كيف أدت أزمة المياه في فلينت إلى عودة الطلاب

كيف أدت أزمة المياه في فلينت إلى عودة الطلابمنى حنا عطيشه ، خبيرة في الصحة العامة وطبيب أطفال ، كتبت أ كتاب عن أزمة المياه في فلينت ، ميشيغان. كارلوس أوسوريو / ا ف ب

عندما أزمة المياه الصوان وقعت في 2014 و 2015 ، أحد طلاب التمريض الخريجين قرر المشاركة.

بعد أن عملت معي بالفعل في منطقة توليدو الكبرى لفحص الأطفال المعرضين لخطر التسمم بالرصاص ، ساعدت طلابي في إجراء فحوصات لمستويات الرصاص في الدم للأطفال المعرضين للمياه. أظهرت نتائج الاختبار في وقت لاحق أن عدد الأطفال المصابين بالتسمم بالرصاص في فلينت لديهم مضاعف بعد الازمة

منذ ذلك الوقت ، يشعر البعض بالقلق من أن الأطفال في فلينت يعانون النكسات الأكاديمية نتيجة التعرض لمستويات عالية من الرصاص في إمدادات المياه فلينت.

نصح مسؤولو الدولة ذلك ما يصل إلى 9,000 الأطفال تحت سن 6 في فلينت تعامل على أنها تعرضت لمستويات عالية من الرصاص بعد أن تحولت مياه الشرب في المدينة في 2014 من المياه من بحيرة هورون إلى المياه من نهر فلينت.

ومع ذلك ، دفع آخرون إلى الوراء ، بحجة أن أزمة المياه في فلينت هي ليس الجاني وراء أي خسائر الأكاديمية. بالتأكيد كان الرصاص مشكلة للأطفال في فلينت قبل وقت طويل من مشاكل المياه.

ولكن كأستاذ التمريض و مربي الوالدين الذي تتخصص في علاج الأطفال الذين يعانون من مستويات مرتفعة من الرصاص ، أعتقد أنه مثلما حدث في ديترويت - حيث يعاني الأطفال المصابون بالتسمم من الرصاص عانى النكسات الأكاديمية بعد التعرض للرصاص ، معظمهم من الطلاء الرصاص في منازلهم - من المرجح أن تحدث نكسات أكاديمية مماثلة في فلينت.

ومع ذلك ، توضح تجربتي أنه يمكن تقليل مستويات الرصاص في الأطفال عن طريق تثقيف الآباء بشأن أشياء بسيطة يمكنهم القيام بها لتقليل التعرض للرصاص في منازلهم.

تأثيرات سلبية

قيادة يؤثر على نمو دماغ الأطفال والنتائج في انخفاض "حاصل الذكاء" ، أو حاصل الذكاء. كما أنه يؤدي إلى تغييرات سلوكية ، مثل تقصير فترة الانتباه ، والأرق ، واضطرابات السلوك ، والعدوان وتقليل التحصيل العلمي ، كما هو موضح في "ما لا تراه العيون، "كتاب منى حنا عطيشا ، وهو طبيب ساعد فضح أزمة المياه فلينت.

التعرض للرصاص يمكن أن يضر الأطفال حتى قبل ولادتهم. تقدر مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض تقريبًا نصف مليون الأطفال في الولايات المتحدة الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 1 و 5 لديهم مستوى مرتفع من الرصاص في الدم.

على الرغم من التسمم بالرصاص الوقاية، ويعتقد أن الآثار العصبية والسلوكية للرصاص أن يكون لا رجعة فيه. في مستوى الرصاص is آمنة للأطفال.

فحص الأطفال

حدث معظم عملي مع الأطفال المصابين بالتسمم بالرصاص في منطقة طليطلة الكبرى. لقد قمت أنا وطلاب الدراسات العليا في التمريض بفحص أكثر من ألف طالب في مدارس توليدو العامة. من هؤلاء الأطفال الذين تم اختبارهم ، كان 577 - 38.9٪ - لديهم مستويات الرصاص في الدم أعلى من ميكروغرام 4 لكل ديسيلتر. يقول مركز السيطرة على الأمراض هناك ما يبرر التدخل عند 5 micrograms لكل ديسيلتر ، لكنني أفضل التدخل في micrograms 4 للتركيز على المشاكل قبل أن تصل إلى مستوى أعلى.

