoned children have suffered academic setbacks after being exposed to lead, mostly from lead paint in their homes – similar academic setbacks are likely taking place in Flint.

However, my experience shows that lead levels in children can be lessened by educating parents on simple things they can do to decrease exposure to lead in their homes.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Ill effects

Lead affects children’s brain development and results in reduced “intelligence quotient,” or IQ. It also leads to behavioral changes, such as shortening of attention span, restlessness, conduct disorders, aggression and reduced educational attainment, as shown in “What the Eyes Don’t See,” a book by Mona Hanna-Attisha, a physician who helped expose the Flint water crisis.

Lead exposure can harm children even before they are born. The Centers for Disease Control estimate that approximately half-a-million children in the United States between the ages of 1 and 5 have an elevated blood lead level.

Although lead poisoning is preventable, the neurological and behavioral effects of lead are believed to be irreversible. No level of lead is safe for children.

Screening children

Most of my work with lead poisoned children has taken place in the Greater Toledo area. My graduate nursing students and I have collectively screened more than a thousand students at Toledo Public Schools. Of those children tested, 577 – 38.9% – had blood lead levels above 4 micrograms per deciliter. The CDC says intervention is warranted at 5 micrograms per deciliter, but I prefer to intervene at 4 micrograms to focus in on problems before it reaches a higher level.

In individual schools in Toledo, the share of students at or above 4 micrograms per deciliter ranged from 21% to 73%. Many of the children we screened were already in special education classrooms because of their lead exposure.

What actions are needed

Whenever my graduate students and I detect lead in children, we educate their parents or caregivers about where lead comes from. We discuss what lead does to children’s brains and bodies once it enters their bloodstream. We also offer practical tips about how they can decrease lead exposure in their homes.

For instance, we recommend that caregivers wet mop and clean. Why? Because over 80% of the children that I’ve screened for lead in the Toledo area live in rental properties. That’s significant because many of these homes and apartments were built before 1978, the year the United States banned lead-based paint in housing, and are the most likely to have lead paint. As different families move in and out of these properties, many different children get exposed to lead in the same rental home over the years.

It is critical that these rental properties and family-owned homes be certified by local health departments and other governmental agencies as “lead safe.” But just as there are lead threats inside the home, there are also threats outside the home. Those outside threats come from children playing in lead-tainted soil around the home and tracking it inside.

Fighting back

When 18 of my graduate nursing students and I followed up with Toledo families with lead poisoned children between 2016 and 2018, we found 11 of the 577 children had significant decreases in their blood lead levels and improved academic performance.

One 8-year-old girl, for instance, had her blood lead levels drop from 22.6 micrograms per deciliter two years ago to 6.1 micrograms per deciliter.

The girl’s mother was diligent in following the recommendations we made to decrease lead absorption in her daughter, such as increased nutritional intake of vitamin C, iron and calcium. In addition, the girl began to take daily multivitamins and ate snacks during the day to avoid an empty stomach, since food decreases the gastric absorption of lead. Shoes were left at the door of their home to avoid tracking in lead-contaminated soil from outside. The mother also damp mopped and dusted to decrease exposure to lead from the air. The girl was also encouraged to wash her hands frequently. Referrals were made to the local health department for further assessment of the living environment and possible financial support to secure a “lead safe” home for the family.

Future of Flint

Five years after the Flint water crisis, people are still distrustful of the local water. Efforts to hold officials accountable seem to go back and forth. Residents are trying to sue city officials and the federal government for lead contamination in the water. Criminal charges were dropped on June 13 against several officials who had been charged in the crisis, but may be re-issued.

The circumstances by which children were exposed to high levels of lead in Flint and Toledo may be different. But as one who has worked directly with lead-poisoned children, I know it is likely the impacts will be similar. Lead-poisoned children in Toledo schools have struggled to stay on task, stay out of trouble, learn reading and math skills, and keep up with their peers academically and socially. There’s no reason to think that lead-poisoned children in Flint aren’t going through the same thing.

About The Author

Marilynne R Wood, Professor, University of Toledo

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Human Swarm: How Our Societies Arise, Thrive, and Fall

by Mark W. Moffett
0465055680If a chimpanzee ventures into the territory of a different group, it will almost certainly be killed. But a New Yorker can fly to Los Angeles--or Borneo--with very little fear. Psychologists have done little to explain this: for years, they have held that our biology puts a hard upper limit--about 150 people--on the size of our social groups. But human societies are in fact vastly larger. How do we manage--by and large--to get along with each other? In this paradigm-shattering book, biologist Mark W. Moffett draws on findings in psychology, sociology and anthropology to explain the social adaptations that bind societies. He explores how the tension between identity and anonymity defines how societies develop, function, and fail. Surpassing Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, The Human Swarm reveals how mankind created sprawling civilizations of unrivaled complexity--and what it will take to sustain them.   Available On Amazon

Environment: The Science Behind the Stories

by Jay H. Withgott, Matthew Laposata
0134204883Environment: The Science behind the Stories is a best seller for the introductory environmental science course known for its student-friendly narrative style, its integration of real stories and case studies, and its presentation of the latest science and research. The 6th Edition features new opportunities to help students see connections between integrated case studies and the science in each chapter, and provides them with opportunities to apply the scientific process to environmental concerns. Available On Amazon

Feasible Planet: A guide to more sustainable living

by Ken Kroes
0995847045Are you concerned about the state of our planet and hope that governments and corporations will find a sustainable way for us to live? If you do not think about it too hard, that may work, but will it? Left on their own, with drivers of popularity and profits, I am not too convinced that it will. The missing part of this equation is you and me. Individuals who believe that corporations and governments can do better. Individuals who believe that through action, we can buy a bit more time to develop and implement solutions to our critical issues. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

al
enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}