في المدارس الفردية في توليدو ، تراوحت حصة الطلاب في أو أعلى من 4 micrograms لكل ديسيلتر من 21٪ إلى 73٪. كان العديد من الأطفال الذين فحصناهم بالفعل في فصول التعليم الخاص بسبب تعرضهم للرصاص.

ما هي الإجراءات اللازمة

كلما اكتشف طلاب الدراسات العليا وأنا الرصاص في الأطفال ، نقوم بتثقيف أولياء أمورهم أو مقدمي الرعاية بشأن مصدر الرصاص. نناقش ما يؤدي إلى أدمغة الأطفال وأجسادهم بمجرد دخول مجرى الدم. كما نقدم نصائح عملية حول كيفية تقليل التعرض للرصاص في منازلهم.

على سبيل المثال ، نوصي مقدمي الرعاية الممسحة المبللة ونظيفة. لماذا ا؟ لأن أكثر من 80٪ من الأطفال الذين فحصتهم بحثًا عن الرصاص في منطقة توليدو يعيشون في عقارات مؤجرة. هذا أمر مهم لأن العديد من هذه المنازل والشقق بنيت قبل 1978 ، العام في الولايات المتحدة يحظر الطلاء المستندة إلى الرصاص في السكن، والأرجح أن يكون الطلاء الرصاص. وبينما تنتقل العائلات المختلفة إلى هذه الممتلكات والخروج منها ، يتعرض العديد من الأطفال المختلفين للرصاص في نفس المنزل المستأجر على مر السنين.

من الأهمية بمكان أن يتم اعتماد هذه العقارات المؤجرة والمنازل المملوكة للعائلة من قبل إدارات الصحة المحلية والهيئات الحكومية الأخرى على أنها "آمنة من الرصاص". ولكن كما توجد تهديدات بالرصاص داخل المنزل ، فهناك أيضًا تهديدات خارج المنزل. تأتي هذه التهديدات الخارجية من أطفال يلعبون في أرض ملوثة بالرصاص في جميع أنحاء المنزل ويتتبعونها في الداخل.

القتال مرة أخرى

عندما تابعنا أنا و 18 من طلاب التمريض الخريجين مع عائلات طليطلة مع أطفال تسمموا بالرصاص بين 2016 و 2018 ، وجدنا 11 من أطفال 577 لديهم انخفاضات كبيرة في مستويات الرصاص في الدم وتحسين الأداء الأكاديمي.

على سبيل المثال ، انخفضت فتاة في سن 8 ، على سبيل المثال ، انخفضت مستويات الرصاص في دمها من ميكروغرام 22.6 لكل ديسيلتر قبل عامين إلى ميكروغرام 6.1 لكل ديسيلتر.

كانت والدة الفتاة حريصة على اتباع التوصيات التي قطعناها على أنفسنا لخفض امتصاص الرصاص في ابنتها ، مثل زيادة المدخول الغذائي من فيتامين C والحديد والكالسيوم. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، بدأت الفتاة في تناول الفيتامينات اليومية وتناول وجبات خفيفة خلال اليوم لتجنب معدة فارغة ، لأن الطعام يقلل من امتصاص المعدة للرصاص. تركت الأحذية عند باب منزلهم لتجنب التعقب في التربة الملوثة بالرصاص من الخارج. الأم أيضا رطبة تم تنظيفها وغبارها لتقليل التعرض للرصاص من الهواء. كما تم تشجيع الفتاة على غسل يديها بشكل متكرر. أُحيلت الإحالات إلى إدارة الصحة المحلية لإجراء المزيد من التقييم لبيئة المعيشة والدعم المالي المحتمل لتأمين منزل آمن من الرصاص للعائلة.

مستقبل فلينت

بعد خمس سنوات من أزمة المياه فلينت ، لا يزال الناس عدم الثقة في المياه المحلية. يبدو أن الجهود الرامية إلى مساءلة المسؤولين تتراجع. السكان يحاولون رفع دعوى مسؤولو المدينة و ال الحكومة الاتحادية لتلوث الرصاص في الماء. تم إسقاط التهم الجنائية في يونيو 13 ضد العديد من المسؤولين الذين وجهت إليهم تهم في الأزمة ، ولكن قد يتم إصدارها.

قد تكون الظروف التي تعرض فيها الأطفال لمستويات عالية من الرصاص في Flint و Toledo مختلفة. لكن بصفتي الشخص الذي عمل مباشرة مع الأطفال المصابين بالتسمم بالرصاص ، أعرف أنه من المحتمل أن تكون التأثيرات مماثلة. يكافح الأطفال المصابون بالرصاص في مدارس توليدو للبقاء في مهمتهم ، والبقاء بعيداً عن المشاكل ، وتعلم القراءة ومهارات الرياضيات ، ومواكبة أقرانهم أكاديمياً واجتماعياً. لا يوجد سبب للاعتقاد بأن الأطفال المصابين بالتسمم بالرصاص في فلينت لا يجتازون نفس الشيء.

نبذة عن الكاتب

مارلين آر وود ، أستاذة ، جامعة توليدو

يتم إعادة نشر هذه المقالة من المحادثة تحت رخصة المشاع الإبداعي. إقرأ ال المقال الأصلي.

كتب ذات صلة

سرب الإنسان: كيف تنشأ مجتمعاتنا وتزدهر وتسقط

مارك دبليو موفيت
0465055680إذا غامر شمبانزي داخل إقليم مجموعة مختلفة ، فمن المؤكد أنه سيتم قتله. لكن بإمكان أحد سكان نيويوركر السفر إلى لوس أنجلوس - أو بورنيو - دون خوف كبير. لم يفعل علماء النفس الكثير لتفسير ذلك: لقد ظلوا لسنوات يؤكدون أن بيولوجيانا تضع حداً صعبًا للغاية - حوالي 150 من الناس - على حجم مجموعاتنا الاجتماعية. لكن المجتمعات البشرية هي في الواقع أكبر بكثير. كيف ندير - إلى حد كبير - لنتوافق مع بعضنا البعض؟ في هذا الكتاب المحطم للنماذج ، يعتمد عالم الأحياء مارك دبليو موفيت على النتائج في علم النفس وعلم الاجتماع والأنثروبولوجيا لشرح التعديلات الاجتماعية التي تربط المجتمعات. يستكشف كيف يحدد التوتر بين الهوية وعدم الكشف عن هويته كيف تتطور المجتمعات وتؤدي وظيفتها وتفشل. تجاوز البنادق والجراثيم والصلب و العاقل, سرب الإنسان يكشف كيف أن البشرية خلقت حضارات مترامية الأطراف من التعقيد الذي لا يضاهى - وما سوف تحتاجه للحفاظ عليها. متاح في أمازون

البيئة: العلم وراء القصص

بقلم جاي هـ. ويغوت ، ماثيو لابوساتا
0134204883البيئة: العلم وراء القصص هو أكثر الكتب مبيعًا لدورة العلوم البيئية التمهيدية المعروفة بأسلوب السرد الصديق للطالب وتكاملها مع القصص الحقيقية ودراسات الحالة وعرضها لأحدث العلوم والأبحاث. ال 6th الطبعة يتميز بفرص جديدة لمساعدة الطلاب على رؤية الروابط بين دراسات الحالة المتكاملة والعلوم في كل فصل ، ويوفر لهم فرصًا لتطبيق العملية العلمية على الاهتمامات البيئية. متاح في أمازون

Feasible Planet: دليل لحياة أكثر استدامة

كين كرويس
0995847045هل تشعر بالقلق إزاء حالة كوكبنا وتأمل أن تجد الحكومات والشركات وسيلة مستدامة لنا لنعيشها؟ إذا كنت لا تفكر في الأمر بشدة ، فهذا قد ينجح ، لكن هل سينجح؟ إذا تركناها بمفردها ، مع سائقي شعبية وأرباح ، لست مقتنعًا بذلك. الجزء المفقود من هذه المعادلة هو أنت وأنا. يمكن للأفراد الذين يعتقدون أن الشركات والحكومات القيام بعمل أفضل. الأفراد الذين يعتقدون أنه من خلال العمل ، يمكننا شراء المزيد من الوقت لتطوير وتنفيذ حلول لقضايانا الحرجة. متاح في أمازون

من الناشر:
عمليات الشراء على موقع أمازون تذهب لتحمل تكلفة جلبك InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, و ClimateImpactNews.com دون أي تكلفة ودون المعلنين الذين يتتبعون عادات التصفح الخاصة بك. حتى إذا قمت بالنقر فوق رابط ولكنك لا تشتري هذه المنتجات المحددة ، فإن أي شيء آخر تشتريه في هذه الزيارة نفسها على Amazon يدفع لنا عمولة صغيرة. لا توجد تكلفة إضافية عليك ، لذا يرجى المساهمة في هذا الجهد. بامكانك ايضا استخدام هذا الرابط لاستخدامه في Amazon في أي وقت حتى تتمكن من المساعدة في دعم جهودنا.

al

enafarزكية-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

How The Flint Water Crisis Set Students Back

How The Flint Water Crisis Set Students BackMona Hanna-Attisha, a public health expert and pediatrician, wrote a book about the water crisis of Flint, Michigan. Carlos Osorio/AP

When the Flint water crisis took place in 2014 and 2015, one of my graduate nursing students decided to get involved.

Having already worked with me in the Greater Toledo area to screen children at risk for lead poisoning, my student helped conduct blood lead level screenings of the children exposed to the water. Test results later showed that the number of lead poisoned children in Flint had doubled after the crisis.

Since that time, some have worried that children in Flint are suffering academic setbacks as a result of being exposed to high levels of lead in Flint’s water supply.

State officials advised that as many as 9,000 children under the age of 6 in Flint be treated as having been exposed to high levels of lead after the city’s drinking water supply was switched in 2014 from water from Lake Huron to water from the Flint River.

Others, however, have pushed back, arguing that Flint’s water crisis is not the culprit behind any academic losses. Certainly lead was a problem for children in Flint long before the water problems.

But as a nursing professor and parent educator who specializes in treating children with elevated lead levels, I believe that just like in Detroit – where lead poisoned children have suffered academic setbacks after being exposed to lead, mostly from lead paint in their homes – similar academic setbacks are likely taking place in Flint.

However, my experience shows that lead levels in children can be lessened by educating parents on simple things they can do to decrease exposure to lead in their homes.


 Get The Latest From InnerSelf


Ill effects

Lead affects children’s brain development and results in reduced “intelligence quotient,” or IQ. It also leads to behavioral changes, such as shortening of attention span, restlessness, conduct disorders, aggression and reduced educational attainment, as shown in “What the Eyes Don’t See,” a book by Mona Hanna-Attisha, a physician who helped expose the Flint water crisis.

Lead exposure can harm children even before they are born. The Centers for Disease Control estimate that approximately half-a-million children in the United States between the ages of 1 and 5 have an elevated blood lead level.

Although lead poisoning is preventable, the neurological and behavioral effects of lead are believed to be irreversible. No level of lead is safe for children.

Screening children

Most of my work with lead poisoned children has taken place in the Greater Toledo area. My graduate nursing students and I have collectively screened more than a thousand students at Toledo Public Schools. Of those children tested, 577 – 38.9% – had blood lead levels above 4 micrograms per deciliter. The CDC says intervention is warranted at 5 micrograms per deciliter, but I prefer to intervene at 4 micrograms to focus in on problems before it reaches a higher level.

In individual schools in Toledo, the share of students at or above 4 micrograms per deciliter ranged from 21% to 73%. Many of the children we screened were already in special education classrooms because of their lead exposure.

What actions are needed

Whenever my graduate students and I detect lead in children, we educate their parents or caregivers about where lead comes from. We discuss what lead does to children’s brains and bodies once it enters their bloodstream. We also offer practical tips about how they can decrease lead exposure in their homes.

For instance, we recommend that caregivers wet mop and clean. Why? Because over 80% of the children that I’ve screened for lead in the Toledo area live in rental properties. That’s significant because many of these homes and apartments were built before 1978, the year the United States banned lead-based paint in housing, and are the most likely to have lead paint. As different families move in and out of these properties, many different children get exposed to lead in the same rental home over the years.

It is critical that these rental properties and family-owned homes be certified by local health departments and other governmental agencies as “lead safe.” But just as there are lead threats inside the home, there are also threats outside the home. Those outside threats come from children playing in lead-tainted soil around the home and tracking it inside.

Fighting back

When 18 of my graduate nursing students and I followed up with Toledo families with lead poisoned children between 2016 and 2018, we found 11 of the 577 children had significant decreases in their blood lead levels and improved academic performance.

One 8-year-old girl, for instance, had her blood lead levels drop from 22.6 micrograms per deciliter two years ago to 6.1 micrograms per deciliter.

The girl’s mother was diligent in following the recommendations we made to decrease lead absorption in her daughter, such as increased nutritional intake of vitamin C, iron and calcium. In addition, the girl began to take daily multivitamins and ate snacks during the day to avoid an empty stomach, since food decreases the gastric absorption of lead. Shoes were left at the door of their home to avoid tracking in lead-contaminated soil from outside. The mother also damp mopped and dusted to decrease exposure to lead from the air. The girl was also encouraged to wash her hands frequently. Referrals were made to the local health department for further assessment of the living environment and possible financial support to secure a “lead safe” home for the family.

Future of Flint

Five years after the Flint water crisis, people are still distrustful of the local water. Efforts to hold officials accountable seem to go back and forth. Residents are trying to sue city officials and the federal government for lead contamination in the water. Criminal charges were dropped on June 13 against several officials who had been charged in the crisis, but may be re-issued.

The circumstances by which children were exposed to high levels of lead in Flint and Toledo may be different. But as one who has worked directly with lead-poisoned children, I know it is likely the impacts will be similar. Lead-poisoned children in Toledo schools have struggled to stay on task, stay out of trouble, learn reading and math skills, and keep up with their peers academically and socially. There’s no reason to think that lead-poisoned children in Flint aren’t going through the same thing.

About The Author

Marilynne R Wood, Professor, University of Toledo

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

Related Books

The Human Swarm: How Our Societies Arise, Thrive, and Fall

by Mark W. Moffett
0465055680If a chimpanzee ventures into the territory of a different group, it will almost certainly be killed. But a New Yorker can fly to Los Angeles--or Borneo--with very little fear. Psychologists have done little to explain this: for years, they have held that our biology puts a hard upper limit--about 150 people--on the size of our social groups. But human societies are in fact vastly larger. How do we manage--by and large--to get along with each other? In this paradigm-shattering book, biologist Mark W. Moffett draws on findings in psychology, sociology and anthropology to explain the social adaptations that bind societies. He explores how the tension between identity and anonymity defines how societies develop, function, and fail. Surpassing Guns, Germs, and Steel and Sapiens, The Human Swarm reveals how mankind created sprawling civilizations of unrivaled complexity--and what it will take to sustain them.   Available On Amazon

Environment: The Science Behind the Stories

by Jay H. Withgott, Matthew Laposata
0134204883Environment: The Science behind the Stories is a best seller for the introductory environmental science course known for its student-friendly narrative style, its integration of real stories and case studies, and its presentation of the latest science and research. The 6th Edition features new opportunities to help students see connections between integrated case studies and the science in each chapter, and provides them with opportunities to apply the scientific process to environmental concerns. Available On Amazon

Feasible Planet: A guide to more sustainable living

by Ken Kroes
0995847045Are you concerned about the state of our planet and hope that governments and corporations will find a sustainable way for us to live? If you do not think about it too hard, that may work, but will it? Left on their own, with drivers of popularity and profits, I am not too convinced that it will. The missing part of this equation is you and me. Individuals who believe that corporations and governments can do better. Individuals who believe that through action, we can buy a bit more time to develop and implement solutions to our critical issues. Available On Amazon

From The Publisher:
Purchases on Amazon go to defray the cost of bringing you InnerSelf.com, MightyNatural.com, and ClimateImpactNews.com at no cost and without advertisers that track your browsing habits. Even if you click on a link but don't buy these selected products, anything else you buy in that same visit on Amazon pays us a small commission. There is no additional cost to you, so please contribute to the effort. You can also use this link to use to Amazon at any time so you can help support our efforts.

 

al
enafarzh-CNzh-TWnltlfifrdehiiditjakomsnofaptruessvtrvi

follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}